Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.78

Awesome: 7.41%
Worth A Look37.04%
Just Average: 7.41%
Pretty Crappy: 22.22%
Sucks: 25.93%

3 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Island of Dr. Moreau, The (1996)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Despite the problems I loved it!"
4 stars

All this talk about this film.. About Richard Stanley being fired from his directing duty.... What was the finished product like?

I loved it.

Yes, I know Frankeheimer shot it with storyboards drawn on the day, I know most of the cast and crew went on strike. But as a film I loved it.

Plot wise, well lets say, crossbreeding animals and humans on a tropical island, (No four-assed monkey either!)
The script is pretty run of the mill, nothing extra ordinary, and it does have a few cheesy lines (what do you expect from a rewrite a few days into filming. But what I loved were the performances, mainly of Marlon Brando and his little friend. I loved every moment they were on screen.

David Thewlis was fine (Please no-one say 'Oh but he was out of place'. THAT WAS THE POINT!) Val Kilmer was a bit pretentious but he did the job well enough. There were a few others, Ron Pearlman etc.. who were just cheese in latex.
The FX were fine, though the masks were a bit iffy and a couple of the CGI jobs wernt good.
But this whole film for some reason was cool. From the titles to the credits, I loved it.

I saw this at the cinema and I was the only one of all my peers who saw it who loved it (But they all thought Armageddon was cool, stupid inbred gits)

But it works best in its directors cut form on DVD with AC-3. Then the film really works.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=624&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/08/98 03:49:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/15/13 Mac Most of the creatures look bad but Lo-Mai looks good 2 stars
7/17/13 Modjango Von Milfryder This movie grows on you...like a fungus! Loved it! 5 stars
12/27/12 ACTION MOVIE FAN DULL BORING TELLING 1977 MOVIE WAS ALOT BETTER 2 stars
5/24/09 art BRANDO"S WORST!,AND THEN THE WORST VERISON OF DR.MOREAU! 1 stars
2/02/07 David Pollastrini saw it but have no memory so it must have sucked 2 stars
7/10/06 David Cohen Kilmer acts silly, Thewlis acts cowardly, Brando acts badly, Audience leaves 2 stars
11/20/05 Frank Rountree This movie was very slow moving and not worth admission. 1 stars
8/19/05 ES Honestly it could have been more. FX bad, acting ho-hum, unbelievable plot 2 stars
6/06/05 Sincal Loved it...absolutely thought it was wonderful!!! Exquisitely portrayed with a picturesque! 5 stars
3/09/05 tatum Definitely one of the strangest films ever made 2 stars
5/13/04 John clumsy and unfocused 2 stars
10/01/03 Gray bad from book to movie+ low point for many good actors 2 stars
9/17/03 Donna Gelpigi One of H. G. Wells's lesser novels lessened still further on film. 2 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Better than you've likely heard. Not great, but pretty involving. 3 stars
1/15/03 Brandon LeBoeuf Fairuza Balk RULES! 5 stars
7/30/02 KMG KILMER SUCKS....BRANDO SUCKS.......ALL THE TIME 1 stars
6/20/02 the Grinch Could've been more...but at least Stanley rode the Fairuza train. Or was it Val? (shudder) 3 stars
6/10/02 Roy Smith Fairuza Balk...future star...totally beautiful. Movie ok. 4 stars
12/20/01 Andrew Carden A Pale Adaption To The Original, but It's Not Half-Bad Either. 3 stars
7/15/01 skrelick worst movie ever 1 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart Read the book...don't watch the movie!!! ARGH...BORING!!! 2 stars
2/04/01 Brian Huh? A Z-grade beneath planet of the apes. Where can I order the midget and ice bucket hat? 1 stars
12/13/00 AtlantaBill My feelings about this movie can be summed up in two words.....Anal Rape. 1 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla Dull movie, another fucked up rip-off to the original novel, read it, but don't watch this 1 stars
8/27/00 max sukky 1 stars
3/23/00 David Rogers Can sombody please tell me what happend? 1 stars
3/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Immediately striking, but vastly forgettable. 2 stars
1/20/00 Add What a load of bollocks!!!!! 1 stars
9/22/99 Matt Man...did this movie suck!!!! Val... GET A LIFE!!! 1 stars
3/10/99 little jerry To get a sense of the creepy strangeness of Wells' book see only ISLAND OF LOST SOULS(1933) 3 stars
11/25/98 Fred If HG Wells would come back to life, he'd kill himself. 1 stars
11/12/98 Jules I was surprised. I liked it. 4 stars
9/22/98 Patti I thought the story was good, and the makeup was pretty neat. 5 stars
9/01/98 J-Guy load of turd eating, cock thumping, bullsnot. 1 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Tank girl type effects. Awful. 2 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress i really don't have much to say cept it sucked all ass. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Aug-1996 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast