Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.69

Awesome: 14.22%
Worth A Look: 17.33%
Just Average: 18.67%
Pretty Crappy: 23.11%
Sucks26.67%

12 reviews, 153 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Daredevil
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"The Latest Comic Book Run Still Going Strong"
4 stars

Every genre of films wears out their welcome eventually. One idea is a huge success so a bunch of replicant productions move forward hoping to capitalize on the trend. The comic book heroes have gone through its similar fits and tremors. Two great Superman films paved the 80s way for two mediocre sequels, Supergirl, direct-to-video detestations The Punisher and Captain America, not to mention a Fantastic Four that never saw the light of day. Batman led to Judge Dredd, The Phantom, Barb Wire, Tank Girl and Spawn. X-Men reinvigorated the comics once again and with the earth-shattering success of a certain webslinger, the next recession has yet to begin. More than a few have been waiting for Daredevil to spearhead it, but they’ll have to wait because I’m happy to report that not only is it a great film, but also ranks among the best of all the superhero flicks.

Daredevil doesn’t exactly hold the marquee value of a Hulk or Spider-Man amongst those with only a general knowledge of comic history. My only prior exposure to the character had been a TV movie (The Trial of the Incredible Hulk) with Solid Gold’s Rex Smith in the role. To say that Rex or the film didn’t nearly do the avenger justice is both a pun and the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

Ben Affleck makes for a far better Matt Murdock, a man who was blinded as a child but found his other senses heightened beyond imagination. With the reverberation of sound throughout a room (cleverly presented and never getting old), Murdock is allowed the appearance of sight as he dedicates his life to serving justice as he sees fit after witnessing the murder of his father. Lawyer by day. Red-tighted vindicator at night.

With his preoccupation for protecting the innocent, personal relationships outside of his business partner, Foggy Nelson (Jon Favreau) are neither fulfilling nor long-lasting. That’s when the smell of Elektra Natchios (Jennifer Garner) walks into his favorite diner. After some flirtatious chopsocky (on a children’s playground, no less), the two begin a relationship where each has to let their guard down and come to terms that their may be something more than what they’ve solely dedicated their lives too; him, a fighter and her, not a victim. Their love affair is the heart of the story.

If your senses pick up that I haven’t mentioned much of a plot so far, then you would be correct. There are villains and there is action. But this is a character-based tale. There is no artificial plot for world domination. Conflicts and resolutions do factor in, therefore playing out more like an individual comic book than an encapsulation of an entire history; a risky move on the part of the filmmakers. Since its already assumed that a Batman or Spider-Man has a Part Two greenlit during the original production, a B-level like Daredevil is a gamble to rely all on establishment rather than trying to cram home 40 years of comics into two hours. Who exactly is The Man Without Fear now?

Will the Daredevil fans react as strongly to the film as I did? With any comic book adaptation, I always turn to my friend and guru, Erik Laws, who always snaps up the firsthand histories in a flash. The largest exclusion storywise is the background training of both Matt and Elektra (especially hers). No mention of Stick and only a throwaway line to the various masters she was coached under. Other than that, the aficionados will find very little to nitpick at compared to the other revisionist histories of their favorite heroes for sale. Sure, crimeboss Wilson “Kingpin” Fisk is now black, but can you imagine anyone other the sheer bulk of Michael Clarke Duncan to play that character? And, yes, Bullseye didn’t have the tattooed forehead (until now as the comics are playing catchup to the movie) but no one can scoff at Colin Farrell’s beautifully mannered portrait of evil. Anything can be a weapon to this guy, he never misses and he’s not discriminate about his victims. Farrell’s Bullseye is a classic villain.

So many things struck me with pleasure during Daredevil that I was both reminded of my days as a young moviegoer and how the seemingly same old game can still throw surprises at me. Has there ever been a superhero movie that opens with them telling the audience he’s dying? How great is it to actually take the time to show us what happens to a crimefighter at the end of the night. Some may go back to Wayne Manor and watch Leno, but how refreshing is it to see them in agony with scars, a shelf full of pills and a night in the super soaker? Don’t let that “PG-13” rating fool you. This is a brutal film. Exactly the kind of film the rating was invented for. Not overtly bloody to qualify for an “R” but way too intense for a simple “PG”. My eyes widened and my palms applauded the extremes the filmmakers went to.

It’s easy not to expect much from a novice director like Mark Steven Johnson, who was responsible for the lackluster adaptation of John Irving’s A Prayer for Owen Meany (Simon Birch) and penned both Grumpy Old Men films, but this is a major step forward. Daredevil is an exciting, passionately executed flick that has the moxie to call out the critics of major action pictures. Dependent on minimal special effects (except for the occasional flying/jumping far variety), the character is the thing here. This is Matt Murdock’s story and it’s only an introduction into what I hope will be a further string of adventures. With more efforts like Daredevil, the superhero franchises may go through its greatest run yet.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=7012&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/03 00:26:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell lame superhero flick 1 stars
3/28/16 Aj wales Movie is uneven but not a bad movie. Feels like a tv pilot though. 4 stars
5/20/11 Dr.Lao The fight sequences are straight out of "The Matirx" (and that's NOT a good thing) 3 stars
1/16/10 Pegleg I liked this movie, but i felt it was too short. 4 stars
7/05/09 JM Synth Director's cut reveals a solid movie, marred by overly-broad comedy and awful sountrack 3 stars
8/26/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting storyline. 4 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT GAUNT AND JOYLESS 1 stars
7/22/07 johnnyfog Actually, the parts with Elektra were garbage. Not QUITE enough action. 4 stars
7/16/07 MaDmAN Jennifer Garner was the only good thing in this movie 2 stars
4/22/07 David Risser One of the best action movies I've seen! 5 stars
3/19/07 dude it was okay 3 stars
2/16/07 AJ Muller Better than you'd think; dark, exciting, and asskicking. And Garner is HOT. 4 stars
2/09/07 Donald Martwick Directors cut=Awesome 5 stars
2/08/07 Andre urbani biggest pile of shit i've ever seen 1 stars
1/12/07 del Instantly forgettable. 2 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini were they dancing or fighting? 2 stars
12/25/06 johnnyfog Only liked the last scene with DD & Kindpin. And what's his weakness, NOISE?! ..LAME 2 stars
12/04/06 Stanley Thai An "above average" superhero film. One of the best SH films. 4 stars
5/23/06 Josh Standlee This movie fucking rules! What are you people talking about?! 5 stars
5/19/06 Kcaj Bestest action and great effects with lot's inside. What the hell is wrong with this movie 5 stars
5/18/06 drydock54321 love it 5 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer "I WANT A BLOODY COSTUME" endulge the man. Save the sequel. 2 words: Frank Miller! 4 stars
1/10/06 Michael Not Much There ... Passes the time, not much else 1 stars
8/24/05 Anthony G bend assflack sucks the shit out of this movie. 1 stars
8/12/05 ES Finally a movie that connects to how many of my romances began= with a bad fight scene 2 stars
7/22/05 Duffyboy666 Starts with a bang, but finishes with a whimper. 3 stars
7/20/05 Chris What a waste of money! 1 stars
6/10/05 Rock-Steady A fucking riot! non stop laughter...... 1 stars
12/12/04 sbpat21 not very good at all 2 stars
11/15/04 Dunce One of the funniest things I've ever seen. Oh wait… 1 stars
10/30/04 Kris best part was jennifer garner 2 stars
8/22/04 Tyrantis Daredevil is only a hero to blind people, and that's only because they can't see him. 1 stars
8/11/04 McGraw Pointless, poorly made hero flick. Throw it away. 1 stars
8/01/04 Anthony G garner is hot, ben affleck fucks matt damon, this movie sucks ballc like ben 1 stars
7/24/04 Daveman Too downbeat, plodding and humourless to be really worth going back to. 2 stars
5/26/04 Jim Tiger Sad CGI characters and bad "flying samuria" choreographing were like FULLface slaps 3 stars
5/12/04 Yasu Lacks everything. Unoriginal, same old same old. 2 stars
5/12/04 Whatevr A 1 million megaton bomb 1 stars
4/19/04 ALI HBOUS could have been much better 2 stars
4/17/04 HorrorScribbler Affleck bland, Farrell over the top, Garner hot, script mediocre. Spider-Man it ain't. 3 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 i dont get the hate its one of my favorite spandex movies 5 stars
3/20/04 Dummer Congraturation,winner of Rhapsberry,Ben. 1 stars
3/18/04 Belenda W. Extremely disappointing. Didn't care much for the dark nature of the superhero. 2 stars
2/29/04 Samuel This shit sucks 1 stars
2/27/04 Sir Spam-a-Lot anyone afraid of pointy things should stay away 2 stars
2/19/04 DM Kevin Smith would have been a better Daredevil 1 stars
2/14/04 Kate Tell me, how does a blind man see enough to have sex? 2 stars
2/08/04 Whatevr Took one year off my life 1 stars
1/25/04 American Slasher Goddess Silly and bland. 1 stars
1/11/04 The Ramuh Justice is bland. 2 stars
1/05/04 I Would Oh no! NO! This is wrong, this is all wrong! 1 stars
12/21/03 john how not to do a super hero movie 1 stars
12/16/03 tatum Good direction, but this superhero stuff is getting moldy 4 stars
11/29/03 john very very bad 1 stars
11/11/03 Andrew Miller It was good, but could stand for some help 4 stars
10/28/03 my name this was possibly the worst movie ever!!! 1 stars
10/18/03 Don Spider-man beats Daredevil anyday. 3 stars
10/16/03 Josh Standlee Daredevil could kick Spider-Man's ass! 5 stars
10/15/03 B. Fresh This had pretty bad acting editing fx and story. worst comic movei out now 2 stars
10/03/03 Stewart Sinclair The horrible performances are only overshadowed by an incredibly bad script. 1 stars
9/24/03 Ingo Popcorn cinema, but I won't buy the DVD. 3 stars
9/23/03 JesseL For this genre, very good. The kids loved it. 4 stars
9/21/03 Jacques nothing like the comics, a screw up but still okay. 3 stars
9/19/03 IAN GOOD FLICK 5 stars
9/18/03 Noacat Ben Affleck is evil and souless. He must be stopped before he kills again. 1 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus The best Comic Book-Movie i've ever seen!! 5 stars
9/15/03 bobby da squid Bad script with horrific editing; music picked by a 15-year-old boy 2 stars
8/27/03 anna So close to greatness.... and fails in the final editing. 2 stars
8/27/03 Chris It's dark and gritty tone make it mean spirted and too seroius. A horrible ending. 2 stars
8/25/03 Tim Keeley As a Daredevil fan for nearly 7 years now, I gave it a B to a B+ 5 stars
8/25/03 Laurian Diaconescu Finally a movie without ridiculous characters. Best Marvel movie so far. 5 stars
8/02/03 Brodieman Not Spiderman, but a worthy comic flick none the less. 4 stars
7/31/03 Walter Horrible Script, Horrible Acting, Horrible Movie 1 stars
7/30/03 Daddy Plaid Anything MARVEL gets my vote! 4 stars
7/14/03 Gary This is total garbage 1 stars
7/12/03 nick g its stank like hell 1 stars
7/09/03 Niko Ben Affleck is a talentless piece of sh@*t 1 stars
6/22/03 Johnny Affleck cant act. Things just happen in this film. Stupid wannabe Batman waste of time. 1 stars
6/21/03 Alex Prue An Amazing superhero movie with awsome action and story. 5 stars
6/21/03 Ashley An xcellent movie 5 stars
6/08/03 Christian Harding DareDevil Rules! Whoever didn't like It must be nuts (not that they are). It's really good 4 stars
5/15/03 The Lurchprong Splitter Beyond loathesome and depraved. "Heroes" were worst villains most of way through. 1 stars
5/04/03 Stick with Spidy and X-Men. Now, let's hope they don't f**k Punisher.. out of the whole Marvel universe, WHY DAREDEVIL?? He's a 2nd-rate hero. 1 stars
4/24/03 GWhooya Spider-man followed the comics more accurately. This one was more silly, Laurian. 3 stars
4/24/03 Bill ben affleck sucks ass. Wtf with garner's eyes? I was rooting for kingpin and bullseye 1 stars
4/23/03 GWB great flick 5 stars
4/10/03 ZIP Love at first fight with super blind man vs. nature girl. 1 stars
4/08/03 Laurian Finally a decent comic book adaptation! Much better than Spider-Man! No silly villains.Cool 5 stars
3/31/03 thomas whiteside i really liked it ,but it wasn't the best movie i've ever seen 4 stars
3/30/03 spacecowboy i wasn't particularly impressed 'a la spiderman' 3 stars
3/30/03 sfghghfghg What the hell were they thinking? Ben afflek sucks? 1 stars
3/29/03 J.J okay I even lliked this more than attack of the clones 4 stars
3/25/03 Spiderfan729 Some compare it to Spiderman but I compare it too Batman; Dark, Brooding, and Entertaining! 5 stars
3/23/03 adele the callings song is beautiful. 3 stars
3/20/03 Darren This was complete CRAP !!! 1 stars
3/19/03 Cameron Slick Passable entertainment even if it is a little derivative. 4 stars
3/18/03 rue the whirl i'm $8 poorer and horny for horse-faced women 1 stars
3/18/03 Gracy Lionheart This movie is gritty? HAH!!! This movie is all style and no substance. 2 stars
3/13/03 bullseye max-you shouldn't offer your opinion...ever. daredevil hits the BULLSEYE!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/11/03 Max absolutely stupid... Ben can't act. 1 stars
3/05/03 Jay Pretty cool! 5 stars
3/04/03 bullseye clint,-or is it clit?- you suck tubesteak. DAREDEVIL is king!! '' bullseye!!!! '' 5 stars
3/03/03 Clint I have to say this is the worst movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
3/01/03 !! A GREAT FILM 5 stars
3/01/03 Me You Americans are gay and so are your movies...go visit the WTC 1 stars
2/27/03 G Worst Movie EVER! 1 stars
2/27/03 Uncle Salty I would have been better if it was performed with muppets. 1 stars
2/25/03 Mortis Better than I expected. A good transtition from comic book to movie. 4 stars
2/25/03 Daniel Dark, edgy, exciting with a good plot and a likable hero. 5 stars
2/23/03 bullseye loved it-the grit of the 1st 'batman',flair of 'spider-man',and the action of 'blade'. 5 stars
2/23/03 Titus Not great, but worth a matinee price admission for Colin Ferrell's performance + a few gags 4 stars
2/22/03 RAFMAL1 This movie had potential, and anyone with any talent would see that. It sucked as is. 2 stars
2/21/03 bob leather jacket Yawn...had it not been for Affleck, Garner, or Farrell...I would have fallen asleep 3 stars
2/21/03 Swirlyrainbow Better than i thought it would be 4 stars
2/21/03 jean azucena ben affleck is too dull to be a superhero. He should stick to army roles. 2 stars
2/21/03 TJ Combo not better than Spider-man but stil good. 4 stars
2/20/03 TheBomb69 very average 3 stars
2/20/03 malcolm as good as Spiderman,Duncan was the weakest of the film 5 stars
2/20/03 Johnny DustDevil. Makes one wish he/she was blind like the Devil. 1 stars
2/20/03 the Knave A satisfying and sometimes gripping adventure (even at full price). Loved the 'in' jokes! 4 stars
2/19/03 veddermatic If you have no clue about the comics, it *may* not sucks, but goddamn did this movie blow. 1 stars
2/19/03 luvs184 a lot better than i expected, ben affleck does a pretty good job here. 5 stars
2/18/03 Public Opinion A movie this bad hasn't been released since Tomb Raider 2 stars
2/18/03 You people liked Spiderman, fer chrissakes! Another very lame adaptation of a Marvel comic. Only Farrel and Duncan don't suck in this. 1 stars
2/18/03 Mikek If you love the comic book, you'll love this movie. 5 stars
2/18/03 Kirk This is by far my favorite adaptation of a mainstream comics character. 5 stars
2/18/03 Mister Bigglesworth Too bad Matt Murdock is blind. No, wait, otherwise he would see this pile of shit! 2 stars
2/18/03 George Jung Not bad, but not too fucking good either. 3 stars
2/18/03 Jeff If Jennifer Garner wasn't hot as hell, I wouldn't have made it thought this crappy movie. 1 stars
2/18/03 Roy Smith CGI looked like shit, and Bullseye was the only highpoint. 3 stars
2/18/03 strider3700 Way to much trying to be spiderman 3 stars
2/17/03 Mk Not better than Spider-Man but still good. 4 stars
2/17/03 spaceworm You'd be better off in a sensory deprivation tank... 2 stars
2/17/03 aly wane Best film adaptation of a comic book since the original Batman. 5 stars
2/17/03 Uncle Salty What a waste, such a mess. Lame character, horrible acting. Forget it. 1 stars
2/17/03 Symbiote Quite surprised it didn't suck. It was fun. 4 stars
2/17/03 nick2k too much heartfelt crap...needed more doses of reality (ala bullseye). fuck you, affleck. 3 stars
2/16/03 Bob Jones Not bad at matinee price 4 stars
2/16/03 Jean Allen no story, horrible acting, misused cgi, don't waste your money 1 stars
2/16/03 Darren Shea CG is bad, and Affleck is bland, but otherwise decent. Nice comic book in-jokes. 4 stars
2/16/03 STEVE WAY BETTER THEN SPIDER-MAN!RANKS WITH CROW,FIRST TWO BATMANS,AND FROM HELL. 5 stars
2/16/03 Dev Ben Asslick sucks. Daredevil is better as a comic book. 1 stars
2/16/03 Pat Ben Affleck is the DEVIL! He couldn't act his way out of his red leather suite! 1 stars
2/16/03 OgamiKoto Over the top while remaining human, Tons of comic book fun. Best adap. since LWAC 5 stars
2/16/03 Lara A predictable wad of garbage. I hate you Ben Affleck, and I hope J-Lo deprives you of sex. 2 stars
2/16/03 KingNeutron Movie rocked. Kevin Smith is the undertaker. See it. 4 stars
2/15/03 Deano Great first movie to set the stage for sequels 5 stars
2/15/03 whatever this movie kicked major ass. garner is hot 5 stars
2/15/03 savagegiraffe you losers! anyone who even kinda liked this movie is a moron. the comic was rad though.... 2 stars
2/15/03 syrius indeed, not enough garner at all 2 stars
2/15/03 FrayLo Knew nothing about it and enjoyed it. Garner's boobs deserve their own movie, btw 4 stars
2/15/03 Shaun Uneven, not enough Garner, Affleck is not a good superhero 2 stars
2/15/03 Vicious as good as spiderman 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Feb-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Mar-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast