Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.66

Awesome33.04%
Worth A Look: 31.3%
Just Average: 11.3%
Pretty Crappy: 17.39%
Sucks: 6.96%

6 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Final Destination 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Violates the spirit of the original -- and yes, the original had a spirit."
2 stars

I believe “Final Destination” (2000) was a widely misunderstood film. On its face, it seems to be a generic, unbelievable horror film about teens who get killed, with thin characters and wooden dialogue. Upon further examination, though, it becomes clear that the filmmakers -- “X-Files” veterans James Wong and Glen Morgan -- intended it that way. They want us to laugh with the film, not at it. Surely these guys, being responsible for many genre-defying episodes of a genre-defying TV series, know “lame horror flick” when they see one. “Final Destination” was not meant to be taken seriously, but as a wickedly dark spoof that, like “X-Files,” successfully blended mockery of horror with actual horror. On that level, it was a decent piece of entertainment.

Now comes the depressing and obligatory sequel, made by new, inexperienced people, featuring almost none of the faces from the original, and using not a continuation of the first film’s plot, but THE SAME PLOT, recast with different characters. It is wearisome to contemplate Hollywood’s dearth of good ideas.

The story is that a teen-age girl named Kimberly Corman (A.J. Cook) foresees a horrific traffic accident in a vision, acts accordingly, and prevents the deaths of nine or 10 people who would have otherwise perished. But this messes with Death’s design -- when it’s your time to go, it’s your time to go -- and soon Death, merry prankster that he is, begins killing off the survivors anyway, using increasingly elaborate and ghastly methods.

Kimberly knows what’s going on. The near-accident occurred one year to the day after a teen-age boy foresaw a plane crash, got off, and spared the lives of several people, all of whom also died soon thereafter; this is what happened in the first “Final Destination.” She seeks out Clear Rivers (Ali Larter), the one person from that earlier incident to still be alive, though she has barricaded herself at a mental institution, safe from anything that could possibly kill her.

(This is a typical horror-film institution, by the way, all mist-enshrouded and featuring raving lunatics who yell things like, “Get ‘em off me!” when there’s nothing on them.)

Clear decides to help Kimberly and her fellow survivors, who are quickly becoming convinced that Death IS after them, since sure enough, they’re starting to drop like flies. They visit a creepy mortician (Tony Todd, from the first film), who gives them some ideas about how to escape Death once and for all.

The film is a copy of its predecessor, but a bad one. The plane crash vision in “Final Destination”? Whatever critics said about the film, they loved the sweaty terror of that well-produced sequence. The multi-car collision in “Final Destination 2”? OK, but marred by the over-use of fiery explosions, including a car that bursts into flames simply by having its top half -- the half where the gas tank ISN’T -- being sliced off.

More to the point, the aforementioned attitude of the first film is gone here, like maybe the new filmmakers didn’t even get it, much less were able to duplicate it. Where “FD1” was full of subtle visual clues foretelling characters’ deaths, and the use of “Rocky Mountain High” as a constant harbinger of doom, “FD2” manages one or two lame hints then gives up.

There is no atmosphere. This sequel, a deliciously stupid 90 minutes of outrageousness, actually is all the things that those who misunderstood its predecessor thought IT was. It’s lame and obvious, though I will say that at least it’s never boring. As far as bad movies go, this is a great one.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6582&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/30/03 22:25:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/08/10 Kyle Awesome sequel, and still has some of the best death scenes... 5 stars
11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT GRUESOME, DARKLY COMIC RETREAD 2 stars
2/16/09 action movie fan good anthology style sequel=extre,ly gory but engrossing 4 stars
1/16/09 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
4/01/07 fools♫gold O, how I wish I gave the third one a 1/5! 5 stars
2/22/07 PIPER IT WAS WONDER FUL I LOVED IT 5 stars
2/12/07 Anthony Feor A terrible sequel to a would be passable film (0.5/5) 1 stars
10/18/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
8/04/06 Stanley Thai The best one of the series. Not scary but thrilling, with some humor elements. 4 stars
5/18/06 R.W.Welch Barely passable retread. 3 stars
3/22/06 Indrid Cold This series has become one of the few good things about Hollywood horror these days. 4 stars
11/08/05 Littlepurch Nice 2 see an entertaining sequel having so much fun with the serious premise of the first. 4 stars
10/25/05 chris fox (the god) ok 3 stars
10/04/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
9/07/05 Tom Burns A very bloody, also kind of funny, since the death scenes are so unblievable. I loved it. 5 stars
7/08/05 Clubber Lang Good for about 30 minutes, then silliness takes over, and no suspense. 3 stars
5/27/05 critic's critc a lovely little movie....fun, reasonable characters 4 stars
10/31/04 lucas awesome 5 stars
9/29/04 Sarah It was fantastic. 5 stars
9/22/04 Al Guy Not bad for a sequel. Some really brutal scenes. Good! 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff good movie, surprisingly. 4 stars
8/02/04 magaafi its in the genre of "horror".....but its not horror, just good, solid entertainment 5 stars
7/31/04 Wank Boring plataeu-ic storyline 2 stars
7/18/04 Zach For all the people who say this movie is the same as FD1, you are all wrong. Great movie. 5 stars
4/04/04 Reaper Totally Kickass Movie - awesome pileup scene 5 stars
3/10/04 Joey the movie sucked it had totally differaint caracters and that guy in FD1 didnt come out 2 stars
3/05/04 Hayden Añana its very nice, cook is very pretty 5 stars
1/05/04 FR1 That scene at the dentist was a work of genius, with you never knowing who will die. Scary! 4 stars
1/03/04 Littlepurch Mostly enjoyable but ruined by Clear dying at the end.Shood have come up with a better end. 4 stars
12/08/03 Samuel This film is as equally as good as the origional... 5 stars
11/24/03 Thiago It's just the first one, but with more money. But in this case it's not a bad thing! 4 stars
11/03/03 American Slasher Goddess Bascially a repeat of the first movie, but it's still a fun ride. 4 stars
10/09/03 William B. Excellent movie and nothing like its preceder FD1. Not a waste of money or time. 4 stars
10/04/03 Double G first was beta 4 stars
10/01/03 Vitality1 Good GOD this was gory...gross at first, but also amusing & creative 5 stars
8/22/03 The Talking Elbow Really, really shitty performances and bad writting. 2 stars
8/21/03 jill one of the best movies ive eva seen!! 5 stars
8/18/03 snowconehead When gravity attacks accident prone cluster fucks 3 stars
8/12/03 kenny wonderful,scary,twisted and exciting!!! 5 stars
8/01/03 nr beter then the first 5 stars
7/19/03 James Owens Final Destination 2 is the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
7/13/03 Samuel Justus Fantastic Movie! Dont want to hurt anyones feelings,but better than the first! 5 stars
6/08/03 James Morris The best movie I've ever seen 5 stars
5/31/03 Ghetto Smurf This is my favourite movie ever. Gory, fun, exciting, romantic...umm 5 stars
4/24/03 Ashley Corpening Here's what happens to horror sequels when original killed off too many colorful characters 2 stars
4/15/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Charm of 1st has sunk to monotony&ambiguity. Not clear what happens to Clear. 3 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Wait. How did the last character die? 4 stars
4/14/03 Ali Larter fan Scott, comparing Ali Larter to Linda Hamilton? What sacrilege! An extra * in Ali's defense! 4 stars
4/10/03 curious me it was a very nice movie but each and every second i jumped from my chair 5 stars
4/09/03 me GREAT 5 stars
4/08/03 florel penamora pretty bad 3 stars
4/05/03 ömer very goog 5 stars
4/01/03 Penni This movie was one of the best movies i'm ever seen. Defiantly see it if u haven't 5 stars
3/29/03 HE great 5 stars
3/28/03 NYTRANSIT417 MORE GUTS MORE BLOOD JUST WHAT A SICK MIND NEEDS!A+ 5 stars
3/27/03 Katie & Brian Fucking awesome, I had chills the whole time 5 stars
3/27/03 Tony Ireland This film was fucking brilliant 5 stars
3/14/03 HE BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds David Ellis performs more predictable death situations than the first movie. 2 stars
3/10/03 brecht The best film 5 stars
3/03/03 Layne Fossen sucked 3 stars
3/02/03 kirmit highly entertaining to watch these annoying, idiotic people die annoying idiotic deaths 5 stars
3/01/03 Me Are you all this stupid? You have to be a complete dumb fuck to enjoy this 1 stars
2/10/03 Angela Espinoza I thought it was good and scary 5 stars
2/09/03 johnny fay it was called final destination for a reason...so natural they make a sequal.fuckingstuiped 1 stars
2/08/03 Kyle Really fucked up and disturbing, yet hilarious. If it weren 4 stars
2/07/03 Sean Hansford best film i have seen in a long time 5 stars
2/06/03 Stephanie aucking fwsome! 5 stars
2/05/03 Chris This Makes The Friday The 13th Series Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
2/04/03 Explodus Annoyingly convoluted plot, but utterly FUCKED-UP deaths. They deeply disturbed me >=^) 5 stars
2/03/03 N A fun ride - would see again 5 stars
2/02/03 venkman Gory good times. I've never seen someone die like THAT before. 4 stars
2/01/03 STEVE UH I CANT WAIT FOR FD3...NOT!HAHAHAHAH 1 stars
2/01/03 Shaun Nice twist to tie the two movies together, nice death scenes, good times 4 stars
2/01/03 Rob Good Action Sequences...but I could have written a better script with my left nut 2 stars
2/01/03 Brian de Castro Finally an R-rated horror film, w/ a capital R! This movie kicks major a**! 5 stars
1/31/03 George Jung I am a fucking idiot for paying to see this movie! 1 stars
1/31/03 scott A GREAT FILM BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
1/31/03 Pure Spring Water Why are we being punished? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jan-2003 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Mar-2003


Directed by
  David Ellis

Written by
  Eric Bress
  J. Mackye Gruber

Cast
  A.J. Cook
  Andrew Downing
  Michael Landes
  Ali Larter
  Tony Todd
  Lynda Boyd



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast