Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.95

Awesome: 32.54%
Worth A Look40.48%
Just Average: 20.63%
Pretty Crappy: 2.38%
Sucks: 3.97%

11 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mighty Wind, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mark Rodger-Snelson

"A very funny movie especially if you are a fan of folk music."
3 stars

The master of the mockumentary Christopher Guest is back with a hilarious look into the world of folk music. Those familiar with his previous films (Waiting for Guffman, Best in Show) will find the format and most of the cast familiar. I don’t think Guest would make any apologies for this as the formula works and the cast, who mainly improvise, are incredibly talented.

The film opens with a newscast announcing the death of folk music icon Irving Steinbloom. His son begins to organise a concert in New York’s Town Hall in order to celebrate his father’s life and his passion for folk music. The only thing he needs to do is convince forgotten folk heroes to reform and be ready to play in two weeks time. There’s the Folksmen (Guest, Harry Shearer, Michael McKean) who have not played together for thirty years; The New Main Street Singers led by Mr and Mrs Bohner (John Michael Higgins, Jane Lynch) and then there is Mitch and Mickey (Levy, Catherine O’Hara) whose relationship ended violently resulting in Mitch having a nervous breakdown.

All the characters and actors in A Mighty Wind are fantastic but it is Eugene Levy’s portrayal of the mentally unstable and emotionally washed up Mitch who steals the show – it must have been extremely difficult for the crew to keep a straight face whilst filming his parts. Aside from the band members there are other characters who are equally hilarious including Mickey’s husband who is an eager model train enthusiast and there is the New Main Street Singers manager who will not let anyone forget his five minutes of fame on a failed TV show called Wha’ Happened? The album covers which are shown during interviews with band members should also be mentioned as they are side-splitting – anyone who has flicked through records in their local Salvation Army store will appreciate these recreations.

Overall, A Mighty Wind is a very funny movie especially if you are a fan of folk music. I cannot say I am a folk music enthusiast which is probably why I found his earlier works Spinal Tap and Best In Show more enjoyable (being an old metal head and a dog owner).

But you don’t need to be interested in the subject matter in a Christopher Guest comedy as it is the oddball characters as well as the gifted cast that play them and his clever style that make his films work.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=7217&reviewer=388
originally posted: 11/30/04 16:48:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2003 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/11/13 Kymberly Pray Know they've done a few, this group should do *every* movie together. Great chemistry. 5 stars
12/26/11 Jim McLennan "Hilarious"? "Hysterical"? Er... No. 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT SO LOW KEY IT ALMOST PUTS YOU TO SLEEP 1 stars
2/27/07 Clyde One of the best locations I've come across lately!!! Definately a permanent bookmark! Pleas 1 stars
2/07/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
1/23/06 Indrid Cold Like Spinal Tap, except for folk music, and with about 1/3 as many jokes. 3 stars
12/09/05 MAttIFUL Is that really supposed to be funny? I dont get it. I feel embarassed for all in this movie 1 stars
11/08/05 blue dolphin a sad commentary of folk music 4 stars
8/12/05 Ben Quinn Not as funny as Best in Show, but still better than Waiting for Guffman 4 stars
12/16/04 Ken Cenerelli Funny but not as good as Best In Show. 4 stars
7/24/04 DM Some funny parts, but it's so whatevery 3 stars
4/25/04 Lord Jiggy A surprise. Funny, even touching, with whackball humor out of nowhere. 4 stars
4/18/04 Ionicera "these were my friends....and they were made out of gin cartons" 4 stars
3/21/04 Goofy Maxwell More heart than previous Guest gigs, just not mighty funny. 4 stars
3/12/04 James Kustes second only to Spinal Tap 5 stars
3/08/04 gerry great really loved it esprcially The Kiss song 4 stars
3/05/04 Snickerdoodle I LOVED THIS MOVIE!! THE MUSIC WAS SO GREAT! 5 stars
2/06/04 john not worse, not better, just different than guest's other stuff. still great! 5 stars
1/22/04 Chloe Brody Ey, what happened?!?!?! A total pisser!!! 4 stars
1/14/04 Betty White Brilliant, superb, hysterically funny mockumentary; O'Hara is outstanding. 5 stars
1/05/04 astra astra omg it was the worst movie i have ever seen in my life 1 stars
11/21/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A satirical spin on the folk music craze. EAT AT OES ! 4 stars
11/08/03 b awesome 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston Great fot first two thirds lost it at the end but always fun to watch these crazies. 4 stars
10/21/03 Jorchel Smithenstein This is the best movie ever made. 5 stars
10/05/03 BDB Two words: Wha' Happened??? ... BAHAHAHA! 5 stars
9/13/03 Ant A brilliantly acted film, full of laugh-out-loud moments. A pure joy to watch. 5 stars
9/01/03 Marcia Lartz Peculiarly watchable, though I'd never have guessed so from the premise. 4 stars
8/23/03 francis moves on from the 'best of show' concept - very funny if you are the right mood 4 stars
7/28/03 Elendil It's like `Waiting for Guffman', only this time, you've seen it before. 3 stars
7/14/03 skye just plain not funny. and i'm a big fan. could've been great 3 stars
7/01/03 Jacob Simmering Great movie, esp if it was improved 5 stars
6/04/03 LaFontis The best film this summer. Don't waste your time and money with mainsteam movies. 5 stars
5/31/03 Jack Bourbon Not very funny, oddly. Still, Levy was great, and the blonde from "BiS" was smokin' here. 4 stars
5/28/03 Ellwood Erb This movie is definity worth watching.... Very Funny stuff 4 stars
5/27/03 ADAM SHERMAN OWEN ALWAYS LOVED CHILDREN.... FREQUENTLY 5 stars
5/22/03 Karl Mattson Guest's best to date. Hillarity tempered with tenderness. 5 stars
5/19/03 malcolm not as good as 'best...' or 'waiting...' maybe i'm just too used to the formula. 3 stars
5/19/03 the snakes yes, a mighty wind. a mighty broken wind if you catch my drift 1 stars
5/14/03 A film observer This film is about the hilarity and beauty of the moment - not about political messages. 5 stars
5/13/03 Allen Overall, pretty good but some hillarious moments 4 stars
5/12/03 scottyrobotty tries to be funny and fails a lot, a lot of other times it doesn't even try. very let down 2 stars
5/11/03 Warren Norwood A Mighty Miss, this movie misses most of the folk scene as it really was. Falls way short. 2 stars
5/11/03 skye NOT the best of the 3, or even close. 3 stars
5/11/03 Vicious Awsome is too strong, but Eugene Levy was too good to call anything less than great 5 stars
5/06/03 ajay very funny, I laughed out loud *several* times 5 stars
5/06/03 H.E. Brilliant. For those who did not rate it "awesome", I can only say: "Wha' happened?" :) 5 stars
5/01/03 T. Oliver Worst of the three 3 stars
4/30/03 Andrew Carden Hilariously Funny Indie Comedy With Fantastic Performances By Posey, O'Hara, and Levy. 5 stars
4/29/03 Vangela THANK HEAVEN FOR CHRISTOPHER GUEST!!! 5 stars
4/24/03 Desmond Barely tries to be funny, but it's surprisingly touching and dramatic 5 stars
4/22/03 Daddy Phil Pine nut...pastacio nut...macadamia nut 5 stars
4/22/03 jamie one of the more ecletic, yet entertaining films I have see this year. great! 5 stars
4/21/03 Johnny little something Fan Tas Tic. 5 stars
4/19/03 Weezer Christopher Guest is a comic genius. 5 stars
4/19/03 George Jung The funniest movie I've seen since...Best In Show. Keep it up, Guest. 5 stars
4/19/03 Dana Carvey must DIE!!! It is very funny, but more than that it is sometimes moving. And the music rocks (kinda). 5 stars
4/13/03 bluegirl funny!! 5 stars
4/11/03 steve christiansen an outstanding and hilarious film! the best of the three by far. 5 stars
4/09/03 reggie wagstaff BRILLIANT!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Apr-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 23-Sep-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jul-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast