Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.33

Awesome38.41%
Worth A Look: 16.19%
Just Average: 5.71%
Pretty Crappy: 19.68%
Sucks: 20%

19 reviews, 201 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eyes Wide Shut
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"The Most Misunderstood Film of the Year"
4 stars

Eyes Wide Shut (*** Ĺ) ĖAfter months, even years of rumors and bad press surrounding this film, Stanley Kubrickís final chapter to his film career turns out to be one of his best. I was stunned at how much I liked this movie and how willing I am to sit through it again.

With a running time of 159 minutes, and the love-hate relationship I have to Kubrickís work, I approached this film with some hesitancy, yet also a level of excitement since I knew nearly nothing about it. That hesitancy was immediately rinsed away with the very first scene. I was hooked all the way to the final credits. Despite all the rumors that made this film seem like Kubrickís version of Crash, Eyes Wide Shut really tells a very simple tale with many deep layers. Itís a story of jealousy, infidelity, and truth in the context of a marriage. It also weaves it tale with an undercurrent of Hitchcockian dread and paranoia that really gets one inside the journey that Cruiseís character takes. And what a journey it is. At times comical, but mostly scary, all leading up to the already infamous orgy sequence which is nothing short of incredible. Piano notes have never seemed more threatening. This is not a film for everyone, so while I praise it highly, I do heed warning to those looking for a fun evening out. Yet at the same time, the film is a little more mainstream than most would have you believe. This isnít The Thin Red Line with an incoherent and unwatchable storyline. While unpredictable, itís very straightforward and never boring. At least Ė I never found it boring. Itís got Cruise and Kidman giving two of their very best performances. Especially look for Kidman to pull out a nomination. It boasts an A+ screenplay handled by Kubrick at his best, filling nearly every frame with the colors of green and red (the film worldís colors for jealousy and envy). Itís a masterstroke to set this film at Christmas as nearly every place Cruise visits has an odd-looking Christmas tree. I couldnít help think of this film as almost an anti-marriage movie, arguing that no matter how secure and happy a couple could be, our natural primal urges canít help but make their ways into our psyches, one way or another. I pity those who see this film with their significant other. Now, donít think Iím recommending this film, because as a film lover, itís almost a law to like anything done by Stanley Kubrick. Thatís not the case. While I think Dr. Strangelove is one of the 20 greatest of all films, and truly admire films like Full Metal Jacket, Paths of Glory, Lolita, and Spartacus Ė Iím the first to admit Iím not the biggest fan of 2001, A Clockwork Orange, and The Shining (though the latter has slowly gained a little strength throughout the years)

Eyes Wide Shut ranks in the upper echelon of Kubrickís work and certainly of anything thatís been released this year. One minor complaint of the film is a blown opportunity for a true shock late in the film, by cutting to it too early. Other than that, I was highly surprised and entertained by this thought-provoking foray into the darkest depths of a relationship. As far as the controversy of the digitally-altered 65 seconds Ė if I didnít know about it, I wouldnít have noticed. This is one of those films that could be discussed for hours on end, even if itís about things youíd rather not talk about. (Note: Another great drinking game that can come out of this film is that you chug every time Cruise is hit on and every time he whips out his medical ID badge.)

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=724&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 22:49:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/10/16 Louise Like a lot of Kubrick's stuff but this didn't really work. And Kidman was AWFUL! 2 stars
5/16/16 brian Beautifully filmed stool is still just a pile of crap. Snxxxxx.... 2 stars
3/21/15 stanley welles haunting and brilliantly executed 5 stars
7/29/14 D. The R. Slow, dull, inept dialogue, insultingly trite. Sorry, Stanley. 2 stars
6/10/14 Max Dreamlike, nightmarish and theatrical. Kubrick is a master. 5 stars
12/10/12 Nellie Kubrick's best movie. Riveting and engrossing, can't turn it off!!! 5 stars
2/19/11 Ark Great water-cooler mystery as what happened to Nightingale. B4 Cruise became such a douche! 5 stars
6/02/10 User Name Ignore the excessive sex, and you will find a richly layered masterpiece. 5 stars
5/13/10 Eyes Wide Shut: An Enigma I enjoy the intrigue raised in terms of the symbolism, "overt," dark references.. 4 stars
1/17/10 babette Secret Societies. 5 stars
3/11/09 PAUL SHORTT A STEAMY, DREAMY BIT OF FILMMAKING 2 stars
2/04/09 Faraz J Riding only on the nudity. Crappy movie. 2 stars
11/03/08 David If you're stupid, you'll probably hate this film. If not, it's truly stunning. 5 stars
4/11/08 Duke of Omnium Should have been called "Yuppiescum Almost Gets Laid". Dull, but pretentious. 1 stars
10/23/07 Ivana Mann As sexually stimulating as a hooker on novocaine.Cold & distant...a real weenie-shrinker! 1 stars
9/08/07 William Goss Thoroughly dull, so far as sexual odysseys go. 2 stars
4/09/07 fools♫gold Damn, are the DVD interviews something to watch. 5 stars
1/25/07 Matt Monumentally pretentious crap. Rather cut the balony and watch a fuck film. 1 stars
12/20/06 Bitchflaps Doesn't benefit from the mediocre leads, yet it's fascinating and compulsively rewatchable. 4 stars
11/24/06 David Pollastrini Kubrick must have died before this was finished and they just slapped a the footage togethe 1 stars
11/10/06 Bill Hi all 4 stars
7/07/06 chienne Very amusing review Parry, & quite right. Nicole should try play school. 1 stars
6/07/06 Peggy Doty TOTALLY AWFUL COULDN'T WATCH IT 1 stars
5/07/06 chienne Nicole Who? Absolute offal! WTF was that? Yurk!! 1 stars
2/02/06 John Cruise is way in over his head - not as good as expected 2 stars
12/02/05 Bleach A movie for the intelligent 5 stars
10/21/05 Luca Not entertaining, nor involving, nor erotic. A bad movie barely interesting to analyse. 2 stars
8/05/05 Pierre STANLEY KUBRICK IS THE GREATEST DIRECTOR OF ALL TIME, AND ALL OF YOU ARE LOSERS. 5 stars
6/03/05 Pinkline Jones Fly Wide Open Let Down Pointless beyond belief 1 stars
5/01/05 Sophie terribly dissapointing 2 stars
3/17/05 indrid cold Not good. Incredibly ponderous in its pacing and self-importance. 2 stars
1/29/05 Kostas Boyiopoulos A masterful and complex anatomy of sexual fantasy, a masterpiece of Postmodernism. 5 stars
1/20/05 Mr. Durden Awesome movie, but if you don't like artsy stuff, you'll hate this. 5 stars
1/15/05 Shaun Only one reason to watch this movie and that's to see Nicole Kidman's awesome body! 2 stars
1/01/05 jake Bad movie only made somewhat bearable by the super sexy Nicole Kidman getting fucked hard 3 stars
11/12/04 Ginn Gold Jerry, Gold! 5 stars
11/10/04 monkeybear nothing can make this boring, stupid, headache inducing film appear clever. 1 stars
10/29/04 HL Talk About Erotic and Weird. Very Compelling 5 stars
8/07/04 john bale Nicole nice naked, with Kubrick CRUISING on Valium in fleshfest nightmare thriller 3 stars
8/07/04 Stuart Kidmans acting was irritating and overated - as was the movie 2 stars
7/14/04 malcolm nicole bucknekkit & ending with the word 'fuck' were cool, pretentious+wierd doesn't = good 3 stars
3/30/04 Nichael Paysden Senile old man's movie with a lousy title. 1 stars
2/08/04 KCobain The bomb. The absolute bomb. Brilliant! 5 stars
12/04/03 john Tom Cruise is slightly in over his head on this one and it shows - good concept but boring 3 stars
9/26/03 Jim-0404 Kubrick's best, Cruise's best. Hey Weinberg, IT IS A MASTERPIECE !!! 5 stars
7/30/03 Nicole Kubrick fan, but I totally didn't get this 2 stars
7/11/03 Indrid Cold It's excrutiatingly slow-paced with no intellectual or emotional payoff. 2 stars
6/17/03 Angela thought provoking with misleading plot lines comparable to hitchcock. visually stunning. 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Flawed but mesemrizing and entertaining. A better male lead would have helped. 4 stars
2/25/03 y2mckay High titty factor aside, this is truly and underappreciated Kubrick film. 4 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Bonerbility Factor: 9.8 Storyline: Absolute zero 1 stars
12/29/02 Joseph Hedrick Have no expectations 5 stars
12/18/02 Armando Del Romero Probably Kubrick's most neglected Masterpiece 5 stars
11/17/02 Lady who hates romantic comedies zzzzz - most boring orgy I have ever seen. No wonder Tom and Nicole split up 1 stars
11/03/02 Matthew Tragic 2 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum How can tits and ass be so damn boring? 1 stars
9/16/02 Zefram Mann Slow, pointless crap. The Flintstones is more intellectual than this shit. 1 stars
8/28/02 Iris Peduncle I used to copy Nicole Kidman, but now my butt is sore from not wiping it enough. 3 stars
8/05/02 R.L.A. masterpiece. 5 stars
7/26/02 karen goldstein Any One Who Likes This Movie Just Enjoys Wathcing Naked Women Cause The Movie Is BORING!! 1 stars
7/26/02 Soulis my wife and I have noticed that most men like this movie, most women hate it 4 stars
7/26/02 I Can't Swim Its a dream movie so it doesn't HAVE a plot! Young losers stay away, its too much for you! 5 stars
7/10/02 .Choadushouse. i love this movie. it's just so odd! thats all that matters! 5 stars
6/29/02 David A. Raises an issue--the creepy private lives of the rich and famous. I think they killed her. 4 stars
6/24/02 Law Kubrick lost it 2 stars
5/26/02 Nicole I could be wrong, but I didn't see a plot......just orgies. Hmm, sounds like porn. 2 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Aaaah..maybe Kubrick did this as a gag. maybe there IS NO meaning. It's soft porn, baby. 2 stars
3/11/02 KMG Ya know, I think this is just a documentary day in the life of Tommy. Sans Penelope. 4 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Boring and strange. I never thought Tom C. was gay before, but I do now; movie is gay too. 2 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Not Kubrick's best, but still very interesting. Ms. Kidman does a great job. 4 stars
2/24/02 iulian sorin nice 2 stars
2/24/02 John Linton Roberson Much more interesting had Kidman been the protagonist; still, good Kubrick, if not great. 4 stars
1/27/02 Jessica Davis Incomprehensible plus who wants to see Nicole Kidman wiping her butt &Leelee S. as a whore? 2 stars
12/28/01 Phil M. Afficianado Your mood, life views, values, principles will largely determine your reaction. But see it 4 stars
11/03/01 Hunter Nicole Kidman Nude-What a Surprise! Too bad there's nothing to see! 1 stars
10/31/01 Harrison C. (Earnest Man) Vinessa and Leelee are favorite stars in this film 4 stars
10/30/01 daniel mr. cruise was in way over his head in this one i'm afraid. 4 stars
10/10/01 esat duymus I love this film because of nicole kidman.I think she is wonderful actriss 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Only Kubrick could make such a fucking cool movie out of such a limp story. 5 stars
7/13/01 othree Cruise was his awsome self, Kidman was weak/confusing, kinky society pft! it was a big mess 2 stars
7/02/01 INCUBATOR Sometimes u just don`t no why it`s so good 5 stars
6/27/01 Steve A wholesome film for the entire family! Get the kids in the Taurus and go see this one! 2 stars
6/19/01 PaleDavid Compelling. Unnerving. Sex reduced to dirt. Brilliant. 5 stars
6/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby The Master tries hard but I refuse to trash him or the movie 4 stars
6/03/01 Sir Harrison Chough I have this movie, but I never watch it because it's too long, too slow and unexciting 2 stars
5/21/01 Harrison Chough My favorite woman was only shown once in this movie 2 stars
4/29/01 :P Something different, but the worst closing dialogue in cinema history without doubt. 4 stars
4/20/01 Harrison Chough I wish Vinessa Shaw had been shown more. She wasn't shown enough 4 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L the Godfather is a moron 1 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH! Five UGHS! 1 stars
3/28/01 Jamie O'Neill Eyes Wide Shut is a unique film. 5 stars
3/16/01 Kook Sloooooooooooooooooooow. Kidman sucked. 1 stars
3/07/01 Sanja please tell me, why do we have to watch their own bed problems?! 1 stars
3/01/01 Scott Kubrick's last film is about infidelity in a lonely marrige not sex.Not his best though 4 stars
2/16/01 Michael Nicholls Fastidiously crafted, directorially commanding and endlessly intriging... 5 stars
2/03/01 Althaia This movie sucked. 1 stars
1/31/01 Big Isil strange, provoking, a bit slow, Kubrick leaves with some dignity 4 stars
1/22/01 Sully tried to like it- but it just plain sucked. slow pace made me furious. waste of time. 2 stars
1/21/01 jmr kubrick's last and best 5 stars
11/14/00 salvo toscano love Kubrick, but this film doesn't work at all. And Tom's pretty crappy 3 stars
10/24/00 Viking Grow a brain, Gremlin...you've missed the point !!! 5 stars
10/23/00 Gremlin Shitiest movie I have ever seen. I wipe my ass on this gay ass movie. Patooie! 1 stars
8/31/00 JB McMichael Kubrick can't do shit right. Worst dribble I have ever seen. 1 stars
8/07/00 Elvisfan maybe i am not smartenough to grasp it all but it bored me for the most part 3 stars
8/01/00 Delusia Kubrick does no wrong! 5 stars
6/19/00 Beavis Not enough nudity, dammit! Change it, Butthead! 3 stars
5/29/00 danilo i'm not sure if i got it all, but its visual beauty stunned me 5 stars
5/08/00 dimlight A DR Evil lookalike stalking Tom Cruise it doesn't get any funnier than that!!! 3 stars
3/30/00 misternuts Film is a stunning, cerebral journey. The end does make sense (irony - Clockwork Orange). 5 stars
3/29/00 yankee great, why do guys do dumb shit. This will stay with you. 5 stars
3/25/00 Matthew Smith kubrick is a master. will stay in your mind for days to come 5 stars
3/24/00 Lesley worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
3/19/00 Keith Only Very intelligent Kubrick fans will get it. If your not, don't see it. 5 stars
3/04/00 Ryan Of course it's not sexy. It's not meant to be. It's meant to be scary and dreamlike. 4 stars
2/17/00 Andi C. I HATED this movie 1 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman i can't describe my disappointment. (maybe i just did) read the book - it's great! 1 stars
12/01/99 Sam Iyengar A piece of trash. I agree with Kidmann's last word "Fuck", except you add "ed" at the end. 1 stars
11/26/99 don stimulates your mind 5 stars
11/22/99 Ralf Behet Not without flaws, but absorbing most of the way. Cruise is fine in the lead. 5 stars
11/20/99 Vick Di Brecci A nice slow high 5 stars
11/18/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Kubrick strays well off the beaten path in this one, weird, kind of a David Lynch feel. 5 stars
11/18/99 Tyson Stewart The most brilliant, haunting art picutre ever made. It perfect in every way! 5 stars
11/07/99 Mickey More Kubrick's recent death almost seems justified. Sex has never been so unappealing. 1 stars
11/04/99 Mike Quite riveting 4 stars
10/31/99 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules I made a mess in my sheets. 1 stars
10/26/99 Katherine One of the best movie I have seen this year ! 5 stars
10/26/99 pipeman Masterful. The best movie in years. 5 stars
10/26/99 Ed The best movie I've ever seen first run in the theatres. Kubrick is the master. 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan The ultimate sex relationships film. I don't know what the ones who hate it were expecting. 5 stars
10/25/99 the snu very tasty,be prepared to debate over it with loved ones.... 4 stars
10/20/99 Antti Where's the story. All I saw was sex after sex 1 stars
10/18/99 Tommi People who think this is crappy should be shot 5 stars
10/17/99 JonnyAngel Great date movie! (ummmm, No) 2 stars
10/07/99 Jonny Too bad Stan the Man had to end with this mess. 2 stars
9/19/99 Costars Flawed but fascinating 5 stars
9/18/99 RelliK Fucking Awesom 5 stars
9/10/99 Timbo I love flesh Flesh rules like OZZY 5 stars
9/08/99 azzad snoozefest 2 stars
9/08/99 Raymond Great! 5 stars
9/04/99 Weird Andy At it's best in its quiet moments. Pollack is terrific. 4 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread It feels like genius, but Kubrick still was missing something 4 stars
8/21/99 the Schlock Like every other one of Kubrick's films... it kicked all ass. 5 stars
8/21/99 Olivia Neutron-Bomb Bloody fantastic, and that's that. 5 stars
8/20/99 Fork Those that haven't seen Dr. Strangelove and The Shining should not see this movie. 5 stars
8/20/99 Heather Intriguing, thought provoking movie, great cinematography 5 stars
8/18/99 Geoff Yikes! The director ain't the only thing that's dead... 2 stars
8/17/99 reveal Pretty stupid 1 stars
8/14/99 Keith Kubrick is a Fucking Genius! If you think this is a porno film, you are a fucking idiot! 5 stars
8/12/99 ADD Awful. 1 stars
8/12/99 Elizaveta The music, the cinematography, EVERYTHING, lives up to Kubrick's vision - one of his best! 5 stars
8/12/99 Pierce Lanson Over-hyped, slow, absolutely non-erotic,nice photography 2 stars
8/12/99 Steve Kelley Like Thin Red Line, those "it's brilliant" reviews are so much pomposity. 3 stars
8/10/99 Andy Truely one of the great cinematic masterpieces!! 5 stars
8/03/99 c790 A Kubrick masterpiece. People will talk about this film for 20 years 5 stars
8/03/99 jeff call All undressed with no place to go-- it was really weak--nice tits Nicole 2 stars
8/02/99 Trevor Snow Good flick. Might not be one you'd take your girlfriend to. 4 stars
8/02/99 beachlovr9 Tom is the only one who did a good job in this film. It was a great story line though. 4 stars
8/01/99 JimBob lots of gratuitous T.&A. but whats the point??? 3 stars
8/01/99 Elmyr23@yahoo.com An hour too long, thirty years too late 2 stars
7/31/99 danwild Worst film Kubrick ever made. Was he trying to show how stupid the superstars are? 2 stars
7/31/99 Curt Neuman There are people who understand what Kubrick is saying and peope who don't. You don't. 5 stars
7/29/99 Fork The best movie of the last 3 years. 5 stars
7/28/99 Sabina Great film 5 stars
7/27/99 bewitch324@aol.com Really slow and boring. Very self-indulgent and shallow. Nicole is excellent as usual. 2 stars
7/27/99 sydney a beautiful film full of Freudian twists and turns 5 stars
7/27/99 Doug Thompson (DGThompson@aol.com) Big fan of all people involved, but this movie was a big disappointment. 3 stars
7/27/99 kizirk seeing as i didn't know what to expect when i walked into the theater i was impressed 4 stars
7/26/99 Michael E. Bryant unquestionably Kubrick's worst film and the worst of 1999. 1 stars
7/26/99 Todd Roberts Brutal film. Couldn't care less for the characters 2 stars
7/26/99 Mavraam I kept waiting for a point. I still am! 1 stars
7/26/99 emperor Kubrick is a genius, 5 stars
7/26/99 Blubberbot If you love Kubrick you'll love this film. 5 stars
7/26/99 Bitch Hypnotic, provocative and haunting, it is one of Kubrick's best films. 5 stars
7/25/99 critic very disappointing--the last line of the movie topped it all off--watching it is absurd 1 stars
7/25/99 Randall Beautiful, that's all I can say 5 stars
7/24/99 The Graduate A brilliant look at male fantasy and the temptation of infidelity. Kubrick did it again! 5 stars
7/23/99 dowdy Eyes Wide Shut is an extraordinary film that was very different from what I expected 5 stars
7/22/99 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Kubrick got lucky. I didn't get to die after watching this turd. 1 stars
7/22/99 Kirgo1 An empty trip into Prentense.Horny boys who can';t afford porn will like it. 1 stars
7/22/99 jvt Those who loved THE THIN RED LINE are the same who will like this 5 stars
7/22/99 Cody Cannon burns a wicked trip into your brain for days after its over 5 stars
7/21/99 tigerlette focus:redemption-vidio,nice-audio,awful 4 stars
7/21/99 PhilmPhreak Wow Naked Nicole, zzzzzzzzz, wow naked chicks, zzzzzz, look at all the sex, zzzzz 4 stars
7/21/99 grunter hollow, unconvincing, pretentious, ultimately saying nothing 1 stars
7/21/99 Jim Holthaus A movie that will leave you wondering what you just saw. 4 stars
7/21/99 Nessus Surreal, but still poignent, delivered at a snails pace with maximum effect 5 stars
7/21/99 Hypnos Amazing, disturbing, provoking, intellectual, and passionate. Just plain fucking brilliant. 5 stars
7/19/99 Coxian dragged-out, long, & dull/eerie exorcist piano best part 2 stars
7/19/99 Bob, Lord of Evil You cannot watch this movie- You have to be in it. 5 stars
7/19/99 ALiaS wow, one of those films that makes you sit there about 5 mins after it ended 5 stars
7/18/99 Zoit other than the naked chics, this movie sucked! 2 stars
7/18/99 Randall Made me feel dirty, i liked it 5 stars
7/18/99 bridgette less than i expected, but still quite good. music is haunting, and you have to love alan c! 4 stars
7/17/99 Arkansas Jon A slow but gripping study on the effects of jealousy. Sad that WB caved with the edits. 4 stars
7/17/99 David M. Hoats Very compelling, portraying sex and nudity as mysterious, exciting and yet common place. 5 stars
7/17/99 wendy@internetx.net Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman make this film excellent! 5 stars
7/17/99 dbx nudity, and leaves you wondering... ! 5 stars
7/17/99 buddy Hail it just because it's Kubrick? I think not. 1 stars
7/17/99 Ariel Interesting in many ways. Why they had to be that famous couple in the whole world??? 4 stars
7/17/99 Michelle One of the few movies this summer that REALLY makes you think. 5 stars
7/16/99 tigerlette long but visually beautiful and redemptive 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jul-1999 (R)
  DVD: 12-Jun-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Aug-1999 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast