Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.43

Awesome28%
Worth A Look28%
Just Average: 16%
Pretty Crappy: 15%
Sucks: 13%

6 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Natasha Theobald

"Not too painful to watch, but is that saying much?"
2 stars

Here we are again. Let's take a couple of attractive people, give them some zany friends and colleagues, put them in impossible circumstances, and see if they don't come out of it in love. The faces may change, but the game remains the same. So, if you like the actors and don't mind seeing them embarrass themselves, you'll probably like the movie. If not, you shouldn't waste your time. There'll be another one along any minute.

This time we have ad exec Ben (Matthew McConaughey). He has been relegated to the guy-ranks of selling beer and sports equipment to men, like himself, who highly prize such things. He works with wise-cracking buddies (Adam Goldberg, Thomas Lennon) but would like to move to something more prestigious, like diamonds, which are usually handed off to women ad execs (Michael Michele, Shalom Harlow), who ostensibly know what women want.

We also have magazine writer Andie (Kate Hudson). She, too, is stuck in a career rut, writing "How to..." columns about inane, girlie things when she would rather discuss serious subjects, like politics. She is also blessed with best friends in the workplace (Kathryn Hahn, Annie Parisse) and, to protect one of them from the embarrassment of having her life opened up to ridicule, Andie agrees to write an article about the wrong things that women do in relationships, the titular "How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days." She can't just write it, though, NO! She must actually manipulate and break the heart of said guy in the next ten days, before the magazine's print deadline.

As fate (or the screenwriters) would have it, the diamond lady ad execs know about Andie's article. So, when their boss (Robert Klein) considers testing Ben to see if he knows how to make a woman fall in love, with him and/or diamonds (heaven knows it's virtually the same thing), before handing over the account, they are there to suggest the woman he must woo -- Andie, who just happens to be in the bar looking for her victim du jour. Crazy kismet! The rest of the movie has her doing increasingly weird things to push him away, while he desperately clings to her, his sanity, and the hopes of the diamond account.

The sad truth is that Matthew McConaughey and Kate Hudson are lovely and likeable people, but their charisma, such that it is, cannot (completely) overcome the often clunky script or the mostly colorless story. In the entire running time, they share exactly one authentic moment, which only served to remind what might have been had their chemistry been used for good instead of not-good. They are also surrounded with lovely and likeable people, from Bebe Neuwirth to Adam Goldberg, who are given little to do and/or be. I don't know if the fault lies with the writers of the book (Michele Alexander and Jeannie Long) or the writers of the script (Kristen Buckley, Brian Regan, Burr Steers), but something went seriously awry in the writing stages that could not be righted again. Some of the dialogue was snappy, for instance, but huge moments, the end for one, are mishandled almost beyond repair.

So, if you desperately need to see Kate Hudson in a couple of cute dresses or have need of Matthew McConaughey briefly shirtless, this movie can give you both. Beyond that, you're on your own.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=7005&reviewer=317
originally posted: 07/08/03 01:35:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/09/09 Kerry/Kez Extremerly fantastically mind blowing. With a captivating mixture of romance and comedy! 5 stars
9/03/08 Alexandru Totir This is one of my favorite movies all times. I definitely recommend it to watch. 5 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT LACKLUSTRE ROMANTIC COMEDY THAT STRAINS CREDIBILITY 1 stars
1/18/08 Pamela White very funny and the chemistry is there. 4 stars
5/13/07 David Pollastrini Kate Hudson looks hot inthis! 3 stars
2/22/07 Weblynx Funny movie, I bought this dvd after seeing movie 5 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday McConaughey is definitely not my favorite, but I do like this movie a fair deal. 3 stars
2/08/07 Stanley Thai A funny comedy about battle of the sexes! 4 stars
2/05/07 Matt Doesn't exactly set the screen alight, but it's a passable piece of forgettable fluff. 3 stars
7/20/06 sarah It's the best movie I've ever seen!!!!!! 5 stars
5/15/06 kho amazing 5 stars
11/14/05 Jin Not good 1 stars
6/18/05 Nicole First 2/3 is pretty funny. Last 1/3 is typical rom com crap. 3 stars
11/26/04 tasha one of the best films ive seen its great n matthew McConaughey is sooooo fine!!! 5 stars
7/25/04 RobK Blockbuster could fill whole stores to movies with this formulaic premise... oh, wait. 1 stars
7/13/04 Joel this was a fantastic movie 5 stars
7/10/04 Kimmi The movie was great! 5 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva the movie makes a fool of women 3 stars
7/06/04 heidi kreke i loved the movie and matthew is a hotty!!! 5 stars
6/25/04 Mohammad Salaymeh Awesome 5 stars
4/03/04 shelly it is like the best movie ever! 5 stars
1/29/04 jmsynth Boring, and hardly ever funny. About 2 giggles in 1 1/2 hours. Not worth it 2 stars
1/09/04 Hailey L. LaTour "This show is so cute, funny, and well written"!!!! 4 stars
12/16/03 TheOthersFan very funny for the first 2/3, but sputters and runs out of laughs during the third act 4 stars
11/30/03 The Narxquerst Wump Poor Kate Hudson would be more appealing wallowing in her poopie! 2 stars
11/29/03 sarah fuckin good 5 stars
11/14/03 melanie wilson best movie ever i love it 5 stars
11/12/03 una worth a look!! 4 stars
11/08/03 Kate Fantastic, loved it. just purchased DVD. Funny. Is there a soundtrack? 5 stars
11/08/03 Kate Loved it, have even purchased the DVD. Is there a soundtrack avail? 5 stars
11/05/03 Emmily I thought this movie was excellent and a good laugh 5 stars
10/27/03 Cyra the best movie 5 stars
10/18/03 paris it was pretty good like it was a fun movie to see 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant Please infect Kate Hudson with a flesh-eating disease and send her to France. Fuck! 1 stars
10/05/03 Kitty It was okay, but very predictable! 3 stars
8/20/03 Piz Chick flick with good story but terribly written, had awesome potential, fell short 3 stars
8/18/03 Aims It totallyrocks. It's one of the funnies movies i've ever seen. The whole cinema could not 5 stars
8/04/03 laura Ford love it it was really funny 5 stars
7/17/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite Is there really such a card game as "Bull Shit"? And how is it played? 3 stars
7/16/03 Katie Roberts typical teen movie, don't think i'd bother buying it 4 stars
7/08/03 kz cute romantic comedy! 4 stars
7/06/03 sharon is this how us chicks really act...some body slap me...but good dat e movie 4 stars
5/23/03 Joiz Kate Hudson is amazing! The movie is a must-see. Fresh and hilarious. 5 stars
5/08/03 Shadaan Felfeli After surviving Maid in Manhattan this film was a breeze 3 stars
5/07/03 Shanoe Funny:)) 4 stars
3/29/03 Lisabeth It was really good! I loved it 5 stars
3/28/03 B Fun date movie. Good for when in a steady relationship(not 1st date). A rental. 4 stars
3/28/03 Sierra Awai The movied really sucked! There was no plot to it either. 1 stars
3/21/03 Meckenzie LOL so funny go and see it 5 stars
3/14/03 Christina Johnson Matthew McConaughey and Kate Hudson have great chemistry!! 5 stars
3/13/03 Rob You Americans are all stupid with your dumbass movies...go visit the WTC 1 stars
3/12/03 kate it was HILARIOUS!!! omg, it was sooooo funny!!! it just needed more romance 4 stars
3/12/03 ljam awsome...saw it three times 5 stars
3/11/03 Max I absolutely loved this movie :) 5 stars
3/07/03 u know i'm hot If you wanna lose a guy in 1 day, take him to see this... 2 stars
3/03/03 Jim Some very funny bits, but drags in spots 4 stars
3/02/03 fnord Not as crappy as I'd expected. 4 stars
2/20/03 Jon Alright, it wasn't THAT BAD!!! I actually thought it was aite... 4 stars
2/19/03 Nicole The ending was pretty lame, even for a romantic comedy. The rest was hilarious! 4 stars
2/14/03 Sam I loved this movie 5 stars
2/10/03 Silverline Is anyone else as annoyed as I am at the alliterative names? UGH!! 3 stars
2/09/03 Chiendog Should have been called, "How to lose your lunch in 90 minutes." 1 stars
2/09/03 LF I loved it, everyone in the audience was laughing most of the time, even the guys! 5 stars
2/08/03 tania very good 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Feb-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Apr-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast