Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.86

Awesome42.11%
Worth A Look: 29.82%
Just Average: 12.28%
Pretty Crappy: 3.51%
Sucks: 12.28%

4 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Die Mommie Die!
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jay Seaver

"How do you parody melodrama? With drag."
4 stars

I arrived a bit late for Die, Mommie, Die!, so I missed out on the credits. A shame, because it probably had a credit sequence as clever as its utterly hilarious trailer. But, the rest of the movie was worth it.

What surprises me, in a way, is not that it worked - I'd enjoyed screenwriter/star Charles Busch's Psycho Beach Party - but that both of these movies had started out as stage plays. They're lampooning such specific genres of film that doing them on stage seems in some way unnatural. However it worked on stage, though, it's a ton of fun as a film - Busch casting himself as Angela Arden, the film's leading lady, is almost necessary to kick the absurdity level up another notch or two over an authentic piece of melodrama.

I liked the supporting cast, as well. Jason Priestly is only too willing to chew as much scenery as he can fit in his mouth, and he's given tons of opportunity, with the chance to seduce nearly every character in the film, male or female. Both Natasha Lyonne and Stark Sands are very funny as Arden's equally dysfunctional kids. Philip Baker Hall doesn't fare quite so well, having little to do but be grouchy for most of his screen time. Complaining about hemmeroids just isn't in and of itself funny.

Parody's a tricky thing to do well, especially for a genre that manages to make itself look absurd without much help. Die, Mommie, Die! manages it, though, even while mostly playing fair as a murder mystery.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6888&reviewer=371
originally posted: 06/02/04 15:09:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/25/08 David Fowler Busch is absolute genius. Hilarious, a virtually perfect parody. 5 stars
10/30/06 Charles Tatum Toothless satire 2 stars
7/29/04 Bucky n Wiz Campy, Hilarious, Wonderful homage to Actresses who actually knew how to Act 5 stars
7/28/04 Elizabeth Extremely entertaining with an interesting story. 4 stars
1/28/04 dirk A tour d'force" Angela arden is a screen legend 5 stars
1/18/04 Theaterlover Best Comedy Of The Year 5 stars
12/01/03 Baf A great film for a sophisticated audience 5 stars
11/30/03 J B Not for those who want the standard, formulaic movie tripe 4 stars
11/29/03 Thomas Go see this film. You'll laugh your ass off. It's really cool for the under 30 audience. 5 stars
11/17/03 Alex Very funny spoof of Joan Crawford, et al. 5 stars
11/15/03 Lee Summers Great movie -- Charles Busch is a genius 5 stars
11/12/03 Lorne die mommy die was boring, Jason Priestley sucks. 2 stars
11/11/03 Mike Was laughing the whole time. Sands & Priestly are both very hot in this show 5 stars
11/03/03 Andy Incredibly funny, soft lighting is the best, go see it, its awesome 5 stars
11/03/03 Josser I've not seen a rather hilarious campy gay movie in quite some time. This is worth it 5 stars
11/02/03 Ben cheap sets and uneven story flow 3 stars
10/31/03 liz johnson STARK SANDS: Remember the name. Awesome talent 5 stars
10/31/03 X XC 5 stars
10/30/03 xan taylor Prediction: Stark Sands is the next Tom Cruise 5 stars
10/21/03 Nimh BRILLIANT A very quirky and unique film. Priestley & Busch are particularly funny. 5 stars
10/03/03 mark davis stark sands is a hot little number 4 stars
7/15/03 Jim Smith Lighting, makeup and costumes ... and a great script! 5 stars
6/18/03 Thomas Saw it again in S.F.This movie has to win an Oscar! 5 stars
3/26/03 leah Funny, funny, funny! Jason Priestley is totally funny & hot!!! 5 stars
1/28/03 natasha petrich verry nice,specially the photography 5 stars
1/27/03 kitty saw it at sundance. cant wait to take all my friends! 5 stars
1/26/03 Scott Howard Busch is a genius- his Sundance Best Actor award is well deserved. 5 stars
1/26/03 Adam Little Perfectly cheesy. 4 stars
1/25/03 Thomas This was sensational. Will be a huge crossover hit, and play malls! 5 stars
1/25/03 Sarah An absolute riot. Can't wait to own it, so I can watch over and over. 5 stars
1/24/03 Busch Fan Amazing. The kind of film I will know by heart. 5 stars
1/23/03 Greg Evans My sister shot it. I saw it's premier. I laughed a lot and groaned a little. It is fun! 4 stars
1/23/03 Sean I never laughed once and name this the worst comedy I have ever seen. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Oct-2003 (R)
  DVD: 29-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast