Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.85

Awesome: 24.16%
Worth A Look: 12.08%
Just Average: 16.78%
Pretty Crappy: 18.79%
Sucks28.19%

8 reviews, 101 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Sweet Home Alabama
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"I've seen worse - but that's not really saying much."
2 stars

"Sweet Home Albama" did not make me vomit.

If that doesn't sound like high praise, good. I'm not recommending anyone see this unless a relationship with a member of the opposite sex renders it absolutely necessary. But, if your attendance is indeed required, feel free to wear a nice shirt, maybe even a tie. This one won't send you to the dry cleaners.

"Sweet Home Alabama" is a movie designed to please audiences. That can be a noble cause in the right hands; some past respectable crowd-pleasers include "ET," "Big Daddy," and "Anal Raiders 4." Some filmmakers, however, don't understand what the audience wants, and their attempts at delivering satisfaction are woefully misguided. Take Kevin Costner, for example: He still thinks people are clamoring for his presence in motion pictures, while the exact opposite is true. I'm sure a lot of people would be pleased if he retreated into a cave somewhere and never stepped foot onto a Hollywood sound stage again.

Anyways, Reese Witherspoon's latest starring vehicle is neither "ET" nor "Dragonfly"--it's more like "Armageddon" for women. It delivers all the comfortably routine plot mechanics the audience expects, a load of familiar punchlines, and stock characters modeled on characters that audiences found appealing in the past. The filmmakers connect the dots established by previous romantic comedies, and do it with extreme haste; the film's momentum keeps spare sparts from falling off.

There is little else to say about a movie like this. It's like drinking cough syrup when you run out of booze: it'll do the trick, but that doesn't make it a particularly savory experience.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6152&reviewer=123
originally posted: 10/22/02 02:37:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/22/17 tr If you miss an old boyfriend, this will rekindle your magical thinking 3 stars
6/20/17 Suzanne Hated it. This is not the south. Also not buying the choice made. Awful. 2 stars
1/16/17 Suzanne I liked that both guys were decent and handsome. Reece was a charmer. 4 stars
5/11/11 RLan It felt like a southern movie make by someone who spent very little time in the south! 2 stars
12/14/10 Tracy Landon I'm from the South & LOVE S.H.A. It reflects how Southerners have strong moral character! 5 stars
10/03/09 LoveIt Love the movie! Very funny and a wonderful story line! 5 stars
9/25/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
8/30/08 JSICA WOW! OH EM GEE. Iono why I see one stars on here.. This is one of my favorite movies! 5 stars
6/15/08 PAUL SHORTT NOT GREAT BY ANY, ANY, ANY MEANS BUT A DECENT ENOUGH 2 stars
5/14/08 cathy I loved this movie. We need more movies like this instead of the trash they are making now 5 stars
1/27/08 L.J. Worst movie I have ever seen. Nasty protagonist and horribly directed. 1 stars
10/28/07 mb loved it. Beautiful romantic story. 5 stars
9/01/07 jozee martel nice relax movie 5 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini Reese is hot! 3 stars
10/21/06 Vickie Loved it, and I am looking to move to a town just like it. 5 stars
9/27/06 Kayla Greatest chick flic ever!!!!! 5 stars
5/05/06 Ashley Hinz Saw it, loved it, bought it as soon as possible. 5 stars
4/08/06 SHREE CRIBB THI MOVIE REALLY HITS HOME BEING AS THOUGH I AM FROM ALABAMA. REESE WITHERSPOON IS THE BEST 5 stars
1/08/06 Chris Worst Film Ever. 1 stars
11/14/05 piush good for people in love 4 stars
11/02/05 Priscilla Postlethwaite Pretty bad to barely avg, Sweet Home, Alabama is between Jenifer and Anniston. 3 stars
6/13/05 i am god can anyone say........STUPIDIST SHIT I EVER SEEN.. the ruined th title of a classic song 1 stars
2/16/05 Jeff Anderson Witherspoon is sadly wasted in this boring & predictable comedy, but Dempsey is TRULY GREAT 2 stars
11/23/04 Monster W. Kung This movie is a piece of mierda! 1 stars
11/13/04 anwar i loved that movie because it pictured love as a pure thing and not just a sexual desire 5 stars
7/13/04 Connie Maggerise I am from Alabama near Coon Dog Cemetery, it is really a lot like we are, double wides and 5 stars
7/07/04 Denise another predictable romance 3 stars
6/27/04 Daveman In trying to be inoffensive it winds up offending more than most films could. 2 stars
6/05/04 Jamal this movie sucks, so boring, so stupid, so lame. 1 stars
4/07/04 INES THE MOVIE IS VERY GOOD,AND I REALLY LIKED IT..,... 5 stars
3/11/04 cereal lover a total piece of shit and waist of talent 1 stars
1/13/04 Chupa Chups the best bits were showcased in the trailer so the actual movie seemed boring 3 stars
12/22/03 Chris I loved this movie. A chick flick that everyone can like. 4 stars
10/25/03 Mel Josh is edible 5 stars
9/28/03 Honolulu Tur I like Reese & Josh but boy oh boy was this a steaming pile of garbage or what 1 stars
8/31/03 Rhonda Blankenship Sweet Home, Alabama is between Jenifer & Anniston. 3 stars
8/30/03 Arch-vile So bad I couldn't believe my eyes. 1 stars
8/17/03 Julie Loved it!! Haved watched it over and over 5 stars
7/28/03 sherry donald every actor on that movie and the director was great except for the damn dog 5 stars
7/27/03 francis innocuous time-passer 3 stars
7/23/03 Whitney McBurney I bought this on video and that is saying alot because I buy VERY few movies 5 stars
7/21/03 carol king LOVE IT!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/19/03 Becca Marie Jamieson Best movie done in a long time 5 stars
6/17/03 Jenna Kase It was a great movie because they didn't make the guy she dumped look like "the bad guy" 5 stars
6/15/03 Arlene Titshaw Seeing Murphy Brown get slugged to the ground was worth it! 3 stars
6/15/03 Rhonda Blankenship Sweet Home, Alabama is between Jenifer & Anniston. 3 stars
6/12/03 Monster W. Kung Head-explodingly bad 1 stars
5/22/03 Misty Its the best movie made in a while 5 stars
5/04/03 Phil M. Aficionado Basic pointless rom com replete with stereotypes standard plot twists 2 stars
4/14/03 Jin Awful. 10 year olds kissing? Yeah right. 1 stars
4/07/03 pj "Whee, she punched her! Shes one of us again!" eeep! Please, Reese, come back! 3 stars
4/05/03 Ralph A good light commedy 4 stars
4/01/03 natasha_theobald not really funny, slightly more romantic 2 stars
3/12/03 Jason Martin "Sweet Home Alabama" is a good movie about finding yourself where you came from. 5 stars
3/11/03 Brandy I loved it! I guess "y'all" just have to be from AL to understand its like that EVERYWHERE! 5 stars
3/11/03 Arlene Titshaw Seeing Murphy Brown get slugged to the ground was worth it! 3 stars
3/05/03 Robert Cooley Thought it was great 5 stars
3/05/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Reese Witherspoon makes unexpectedly impressive rebound from that LEGALLY BOMBED caca! 4 stars
2/28/03 karen PIECE OF POO. not funny at ALL. STUPID STUPID STUPID. 1 stars
2/25/03 Jake LOVED IT!!!!! 5 stars
2/24/03 Jacob I wish I didn't see this movie. 1 stars
2/19/03 Would You Like To Know I got it yesturday and I've already watched it 12 times...my parents are about to kill me!! 5 stars
2/18/03 Sarah Doolittle It was the Best movie! I loved it!! :) 5 stars
2/17/03 John L Nowhere near as good as Doc Hollywood 2 stars
2/12/03 Jackie I LOVED this movie! I don't care what anyone says, I thought it was adorable! 5 stars
2/11/03 Kristen this was truly a sweet movie 5 stars
2/09/03 DJ very sickening story, attempts to glorify ignorance as some kind of virtue . FLUSH THE crap 1 stars
2/08/03 tikki love josh, wife was a bitch, fiance was too good for her 4 stars
2/07/03 Dao Tran This movie was very sweet and good! 5 stars
1/31/03 Brandice Olivotto I loved This movie how can you say that wait you must be a guy who hates chick flicks 5 stars
1/29/03 ali awesome 5 stars
1/23/03 Lisa Blundell Very sweet and shy-funny movie. 4 stars
1/19/03 james watch this one with someone special 3 stars
1/18/03 Colin Selby THE MORE I THINK ABOUT THS FILM THE MORE I WANY TO FLUSH IT DOWN THE TOILET 1 stars
1/17/03 Bobby If you like humor, originality, or good acting, you're looking at the wrong movie 1 stars
1/15/03 Joanna Callan Really good girly movie but you may need tissue Overall really enjoyable.s 5 stars
1/07/03 tina waste of time/money 1 stars
1/02/03 Jackson Matson Erik, you are a anal licking moron for missing the vitality and integrity in this film. 4 stars
12/27/02 hab99 was not as terrible as I first thought. A pleasant no-brainer 3 stars
12/24/02 shelley it was a fun movie not to be taken too seriously 4 stars
11/28/02 Gaiia i wouldn't see it 1 stars
11/09/02 john i havent seen it 1 stars
11/08/02 Leonard Good,Worth to watch 4 stars
10/27/02 Gitaar I would call it a chick-flick, but my date even hated it, completly predictable 1 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 It wasn't worth the $8 to see it in the theatre but it wasn't terrible. 2 stars
10/25/02 Nick it bites and shouldnt been shown, you could predict the rest of the movie 1 stars
10/13/02 Angry Black Man I like Patrick Dempsey, but I hated this movie. It was stupid!!! 1 stars
10/08/02 Uncle Salty Yet another mindless romantic comedy from the makers of EVERY OTHER ROMANTIC COMEDY! 1 stars
10/08/02 James why does the rest of my country hate me? 1 stars
10/05/02 jessica A GREAT FILM 5 stars
10/01/02 Alex "BIG TURD ALABAMA" 1 stars
9/30/02 Film Dude Fucking terrible 1 stars
9/30/02 brien could have been worse... but not MucH worse 2 stars
9/30/02 p-dog blows goats 1 stars
9/29/02 buttface mcbuttface horrible horrible horrible god-awful crappy idiotic total shitfest 1 stars
9/29/02 Flick Chick it was good - no, not academy award material, but entertaining. 4 stars
9/27/02 Dale Jones VERY GOOD, fun movie. Great cast, good story. Won't win any awards, but tastefully done. 5 stars
9/27/02 Danielle Ophelia Hollywood films enough movies in NC...they know their Southern stereotypes are bullshit! 1 stars
9/26/02 Ramblin Wreck Proving once again that only Southerners are the people you can legally make fun of 1 stars
9/22/02 Charles A great actress in a stupid, unoriginal, uninspired movie. 1 stars
9/20/02 Kisuta Better than I expected. Well written. Good plot twists. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Sep-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Dec-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast