Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.43

Awesome28%
Worth A Look28%
Just Average: 16%
Pretty Crappy: 15%
Sucks: 13%

6 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"It's good enough, if you like this sort of thing. Me, I'm tired of it."
4 stars

Two good-looking New Yorkers meet under false pretenses, fall in love, discover one another?s lies in a public setting, break up, realize they are miserable apart (in a montage set to music), then reunite again in a public place.

I have just described every romantic comedy ever made, from the cave paintings done 10,000 years ago in the mountains of Peru, up to and including ?Maid in Manhattan,? which was released just a month ago yet contains no more believable dialogue than the cave paintings did. I have also described ?How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days,? the latest entry in the genre that, as with most of its predecessors, brings nothing to the table other than its adorable stars, who in this case are Kate Hudson and Matthew McConaughey but who might as well be Katie Holmes and Freddie Prinze Jr, or Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell, or Lassie and Rin Tin Tin.

The twist in the formula is that this time, both parties are lying. Hudson?s Meg Ryan-ish character, Andie Anderson, writes ?how to? articles for a women?s magazine called Composure -- you know, how to talk your way out of a ticket, how to fix your abs, how to be a skanky ho, and so on. Her new idea? How to lose a guy in 10 days. She will start dating a man and then intentionally do all the wrong things, thus driving him away within a week and a half and giving her fodder for an article about how women sabotage their own relationships. Think of it as a bubbly, reverse-gender version of ?In the Company of Men.?

The guy she chooses for her cruel-but-funny (?) experiment is Benjamin Barry (McConaughey), a cool and loose advertising exec who, unbeknownst to her, has bet his friends he can stay in a relationship for at least 10 days -- and in fact can even get a woman to fall in love with him in that time. He chooses Andie at the same time she?s choosing him; neither knows that they are but pawns in a game.

The fact that Andie and Ben are both playing each other leads to some amusing situations, though the focus is definitely more on Andie?s program of intentional annoyance than on Ben?s wooing skills. Women and men will all laugh with recognition at what Andie does: moving things into Ben?s apartment, making him miss crucial basketball games, embarrassing him during his guys-only poker night, and so on.

It?s not enough to sustain the film, and fortunately the workable script (by Kristen Buckley, Brian Regan and Burr Steers) knows this and shifts gears midway through, allowing Andie and Ben?s relationship to develop into something beyond jokes about tampons in the medicine cabinet. A scene with Ben?s Staten Island family is enjoyable, though marred by out-of-nowhere flatulence jokes. (I will grant you that old people farting is funny. I submit, however, that just because something is funny doesn?t mean you can put it in any scene you want to, whether it fits or not.)

The unraveling, in which Andie and Ben discover one another?s lies, is especially preposterous, even by rom-com standards. But it?s an unusual kind of preposterousness, and it involves Marvin Hamlisch and it made me laugh.

Bebe Neuwirth is nearly wasted as Andie?s boss. Wasting Bebe Neuwirth should be a felony. I?m just sayin?.

It?s essentially a very standard romantic comedy, with a few laughs and a couple semi-sweet moments. By any impartial system of judgment, it is at best a mediocre film, but within its genre, it?s better than some.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=7005&reviewer=247
originally posted: 02/09/03 21:26:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/09/09 Kerry/Kez Extremerly fantastically mind blowing. With a captivating mixture of romance and comedy! 5 stars
9/03/08 Alexandru Totir This is one of my favorite movies all times. I definitely recommend it to watch. 5 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT LACKLUSTRE ROMANTIC COMEDY THAT STRAINS CREDIBILITY 1 stars
1/18/08 Pamela White very funny and the chemistry is there. 4 stars
5/13/07 David Pollastrini Kate Hudson looks hot inthis! 3 stars
2/22/07 Weblynx Funny movie, I bought this dvd after seeing movie 5 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday McConaughey is definitely not my favorite, but I do like this movie a fair deal. 3 stars
2/08/07 Stanley Thai A funny comedy about battle of the sexes! 4 stars
2/05/07 Matt Doesn't exactly set the screen alight, but it's a passable piece of forgettable fluff. 3 stars
7/20/06 sarah It's the best movie I've ever seen!!!!!! 5 stars
5/15/06 kho amazing 5 stars
11/14/05 Jin Not good 1 stars
6/18/05 Nicole First 2/3 is pretty funny. Last 1/3 is typical rom com crap. 3 stars
11/26/04 tasha one of the best films ive seen its great n matthew McConaughey is sooooo fine!!! 5 stars
7/25/04 RobK Blockbuster could fill whole stores to movies with this formulaic premise... oh, wait. 1 stars
7/13/04 Joel this was a fantastic movie 5 stars
7/10/04 Kimmi The movie was great! 5 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva the movie makes a fool of women 3 stars
7/06/04 heidi kreke i loved the movie and matthew is a hotty!!! 5 stars
6/25/04 Mohammad Salaymeh Awesome 5 stars
4/03/04 shelly it is like the best movie ever! 5 stars
1/29/04 jmsynth Boring, and hardly ever funny. About 2 giggles in 1 1/2 hours. Not worth it 2 stars
1/09/04 Hailey L. LaTour "This show is so cute, funny, and well written"!!!! 4 stars
12/16/03 TheOthersFan very funny for the first 2/3, but sputters and runs out of laughs during the third act 4 stars
11/30/03 The Narxquerst Wump Poor Kate Hudson would be more appealing wallowing in her poopie! 2 stars
11/29/03 sarah fuckin good 5 stars
11/14/03 melanie wilson best movie ever i love it 5 stars
11/12/03 una worth a look!! 4 stars
11/08/03 Kate Fantastic, loved it. just purchased DVD. Funny. Is there a soundtrack? 5 stars
11/08/03 Kate Loved it, have even purchased the DVD. Is there a soundtrack avail? 5 stars
11/05/03 Emmily I thought this movie was excellent and a good laugh 5 stars
10/27/03 Cyra the best movie 5 stars
10/18/03 paris it was pretty good like it was a fun movie to see 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant Please infect Kate Hudson with a flesh-eating disease and send her to France. Fuck! 1 stars
10/05/03 Kitty It was okay, but very predictable! 3 stars
8/20/03 Piz Chick flick with good story but terribly written, had awesome potential, fell short 3 stars
8/18/03 Aims It totallyrocks. It's one of the funnies movies i've ever seen. The whole cinema could not 5 stars
8/04/03 laura Ford love it it was really funny 5 stars
7/17/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite Is there really such a card game as "Bull Shit"? And how is it played? 3 stars
7/16/03 Katie Roberts typical teen movie, don't think i'd bother buying it 4 stars
7/08/03 kz cute romantic comedy! 4 stars
7/06/03 sharon is this how us chicks really act...some body slap me...but good dat e movie 4 stars
5/23/03 Joiz Kate Hudson is amazing! The movie is a must-see. Fresh and hilarious. 5 stars
5/08/03 Shadaan Felfeli After surviving Maid in Manhattan this film was a breeze 3 stars
5/07/03 Shanoe Funny:)) 4 stars
3/29/03 Lisabeth It was really good! I loved it 5 stars
3/28/03 B Fun date movie. Good for when in a steady relationship(not 1st date). A rental. 4 stars
3/28/03 Sierra Awai The movied really sucked! There was no plot to it either. 1 stars
3/21/03 Meckenzie LOL so funny go and see it 5 stars
3/14/03 Christina Johnson Matthew McConaughey and Kate Hudson have great chemistry!! 5 stars
3/13/03 Rob You Americans are all stupid with your dumbass movies...go visit the WTC 1 stars
3/12/03 kate it was HILARIOUS!!! omg, it was sooooo funny!!! it just needed more romance 4 stars
3/12/03 ljam awsome...saw it three times 5 stars
3/11/03 Max I absolutely loved this movie :) 5 stars
3/07/03 u know i'm hot If you wanna lose a guy in 1 day, take him to see this... 2 stars
3/03/03 Jim Some very funny bits, but drags in spots 4 stars
3/02/03 fnord Not as crappy as I'd expected. 4 stars
2/20/03 Jon Alright, it wasn't THAT BAD!!! I actually thought it was aite... 4 stars
2/19/03 Nicole The ending was pretty lame, even for a romantic comedy. The rest was hilarious! 4 stars
2/14/03 Sam I loved this movie 5 stars
2/10/03 Silverline Is anyone else as annoyed as I am at the alliterative names? UGH!! 3 stars
2/09/03 Chiendog Should have been called, "How to lose your lunch in 90 minutes." 1 stars
2/09/03 LF I loved it, everyone in the audience was laughing most of the time, even the guys! 5 stars
2/08/03 tania very good 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Feb-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Apr-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast