Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.16

Awesome28.57%
Worth A Look: 17.14%
Just Average: 16.19%
Pretty Crappy: 18.1%
Sucks: 20%

8 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Road Not Taken, The by Jay Seaver

Great Battle, The by Jay Seaver

True Fiction by Jay Seaver

Pick of the Litter by Jay Seaver

Fahrenheit 11/9 by Peter Sobczynski

House With A Clock In Its Walls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Life Itself (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Unity of Heroes by Jay Seaver

Hanagatami by Jay Seaver

Predator, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Rules of Attraction, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Irredeemable

"Breaking the rules"
1 stars

Roger Avary's RULES OF ATTRACTION plays out like a Borscht Belt magician's show--a big bag of tricks that will probably entertain the targeted audience, but anyone who knows anything about magic are sure to roll their eyes at the work as that of a frivolous hack. In Avary's bag you'll find some rewound photography, multiple voice-over narration, a bit of fast-motion photography, and the now-overused and dreaded freeze-frame. My 17 year old cousin, who has never seen a film made before 1994, will love it.

To say the film is a classic example of style over substance would be a disservice to both style and substance. This movie is an attempt at style over style in the very absence of substance, but what is achieved is a train wreck of misguided ambition. Roger Avary reminds me of the title character from the movie RUDY. He desperately wants to be a great filmmaker and has great passion for films but simply lacks the requisite talent to actually put a competent film together. Sure, he might excel on the practice squad and garner a co-writing credit here and there but he has no business on the field when the plays count.

ATTRACTION plays out in a quasi-RASHOMON form, as events on a night in question are seen from multiple points of view. Time is bent, twisted, overlapped and pretzeled around the happenings of three college students on the mythical New England campus of Camden. Each character narrates his own story, and we are to assume these narrations are taking place at least a decade into the future, as the lives of many of these students are commented upon with dripping irony, reducing everyone in the film to walking contradictions, hypocritical and ultimately damned beings. Characters race by us like cards in a trick deck, with all the depth of those same playing cards. I cared about no one in this film, not because the players were all unlovable--their sin was worse than that. They suffered from unsophistication, a dagger to the heart of any character.

For all the "complex" visuals the director employs here, he cannot save his project from spiraling into an abyss of triteness. We learn everything we need to know about every character within the first thirty seconds of their screen time. The gay guy does gay stuff, the slut acts slutty, the stud does stud stuff, and so on. And what is the moral of this "morality play"? I think it's something along the lines of this: we are all obsessed and attracted to the people we cannot have. Lovely.

Next time, Roger, stay on the sidelines and write a slogan for a Calvin Klein ad campaign and leave the feature film work to the big boys.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6193&reviewer=341
originally posted: 05/21/03 19:38:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/10/14 PAUL SHORTT TEDIOUS, LOATHSOME ADAPTATION, WITH UNSYMPATHETIC CHARACTERS 2 stars
8/09/12 Dane Youssef Avary gives us a dire message about the party, the party animals and what it all means. 4 stars
3/10/09 Dane Youssef Much of the movie really works. Some of it doesn't. Superior to most college movies. 4 stars
12/28/07 GARTH WOW...loved it! Thought it was going to be a dumb teen angst film. Ended up impressed! 5 stars
5/25/07 Bitchflaps The sex scenes are about the least erotic thing you'll ever see in your life. Wretched film 1 stars
2/01/07 William Goss Sick, sad, and strangely compelling. 3 stars
2/20/06 Agent Sands I like the darkest of the dark movies, and this is one of those. 5 stars
7/25/05 Hermy It's unique (storytelling, cinematography, characters) and incredible (not pretentious). 5 stars
2/26/05 Danny I realize it's a satire, but it's also just plain mind-numbing. Yawn. 2 stars
11/16/04 gemma leneard the film shows real life issues that many people tend not to notice, start noticing! 5 stars
10/23/04 ODH Good funny flick, lacks a definitive ending though 4 stars
9/30/04 john k my fave movie in quite some time 5 stars
9/25/04 Tor Honolulu I liked Richard...oops, its DICK, not Richard, but he was in it for like four minutes 2 stars
9/22/04 Laura Bustamante This film was a sense of reality 5 stars
8/01/04 Charlene Javier I've seen better episodes of Dawson's Creek. 3 stars
7/18/04 JimmyC Fay Dunaway is the only highlight 1 stars
6/25/04 Xavier I concur, GR. The whole intelligence of it is how ultimately empty each charater is. 4 stars
5/18/04 LIAM JACKSON Rupert the drug dealer: what a fucking nutcase! 5 stars
5/10/04 GR People don't get it. This is a satire, so you don't like any of the characters on purpose. 5 stars
4/23/04 Daniel Harris One of the biggest wastes of time and money ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/23/04 movieguy A great film 5 stars
3/15/04 Daveman It's not even worth seeing James Van Der Beek get the shit kicked out him. 1 stars
2/03/04 Zargo some shit scenes make this less good then it could have been 4 stars
1/04/04 yourmom the film was daring to say the least, it was not original but it was unique 5 stars
11/21/03 TheDude Very Depressing movie. I'll never watch it again. 4 stars
10/27/03 Mark Good movie, snappy editing + direction, black humour, dark. 5 stars
10/03/03 Josh Reel college life 5 stars
10/02/03 Zaggo New and Inventive, reccomend to anyone who is openminded 5 stars
9/26/03 Honolulu Tur I've seen it three times and love Richard's (sorry, DICK'S!!) scene alot 4 stars
9/22/03 Ashton Kutcher's Boy Toy Tries to be earnest, but ends up utterly pretentious. 3 stars
9/15/03 DHite Sucks, and what's with Sossamon's hair? ick! 1 stars
8/10/03 Masacree I dont understand! "The Hulk" is "Worth a look" and this movie "Sucks" !? Its so wrong! 4 stars
5/22/03 Caiphn Entertaining 4 stars
4/27/03 Mike One of the best films of the year - not for everyone, though 5 stars
3/03/03 Matt Scott It is very well technically made, and there are some amusing moments, but the story sucks 3 stars
2/28/03 cw boring and painful 1 stars
2/26/03 saMas despite the criticisms (often valid) this is definitely worth a look 4 stars
2/20/03 A. Kane Like the technical elements but the story was weak at times 3 stars
2/13/03 Andrew Carden Someone Needs To Shut These Kids Up 1 stars
2/09/03 thejames its allright. better then alot of movies but nothing spectatcular. 4 stars
1/21/03 Reini Urban Best teen movie 2002 5 stars
12/12/02 Natalie Stonecipher 2-hour collection of false endings, and the actual ending sucks most of all. Insufferable. 1 stars
11/19/02 Ron20003 Whoa -- this was bad, very bad. 1 stars
10/29/02 noisey30 Terrible. 2 stars
10/19/02 nick2k <3 S.F. damn this was good! its not fair that movies like ballistic & tuxedo get more screens. 5 stars
10/16/02 Deebo go fig you got a review that says the movie sux coock from a kid with the name Dick 5 stars
10/15/02 .Choadushouse. Probably the most influential movie I've ever seen. Absolutely loved it. 5 stars
10/14/02 will that was very interesting 4 stars
10/14/02 Jhonny Funny, original, thought provoking, must see. I hope Avary makes another film soon! 5 stars
10/13/02 Borden It was fun 5 stars
10/13/02 Gene S. Wind who the fuck said this movie was depressing.funny and serious.Laughed my arse off at Fred S 5 stars
10/13/02 Chancey Sugarpants I'm so sick of shit like this. H'wood, pull your head out of your ass & put it to good use. 2 stars
10/13/02 better than the book The “backwards” device grates, but it's a sharp, uncompromising film. 5 stars
10/13/02 Michael Sucks a Fattie Everything I've ever searched for in a movie. Style, substance, pure COOL. And the Beek! 5 stars
10/12/02 David Green Almost impossible to stay awake while watching it! 2 stars
10/12/02 Dick The movie's best line also sums it up...."It sucks Coooooooock" 2 stars
10/11/02 Pat Bateman Excellent 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Oct-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Feb-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast