Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.87

Awesome: 8.6%
Worth A Look: 5.38%
Just Average: 7.53%
Pretty Crappy: 21.51%
Sucks56.99%

6 reviews, 57 user ratings



Teaching Mrs. Tingle
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Stick to Dawson's Creek and Scream"
2 stars

Teaching Mrs. Tingle (* ½) – Tonight’s episode features music by… That phrase should be familiar to anyone who watches, with any frequency, the show Dawson’s Creek. Everyone knows that show was the freshman television outing of a hot young screenwriter named Kevin Williamson, whose Scream pictures put a fresh spin on the horror genre. Dawson’s Creek was and still is a very well written teen soap opera in the days when shows like 90210 and Boy Meets World populate the airwaves.

Now, Williamson is a director. Sort of. His new film Teaching Mrs. Tingle is a mess. A big mess, which is more surprisingly because he also wrote it. At the very least, the film should have had an interesting screenplay, but it doesn’t. It doesn’t have a single ounce of the snappy dialogue I’ve come to expect from a project by Williamson. Even his rewrite on The Faculty had the clever observations of Williamson characters. The only thing Williamson-esque that transferred to his directorial debut was Dawson’s Creek cutie Katie Holmes and that show’s soundtrack, which plays some dewy-eyed alternative medley anytime the characters have deep thoughts. Having these kind of musical interludes, however, don’t work quite as well in the Hitchcockian manner Williamson obviously intended for this film. Hitchcock’s films, and almost any good thriller, depends on characters we care about and good villains for us to root against. As evil as Mrs. Tingle may seem to her students, she’s not quite someone we’re scared of. I personally didn’t like her, but I didn’t root against her either because the three characters who end up tying her to her bed are such twits. Katie Holmes, who I thought was a good actress from her portrayal on Dawson’s Creek, essentially is playing her character of Joey in every subsequent role she chooses, especially here. She’s not nearly as interesting as Reese Witherspoon in the far superior Election. Here the roles are essentially reversed with Katie playing the good overachiever and Mrs. Tingle as the bitch to root against. But I didn’t care what happened to either character the way I did in Election and the screenplay gives me nothing in between the supposed rooting. For a dark comedy-thriller – there isn’t much to laugh at (save for an amusing moment with Jeffrey Tambor) and there isn’t much suspense. To set up what’s supposed to be a claustrophobic atmosphere, and then allow the characters to leave, go to school, go to home, basically come and go as they please, eliminates any possible suspense. Our heroes are so dim-witted that I don’t think Mrs. Tingle really had any cause to be scared, and apparently she doesn’t. That’s a good villain trait but were not interested because we know nothing bad is going to happen. There is no threat. If there’s a sign that movies are getting dumber, it has to be the audience I saw this film with Friday night, who screamed every time Mrs. Tingle had a menacing look on her face. These are the same ones who hate The Blair Witch Project. It was also disconcerting to me that the under 20 crowd seemed to be grossed out by the idea of Mrs. Tingle and sex like she was the landlady in Kingpin. Mrs. Tingle is played by the always great Helen Mirren, who is far from a bad looking older woman. All the guys were obviously waiting for the hyped up moment when Katie Holmes rips her shirt off for one of the most ridiculously placed love scenes I’ve ever seen.

On the flip side, Ms. Holmes ripping her shirt off was pretty much the only thing of interest left in the movie. It’s a shame, Williamson passed on Scream 3 to another writer. Clearly he needs the practice.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=732&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 18:24:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/28/11 art only saving grace Marisa Coughlin as a Hammy Actress!,that was Super! 3 stars
9/29/10 art i take back what i said 2 years ago,THIS MOVIE STINK"S!!!! 1 stars
4/09/09 Dane Youssef Mirren practically has to carry this whole thing. Williamson shortchanges everything else. 3 stars
2/03/08 art a fantastic thriller it'll have you on the edge of your seat katie holmes is a HAM only dra 4 stars
10/05/06 Charles Tatum Not THAT bad, Mirren shows the young cast how it is DONE 4 stars
10/02/06 Beau A weird portrayal of student teacher relationships, great film, good acting by katie holme 3 stars
5/05/06 Ashley Hinz Strangely interesting. 4 stars
1/08/06 aimless Good Performances by Coughlin and Mirren are wasted on this crap 2 stars
8/22/05 Amanda I loved the movie, Helen Mirren is amazing and beautiful 5 stars
7/06/04 American Slasher Goddess Bland and tedious. 1 stars
9/12/03 poop butts The movie reminded me of my name 1 stars
8/17/03 walter feegis sucks, sucks, sucked, and by the way it stunk 1 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Limited premise fleshed out just enough. Coughlin is sexy and sensational! 3 stars
3/12/02 Melinda St. George A tingling guilty pleasure especially if you've ever had a similar teacher from hell! 5 stars
10/23/01 Sthenno So hideously bad,I love it! Katie Holmes makes me wanna rip my face off! SUXS! 1 stars
8/13/01 Jake Who gave this director the right to the poison the earth???!!!! 1 stars
8/06/01 ted v. i wasn't expecting much from this movie, but it made me think again 4 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse Williamson, let me tell you something. Your movies SUCK. And this SUCKED even worse. 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good movie! 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Helen Mirren deserves better than this. Molly Ringwald is a moron 1 stars
2/08/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A plague on everyone who had anything to do with this movie. 1 stars
2/04/01 Kate This film died in the credits and kept rotting, only watching John P. White kept me awake! 2 stars
10/31/00 Ground Zero Shame on you, Kevin! 1 stars
10/03/00 sweet-xtacy i thought it was a good movie, especially cuz we think teachers are like that 5 stars
9/22/00 Jacques Strap Can I give it 0 stars? It was that awful! 1 stars
9/02/00 Mr. Montell Not Kevin's best endeavor, but still sorta fun, and Barry Watson is surprisingly likable 5 stars
6/05/00 Bender No surprizes, but still a decent time-killer 3 stars
5/02/00 Amy It was fabulous! 1 stars
4/28/00 Pansy Goddam stupid. How humiliating. 1 stars
4/12/00 Rita Why, Molly? Why?!! 1 stars
3/15/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs Average. Katie Holmes... not that good. Barry Watson total crap. 1 stars
3/08/00 Mr. Kramitall Note to Williamson: Get another carrer, you backstabbing yuppie! 1 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski *YAAAAAAAAWN!!!* What? Sorry...I must've dozed off... 1 stars
1/01/00 sally crap 1 stars
11/27/99 Joel Harwood worth a few stars 5 stars
11/22/99 Ralf Behet Despite the likeable cast a lame flick. Williamson's script is just lousy! 2 stars
11/02/99 Alyce Callaghan Excellent 5 stars
10/26/99 Feral Cliched and tediously unbelievable. A great cast is horribly wasted in this tepid feature ! 2 stars
10/23/99 Belinda Helen Mirren is the star 3 stars
10/11/99 Buttman Right on with the review, Movie Freek! Suck on this, Williamson! 1 stars
10/09/99 Viral Messiah 90 minutes of boring hell 1 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Screw Kevin Williamson and his momma 1 stars
9/29/99 Orgazmo Do Kevin Williamson a favor and teach him a lesson in being funny, straight faced me 1 stars
9/19/99 Admiral Crunch Haven't Katie Holmes been in a good movie? I agree 100% with Doc JTR. This sucks! 1 stars
9/15/99 Ratso All I know is that where ever Katie Holmes goes, bad 90's rock follows. 1 stars
9/10/99 Timbo I pray you're all good waitresses 2 stars
9/06/99 John H Bad . . . just really bad 1 stars
9/05/99 Dr. Worm Good acting (Mirren, Holmes, Coughlan, Watson) & all-around fun (despite inconclusive end) 5 stars
9/04/99 agustin i wanted tingle to win 2 stars
9/01/99 Malbert Better than I expected-The actress who played Holmes's friend was great 3 stars
9/01/99 David It Sucked Ass.... 1 stars
8/26/99 Cory Clawson Only thing good in the movie was Katie Holmes 2 stars
8/23/99 BOB I've seen better movies out of my ass 1 stars
8/20/99 Ah Dooey OKAY, what's with those Dawson's Creek casts?! 1 stars
8/11/99 Stevie Ray This movie looks like shit, and has Katie Holmes been in a good movie yet? No! Why bother? 1 stars
1/24/99 Dark Horizons uninteresting premise+dull and shallow characters+bad ending 2 stars
1/06/99 The Dude very wierd movie-can't wait 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Aug-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Oct-1999 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast