Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.48

Awesome: 7.69%
Worth A Look: 13.46%
Just Average: 32.69%
Pretty Crappy: 11.54%
Sucks34.62%

2 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Space Jam
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Harmless."
3 stars

A movie based on a commercial. Yikes.

If you take away the fact that Michael Jordan, the actor, is about as good as Michael Jordan, the baseball player, this is actually not a bad movie.

Not quite the best marriage of live action and animation (like, say, Who Framed Roger Rabbit), Space Jam is a spotty kids movie. Younger viewers won't care about the sports, and older viewers will long for the original Mel Blanc voices (I know I was). There are a few good throwaway jokes (references to Pulp Fiction and the Mighty Ducks) and some good bits, but nothing out of the ordinary.

It does have a certain charm, though, something about seeing so many Warner Brothers characters on screen at once. It's not a great movie, but you could certainly do worse for your kids at the video store.

And what the hell is Bill Murray doing here?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=662&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/02/98 10:40:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/02/12 roscoe ok, but jordan and lola and the monstars just suck and get in the way 3 stars
3/29/10 PAUL SHORTT CUTE, WITH GOOD COMPUTER GENERATED SPECIAL EFFECTS 3 stars
8/22/09 JM Synth I was 10 when this came out and Gonsalves is right on the money. An insult to the Tunes 1 stars
7/25/09 the dork knight Didn't age well. Wayne Knight is still the man, though 3 stars
7/07/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* A fun little flick to watch with kids. Enjoyable for the most part. 3 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday I was a kid when this came out and I loved it. Not so much anymore. 4 stars
2/09/07 Heather The kids crave it and I appreciate real actors more after seeing the sports heros 'act.' 3 stars
2/09/07 Soranos Not such a great movie. 1 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca One word...poo 1 stars
3/03/06 Quigley there's something great about seeing the Looney Tunes together all at once. simply great 4 stars
1/26/06 JASTINE SARAH CUETO IT'S GREAT! 4 stars
11/22/05 she fang i liked it.do your comments have to be so vulgar? 4 stars
9/11/05 Total Crap Fuckin' Idiotic little kids movie with little kid rap songs. 'Tarded. 1 stars
8/24/05 ES This movie embodies how kids movies have been dumbed down and ruined for profit 1 stars
1/14/05 Dan Good for the kids 4 stars
10/18/04 Daveman Whoops, look at that I gave it three stars, silly me. 1 stars
8/19/04 Sean Scanlan Most scenes are embarasing 2 stars
6/27/04 Monster W. Kung A stinkin' rotten piece of shit!!! 1 stars
5/31/04 Sean Scanlan Some good scenes, but it is mostly boring 2 stars
5/16/04 Daveman Looney Tunes go contemporary? FUCK OFF!!! 3 stars
12/31/03 Jon Lyrik Pretty damn terrible, nothing but a Nike commercial and Jordan asskissing. See BIA instead. 2 stars
8/30/03 Kitty Kelso some funny lines and good music, but Bill Murray's cameo was my only REAL fav part 3 stars
8/15/03 bitch a bunch of garbage that isnt funny at all,a waste of a movie 1 stars
8/05/03 Double G jjjuuurrrgggeeennn 5 stars
12/12/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would have to agree that after you have seen this so many times! 3 stars
11/22/01 Andrew Carden The Soundtrack Was Pretty Good, but The Rest Was Totally Boring. 2 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Something to shut your kids up with 3 stars
9/02/01 Kenny Thejet The film was awesome, I like it a lot. 5 stars
7/29/01 lucas isleno awesome 5 stars
7/26/01 moviegoer Michael Jordon CAN'T act, Richard 2 stars
6/25/01 Robert Burton 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This works in theory--MJ & The Looney Tunes are classic Americana--but essentially a scam. 3 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung Tiresome garbage with no laughs. Sucks all ass. 1 stars
12/05/00 Cristopher Revilla movie was ok, well, at least jordan did well in his role 3 stars
9/25/00 Jed Underrated and not bad at all. 4 stars
2/18/00 Rock Stansy Watch this if you're retarted! For the dogs! Stinks like shit! Should I go on? 1 stars
2/18/00 Richard Wright No Roger Rabbit, but surprisingly funny and well worth seeing. I never knew MJ could act. 4 stars
9/30/98 Johny Take Who Framed Roger Rabbit? and lose all the humor and this is it 2 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee One reason this movie came about. Easy money from our pockets. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Should have been a short film for before a real movie. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Nov-1996 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast