Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.07

Awesome: 6.9%
Worth A Look: 3.45%
Just Average: 6.9%
Pretty Crappy55.17%
Sucks: 27.59%

2 reviews, 17 user ratings



Truth About Charlie, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"It will soon be forgotten. Let us not trouble ourselves over it."
2 stars

We could spend hours bemoaning the tragedy of bad films made by talented people, but we’d be doing it just to hear ourselves talk.

It doesn’t matter that “The Truth About Charlie” has fine source material (it’s a remake of the 1963 Cary Grant/Audrey Hepburn film “Charade”). It’s irrelevant that the director, Jonathan Demme, also helmed the superlative “Philadelphia” and “The Silence of the Lambs.” The talents of stars Thandie Newton and Mark Wahlberg don’t matter, nor does Demme’s casually cool visual style, nor the way-hip Euro-pop musical score, nor the entertaining cameo by French singing legend Charles Aznavour.

What matters is that, regardless of the skill and potential went into it, “The Truth About Charlie” is flat, pointless and unexciting.

Set in Paris, it is a mystery-thriller about a woman (Newton) pursued by bad guys who believe she has access to $6 million her dead husband stole from a failed U.S. military action in Yugoslavia. Wahlberg plays the gallant American who tries to help her ... or does he??????

What made for a cracking fine tale of espionage and double crosses in 1963 seems downright quaint now. It’s not that the twists are predictable; it’s that the audience doesn’t care.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6254&reviewer=247
originally posted: 10/24/02 17:25:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/10 PAUL SHORTT INFERIOR REMAKE OF CHARADE 2 stars
9/06/09 Cat Smith I never really like Charade but this film is garbage. 1 stars
1/23/07 Matt Boisson and Newton stand out in this ocean of mediocrity. 2 stars
5/23/04 Butterbean Better than original. Newton is perfect. Wahlberg's miscasted. Some scenes made it lame. 3 stars
4/26/04 el yosharto dyle, peters or barlotheway he was HOTTER DEN HELL! I LOVE HIM! HIS ABS ROX! 4 stars
4/06/04 Taylor Fladgate Horrible...A waste of time... 1 stars
12/19/03 Monster W. Kung God-awful. 1 stars
8/04/03 Piz Not typical Hollywood junk, smart but contrived, terrible sound. 3 stars
6/10/03 George Jung Terrible shit...I wish I had thrown the money away rather than pay to see this shit. 1 stars
4/12/03 kitty horrible horrible movie 1 stars
3/16/03 Sodium Pentothal Wahlberg's a jejune American who can't pass off as anything more than a plebeian in Paris. 1 stars
12/24/02 Goofy Maxwell Alt. titles: "The Bourne Charade", "Marky Mark Jumps the Shark", "Crap". 1 stars
11/03/02 gaymonk great movie, very clever, I love Ted Levine and Christine Boisson 5 stars
11/03/02 Reid What a piece of shit. A downright insult. 1 stars
10/27/02 Butterbean I didn't like Charade either, but this piece of shit made me appreciate it. 2 stars
10/25/02 kitt4film@hotmail.com I never really like Charade but I'm sure not going to see the remake!! 2 stars
10/22/02 stropi I loved it 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Oct-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Mar-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast