Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.62

Awesome49.57%
Worth A Look: 12.39%
Just Average: 6.84%
Pretty Crappy: 12.39%
Sucks: 18.8%

11 reviews, 168 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Thin Red Line, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"War Epic Is Choppy and Arrogant"
2 stars

The Thin Red Line (**) - The Thin Red Line is the first film to take the bold approach to say not that war is hell but that it can be boring as hell. Through three hours of this film, I spent most of the time coming up with the clever quips I’m about to write in this review. Believe me, I had a lot of time in between the staring that most of the actors do.

To review this film is to compare - not to war films in general - but to the other, better, greater, World War II film of 1998 - Saving Private Ryan. Actually there really is no comparison other than subject matter because Saving Private Ryan is a masterpiece and The Thin Red Line is the result of a director in love with the camera. That is one of the few positive things I can say about this film. It is beautiful to look at. Nearly every shot in the film could be sold as an individual painting, but that’s also where the problems begin. Terrence Malick is a painter/photographer. Steven Spielberg is a storyteller and through its story, no matter what problems some people may have with it, is where the true emotion lies with Private Ryan. Coppola once said that Apocalypse Now wasn’t about Vietnam - “It is Vietnam”. Well, Private Ryan is World War II. The Thin Red Line is like a Picasso painting - perhaps a great work of art, but you’re still not sure what you’re looking at or what to really think about it. There are, seriously, passages of film here that have you begging for dialogue like Lawrence in the desert looking for a drink of water. I’ve heard more spoken words in Chaplin films. And none of the actors have a chance to fully develop a real character. Nick Nolte is given the most screen time amongst all the big names and does a good job creating sort of a cross breed between Patton and Tom Berenger in Platoon. Sean Penn also does good work and does the best staring jobs of anyone in the cast. This new guy who, I’m almost guessing is supposed to be our main character guide through the film, Jim Caviezel or whatever, I didn’t like at all. He sleepwalks through the film with this little smirk on his face, even in the most horrendous situations, that I was hoping Kevin Dillon would step in from Platoon and bust his head open with the butt of his rifle. I also got tired of the endless flashbacks, which basically show us the same thing every time and takes us right of the war. If I had to see one more flashback of Ben Chaplin’s wife in bed, making love, in a tub, or on a swing, I was going to shoot him myself just to end the trip down memory lane. The narration is a huge problem in this film too, as there are about 18 different narrators, and they all sound the same, and you never know who is narrating at what point in the movie. And they’re all such poetic narrators too. I was hoping to at least give some good press about the battle sequences, but they lack power as well. Most scenes contain very little blood and look more like the edited version of Edward Zwick’s Glory for high schools. (And here’s an analogy for the SAT - “R”-rated “Glory : PG-rated “Gettysburg” as “Saving Private Ryan” : “The Thin Red Line) It takes about 40 minutes before the first shots are fired, and the first battle is impressive to an extent, but the battles throughout the film are so choppy and, surprisingly unfrightening as they progress, that it almost makes the battles fun, a feat an “anti-war film” should never aspire to. Saving Private Ryan put us into the war and kept us there. It honored the soldiers who fought there through eight specific characters and hell-like opening and closing battles. The Thin Red Line keeps us at such a distance after the first hour, that it seems like the story is being told through the eyes of some WWII historian buff who never actually fought the war and therefore would have no idea what it was like. The original cut of this film was six hours long. I’m always interested in seeing what got cut out of a film. In this case it was probably the story. But it probably also involved a lot of footage fleshing out the characters we’re supposed to follow and care about. I know that big stars like John Travolta and George Clooney (who’s screen time is about three minutes and 90 seconds respectively) volunteered to work for the great and mythical Terrence Malick for nothing, but is it really necessary to make their roles look like one of the star cameos from Robert Altman’s The Player? I didn’t bring a watch so I kept waiting for Clooney to make his appearance (at about the 2 hr. 35 min. mark) because I knew then that the movie was almost over. The big-name actors also seem to pop in and out of the story at will. It’s like their playing hide and seek and every time someone like Penn or John Cusack would reemerge I half expected them to say “Peek-a-Boo”. We never get into the true strategy of warfare like in Private Ryan or the bloody aftermath of a full-blown battle. Best War Movie Ever? I don’t think so. Lets look at the list of better war films on several levels (Saving Private Ryan, Apocalypse Now, Glory, Platoon, Born on the Fourth of July, Gettysburg, The Deer Hunter, Courage Under Fire, All Quiet on the Western Front, Full Metal Jacket, Patton, Hamburger Hill, even M*A*S*H*, the film, and the fifteen minutes we spent with Forrest Gump in Vietnam are more powerful than Malick’s version of hell).

This is more like Fear and Loathing in World War II. Veterans who had to call that special number after seeing Private Ryan should be given a Purple Heart after surviving this movie. If they make it. When Saving Private Ryan was over, people sat in their seats until the credits ended, a feat I hadn’t seen since Schindler’s List. When The Thin Red Line was over, the only people who weren’t moving were the ones who hadn’t been waken up yet.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=734&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 12:53:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good but not 4 everyone 4 stars
6/09/15 stanley welles a dazzling and beautiful war movie 5 stars
3/13/14 PAUL SHORTT FASCINATING, WELL MADE, MEDITATIVE ANTI-WAR DRAMA 4 stars
2/28/14 Tardkiller TM owes me 3 hours and 8 bucks. More narrative to be found in most grade school dioramas. 1 stars
11/13/13 mr.mike Liked it more the second time. 4 stars
8/24/13 Fire With Fire Pretentious,trippy,grossly inaccurate insult to those who fought and died at Guadalcanal 1 stars
4/10/11 Bronson Fastfowarding the home scenes worked for me 5 stars
11/08/10 Bob Hey Paulapalooza, Joe Ticket is right. Opinions can't be wrong. 3 stars
12/24/09 Jeff Wilder Less a war film than an existentialist parable. 4 stars
11/30/09 Silkworm Big actors names - Very Slow Dull Film 2 stars
5/29/07 outdoorbob another fantasy of war as any combat vet will tell you, see SPR instead. 2 stars
12/14/06 MP Bartley Lush and absorbing, but everything after the taking of the hill feels redundant.It's no SPR 4 stars
8/12/06 Jimbob Simply Stunning, best movie Ever 5 stars
8/09/06 Greg Fantastic,my favourite film ever,powerful and moving 5 stars
12/27/05 whitfield comparing TTRL to cookiecuttercrap like Saving Ryan's Privates insultsanyone with filmsense 5 stars
10/27/05 noops a boring war film 2 stars
10/25/05 roy holt best war film ever made 5 stars
8/30/05 ES Swims in a sea of pretentiousness, trying to relate WWII to vietnam all at a snail's pace 1 stars
7/02/05 sweetgrrl1972 Really. Really. Boring. 1 stars
4/12/05 darren deeply emotional. great score. ridiculous "cameos" 4 stars
3/26/05 indrid cold Blown away by Saving Private Ryan, but more reflective and poetic. 4 stars
3/08/05 Uncle Phucker Best Word War II film ever. Cannot wait for The New World. 5 stars
11/11/04 jellica it was very sad but i did not cry 5 stars
9/12/04 sam bonner 2 good scenes, otherwise one of the worst war movies ever 1 stars
9/04/04 jeff i found it slow and boring, "saving private ryan" wanna be. sucked 2 stars
7/09/04 Daveman Beautiful but too long and weak on plot and character development. 4 stars
7/01/04 Mike Lacking a good plot but best. cinemetography. ever. 5 stars
5/04/04 Todd Restler The most visually impressive movie I've ever seen 5 stars
3/11/04 lili its cool 5 stars
2/20/04 Denise Duspiva No emotion 1 stars
1/26/04 Chloe Brody Adrien...Sean, what more could you ask for?! 5 stars
12/26/03 J One the best war dramas ever since I seen Platoon! **** out of 4 5 stars
11/24/03 homer J. Simpson an artistic master piece 5 stars
10/16/03 Jon read the book 5 stars
9/27/03 MGuettler exceptional film and the book is even better 5 stars
6/18/03 magus this film changed my life 5 stars
4/25/03 z the best i have seen in years 5 stars
2/27/03 jim nice review, i give the reviewer a 5 too. 5 stars
1/25/03 Jack Sommersby Superior to the cliche-filled "Saving Private Ryan". 4 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones zzzz yet another one-sided War Movie 2 stars
1/06/03 Vince it's ok. Nick Nolte is shit in my opinion though. 3 stars
11/08/02 Charles Tatum Better than "Saving Ryan's Privates" 5 stars
5/23/02 Piz trades intellect and feelings for pure blood and guts, well put together 4 stars
5/17/02 viking a war film to please pseudo intellectuals and drive every else nuts !!! 3 stars
4/18/02 natasha the acting is incomparable, the artistry is beyond mere words 5 stars
4/17/02 Sam Blows old war cliches out of the water bringing a fresh approach. 5 stars
4/08/02 CAT Saving Private Ryan is better, this movie had bad pacing and lacked in areas 3 stars
2/27/02 Shrike You need a brain to appreciate the philosophy, and to think the original cut was 5 hours 5 stars
1/15/02 Murray Castles God what a mess. Read the book and watch SAVING PRIVATE RYAN. 2 stars
1/07/02 Andrew Carden Beautifully Done With Realistic War Scenes. 5 stars
10/01/01 Zatoichi Jones Thinking man's Saving Private Ryan 5 stars
9/09/01 Ricky War! Huh! What is it good for? 5 stars
7/20/01 Matthew Bartley Hmm, grass...more grass...hey, yet more grass! 3 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool SO LONG AND SOOOOOOO BORING 1 stars
5/21/01 Kendra Moore The movie was just a little confusing, but I still liked it because Jim Caviezel is in it. 4 stars
5/04/01 ChiefAlDog Beautiful psychological examination. Shows how doubt/fear arose even in our patriotic war. 5 stars
3/26/01 Ichabod Crane TEEN MOVIE CRITIC II IS A STUPID FUCKING COCKSUCKER. A RIP OFF?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/19/01 Sudeep One helluva movie...beats saving private ryan hands down ,any day of the year. 5 stars
3/07/01 Mike Much better than Saving pr, this is art, not hollywood 5 stars
2/24/01 Steve in Prague RIP OFF OF PRIVATE RYAN?!?!??! TEEN MOVIE CRITIC II IS A FUCKING IDIOT!! STUPID BITCH 5 stars
2/13/01 swapneel the best philosophical war movie since platoon 5 stars
11/21/00 Pionek Wieczysty More slick & "Hollywood" (i.e., Stedicam shots) than SPRyan...but good. 5 stars
11/02/00 Cristopher Revilla Ryan is war movie, thin red line is humanitarian move, you fucking assholes!!!! 5 stars
10/26/00 Colonel Carter not good 1 stars
10/21/00 Gremlin Action scenes are cool. The movie has too many slow gay parts though. 4 stars
10/20/00 Rick Dyspeptic Ted Danson in'.Ryan'? Urgh.Give me Woody Harrelson chirping"I blew my butt off!" 5 stars
8/09/00 Terrie Smith Fairly interesting film; too many characters involved but the battles scenes were well done 4 stars
8/04/00 Viking Makes "A Zed and two Noughts" look as fast paced as "Speed" 3 stars
6/27/00 Purple Monster At least "Private Ryan" seemed authentic !!!! 3 stars
6/20/00 Tojo I laughed, I cried, I wish I died... 1 stars
6/18/00 Greyjack Possibly my favorite film ever. As with most great art, you'll either love or hate it. 5 stars
6/12/00 DAVID Movie had a few nail biting moments but drags at times with stuff we dont wanna see!!!!!!! 3 stars
5/17/00 Zatoichi Jones The thinking man's Private Ryan 4 stars
5/08/00 kristm@msn.com If you think it sucks, you're missing the point 5 stars
5/04/00 P.Rodriguez I was doing my Info Tech project formulas in my head while watching this Shit. 1 stars
3/31/00 Arnaldo Cruz powerful and at the same time,beautiful scrip,super than private Ryan 5 stars
2/14/00 Hunley Needed a really good editor to cut another hour out of it to be really good. 3 stars
2/03/00 Matthew Bartley Just fucking end!!! Said absolutely nothing about war 2 stars
1/26/00 PervertedPixie Poetic and visually sublime. Not as focused as Private Ryan but alot more heart felt. 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Directorial masterpiece and beautiful photography. The script could be better. 4 stars
1/06/00 Murray Castles The most disappointing film I have ever seen. Malick is no Spielberg. 1 stars
1/06/00 JussMatt I felt like a POW being tortured watching this. Too long, Too Shitty, Somebody Shoot Me!!! 1 stars
11/18/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Not a Spielberg fan, but Saving Pri. Ryan was better. Still good though. 4 stars
11/09/99 C.A.T.M. Did I mention this film is Fucking Awesome? 5 stars
10/27/99 Pat Lawlor Makes Saving Private Ryan looks like Disney 5 stars
10/27/99 Ralf Behet Brilliantly filmed, but unfocused and pretentious. Still worthwhile 4 stars
10/26/99 Keiros Hamburger Hill with a lot of Calvin Klein adds 2 stars
9/05/99 Weird Andy Simultaneously meditative and terrifying. 5 stars
8/18/99 KK Talk about a black hole. What an insult to veterans of the Pacific Theatre. 1 stars
7/31/99 Obi Wan I've Been Fucking Robbed!!!! Movied sucked Roseanne's Ass!!! 1 stars
7/30/99 Matthew Bartley Wow grass!!Lots of it!!...and thats it really 2 stars
7/29/99 4ever Surpassed SPR in its depth, cinematography, music, and thought 5 stars
7/23/99 Bozo The longest; the most boring; God it was agony 1 stars
7/23/99 Hagbard Celine Guess I just didn't get the Zen voice-overs. Got tired of looking at shots of tall grass. 3 stars
7/20/99 Tristynn umm.. I guess I missed something.Boring...SPR kicked this movies ASS!!! and some... 2 stars
7/06/99 Angie very strange movie....not what i thought it would be...the scenes were beautiful. 3 stars
7/03/99 J-Dogg OVERLONG and boring, but it's poetry is what grasped me. 3 stars
6/18/99 Jude Best movie of the year, better than Saving Private Ryan. The OST is moving and make me cry 5 stars
4/23/99 gibb slick movie 5 stars
4/19/99 bb It was okay if you just want to kill time 3 stars
4/09/99 Keith Calder Beautifully shot. Everything else sucked. Pretentious without any real depth. 1 stars
4/03/99 Albert Snoooooooze. Go back in hiding, Malick. We'll just watch Badlands. 1 stars
4/02/99 Lily Wow, I really wish my grandfather was alive. questions... 5 stars
3/22/99 Matthew Bartley Dull,overlong and pretentious 2 stars
3/21/99 Ah Dooey Hey Katie, ypu're right. 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie Completely overrated! 1 stars
3/08/99 Karen This movie spent the whole time patting itself on the back. SUCKS!!!! 1 stars
3/08/99 Cathy & Kevin Way too long. No Plot. Boring. Got caught up on our sleep. 1 stars
3/07/99 Film Review Definately better than SPR, and that's difficult. Sound and music is pinnacle. 5 stars
3/04/99 Vick Di Brecci Lacks the momentum and urgency of SPR but better in other ways (acting, dialogue,...) 4 stars
3/03/99 Steve Kelley This movie somehow became pseudo-intellectual reviewer's chance to show off. 2 stars
3/03/99 Andrew Feland One reviewer said it best: Malick never met a leaf he didn't like. 2 stars
3/02/99 Babu I have enjoyed it up to the brim due to the Dolby Digital effects. First attack too long. 5 stars
3/01/99 BillyZ233 Terrific acting and an incredible feel to it . I loved this thing and I will see it again. 5 stars
3/01/99 EmmetOtter Very long and boring. 2 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Better than Days Of Heaven. The inclusion of overt homosexual tension made this a pisser. 2 stars
2/23/99 little jerry Criticised for being obscure when what struck me was its simple clarity.Welcome back Terry. 5 stars
2/20/99 Shanandler Bong Good sound, okay acting, NO PLOT TOO FUCKIN' LONG!!!! 3 stars
2/18/99 The Graduate Very strong and beautiful, and the lack of traditional plot or main character worked well. 4 stars
2/17/99 Piz Very good movie, terrible ending, tried to be all things to all people 4 stars
2/03/99 Joel Rick Most of the film was BORING !! 2 stars
2/03/99 grunter Makes "Saving Private Ryan" stick out like the cartoon that it really was 5 stars
1/30/99 Vick Di Brecci Good, not great. I preferred Saving Private Ryan 4 stars
1/27/99 MickCollins It's been 20 years,someone remind Terry how to edit. Plus,could we see more naked natives? 1 stars
1/27/99 Melody 1 of the better movies I saw last year 5 stars
1/25/99 Danielle Boucher To long, to moralistic 1 stars
1/23/99 Cory Clawson Very intense and at times, very symbolic 5 stars
1/22/99 Mr. Film Clearly people who like this movie are much smarter than the rest of us schmucks. 1 stars
1/22/99 Tristan The best war movie I have seen since Full Metal Jacket. 5 stars
1/21/99 Brunetta Amazing! Brilliantly plotted with one of the most original arguments ever! 5 stars
1/21/99 toby Works on many levels that few seem to be grasping. Great cinematography, Nolte's awesome. 5 stars
1/20/99 Angus This movie is about 2hrs&45min too long. artsy crap pretending to be a war movie.Boring 1 stars
1/20/99 Henry Stewart Incredible, more about fear than it is about war. Definitely not for all tastes, though. 5 stars
1/20/99 Robin Bellamy Good locations, Good SFX, Bad use of top notch actors as extra, No story, Poor editing!!!!! 1 stars
1/20/99 CLC Jason S-you are so right. what a waste of money. classic crappy movie making 1 stars
1/19/99 loborojo@hotmail.com if u dont mind having your butt hurt then watch dis thing. its gud! 5 stars
1/18/99 donkey_dew Beside Saving Private Ryan and Schindler's List being the greatest movies ever made. 5 stars
1/18/99 You know who Come on, Jules. If you can't see this is PERFECTION, you should stop reviewing. 5 stars
1/17/99 Brendan Great movie you can't say anything bad about it! 5 stars
1/17/99 Amazed This film is not 180+ minutes. Get the facts before you review a film. 5 stars
1/16/99 Jeff good--but the cameos are distracting--better if made with a no-name cast 4 stars
1/16/99 crawdad The cinematography makes me want to see it again. Stunning. 5 stars
1/16/99 Jon Great Movie. Better Book. 5 stars
1/16/99 buddy Great film, I cared about these people unlike SPR where I couldn't remember their names. 5 stars
1/16/99 Jason Stein Biggest Dissapointment of the year!!!! 1 stars
1/16/99 Glitter I thought it was beautiful to look at, but there was no character depth or plot. 3 stars
1/16/99 mark Its Saving Private Ryan meets every Calvin Klein commercial. 1 stars
1/14/99 Joe Ferrara Well, not to wax too lyrical, but a lyrical epic. Almost every frame is a thing of beauty. 5 stars
1/12/99 jvt If you refuse to think don't see this movie. You'll probably walk out with the other morons 5 stars
1/12/99 Devon Good film. A bit long, but worth it. Jim Caviezel was awesome as Pvt. Witt 5 stars
1/12/99 Steve Kelley, SJKelley5@aol.com There's a point in a 3-hour poem when you want to strangle the poet. 1 stars
1/11/99 LT Terrence Mallick needs a large dose of get-over-yourself 1 stars
1/11/99 Mr Showbiz Jim Caviezel turns in a breakout performance, and Sean Penn and Nick Nolte also shine. 5 stars
1/11/99 Charles von Waldenberg III It was too long, incoherant, pointless and pretentious. Anyone get the point? 2 stars
1/09/99 Johny Miles above of Private Ryan, a great film 5 stars
1/08/99 crc this movie was a joke. i laughed at john travolta, and clooney. and nolte-pleeease. boring 1 stars
1/06/99 Vincent U know nothing about Terry Mallick Tiffany- get a clue 5 stars
1/05/99 Tiffany It REALLY wanted to be an art film along the lines of Apocalypse Now. It fell MILES short! 1 stars
1/05/99 Vincent 1- the film is under 3 hours 2- it's a NEW adaptation of the book NOT a remake of the film 5 stars
1/03/99 Landru Overrated. Full Metal Jacket was a better depiction of combat. 3 stars
1/02/99 Critic Deluxe Typical stereotypes from Hollywood writers. Technical inconsistencies detract. Good action 4 stars
12/29/98 sin chul lee korea 5 stars
12/25/98 The Dude COULD THIS MOVIE BE ANY FUCKING BETTEER------I DON'T THINK SO 5 stars
12/25/98 Cage Not as good as Private Ryan, but extremely well done.. Moving. 5 stars
12/24/98 Binky One word sums it up. Wow. 5 stars
12/06/98 Dick Richie Long, but what a great film. Lots of subplots, all riveting. 5 stars
11/21/98 RaidersFan Ben Chaplin makes a great American.This is an incredible movie!!! 5 stars
11/20/98 Richard Hill Astonishing. Don't expect "S.P. Ryan". More subdued, hypnotic. Harrelson, Penn great. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998 (R)
  DVD: 28-Sep-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Feb-1999 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast