Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.66

Awesome33.04%
Worth A Look: 31.3%
Just Average: 11.3%
Pretty Crappy: 17.39%
Sucks: 6.96%

6 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Final Destination 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by MP Bartley

"#1 rule in Hollywood: If something works- repeat it endlessly."
3 stars

'Final Destination' was the horror film that caught everyone offguard to become one of the most stylish, sly and enjoyable horror flicks Hollywood had churned out in a while. It worked because Death was the killer, and he could strike anywhere, at anytime in any form. No need for a silly disguise here. 'Final Destination 2' therefore does exactly the same as the first one and is as good as you would expect it to be.

Instead of a plane crash, this time around it's a motorway pile-up that several 'lucky' survivors manage to escape after one of their number has a vision of it occurring. Death however won't be cheated of his prey and so goes after the survivors. Who are they? Who cares?The film certainly doesn't, after all they're simply fodder for the special effects team trying to outdo themselves with death after death here. It does make you realise that the first actually had a cast you gave a half damn about.

But this isn't about characters this is about gruesome and gory deaths and it can't be denied they're done with relish and invention. The motorway pile-up is stunningly done and is the best of its kind for sheer carnage that's well thought out and done with aplomb.

And then each death mounts up with staggering ingenuity and misfortune, the first death alone serving like a '100 things not to do in your kitchen' lesson (it's never explained however why Death needs them to die in such an elaborate way. Couldn't he give them all heart attacks which they can't run away from? Maybe I'm missing the point). And with that as a starter, they proceed to get bigger, funnier and gorier, although none have the impact of Terry's sudden interface with a bus from the original.

There's some semblance of a plot thrown in by Tony Todd's mortician (how does he know so much about it anyway?) with some guff about a birth cancelling out Death's plan to give us a climax to work towards but it's all nonsense really and it's all the same as before only not as fresh or thrilling.

But this isn't a film about logic, it's about gory deaths and the only thing you need to know is that thegory deaths rule the dancefloor here.

For a trashy, gory flick with lots of sick jokes 'Final Destination 2' is never boring and has a lot of invention to it. But Hollywood, how about something original next time? Now THAT would be inventive.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6582&reviewer=293
originally posted: 09/02/04 09:43:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/08/10 Kyle Awesome sequel, and still has some of the best death scenes... 5 stars
11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT GRUESOME, DARKLY COMIC RETREAD 2 stars
2/16/09 action movie fan good anthology style sequel=extre,ly gory but engrossing 4 stars
1/16/09 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
4/01/07 fools♫gold O, how I wish I gave the third one a 1/5! 5 stars
2/22/07 PIPER IT WAS WONDER FUL I LOVED IT 5 stars
2/12/07 Anthony Feor A terrible sequel to a would be passable film (0.5/5) 1 stars
10/18/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
8/04/06 Stanley Thai The best one of the series. Not scary but thrilling, with some humor elements. 4 stars
5/18/06 R.W.Welch Barely passable retread. 3 stars
3/22/06 Indrid Cold This series has become one of the few good things about Hollywood horror these days. 4 stars
11/08/05 Littlepurch Nice 2 see an entertaining sequel having so much fun with the serious premise of the first. 4 stars
10/25/05 chris fox (the god) ok 3 stars
10/04/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
9/07/05 Tom Burns A very bloody, also kind of funny, since the death scenes are so unblievable. I loved it. 5 stars
7/08/05 Clubber Lang Good for about 30 minutes, then silliness takes over, and no suspense. 3 stars
5/27/05 critic's critc a lovely little movie....fun, reasonable characters 4 stars
10/31/04 lucas awesome 5 stars
9/29/04 Sarah It was fantastic. 5 stars
9/22/04 Al Guy Not bad for a sequel. Some really brutal scenes. Good! 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff good movie, surprisingly. 4 stars
8/02/04 magaafi its in the genre of "horror".....but its not horror, just good, solid entertainment 5 stars
7/31/04 Wank Boring plataeu-ic storyline 2 stars
7/18/04 Zach For all the people who say this movie is the same as FD1, you are all wrong. Great movie. 5 stars
4/04/04 Reaper Totally Kickass Movie - awesome pileup scene 5 stars
3/10/04 Joey the movie sucked it had totally differaint caracters and that guy in FD1 didnt come out 2 stars
3/05/04 Hayden Añana its very nice, cook is very pretty 5 stars
1/05/04 FR1 That scene at the dentist was a work of genius, with you never knowing who will die. Scary! 4 stars
1/03/04 Littlepurch Mostly enjoyable but ruined by Clear dying at the end.Shood have come up with a better end. 4 stars
12/08/03 Samuel This film is as equally as good as the origional... 5 stars
11/24/03 Thiago It's just the first one, but with more money. But in this case it's not a bad thing! 4 stars
11/03/03 American Slasher Goddess Bascially a repeat of the first movie, but it's still a fun ride. 4 stars
10/09/03 William B. Excellent movie and nothing like its preceder FD1. Not a waste of money or time. 4 stars
10/04/03 Double G first was beta 4 stars
10/01/03 Vitality1 Good GOD this was gory...gross at first, but also amusing & creative 5 stars
8/22/03 The Talking Elbow Really, really shitty performances and bad writting. 2 stars
8/21/03 jill one of the best movies ive eva seen!! 5 stars
8/18/03 snowconehead When gravity attacks accident prone cluster fucks 3 stars
8/12/03 kenny wonderful,scary,twisted and exciting!!! 5 stars
8/01/03 nr beter then the first 5 stars
7/19/03 James Owens Final Destination 2 is the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
7/13/03 Samuel Justus Fantastic Movie! Dont want to hurt anyones feelings,but better than the first! 5 stars
6/08/03 James Morris The best movie I've ever seen 5 stars
5/31/03 Ghetto Smurf This is my favourite movie ever. Gory, fun, exciting, romantic...umm 5 stars
4/24/03 Ashley Corpening Here's what happens to horror sequels when original killed off too many colorful characters 2 stars
4/15/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Charm of 1st has sunk to monotony&ambiguity. Not clear what happens to Clear. 3 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Wait. How did the last character die? 4 stars
4/14/03 Ali Larter fan Scott, comparing Ali Larter to Linda Hamilton? What sacrilege! An extra * in Ali's defense! 4 stars
4/10/03 curious me it was a very nice movie but each and every second i jumped from my chair 5 stars
4/09/03 me GREAT 5 stars
4/08/03 florel penamora pretty bad 3 stars
4/05/03 ömer very goog 5 stars
4/01/03 Penni This movie was one of the best movies i'm ever seen. Defiantly see it if u haven't 5 stars
3/29/03 HE great 5 stars
3/28/03 NYTRANSIT417 MORE GUTS MORE BLOOD JUST WHAT A SICK MIND NEEDS!A+ 5 stars
3/27/03 Katie & Brian Fucking awesome, I had chills the whole time 5 stars
3/27/03 Tony Ireland This film was fucking brilliant 5 stars
3/14/03 HE BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds David Ellis performs more predictable death situations than the first movie. 2 stars
3/10/03 brecht The best film 5 stars
3/03/03 Layne Fossen sucked 3 stars
3/02/03 kirmit highly entertaining to watch these annoying, idiotic people die annoying idiotic deaths 5 stars
3/01/03 Me Are you all this stupid? You have to be a complete dumb fuck to enjoy this 1 stars
2/10/03 Angela Espinoza I thought it was good and scary 5 stars
2/09/03 johnny fay it was called final destination for a reason...so natural they make a sequal.fuckingstuiped 1 stars
2/08/03 Kyle Really fucked up and disturbing, yet hilarious. If it weren 4 stars
2/07/03 Sean Hansford best film i have seen in a long time 5 stars
2/06/03 Stephanie aucking fwsome! 5 stars
2/05/03 Chris This Makes The Friday The 13th Series Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
2/04/03 Explodus Annoyingly convoluted plot, but utterly FUCKED-UP deaths. They deeply disturbed me >=^) 5 stars
2/03/03 N A fun ride - would see again 5 stars
2/02/03 venkman Gory good times. I've never seen someone die like THAT before. 4 stars
2/01/03 STEVE UH I CANT WAIT FOR FD3...NOT!HAHAHAHAH 1 stars
2/01/03 Shaun Nice twist to tie the two movies together, nice death scenes, good times 4 stars
2/01/03 Rob Good Action Sequences...but I could have written a better script with my left nut 2 stars
2/01/03 Brian de Castro Finally an R-rated horror film, w/ a capital R! This movie kicks major a**! 5 stars
1/31/03 George Jung I am a fucking idiot for paying to see this movie! 1 stars
1/31/03 scott A GREAT FILM BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
1/31/03 Pure Spring Water Why are we being punished? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jan-2003 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Mar-2003


Directed by
  David Ellis

Written by
  Eric Bress
  J. Mackye Gruber

Cast
  A.J. Cook
  Andrew Downing
  Michael Landes
  Ali Larter
  Tony Todd
  Lynda Boyd



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast