Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.12

Awesome: 16.91%
Worth A Look24.64%
Just Average24.64%
Pretty Crappy: 21.26%
Sucks: 12.56%

14 reviews, 123 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


World is Not Enough, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Neither Is The Latest 007 Movie"
3 stars

The World Is Not Enough (** ½) – The James Bond series is probably the only group of films in cinema history to get a virtual pardon from critics and the general public. We buy our tickets. We know what we’re getting into and we say let ‘em crash. Even the newest Star Wars film was blasted by the critic elite. But James Bond, for better or for worse, is here to stay. Unfortunately, The World Is Not Enough is not one of the better ones.

The film begins with the longest pre-title sequence I can remember in Bond history as well as one of the better ones. It contains not one, but two well-done action sequences, including a fantastic boat chase (on water and land) that seemed almost video game-inspired. But after the excitement of those scenes, the action, while still fun to watch on a Bond level, didn’t bring out any excitement in me whatsoever, except for the dodging of out-of-control tree-cutter blades. A high-speed travel through a pipeline to defuse a bomb is all but wasted and the final battle on the submarine did nothing for me. But it’s far from a mess of a film. Sophie Marceau is incredibly sexy as one of the Bond girls. The villain (early reported as the best in years) is good, but never reaches his full potential, even making his first appearance way too late. Robert Carlyle does bring some dimension to the character though and that makes him interesting enough to watch. John Cleese is inspired casting and is terrific as the protégé of Q, but isn’t used nearly enough. And what can I say about Q who makes an exit so profound that you feel as if you’re losing a dear, old friend. The Bond films must always be seen with a certain suspension of disbelief, like most action films. I can believe that a speedboat will continue on its course is its driver fires a machine-gun at their pursuer. I can believe that you can out-ski paratrooping snowmobilers with automatic weapons and even take one of them out by puncturing their chute with your ski equipment. But Denise Richards as a nuclear weapons expert? That’s some serious suspension. Denise Richards’ character might as well be one of the naked silhouettes during the title sequence as the script really gives her nothing to do. And I mean nothing but running away in tight tops, short shorts, a purple mini-dress and later even a wet T-shirt. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. But there’s nothing that would suggest she’s smart enough to work with plutonium. She’s not even smart enough to run away from bullets until Bond tells her to. Perhaps what the Bond movies need is a true action director. Michael Apted is a good choice to bring out a little character dimension, but can the director of Nell bring to the table what a John Woo or James Cameron could? Cameron, you’ll remember, made the best Non-Bond Bond film in years with True Lies, with the perfect blend of action and humor.

The World Is Not Enough has everything we’ve come to expect out of James Bond: villains, babes, sex, gadgets, martinis, and action. And like with romantic comedies, the end result is never the point, but the journey. But when the journey doesn’t pull through with the excitement, then it becomes nothing more than routine. And that’s a shame. I guess we can just hope for the best with the next installment, because, like it or not, James Bond is here to stay. (Note: Movie information is getting out of control. Film reporters on the web, on TV, and in print feel it’s their job to report everything they can about a movie. In the case of The World Is Not Enough, early reports divulged key plot points that would have best remained secret. This is happening way too often and I don’t think the term journalistic integrity applies to spoiling the show for the rest of us.)

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=717&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 21:23:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  
James Bond: For more in the James Bond series, click here.

User Comments

10/11/17 Louise Marceau's accent kept slipping.Not one of the better Bond films. 3 stars
9/12/17 morris campbell kind of dull 2 stars
12/04/15 1800suckmydick Extremely boring in spots, like most Brosnan films. Good villainess. 3 stars
9/02/12 roscoe bette rhangoldeneye and tomorrow never dies 5 stars
8/29/09 Jeff Wilder On a par iwth Tomorrow Never Dies. 4 stars
8/06/09 Simon it's par for the course, a cheesy good time 3 stars
3/01/09 T^3 The WINE suffers from severe Bond Villain Syndrome, even Mi6 succumbs to fatal gullibility. 2 stars
2/01/09 PAUL SHORTT THE SCRIPT IS NOT ENOUGH 2 stars
10/05/08 Mark Gibson Okay as it is, I liked the action sequences a lot and Brosnans bond is great in it 4 stars
10/04/08 Lenny Zane Poor Denise Richards! -- so terribly overtrashed for this, so now we never see her anymore. 5 stars
7/29/08 chris f very under average not very good at all 1 stars
7/21/08 the dork knight Pretty crazy. But the co-stars liven things up quite a bit 4 stars
12/14/07 Jason Elektra King & George Bush, James Bond meets Peak Oil! Great movie.Realistic plot. 5 stars
11/23/07 mrsinister Sophie Marceau elevates this movie a few notches. 4 stars
10/11/07 Charles Denise Richards as a nuclear scientist? Need I say more?? ALMOST left the theatre... 2 stars
8/31/07 johnnyfog Best of the Brosnan Bond films. Robbie Coltrane's back, yay! 4 stars
5/27/07 order valium arthritis pain relief 1 stars
4/23/07 David Risser Lots of action, but it wasn't great. 3 stars
2/15/07 johnnyfog The best Brosnan Bond film. I hated Denise Richards though! 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Great 007 action/adventure film. 4 stars
2/02/07 laboo IT FUCKING RULES 5 stars
1/25/07 Dirk Pitts hair Bogged down by a boring plot and a dodgy villian 2 stars
1/01/07 ProSneakyD Best bond film of the 90's, intelligent story & 1st class action, no one should miss it. 5 stars
6/10/06 Yorkee Marceau not sexy? - MP you must be kidding. Confusing plot and too slow. 3 stars
5/28/06 inty yeyey best bond ever it rules ya 5 stars
5/09/06 omar its ok 3 stars
4/25/06 CUT AWAY It is a great Bond, if u want plot u got it 4 stars
4/01/06 poo it rules 4 stars
3/12/06 date movie sucks great 4 stars
2/10/06 Mack a great one 4 stars
1/02/06 Anthony Feor The best Bond since the 60's 4 stars
11/20/05 chris satisfactory bond movie but nothing special 3 stars
9/27/05 Indrid Cold Interesting attempt at a female arch-villain, but unsatisfying and forgettable. 3 stars
8/25/05 Eden Only awesome in comparison to Die Another Day 3 stars
5/26/05 tony Chris perry needs a lesson in reviewing. Exellent flick with spectacular plot. good action! 4 stars
4/01/05 Alice Colwell typical 007 movie 5 stars
2/05/05 Tom Benton Those it suffers heavily from poor editing, this is a stylish and very cool 007 film ... 4 stars
1/07/05 keithers.. Too much attention on action not enough on plot, bond has come diehard....boooo 3 stars
12/06/04 some guy yeah it's quite good, your reviewer guy is shit. 4 stars
9/22/04 Al Guy Good for a rental.I forgot about it as soon as I cut it off. 3 stars
7/17/04 Daveman Perhaps the most tiresome, boring film in the series... avoid! 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody They should make a realistic bond movie where he gets an STD 3 stars
5/07/04 Littlepurch. If not for Goldfinger, this would be the best by far. Seed boat chase MUST be a classsic! 5 stars
12/01/03 tatum Benign Bond, but better than Brosnan's first two 3 stars
11/29/03 john Ms Richards is about as believable as a nuclear scientist as my uncle would be as 007 - 1 stars
11/27/03 R.W. Welch Passable Bond flick has everything but the kitchen sink -- and believability. 3 stars
10/21/03 Littlepurch Gr8 film! Boat chase best bond action scene EVER!!! Story better than other brosnan's too!! 5 stars
8/01/03 Stefan Halka This film had good action in it, but the storyline lagged. 3 stars
7/06/03 Paul S. Classic bits: the entire first 20 min., Elektra, torture chair, x-ray casino scene,Q`s exit 5 stars
12/03/02 Jiz So unmemorable I forgot it in less than a year. I remember it sucked though 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Too much product placement. 3 stars
9/16/02 CVJ Brosnans best bond movie to date 5 stars
8/16/02 scott great 5 stars
7/20/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa Denise sucks! Sophie rules! Bond conquers the world! 5 stars
5/14/02 Stud The world is not enough. 4 stars
3/30/02 Zargo the best brosnan so far 5 stars
3/13/02 Stewy Evans The only goog thing about the film was Q's speed boat 3 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee The only thing that Denise Richards brought to the table were her great tits. 2 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Shallow and boring, bring back Connery! 2 stars
2/21/02 Ashley Corpening Superb! Denise Richards much better than all the hype has said 5 stars
2/21/02 Julia Cox Good except Sophie Marceau would be more appealing having a good bowel movement. 4 stars
1/15/02 David A. Bond is good but Brosnan is weak. Roger Moore is the REAL Bond! 4 stars
10/01/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good! but not good as Tommorow never dies, but the plots good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Carlyle's character couldn't feel pain, but nothing cool was done with him. Very dull flick 2 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg Over rated 4 stars
7/09/01 TLsmooth How in the fuck do people sit thru this bullshit? Brosnan is shitty. 1 stars
6/08/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Denise Richards as a genius?? Uh-huh, and I can chew nails & spit out quarters. 3 stars
4/01/01 fifu neat first half but jumps off a cliff when "christmas" come in what a fucking horrible name 3 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung Very mediocre Bond movie. Even Robert Carlyle seems weak in this. 2 stars
2/16/01 James Lackluster and pointless. 2 stars
11/25/00 Connoisseur Pierce Brosnan is good, but this movie sucks! 1 stars
10/23/00 Gremlin Not as good as Goldeneye but Denise Richards makes up for it......oooh...denise.....oooh... 5 stars
7/06/00 Terrie Smith Good looking women; lots of action but I'm going to miss "Q" 4 stars
6/27/00 Naushad Khanji The Bond premise is stale.Brosnan is terrible and makes the worst Bond 2 stars
6/02/00 danilo worst bond movie ever 1 stars
5/28/00 Cooke Bond is awesome. 5 stars
5/20/00 mahone It made me wonder if the series doen't need to be put to rest with dignity. 2 stars
5/19/00 The Bomb 69 richards annoys but the rest was pretty enjoyable 4 stars
5/02/00 cort major Brosnan is a good bond-but the franchise is going downhill faster and faster-FLUFF- 1 stars
2/28/00 Neil Austin Boys will always be boys and bond will always be bond 5 stars
1/24/00 Cibeus This is the best of the three for this Bond. Saw it twice! 5 stars
1/18/00 k.tomkowski Not bad, but instantly forgettable. 3 stars
1/08/00 John Markham Everyone looked lost and confused. 3 stars
1/04/00 Gotham DK The best Bond film in awhile. As much as I love Richards, she isn't convincing as a Nuke Dr 4 stars
1/01/00 LJ Kong Absolutely the best BOND film 5 stars
12/30/99 Janus Just because its bond its a must see but it was not comparable to tomorrow never dies 4 stars
12/30/99 Richard Miller I think Pierce masterbated before every scene, I hated hated hated hated hated this movie!! 1 stars
12/30/99 K. Lackey Yet another Bond film in which mediocrity prevails as bond blows stuff up & gets the girl. 3 stars
12/21/99 saMas when will he die 3 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz So thick with puns and double-entendres it plays liek a Marx Bros routine. 1 stars
12/16/99 Ezra Xenos The movie claims to be nothing more than it is, a fun two hours, at which it is successful. 4 stars
12/15/99 Jason S. Biggest waste of time(Besides Wild Wild West) of the year, toss a crappy Supernova trailer! 1 stars
12/14/99 Heather Bond fans will see this anyway, good, but not as brilliant as Goldeneye, Tomorrow 4 stars
12/14/99 Ara Margossian one of the best bonds in decades 5 stars
12/13/99 voyant Good Escape movie 4 stars
12/11/99 Tyson Stewart Everything I want in a Bond film! It's great! 4 stars
12/08/99 JonnyAngel "Carlyle chewing the scenery"? What movie were you watching? He didn't chew, he just sucked 3 stars
12/06/99 Ryan Mathers Not bad as Bond films go 3 stars
12/02/99 Doug Paulsen WAY to many one liners. 2 stars
12/01/99 Chris It's a good bond film. They should have done more with the bad guy. 4 stars
11/30/99 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules I was in awe of all the talent. If it wasn't for end of days Id say best picture right here 1 stars
11/29/99 Mic What a great last line. The old formula still works reasonably. 3 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel Worse than GoldenEye, Tommorow Never Dies kicked ass compared to this movie. 2 stars
11/27/99 nootch Even Salma Hayek could've played a more convincing nuclear physicist! 2 stars
11/26/99 Kevin Cho - Movie Junkie Broznan's BEST - Great action, well worth the trouble. One of the bes t- Highly recommend. 5 stars
11/26/99 Matthew Smith brosnan has bond written all over him 5 stars
11/25/99 Rachel B. i thought this was another sweet Bond film. In my opinion Pierce Bronsan is the best guy . 5 stars
11/23/99 Jamie It's exactly what you expect from bond. Hot women cool gadgets and bad humor 4 stars
11/23/99 Lianne I thought it was one of the best Bond Movies in a long time. 5 stars
11/22/99 Jason S. Good action movie....shitty James Bond movie 2 stars
11/22/99 john carpenter excellent, first rate 5 stars
11/22/99 Mr. X A waste of Robert Carlyle 2 stars
11/22/99 Zaw Oo Denise Richards Can't act.. she was funny make me laugh everytime she say something. :-). 3 stars
11/22/99 Mr. K The cold-blooded Bond is back. He sleeps with the good girl and the bad, then offs the bad! 5 stars
11/21/99 majawat more breasts, less talking 2 stars
11/21/99 anon Good acting by most, good action, poor script. Denise Richards was not convincing. 4 stars
11/20/99 SJKelley I grew up reading Ian Fleming. I threw up watching this. Way too many "WHAT?" scenes. 2 stars
11/20/99 Jqirish A solid Bond, but nothing knew 4 stars
11/20/99 C.A.T.M. With Brosnan as Bond, Richards' bouncing chest, and the stunts, you can't lose. Great ! 5 stars
11/19/99 Dax It's the 19th Bond movie. You get exactly what you'd expect. 4 stars
11/18/99 Tay It sucked 1 stars
11/14/99 george Oh give me a break, its Bond! Everyone loves bond! 5 stars
9/30/99 the Grinch First Pierce Brosnan, now DENISE RICHARDS? Brosnan's bimbo enough! They're fucking up 007! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Nov-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Nov-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast