Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.34

Awesome: 16.89%
Worth A Look35.14%
Just Average: 22.97%
Pretty Crappy: 14.86%
Sucks: 10.14%

7 reviews, 106 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Faculty, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"Will become a classic."
4 stars

This film is a homage to some of the best science fiction films around. Two in particular are the “Puppet Masters” and “The Thing.” But I predict that “The Faculty” will soon stand by itself as a classic. It is directed by Robert Rodriguez and has the trademark of his brilliant style.

The general plot of “The Faculty” is a tribute to “The Puppet Masters.” And, there are two scenes that are an obvious homage to “The Thing.” This is the "head with the tentacles" scene and the “let’s-see-who-among-us-isn't-human-test" scene. (It was a blood test in “The Thing.”)

Most horror films do not scare me anymore. I have just seen too many and know it is all “smoke and mirrors.” However, the appearance of the monster in “The Faculty” was actually scary. When the queen was swimming across the pool really fast, it was frightening.

Rodriguez’s unique style is evident, especially in the night football game scene. The integration of the fireworks and the coach’s gestures along with the surround 5.1 sound on the DVD almost gave me chills. It was really good. Also, check out how the style of this scene reflects the beginning of the “twitty twister” scene in another Rodriguez classic, “From Dusk till Dawn.”

The ensemble of young actors worked well together, and all the characters they portrayed were believable. One of the characters kept relating the events in the school to science fiction. These were very good in-jokes.

Also look for a brief appearance of Salma Hayek as the school nurse. She is in many of Rodriguez’s films. (“Desperado” and “From Dusk till Dawn,” to name two.)

This film far outshines films like "I Know What You Did Last Summer," “Halloween H2O," the “Scream” series, etc. The plot was not as trite and predictable as most horror films. The story moved at a good pace, and I didn’t get bored with the story as I constantly wanted to know what was going to happen next.

The DVD version is disappointing as there is no director’s commentary. However, the sound and picture are excellent.

This is a science fiction film with a strong plot, believable characters, and excellent direction. It is a must see.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=725&reviewer=228
originally posted: 01/18/01 03:42:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/29/16 morris campbell teenage invasion of the body snatchers cool characters 3 stars
11/19/13 richard with the cast and director this had it should have been much better 1 stars
9/23/10 PAUL SHORTT ENERGETIC BUT OVERLONG 2 stars
1/29/10 Dane Youssef Not bad, but nothing special. Standard kiddie sci-fi fare w/some light "Scream" stuff. 2 stars
6/29/09 art THESE KID"S WE"RE ON DRUG"S! 1 stars
2/22/07 David Pollastrini good gore and hot women! 5 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 good flick, check it out if you haven't already 5 stars
4/24/06 Eden Nothing amazing, but its fun to watch. A guilty pleasure 4 stars
1/08/06 aimless only borderline moronic 3 stars
1/02/06 cody a cool flick, teenage verison of invasion of body snatchers, cool characters and story 4 stars
8/17/05 ES Good movie with some neat monster action = give it a try 4 stars
10/12/04 Laura Elijah is sooooooooooooo hott in this movie!! 5 stars
6/10/04 Bajs Smooth 5 stars
4/10/04 reptilensi My secret guilty pleasure. I love this movie! 4 stars
3/22/04 Vicious all the bad shit from high school is actually quite spot on. Fun allegory. 4 stars
2/28/04 melissa this movie kicked ass 5 stars
1/23/04 Elena Garbage. Nothing original. Laughable. But Elijah Wood is so damn adorable. 1 stars
12/26/03 Sara Highly Enjoyable 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel good! 3 stars
12/02/03 Agent Sands I hope it's a spoof, because that's basically all it amounts to. 3 stars
11/03/03 American Slasher Goddess Basically, a teen version of the Invasion of the Body Snatchers that's watchable. 3 stars
12/20/02 palaboy101 Just becoz ur paranoid doesn't mean they're not out 2 get u... 5 stars
12/05/02 GIA B O R I N G !!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
6/25/02 Film Guy Good i highly enjoyed this movie cvery suspensful but kinda predictable ending 3 stars
5/29/02 wouldn't u like to know? it's great!!! 5 stars
5/14/02 Blake This movie was asome 5 stars
4/06/02 Callie McGarry I loved your movie you are so cool and cute 5 stars
3/07/02 Mo Anand great movie...one of the better teen horror flicks...next to Scream 4 stars
2/20/02 Sylvie Alice Borden Great! But why was awesome Salma Hayek wasted in a bit part? 5 stars
2/19/02 Andrew Carden Mediorce, but Enjoyable [and Scary] B-Movie Creature Flick. 4 stars
1/03/02 KMG Can't believe Elijah Wood signed on for this shit! 1 stars
1/02/02 yaserodwan i love her 5 stars
11/30/01 Scottish Kilt A rip-off of John Carpenters Thing, But wasn't the worst ive ever seen. 3 stars
11/16/01 Janus the Anus Pretty dumb movie, worth 2 stars, but gratuitous nudity deserves an extra star 3 stars
10/29/01 xcvcvc xcvxc 1 stars
10/03/01 Phoenix I thought it might be stupid, but I found The Faculty very enjoyable. 4 stars
8/28/01 Gary Hartnett's and DuVall's efforts are wasted in this messy shit. Jansenn is sexy tho. 1 stars
6/30/01 ***Super Girl*** josh was more of a star than salma hayek she had like 5 minutes air time! and she sucked!! 4 stars
6/11/01 Rebecca (hartnett) I wanna li-li-li-lick josh from his head to his toe, he is so fucking sexy! I love him!yum 4 stars
6/02/01 Rebecca Worth a look cuz Josh Hartnett is so indcredibly hot! 4 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse X-Files meets Boston Public 3 stars
5/11/01 The Moorhen Shitty start, shitty ending. The best bit is that girl wandering around naked for a while. 4 stars
5/04/01 Bada Bing Crosby Blow me Delilah cause I'm sick of your shit 5 stars
5/03/01 roby lafon like any other sci-fi movie but still good 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart Not a great movie, but entertaining if you're dieing of boredom. 3 stars
3/09/01 Jake That Josh Hartnett is butt ugly. 1 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Decent teen sci-fi/horror. At least the characters aren't troglodytes dressed in Gap. 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright How can ANYONE recommend this pile of crap? Have you all taken leave of your senses?! 1 stars
2/11/01 Brian Williamson and Rodriguez show their love of movies(good&bad)in this gem. Count the homages! 4 stars
1/07/01 Krystal Wascom JOSH HARTNETT is HOT 4 stars
10/23/00 Ground Zero 2 words: Salma Hayek 3 stars
10/01/00 Madoc69 agreed decent B-flick 3 stars
8/15/00 Terrie Smith Better than most of the teen gore films; nice to see Piper Laurie in a limited role. 4 stars
7/31/00 Elvisfan decent B-flick; could be called "10 Things I Hate About Body Snatchers" 3 stars
7/10/00 DAVID I hate teenie bopper movies but this one is an exception!! 4 stars
4/28/00 Steve Layne Underrated and with time has gotten better than most teen movies of the 90's. 5 stars
4/23/00 ryan Josh Hartnett was sooo HOT!!!! My only reason for watching 5 stars
2/20/00 arnold great cast great movie 5 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Takes itself way too seriously, and the ending is laughable. But I've seen MUCH worse. 4 stars
1/15/00 Lame-Oh Do Kevin Williamson a favor and teach him a lesson in being stupid, straight faced me 2 stars
10/31/99 SMILEY Excellent idea, awesome cast 5 stars
10/25/99 Monni excellent 5 stars
8/15/99 Kate I thought it was awesome. One of the best "teen" movies out there. 5 stars
7/14/99 Marshy Funky- drug filled, paranoia trip with a heavy dose of B movie. 4 stars
7/08/99 The Bomb 69 "He's tweakin', let him tweak" Zeke is so cool! 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Sorry folks- this movie is well worth seeing. This homage to 50's alien flicks is great. 4 stars
4/12/99 Jon Jackson A slightly underrated flick, enjoyable. 3 stars
4/04/99 Cool Thing Very very ordinary. Not scary, not believable, formula all the way. 2 stars
3/10/99 Ah Dooey Body Snatchers meet Party of Five on crack 3 stars
2/28/99 Spankey The movie had an alright plot, and Josh Hartnett was awesome, but Usher...I don't think so 4 stars
2/27/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Usher fucks it up!,Suspense,F/X,and Kevin Williamson,what more else?,how bout some reality 4 stars
2/22/99 punkpixie I thought this movie kicked ass. I saw it twice. This movie is "guaranteed to jack you up" 5 stars
2/16/99 ShadowStar The movie was like a candy bar: would've been easier to swallow if they removed the rapper 1 stars
2/15/99 Christian Lowell I didn't like that a rapper got to be in it. Rap is evil and rappers are dirty and inhuman 1 stars
2/09/99 Justin Roberts Sucks a big white ASS 1 stars
2/07/99 SwampyD I've seen better movies on MST3K 1 stars
2/05/99 Mark Reilly Movie was on the low side of ok... soundtrack was AWESOME!! 3 stars
2/04/99 luke mccoy i loved the movie it was awsome 5 stars
2/01/99 CYaniDERuSH fuck u tommy hill and all of you wanna stupid clones 1 stars
1/30/99 El Dorko Great, but where's the adrenaline rush and fun? 2 stars
1/27/99 kelly another rapper playing a role he can't do 2 stars
1/27/99 Whiplash pretty good. 3 stars
1/27/99 Brandi Gilbert not bad 3 stars
1/24/99 Cool thing Williamson has gotten so repetitive. 2 stars
1/24/99 Meepos. Didn't expect a lot, but really, this was awful all over. 2 stars
1/19/99 jvt Kevin Williamson does not have an original thought in his head 2 stars
1/16/99 Redial I love horrors but this 1 actually has a plot, which makes it better. And Marsden is HOT! 5 stars
1/12/99 Miss Scarlett So when should we expect the sequel? OH GOD!!!! 1 stars
1/11/99 Mr Showbiz derivative, scare-less paean to body-snatcher movies 2 stars
1/11/99 Frenchie the Frenchman tres sexy! 4 stars
1/11/99 Bluntman Bullshit! Williamson is a hack and a half! 2 stars
1/11/99 I.P. Freeley Dawson's Creek meets The Outer Limits. 'Nuff said. 4 stars
1/10/99 David Barnett This was the most annoyingly generic movie I've seen in a long time. 2 stars
1/09/99 Sicarius Cool teachers and teens but the monster yawn 3 stars
1/09/99 Freyja Entertaining enough for the $5 I paid. And that's good enough for me. 4 stars
1/06/99 Jo Mama This movie kicks ass! Lots of fun...I laughed my ass off. Laura Harris is a hottie! 4 stars
1/05/99 E Invasion of the Body Snatchers part 19. A slow witted and dull movie. No fun. 2 stars
1/03/99 Fartass Party of Five a la X-Files. Gotta love it. 4 stars
1/01/99 Johny I am not. Williamson doesn't employ one original piece into the script. I didn't HATE it. 2 stars
1/01/99 Chris Johny is an Idiot 4 stars
1/01/99 jvt Blatantly unoriginal, but it's better than SCREAM 2 2 stars
12/28/98 Schizofrenic Goosebumps a la The Outer Limits. Not bad for a sci-fi flick. 3 stars
12/28/98 tr This movie is one of the worst of 1998. 1 stars
12/26/98 Shadow Raider How did this crap get released on Chrismas day? 3 stars
12/25/98 kozmic If you have seen invasion of the body snatchers then this flick won't impress you. 3 stars
12/25/98 The Dude this movie is one of the best sience fiction-action movie I've ever fucking seen. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998 (R)
  DVD: 12-Apr-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Feb-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast