Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.07

Awesome: 35.71%
Worth A Look46.43%
Just Average: 10.71%
Pretty Crappy: 3.57%
Sucks: 3.57%

1 review, 22 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Tales from the Crypt Presents: Demon Knight
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"If only all Hollywood horrors were made this well.."
4 stars

Now I hate the cryptkeeper.. But this is one cool film.

I like Hollywood horror.. I admit that much, but ONLY the ones with originality and some class.

Here it is a story of demons want to rule the world so nick the key which has Jesus' blood in it. You get the drift.

The direction is excellent thanks to Spike Lee alumni Ernest Dickerson,(he was a cinematographer and it shows)
The acting was also one thing that I was surprised at; Billy Zane, Jada Pinkett & William Sadler were all superb, as well as the supporting cast (CCH Pounder, Dick Miller, Charles Fleischer)

The whole approach and look of the film is so refreshingly original that you can fail to think it at least looks good.

The whole look of it is very eratic and comic book-like but not in a bad way.

The FX are also top rate with the demons looking very effective.

If only all Hollywood horrors were made this well..

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=676&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/08/98 03:31:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/18/07 action movie fan lots of gore, but no brains-simply awful 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist As good as an episode of TFTC, I grew up with memories of The Cryptkeeper. 4 stars
8/16/05 ES Excellent movie = funny, action packed and semi-original 5 stars
2/15/05 Wilt Chamberlin Anyone who badmouths Tales from the Crypt should be kicked in the ass! 5 stars
4/09/04 dr. horror phd salvation from the totally bland 90's 5 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Nothing spectacular,Zane's performance is excellent,though. 2 stars
1/26/04 Eric Billy Zane's best flick.hands down 4 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden It Started Out Very Crreepy and Eerie, but It Fell Apart Pretty Fast. 3 stars
10/28/01 Ken Jones What a great Horror movie, especially considering it was made in the '90s!!!! 5 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This one is one of the best!!!! it had everything a horror movie fan could ask for!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/31/01 Butterbean Billy Zane kept me moist throughout this movie 3 stars
1/30/01 Pitch2c a well made comedy horror flick in a pot of 90s shit 4 stars
1/25/01 PETER WILLIAM TAYLOR BRILLIYANT ZANE IS SO COOL 5 stars
10/29/00 Big Al great date movie 5 stars
7/14/00 Zak A s a B-Movie, it's as good as it gets 4 stars
5/13/00 Creeper It was a fun movie, it was INTENDED to be bad which is why it was good. Billy rocked. 5 stars
2/03/00 Jenifer Cherry I LOVED this movie, as only a true horror or TFRC fan can, and will! 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel I fully enjoyed this film... and not only because of beautiful bald Billy Zane! 5 stars
2/10/99 Ayako Talk about creepy. Man, my friends and I jumped out of our seats! Sorta Crappy though. 3 stars
11/24/98 Fred Did it's job. Billy Zane made this movie. 4 stars
9/07/98 Johny No masterpiece, but good horror fun 4 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress Billy Zane and buy my soul anytime, good flick. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jan-1995 (R)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast