Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.09

Awesome58.97%
Worth A Look: 17.09%
Just Average: 9.4%
Pretty Crappy: 3.42%
Sucks: 11.11%

6 reviews, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Scythian, The by Jay Seaver

Aragne: Sign of Vermillion by Jay Seaver

Cold Steel by Jack Sommersby

Microhabitat by Jay Seaver

Last Child by Jay Seaver

Nightmare Cinema by Jay Seaver

Hotel Transylvania 3 by alejandroariera

Tremble All You Want by Jay Seaver

Skyscraper by Peter Sobczynski

Die Hard by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Apollo 13
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Why did this film win oscars????"
1 stars

I don't get it.... I just don't get it..

Tom Hanks CANNOT ACT! Face it.
Then breathe, then face it AGAIN!

This film shows it..

This is the prime example of what I hate with Hollywood. The pat yourselves on the back 'WE'RE AMERICAN, AIN'T WE COOL??' film.

This film was so sanctimonius and up it's own arse that I felt physically sick all the way through it. It relies on the hope that patriotism will make people give a shit about a couple of astronauts. I know I couldnt care less. What did they accomplish in the big picture?? Nothing! What was learnt from this experience? Nothing! So why make the film? I feel that this is full of false emotion and pretentious script.

Why did this film win oscars????

I admit, the direction was well executed, the sound was top notch as was the FX. but the script and acting were so false..

I can only give this film the lowest rating possible.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=712&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/08/98 04:11:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell tense film good effects 4 stars
12/25/16 Anne Way too long3 hr length w. commercials,annoying music 3 stars
9/18/13 Annie G Fact is stranger ... pretty historically accurate film. 5 stars
5/24/12 Ed Totleben Jr Great take on NASA's most dramatic moments 4 stars
6/05/11 AEB It made me feel like I was there for one of the most dramatic space events ever. 5 stars
3/21/11 Alun The most believeable acting and dialogue I have seen in a movie 5 stars
2/04/11 Jeff Wilder Ron Howard crafts one of his best movies with this one. Hanks is better here than in Gump. 5 stars
12/23/10 Helena o ke kai It was my 20th viewing...I NEVER WATCH A MOVIE TWICE. Great 5 stars
7/06/09 Frisian Boy Awesome movie! One of the best I know!!! 5 stars
6/11/09 Mike Quinn An awesome movie it made me want to go out and join the space program 5 stars
6/10/09 rabnilraj soooo long it was the worst movie ive ever seen.... 1 stars
8/26/08 catherine One of the best movies ever made, by one of the best actors ever to live 5 stars
8/24/08 PAUL SHORTT VAPIDLY CHRONICLES THE MOST DRAMATIC SPACE FLIGHT IN HISTORY 4 stars
8/11/08 Shaun Wallner I love space movies! 5 stars
1/04/08 Pamela White A few good men make history 5 stars
11/04/07 Guy Hoevenaars The mission was a failure YET such a success of human ingenuity. Great story, Superb film 5 stars
2/18/07 mb Good movie. 4 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini too long but still good 5 stars
1/17/07 Matt Unembellished and brilliant, one of the best films ever 5 stars
1/16/07 James Classic 5 stars
9/22/06 Marge This movie is a good one..even when Kevin Bacon is in a towel...:D 5 stars
8/16/06 Sepi53 Almost perfect motion picture!! 5 stars
7/12/06 EZ K-Dog is insane!!!!!! This movie is incredibly awesome!!!! 5 stars
5/19/06 MP Bartley Gripping, intense and emotional. Howards only good film. 5 stars
5/13/06 Lucy This film Inspired me to want to be 1 of the first women to walk the moon!!! 5 stars
10/02/05 CaDizzle In the Top 10 movies of all time, anyone who says different should be shot! 5 stars
9/09/05 Elinna Yau Its was OK and it got even more exciting 4 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel Better if we didn't know beforehand how it comes out 3 stars
4/05/05 Ethan Great story, great acting, riveting film 5 stars
2/19/05 A A 1 stars
10/23/04 susan tavis this movie is one of the bestmovies i have ever seen, i have seen it over 5 times. 5 stars
6/21/04 T. Maj Wonderful homage to duct tape 4 stars
6/12/04 John solid all the way but never really original or exiting 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Astounding! One of the best films ever. 5 stars
4/17/04 Alan Solid, dramatic story telling 4 stars
1/14/04 Samuel amazing film, with a fine cast, and a great director! 5 stars
11/02/03 nw breathtaking powerful true story - well acted 5 stars
5/17/03 George Jung Don't like it, don't hate it. It's like the movie had no reason to exist. 3 stars
2/25/03 Francy Breathtaking music, fine actors, careful direction. Be nice to yourself. See. 5 stars
9/22/02 George Shut up, trendwhores, this movie rocks. 5 stars
9/06/02 Ramblin Wreck Can't wait to see this in glorious IMAX!!!! 5 stars
8/04/02 KMG BORING TYPICAL TOM HANKS VEHICLE. 3 stars
6/27/02 Justin Kiss my ass, if you hate this movie! 5 stars
6/25/02 Film Guy a FANTASTIC movie Tom Hanks gives the preformance of his carrer 5 stars
5/14/02 Blake This movie SUCKS on ice! 1 stars
4/05/02 Justin Tom Hanks is excellent in his performance! 5 stars
3/13/02 Rockitman007 What a great movie! 5 stars
3/02/02 jennyK It was good. 3 stars
2/03/02 dan K-Dog, you are the biggest idiot on the Internet 5 stars
12/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Tom Hanks can act. It might get slightly boring here & there, but it's basically cool! 3 stars
9/05/01 Gary Nothing more than a flashy, oversized, superficial money project. Utter shit. 1 stars
8/30/01 Henry Ginsberg Superbly made. 5 stars
5/23/01 Erik North Great movie--even better because it is based on a true story, and well-done to boot! 5 stars
5/20/01 R.W. Welch Authentic and well acted though not quite up to The Right Stuff. 4 stars
5/16/01 Leia The mission might have been a successful failure; but the movie was a successful success! 5 stars
2/16/01 James Truly captivating and exciting. 5 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla intense, exellent, and i want my dad to see it, and you too!!!! 5 stars
11/12/00 The EVIL Penguin Remember: There is NO sound in space 3 stars
10/26/00 stevie ward loved it! 5 stars
8/23/00 K-Dog Killer K-Dog you are a fucking moron. Pull your head out of your pimply ass and leave this place. 5 stars
7/22/00 Tyler Peterson No comments on this site will change the fact that this is the best movie ever made. 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Three words...Boring...Boring...Boring. 1 stars
2/20/00 Stay Puft Marshmellow Man Brill/sprite619004, stop being a queer. Braveheart was MUCH better than this horse SHIT! 2 stars
1/18/00 amanda sorry, loser aussies, the last time you were in space was...never! 5 stars
11/28/99 Crystal Fleming Good drama 5 stars
11/06/99 Anthony Ellis 2 hours of "We Americans are just sooo wonderful". This movie was boring patriotic crap! 1 stars
9/05/99 godsdog Good suspense,spacecoast folks will like it. Why is patriotism such a bad thing, people? 4 stars
7/22/99 E.H. Phenomenal and good to see over and over again 5 stars
7/06/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 4 stars
6/14/99 Dylan a two hour long yawnathon. 2 stars
6/03/99 lucasd jackson it was a true story,but it was not exciting at all 3 stars
2/18/99 nun uf yur businness this movie really opened my eyes to what really happens up there.the whole cast was awesome 5 stars
1/31/99 Vick Di Brecci Forgettable crap. Hence... 2 stars
1/02/99 Jules Good, but no Right Stuff 3 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Boring, patriotic bullshit!!!! 1 stars
10/26/98 Silent Rob Just misses 'F.A.'. Expertly crafted and engrossing telling of a true heroic story. 4 stars
9/15/98 Lonatic Boring. 2 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) 3 guys in a can. Already knew how it ended. Fuck Tom Hanks. Watch a documentary,much better 3 stars
9/04/98 Jon Awesome 4 stars
9/01/98 Johny A Fine Film 4 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee Good flick. Kath Quinlan can do no wrong in my eyes. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-1994 (PG)
  DVD: 29-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Aug-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast