Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.37

Awesome71.05%
Worth A Look: 17.11%
Just Average: 0%
Pretty Crappy: 1.32%
Sucks: 10.53%

2 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Tommy Boy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"He's a big dumb animal, isn't he folks?"
5 stars

Grossly underrated.

Oh, come on now. Tell me you didn't laugh. It's not supposed to be art. It's Farley, for crying out loud. You can't go into a Farley movie not knowing what you're getting into. In the grand scheme of things, Tommy Boy is no Schindler's List. But then, Schindler's List is no Tommy Boy. They're two completely different films from two completely different genres and for two completely different audiences. To consider Tommy Boy a great film is stupid. To recognize it as funny, well, that's different.

Chris Farley is the title character, a likeable loser who spent seven years at college before finally graduating. He returns home to a proud father Tom, Sr. (Brian Dennehey) who promptly sets him up with a job in the family-owned business, working in the office section of an auto parts factory. He's saddled with a partner/comic foil named Richard (David Spade) who doesn't think Tommy's fit for the job. Dad is remarrying, this time to the lovely Beverly (Bo Derek), who brings in her unimpressed grownup son, Paul (Rob Lowe). Dad has a heart attack, and Beverly takes over the business. Tommy has to go on the road selling, Richard in tow, to save the business from being sold to a larger corporation. Now we have a sidekick/buddy picture.

Farley and Spade work well together. They have obvious chemistry. The jokes, the gags, all work on some form or another (even if it's on the lowest level), and while it's not going to be smart, sophisticated humor, it's still gonna be funny. I mean, really, what other movie can you see two guys singing along with "Eres Tu" and the Carpenter's "Superstar?"

Look, it's funny. If you don't think it's funny, so be it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=692&reviewer=7
originally posted: 01/21/99 11:56:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/25/13 DB Awesome! Hilarious! Farley and Spade at their best! 5 stars
6/26/11 Jennifer Barr love this movie! it's very funny 5 stars
1/21/11 brian Only works because of Farley & Spade...but it DOES work. 4 stars
2/26/10 PAUL SHORTT PREDICTABLE AND CLICHE RIDDEN 1 stars
9/16/08 Jeph About as funny as comedy can be. Few match. 5 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner One of the greatest movies ever made! 5 stars
6/30/08 Micayla loved the comedy behind the plot, the actors were awesome. chris is surrley missed 5 stars
3/07/08 Pamela White Farley is so funny 4 stars
7/13/07 Quigley Loved the toy car scene. Chris Farley/David Spade are priceless. "Shut up Richard!" 5 stars
12/31/06 johnnyfog I maintain Spade isn't funny, it's Farley doing all the work 5 stars
8/27/06 Dan One of the best comedies of the '90s! 5 stars
4/26/06 Alex Greatest movie of all time 5 stars
2/15/06 Joe Blow freakin funny 5 stars
1/02/06 Anthony Feor Farley and Spade at their best 4 stars
10/27/05 Ashleigh Corlew THE BEST MOVIE IN THE WORLD!! 5 stars
9/14/05 Tom Burns Chris Farley's funniest movie ever! 5 stars
8/25/05 Blake It is what it is: a funny movie from two funny guys. It is not a brilliant masterpeice. 4 stars
5/26/05 tony pete is a fuck. Farley is the best in this movie 5 stars
2/18/05 whackie classic 4 stars
2/08/05 Nathan Chris Farley.... The funniest guy that there ever was or will be.. RIP bra! 5 stars
1/16/05 Jeff Anderson Arguably Farley's and Spade's funniest film together. R.I.P. Chris (1964-1997) Farley. 5 stars
5/24/04 Max Dugan THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/26/03 J Chris Farley and David Spade are HILARIOUS together!!! *** 1/2 out of 4 5 stars
11/27/03 Samuel Spade and Farley were great together!!! too bad about Farley's death 5 stars
11/23/03 PETE FARLEY GOR RICH AND FAMOUS DOING OTHER PEOPLES COMEDY IDEAS AND SCHTICK...I KNOW FOR A FACT 2 stars
10/08/03 Alex THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!! 5 stars
7/20/03 Shawn a classic comedy. forever and for always. 5 stars
5/15/03 Tom Fleeman The best movie Chris Farley ever did. Campy, but classic. 4 stars
2/12/03 TOm Yeah, i was at my moms house and my girlfriend called me and said., Yo TOM, see this movie 1 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig Farley and Spade are just another great SNL duo and one to be missed 5 stars
11/01/02 Shawn Hoffman you are dumb, this movie kicks ass 5 stars
10/22/02 Ashley it was a fucking hilarious movie 5 porn stars for me 5 stars
5/23/02 Matt Chez Farley is great 5 stars
4/21/02 koogles Funniest movie of the 90s. Farley was a genius. If you liked Spade in this, see Senseless! 5 stars
4/12/02 oldgoatmon i disagree wit hthe spoiled part above, he, much like farleys other characters, has heart 5 stars
3/29/02 Dan Scarrow this is one of the best movies of all time. Its a classic! 5 stars
12/07/01 David Hilarious!!!!! 5 stars
11/08/01 Mark Hilarious. One of Farley's best. 5 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat Chris Farley is hilarious. 4 stars
6/28/01 hub Kick ass 5 stars
6/19/01 Elvisfan When they sing to 'Eres Tu'..it was a great scene. No, really. 5 stars
6/16/01 Steve One of the funniset movies ever! 5 stars
5/31/01 BrainPan the good stuff. "You're an idiot." 5 stars
5/01/01 Jake M Very funny and nice, "Oh my pretty little pet"! 5 stars
4/06/01 Brian Jacobson HILARIOUS! 5 stars
3/14/01 Aim this movie always makes me feel better, even after the 100th time =) 5 stars
2/26/01 Big Black Bob Yo this shit is funny!! 4 stars
2/16/01 Jake kind of like Planes, Trains, and Automobiles but superb in its own right 5 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Fucking hilarious movie! Farley's best!!! 4 stars
1/15/01 Sklorsh Farley's best movie. Has some classic comedy scenes. 4 stars
5/10/00 Lacey Jones My All Time Favorite 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers F-U-N-N-Y! It had my dad laughing, and he rarely laughs at anything! 5 stars
11/30/99 joe (A.K.A Gizzmo) funniest movie ever!!!!! 5 stars
9/19/99 Dan This is the funniest movie ever made!!! 5 stars
9/09/99 Jason Kinsey HELLA-SWEET! HELLA-SWEET! HELLA-SWEET! 5 stars
4/20/99 Tim Possibly Farley's best film. Too bad we will never see how good Farley and Spade can be 4 stars
4/09/99 Michael Grimm The deer in car sceen is worth it alone 4 stars
2/18/99 nun uf u r businness Chris Farley and David Spade are so awesome I loved the movie i've seen it 4 times! 5 stars
1/12/99 Melissa Farley and Spade at their best, I love it. 5 stars
10/01/98 Paul Damn this is a funny movie. 5 stars
9/23/98 Johny Grading it for what is it, and for that it's great 5 stars
9/04/98 pooky the bald When you rent a Farley video, you know what you're getting and this is as good as he gets. 4 stars
8/31/98 MikeF This was really funny. lame at some parts. but still really funny. 5 stars
8/26/98 Crich This is Chris at the top. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Mar-1995 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Aug-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Peter Segal

Written by
  Bonnie Turner
  Terry Turner
  Fred Wolf

Cast
  Chris Farley
  David Spade
  Brian Dennehy
  Bo Derek
  Dan Aykroyd
  Rob Lowe



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast