Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.24

Awesome: 5.56%
Worth A Look: 9.26%
Just Average: 7.41%
Pretty Crappy59.26%
Sucks: 18.52%

4 reviews, 30 user ratings



I Spy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"And Eddie Murphy's value to the human race drops another notch."
2 stars

"I Spy" was a moderately popular, somewhat-fondly remembered series that ran only three seasons in the 1960s. It starred Robert Culp and Bill Cosby and is noteworthy now primarily as a footnote: It was the first non-comedy series to star an African-American actor. I have never seen the show, so I cannot say how the new film version compares. I would guess they are not even remotely similar, since Eddie Murphy and Owen Wilson were not acting yet then, and since both actors are playing the same characters they always play.

Murphy is an arrogant, fast-talking champion boxer named Kelly Robinson, the sort of guy who refers to himself in the third person and who talks so fast you sometimes can't understand him.

He is scheduled to fight in Budapest, where by coincidence an evil billionaire madman (Malcolm McDowell) is holding a top-secret invisible airplane that he stole from the U.S. government. Robinson is enlisted to help the Bureau of National Security get the plane back, teaming up with bumbling agent Alexander Scott (Wilson).

Scott is busy competing with cocky fellow agent Carlos (Gary Cole) and seeking attention from pretty lady agent Rachel (Famke Janssen), all while trying to earn respect in the bureau. If he screws this job up, he's history!!!! Or something.

If it sounds pretty formulaic, then I have described it accurately. Men from different walks of life who dislike each other and are of different ethnicities must work together, slowly becoming friends amidst all the verbal sparring. The only thing separating this from "Rush Hour," "Shanghai Noon," "Blue Streak" and dozens of others is that this one is based on a TV show. The car chases, explosions and one-liners spoken while being shot at are all the same.

Murphy continues his descent into oblivion with yet another phoned-in performance. Wilson does the same down-to-earth, wry-humor shtick that has worked numerous times before and almost works here.

There is a scene where Robinson coaches Scott, Cyrano-style, on wooing Rachel, using the lyrics to "Sexual Healing" as his ammunition. Perhaps it is no coincidence that this, the film's one funny scene, is one where Murphy and Wilson are not even in the same room.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6271&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/04/03 04:04:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

5/19/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Doesn't really have much to do wtih the TV. show, but it's still kinda decent. 3 stars
8/12/09 Jeff Wilder Better than Pluto Nash. But still lame. Go to Budapest instead and see it yourself. 2 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT INSIPID AND MIRTHLESS 1 stars
9/07/05 matt it had its moments 3 stars
9/04/05 tony stupid with some funny parts 2 stars
6/15/05 mysterio it was really funny, eddie murphy as funny as ever, no problem here 4 stars
2/25/05 swamprat Yeah- worth a look- don't think abouit the plot just watch Eddie! 4 stars
6/05/04 Michael tucker Eddie Murphy made the movie good, he still got it. EDDIE!! EDDIE!! EDDIE!! 5 stars
6/05/04 Geron Smith Eddie Murphy is a g n funny. i dont know why these other dumasses like cat smith or gecko 5 stars
3/25/04 Alfred Guy Borders on total crap. And I watch almost anything. 2 stars
3/24/04 Shelley Shea Eddie Murphy still makes me laugh. 4 stars
3/24/04 Erica Thornton A mildly funny piece of fluff. 3 stars
3/23/04 Cat Smith While I love Owen Wilson, I could have happily killed Eddie Murphy. This film is Crappy. 1 stars
3/23/04 Leslie Lato A comedy... without laughs. 2 stars
3/08/04 Jaco Visser Have ssen better, but what else to expect from Chan? 2 stars
6/02/03 Virgil Both actors are usually funny, but they were floundering in this movie. Sucked! 1 stars
4/18/03 Gecko Fanfoot This movie could have been much better with Chris Tucker instead of Murphy. Oh well. 2 stars
3/04/03 Andrew Carden Horrid Adaption Of Unfunny 60's Crime Show. 1 stars
2/04/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Exasperating overkill of the feuding partners theme. 2 stars
2/02/03 Turtle Eddie Murphy and Owen Wilson are great together. Another great buddy comedy/action flick. 4 stars
1/12/03 343 3r3 5 stars
1/09/03 Paul Coleman Worst movie of the year. The filmmakers should be ashamed! 1 stars
12/07/02 Michael Flynn 1/2*: Let's see...cliches, plot holes, cliches, plot holes...the misery never ends here. 1 stars
11/23/02 Joe Zappa "The Tuxedo," "The Transporter," "I Spy." Same movie, different name. 2 stars
11/10/02 Mipchunk I thought this was about the transexual in Eddie's van, what a letdown. 1 stars
11/05/02 Kyle Kryger Had some slow points, but overall is was the best new release I've seen in 6 months 4 stars
11/01/02 Uncle Salty Shovel this one on top of the other 512 buddy-film shit remakes we've seen. Murphy is OVER. 1 stars
11/01/02 Jake No more Eddie Murphy! He sucks. 1 stars
11/01/02 Darren Shea Passable entertaiment - the leads have good chemistry, but the so-so script drags in spots. 3 stars
11/01/02 monkeysvsrobots.com they are making a hawaii five o movie. i'll probably see that. didn't bother w/ this... 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Nov-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Jan-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast