Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.34

Awesome: 16.89%
Worth A Look35.14%
Just Average: 22.97%
Pretty Crappy: 14.86%
Sucks: 10.14%

7 reviews, 106 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Faculty, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Body Snatchers Tale is Shameless Fun"
4 stars

The Faculty (***) - I admit without hesitation that I thoroughly enjoyed this film. I’ve always said that you have to be a shit director to screw up a Body Snatchers film. And Robert Rodriguez, in my opinion, is no shit director. After all he brought us (along with Quentin Tarantino) one of the best action-filled vampire films ever with From Dusk Till Dawn. Now with another hyped-up writer (Kevin Williamson) he brings us a little more familiar story with some clever commentary if not as juiced as the vampire film.

While I was watching the film - I was so into it as to give it a 3 ½ star rating. I love Body Snatcher films. The 1978 version, after all, made my list of the 100 greatest films ever made. But I digress because as I ponder this latest achievement after leaving the theater, I think of what could have made it better. But first the good stuff. The set-up of these films is always a lot of fun as we get to know the various characters as they discover the threat and exactly what the creatures are. The sly commentary kind of sneaks up on you. Note how much water the creatures need to keep them alive - then think how many people you see on the streets carrying their own personal jug of water. The body snatcher film is also a perfect allegory for high school, at least for my experience of it. All of the different cliques and what not. Not fitting in was a bad thing - the football team reigned supreme, etc. etc. There’s a lot of homage being payed in this film. Everything from every body snatcher films is present, along with nods to John Carpenter’s The Thing as the students begin to mistrust each other and must pass a test to see if any of them are a creature. (They miss a golden opportunity though to quote that film’s most famous line when a teacher’s head runs independently from their body - “You’ve got to be fuckin’ kidding.” - I was so hoping for it, but was denied.) A few things about the film did bother me though. Normally I wouldn’t say stuff like this, but if I’m going to give the film credit for social commentary, I have to address a couple other issues. For one - the “test” that is conducted consists of sniffing a caffeine-induced drug up their noses. If they don’t do it - they must be an alien. That was pushing it a little bit for me. Another scene I found a little disturbing is the shooting of the school principal, that we know is an alien, but the kids are not. They shoot her anyway as she pleads for her life. If she was attacking them like earlier with the Jon Stewart character, that would be different. But the scene plays a little suspect with all the recent school shootings and what not. Now I’m feeling old. I also wish the film was a little longer and really pumped up the action, a la Dusk Till Dawn, instead of just introducing the threat and letting it be as is. I wanted to see more of the actual student body and faculty working together to finish their conquest. And what ever happened to the Piper Laurie and Salma Hayek characters?

Regardless I still had a lot of fun watching the film. The Williamson dialogue is as topical as his Scream films and Dawson’s Creek TV show and it’s always a pleasure to hear smart teenagers talk rather than dumb teenagers, especially in horror films. The film doesn’t have too many surprises, at least not for me, but Rodriguez is always able to surprise with how far he’ll go during his action scenes. I just wished he went a little further. I’m still recommending the film as a fun time at the movies despite a few of my late observations. I still enjoyed the film as I watched it. I mean, after all, how can you screw up a Body Snatcher movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=725&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 16:20:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/29/16 morris campbell teenage invasion of the body snatchers cool characters 3 stars
11/19/13 richard with the cast and director this had it should have been much better 1 stars
9/23/10 PAUL SHORTT ENERGETIC BUT OVERLONG 2 stars
1/29/10 Dane Youssef Not bad, but nothing special. Standard kiddie sci-fi fare w/some light "Scream" stuff. 2 stars
6/29/09 art THESE KID"S WE"RE ON DRUG"S! 1 stars
2/22/07 David Pollastrini good gore and hot women! 5 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 good flick, check it out if you haven't already 5 stars
4/24/06 Eden Nothing amazing, but its fun to watch. A guilty pleasure 4 stars
1/08/06 aimless only borderline moronic 3 stars
1/02/06 cody a cool flick, teenage verison of invasion of body snatchers, cool characters and story 4 stars
8/17/05 ES Good movie with some neat monster action = give it a try 4 stars
10/12/04 Laura Elijah is sooooooooooooo hott in this movie!! 5 stars
6/10/04 Bajs Smooth 5 stars
4/10/04 reptilensi My secret guilty pleasure. I love this movie! 4 stars
3/22/04 Vicious all the bad shit from high school is actually quite spot on. Fun allegory. 4 stars
2/28/04 melissa this movie kicked ass 5 stars
1/23/04 Elena Garbage. Nothing original. Laughable. But Elijah Wood is so damn adorable. 1 stars
12/26/03 Sara Highly Enjoyable 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel good! 3 stars
12/02/03 Agent Sands I hope it's a spoof, because that's basically all it amounts to. 3 stars
11/03/03 American Slasher Goddess Basically, a teen version of the Invasion of the Body Snatchers that's watchable. 3 stars
12/20/02 palaboy101 Just becoz ur paranoid doesn't mean they're not out 2 get u... 5 stars
12/05/02 GIA B O R I N G !!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
6/25/02 Film Guy Good i highly enjoyed this movie cvery suspensful but kinda predictable ending 3 stars
5/29/02 wouldn't u like to know? it's great!!! 5 stars
5/14/02 Blake This movie was asome 5 stars
4/06/02 Callie McGarry I loved your movie you are so cool and cute 5 stars
3/07/02 Mo Anand great movie...one of the better teen horror flicks...next to Scream 4 stars
2/20/02 Sylvie Alice Borden Great! But why was awesome Salma Hayek wasted in a bit part? 5 stars
2/19/02 Andrew Carden Mediorce, but Enjoyable [and Scary] B-Movie Creature Flick. 4 stars
1/03/02 KMG Can't believe Elijah Wood signed on for this shit! 1 stars
1/02/02 yaserodwan i love her 5 stars
11/30/01 Scottish Kilt A rip-off of John Carpenters Thing, But wasn't the worst ive ever seen. 3 stars
11/16/01 Janus the Anus Pretty dumb movie, worth 2 stars, but gratuitous nudity deserves an extra star 3 stars
10/29/01 xcvcvc xcvxc 1 stars
10/03/01 Phoenix I thought it might be stupid, but I found The Faculty very enjoyable. 4 stars
8/28/01 Gary Hartnett's and DuVall's efforts are wasted in this messy shit. Jansenn is sexy tho. 1 stars
6/30/01 ***Super Girl*** josh was more of a star than salma hayek she had like 5 minutes air time! and she sucked!! 4 stars
6/11/01 Rebecca (hartnett) I wanna li-li-li-lick josh from his head to his toe, he is so fucking sexy! I love him!yum 4 stars
6/02/01 Rebecca Worth a look cuz Josh Hartnett is so indcredibly hot! 4 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse X-Files meets Boston Public 3 stars
5/11/01 The Moorhen Shitty start, shitty ending. The best bit is that girl wandering around naked for a while. 4 stars
5/04/01 Bada Bing Crosby Blow me Delilah cause I'm sick of your shit 5 stars
5/03/01 roby lafon like any other sci-fi movie but still good 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart Not a great movie, but entertaining if you're dieing of boredom. 3 stars
3/09/01 Jake That Josh Hartnett is butt ugly. 1 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Decent teen sci-fi/horror. At least the characters aren't troglodytes dressed in Gap. 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright How can ANYONE recommend this pile of crap? Have you all taken leave of your senses?! 1 stars
2/11/01 Brian Williamson and Rodriguez show their love of movies(good&bad)in this gem. Count the homages! 4 stars
1/07/01 Krystal Wascom JOSH HARTNETT is HOT 4 stars
10/23/00 Ground Zero 2 words: Salma Hayek 3 stars
10/01/00 Madoc69 agreed decent B-flick 3 stars
8/15/00 Terrie Smith Better than most of the teen gore films; nice to see Piper Laurie in a limited role. 4 stars
7/31/00 Elvisfan decent B-flick; could be called "10 Things I Hate About Body Snatchers" 3 stars
7/10/00 DAVID I hate teenie bopper movies but this one is an exception!! 4 stars
4/28/00 Steve Layne Underrated and with time has gotten better than most teen movies of the 90's. 5 stars
4/23/00 ryan Josh Hartnett was sooo HOT!!!! My only reason for watching 5 stars
2/20/00 arnold great cast great movie 5 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Takes itself way too seriously, and the ending is laughable. But I've seen MUCH worse. 4 stars
1/15/00 Lame-Oh Do Kevin Williamson a favor and teach him a lesson in being stupid, straight faced me 2 stars
10/31/99 SMILEY Excellent idea, awesome cast 5 stars
10/25/99 Monni excellent 5 stars
8/15/99 Kate I thought it was awesome. One of the best "teen" movies out there. 5 stars
7/14/99 Marshy Funky- drug filled, paranoia trip with a heavy dose of B movie. 4 stars
7/08/99 The Bomb 69 "He's tweakin', let him tweak" Zeke is so cool! 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Sorry folks- this movie is well worth seeing. This homage to 50's alien flicks is great. 4 stars
4/12/99 Jon Jackson A slightly underrated flick, enjoyable. 3 stars
4/04/99 Cool Thing Very very ordinary. Not scary, not believable, formula all the way. 2 stars
3/10/99 Ah Dooey Body Snatchers meet Party of Five on crack 3 stars
2/28/99 Spankey The movie had an alright plot, and Josh Hartnett was awesome, but Usher...I don't think so 4 stars
2/27/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Usher fucks it up!,Suspense,F/X,and Kevin Williamson,what more else?,how bout some reality 4 stars
2/22/99 punkpixie I thought this movie kicked ass. I saw it twice. This movie is "guaranteed to jack you up" 5 stars
2/16/99 ShadowStar The movie was like a candy bar: would've been easier to swallow if they removed the rapper 1 stars
2/15/99 Christian Lowell I didn't like that a rapper got to be in it. Rap is evil and rappers are dirty and inhuman 1 stars
2/09/99 Justin Roberts Sucks a big white ASS 1 stars
2/07/99 SwampyD I've seen better movies on MST3K 1 stars
2/05/99 Mark Reilly Movie was on the low side of ok... soundtrack was AWESOME!! 3 stars
2/04/99 luke mccoy i loved the movie it was awsome 5 stars
2/01/99 CYaniDERuSH fuck u tommy hill and all of you wanna stupid clones 1 stars
1/30/99 El Dorko Great, but where's the adrenaline rush and fun? 2 stars
1/27/99 kelly another rapper playing a role he can't do 2 stars
1/27/99 Whiplash pretty good. 3 stars
1/27/99 Brandi Gilbert not bad 3 stars
1/24/99 Cool thing Williamson has gotten so repetitive. 2 stars
1/24/99 Meepos. Didn't expect a lot, but really, this was awful all over. 2 stars
1/19/99 jvt Kevin Williamson does not have an original thought in his head 2 stars
1/16/99 Redial I love horrors but this 1 actually has a plot, which makes it better. And Marsden is HOT! 5 stars
1/12/99 Miss Scarlett So when should we expect the sequel? OH GOD!!!! 1 stars
1/11/99 Mr Showbiz derivative, scare-less paean to body-snatcher movies 2 stars
1/11/99 Frenchie the Frenchman tres sexy! 4 stars
1/11/99 Bluntman Bullshit! Williamson is a hack and a half! 2 stars
1/11/99 I.P. Freeley Dawson's Creek meets The Outer Limits. 'Nuff said. 4 stars
1/10/99 David Barnett This was the most annoyingly generic movie I've seen in a long time. 2 stars
1/09/99 Sicarius Cool teachers and teens but the monster yawn 3 stars
1/09/99 Freyja Entertaining enough for the $5 I paid. And that's good enough for me. 4 stars
1/06/99 Jo Mama This movie kicks ass! Lots of fun...I laughed my ass off. Laura Harris is a hottie! 4 stars
1/05/99 E Invasion of the Body Snatchers part 19. A slow witted and dull movie. No fun. 2 stars
1/03/99 Fartass Party of Five a la X-Files. Gotta love it. 4 stars
1/01/99 Johny I am not. Williamson doesn't employ one original piece into the script. I didn't HATE it. 2 stars
1/01/99 Chris Johny is an Idiot 4 stars
1/01/99 jvt Blatantly unoriginal, but it's better than SCREAM 2 2 stars
12/28/98 Schizofrenic Goosebumps a la The Outer Limits. Not bad for a sci-fi flick. 3 stars
12/28/98 tr This movie is one of the worst of 1998. 1 stars
12/26/98 Shadow Raider How did this crap get released on Chrismas day? 3 stars
12/25/98 kozmic If you have seen invasion of the body snatchers then this flick won't impress you. 3 stars
12/25/98 The Dude this movie is one of the best sience fiction-action movie I've ever fucking seen. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998 (R)
  DVD: 12-Apr-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Feb-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast