Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.05

Awesome: 18.75%
Worth A Look: 6.25%
Just Average: 3.13%
Pretty Crappy: 4.69%
Sucks67.19%

4 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eight Crazy Nights
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"For some reason, Adam Sandler gets to make any movie he wants."
1 stars

Film comedies are subjective, perhaps the most subjective of any genre. What one person finds funny may be entirely different from what someone else finds funny. Your background, personal experiences, education -- basically your entire life up to the minute you hear a joke determines whether you laugh at it.

So all a film critic can do is say whether he laughed at the film, and then try to explain what sort of humor the film employs, to help the reader ascertain whether he will agree or disagree with the critic's assessment.

Adam Sandler's "Eight Crazy Nights" made me laugh about four times. It strikes me as an excessively gross, dull film, an animated hybrid of "Jackass" and "South Park," but lacking the originality or wit of either of those sophomoric TV series.

Sandler provides the voice for Davey Stone, who looks and acts a good deal like Sandler, which I don't necessarily mean as a compliment. Davey is the terror of the town of Dukesberry, constantly engaging in acts of public vandalism and mayhem, especially around the holidays. To keep from being put in prison after the latest stunt -- he destroyed the town's Hanukkah/Christmas ice sculpture -- he is put in the custody of Whitey (voice of Sandler again), an old man who referees youth basketball. Whitey and his twin sister, Eleanore (Sandler again), then have the task of reforming Davey, melting his heart, and so on.

Whitey is a sweet, likable character; naturally, he is perpetually abused by the cruel, psychotic Davey. Davey is our protagonist, remember, and he's thoroughly unsympathetic. In most of Sandler's films, as irritating as he can be, at least he's a somewhat likable Everyman figure. Not so here. Here, he locks Whitey in a porta-potty and pushes it down a hill. Whitey emerges, covered in excrement, which Davey sprays with water, turning Whitey into a poop-sicle. Then a herd of deer come and lick Whitey clean. Then the deer's poop-covered teeth are shown in close-up. You are more than welcome to find this funny if you so choose; I did not.

In terms of creative quality, it is low. The story is certainly nothing new, and the songs -- yes, it's a musical -- are simplistic and derivative. The animation is Saturday-morning-caliber. The narration is redundant. The voice work is adequate, provided mostly by Sandler and his friends. It is one of the worst films Sandler has ever appeared in. I doubt whether even "Waterboy" and "Mr. Deeds" fans will find much to laugh at.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6388&reviewer=247
originally posted: 12/01/02 22:18:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/19/11 Ark Turd! Smarmy and mean-spirited! Sandler=turd! 1 stars
12/28/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess A mixed bag 3 stars
5/23/09 art THE BOTTOM OF THE BARELL! 1 stars
8/14/08 Shaun Wallner Sandler makes some great films! 5 stars
7/07/06 NS I laughed and laughed, but it can be offensive crap. 2 stars
5/01/06 Anthony Feor No comment 1 stars
12/26/04 mjoc Why? Crap this bad should be illegal. 1 stars
8/05/04 ELI I did not laugh ONCE during this movie. >:( 1 stars
5/03/04 Greg Axelson Da Bomb 5 stars
3/23/04 Neo I think this movie is just great. Just hilarious. 5 stars
2/23/04 Libby C. This is one of the best movies ever! I love it! 5 stars
2/09/04 Greg I think this movie was funny, who cares about maturity! 4 stars
2/07/04 anonoymous Funny movie... 5 stars
2/01/04 Janelle Baril This movie kicked so much ass! It made me laugh and cry! Definetly one of Adam S.'s best! 5 stars
1/28/04 taylor you stuipid fat bitch adam sandler rolls 5 stars
1/14/04 Betty White Crude humor and mediocre original tunes are no help to this awful animated flick. 1 stars
12/18/03 bernard shaw this movie sucked way too much 1 stars
12/05/03 bender it just stoops too low. has a few laughs here and there, but not enough 2 stars
11/19/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) This is a damn good movie, you sons of bitches! Very funny, & Whitey is cool. 5 stars
11/16/03 Classic Crude Comedy Raunchy, mean-spirited, and hilarious! 4 stars
5/25/03 mee funny 5 stars
5/21/03 fgkughkgbyu steve oederkerk kicks sandlers' ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/24/03 J.M. Excellent, Masterpiece, a credit to the nation 5 stars
4/13/03 Dana Carvey must DIE!!! it's very simple. Adam Sandler fans are gay. 1 stars
3/31/03 Mandy I thought it was reeli funny!! haha but i see how others could find it offending... 5 stars
2/21/03 Jon lame 1 stars
2/17/03 taj Adam, please convert to another religion. 1 stars
2/10/03 Crystal Costa Not good for kids 3 stars
1/30/03 Her Royal Heinie Animated self-parody of Adam Sandler, who is better not parodied. 2 stars
12/29/02 John Aster Habig it dsoesn't even deserve a friggin Razzie 1 stars
12/13/02 George Jung=Pedophile Here's a good reason to see The Two Towers 1 stars
12/06/02 BAM GREAT 5 stars
12/04/02 Snookeroo Even the trailer for this flick is offensive; what mean-spirited trash! 1 stars
12/03/02 White Bread Pretty good. Best Christmas film since Serendipity. 4 stars
12/02/02 Chancey Sugarpants I'd like 2 smash this tard in the head with a brick for making shit but it'd have no effect 1 stars
12/02/02 Anarchy Azmi adam sandler=good.. 4 stars
11/29/02 Mike At least it was only an hour... felt like two and a half! 1 stars
11/28/02 Adam Sandler = The Enemy Could this movie be the last nail in his coffin? Let's hope so! 1 stars
11/28/02 Joe Deblow FINALLY returns! I hope this guy gets hit by a friggin bus 1 stars
11/27/02 Ayatolla of Rockinrolla I think I laughed twice 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Nov-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 21-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Dec-2002


Directed by
  Seth Kearsley

Written by
  Allen Covert
  Brooks Arthur

Cast
  Adam Sandler
  Tyra Banks
  Jon Lovitz
  Kevin Nealon
  Rob Schneider
  Austin Stout



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast