Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.13

Awesome: 31.75%
Worth A Look58.73%
Just Average: 1.59%
Pretty Crappy: 6.35%
Sucks: 1.59%

4 reviews, 39 user ratings



Tuck Everlasting
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A quiet, simple film that will not appeal to its target demographic."
4 stars

"Tuck Everlasting" is uncommon for a live-action Disney film. It has no flatulence jokes, for one thing, and it ruminates elegantly on matters of mortality and death far more than is typical of any family film.

It is directed by Jay Russell, whose "My Dog Skip" also dealt with innocence and the surprising depth that can be found in the emotions of children. "Tuck Everlasting," adapted by Jeffrey Lieber and James V. Hart, is faithful to the poignant story and gentle spirit of Natalie Babbitt's novel, though some of the impact gets lost in the translation.

The time is 100 years ago, when the rough-and-tumble spirit of the American west was beginning to clash with the stiff manners of the elegant life some Americans sought to cultivate. Teen-ager Winnie Foster (Alexis Bledel) is the daughter of wealthy, formal parents (Amy Irving and Victor Garber) who don't allow her to do anything frivolous. Then she meets the Tucks, a curious family for whom time seems to be no object, who seem to live life in a carefree manner -- except for some secret burden that weighs them down heavily.

Jesse (Jonathan Jackson), the younger son, is smitten with Winnie. His older brother, Miles (Scott Bairstow), is far more serious and somber. Their parents, the kindly Mae (Sissy Spacek) and Angus (William Hurt), are generous but sad. Something is not right with this family, but Winnie is drawn to them.

The acting throughout is restrained and respectable, particularly from Sissy Spacek, whose lines often border on the poetic, and from the fresh-faced Alexis Bledel. Her romance with Jonathan Jackson, sure to have teens swooning, conveys much of the giddy recklessness of young love.

The one exception in the acting department is Ben Kingsley, who is too over-the-top and sinister as the mysterious Man in the Yellow Suit. I believe he belongs in a different movie, one where villains have curly mustaches and sneer at the heroines.

Russell's hand is even and his tone is kind; he knows he is making a decent, good-hearted film, not a braying crowd-pleaser. There is much to admire in costume and scenic design, and in the general feeling of sweetness that pervades the film.

If you could live forever, would you? That's the question at hand, but the film does not address it as completely as it should. The audience who will appreciate the young romance probably will not appreciate the film's ending, which may be too mature and unromantic for their tastes. Where the book spent many paragraphs debating the ethics of the "Would you live forever?" quandary, the movie gives only some cursory philosophical declarations before moving on to the conclusion. It's a good destination, but the road to it needs more clarification.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6195&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/06/03 20:18:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/12/09 girl this is a gorgeous movie and for those teenybobbers, yes jesse is gorgeous 4 stars
1/07/09 Rachel i really liked this film, the message is handled so gently and so well. 4 stars
5/27/08 PAUL SHORTT THE KIND OF STORY THAT STAYS WITH KIDS, BECOMES MORE MEANINGFUL TO THEM AS GROWNUPS 4 stars
1/12/08 emily it was like the bets, like todally 4 stars
12/20/07 dayra i love it JESSE IS HHHHOOOOTTTT.... the best movie that i see ever..... 5 stars
6/22/07 Jessica So touching Jesse Tuck is hoooooooooooooooooooooooooootttttttttttt 5 stars
5/16/07 ¢¾Kasey¢¾ IT WAS SOOOOOOOOOO KOOL(IM 12 YEARS OLD)I LUVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/25/05 R.W. Welch Pros and cons of immortality. Good cast. Almost WAL. 3 stars
5/07/05 Valerie good movie 4 stars
3/14/05 thierry I loved it! 5 stars
1/18/05 Aaron Smith Charming lesson about love and immortality. 4 stars
8/22/04 Ma. Vinna Corazon V. Paraguya probably great?joke...no it's amazing! 4 stars
6/26/04 Elena I think it's a great film.. with a really good message. 5 stars
4/16/04 Michael Greenwaldt Looked boring, but I'm glad I saw it. Surprisingly very good! 4 stars
3/30/04 Vivian Oliva e Isabel Juárez It is a good movie but it has some cursi parts. "cursi" is a Spanish word. 4 stars
1/17/04 becky debord can any one name the old film this movie is based on this movie is very good 5 stars
1/01/04 Yvette Szabo Loved this movie, makes you want to make the most of life while we have it. 5 stars
12/16/03 Myra Salcido I thought that this movie was a beautiful movie with just the right touch of romance!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/30/03 AMANDA Tuck Everlasting is a greatt book and film, its based on a myth about a magica spring. 5 stars
10/28/03 Allie mills it is a hunk of junk 1 stars
9/13/03 Charity Knight It was so great! Jonathan Jackson was the best actor in the film. 5 stars
8/12/03 lucy it was beautifully done! it makes me cry everytime. 5 stars
8/04/03 Alli evans it's my favorite i think the producer did an excellant job with capturing whats in the book 5 stars
7/23/03 Kit Stupid movie. Whole love thing has been overplayed so much. 2 stars
6/26/03 Beatrice Good movie, but not as good as the book by a long shot. 4 stars
5/07/03 Jessica The book and the movie are the best thing that has ever came out . 5 stars
4/29/03 The Talking Elbow Sweet, sad love story, not perfect, but leaves a lot for your imagination to play with. 4 stars
4/23/03 Anna Phillipe I loved it 5 stars
4/07/03 ashley it was great 5 stars
4/02/03 tammi canol the best movie ive ever seen(for now) 5 stars
3/26/03 Kimberly Very thought provoking and poignant. I'd recomend this film to anyone. Great cast and story 5 stars
3/21/03 vanessa villegas it was the best film ever Jonathan was so hott in it 5 stars
3/19/03 Andrew Carden Good Screenplay, but Otherwise Dated and Contrived Disney Material. 2 stars
1/30/03 Her Royal Heinie Bizarre story never really takes on a raison d'être, nor does it provide significant wisdom 2 stars
1/11/03 Film Dude An inspired moment or two, but disappointing nontheless. 2 stars
11/26/02 durva my commet is that i like the book more then movie i want read the book again and again 5 stars
10/28/02 John McNew A brief, simplistic, but sensitive and sweet fable of life, death and immortality 4 stars
10/16/02 Allie S. Best I have ever seen! 5 stars
10/12/02 Nicole Pretty true to the book I loved as a kid....tastefully made into a film. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Oct-2002 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Mar-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast