Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome: 21.69%
Worth A Look35.45%
Just Average: 17.46%
Pretty Crappy: 7.41%
Sucks: 17.99%

9 reviews, 135 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Deep Blue Sea
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Better Than Your Average Shark Movie"
4 stars

Deep Blue Sea (***) – The summer of giant creatures continue and continues well. Giant creature movies may not rank as great cinema verite or even just great cinema, but when done right can be a great deal of fun. Renny Harlin’s new shark thriller does just that.

There are only so many things a director can do with such a film. It’s hard to make it fresh after countless outings like the Alien films, Deep Rising, Leviathan, DeepStar Six, Anaconda, yadda, yadda, yadda. Basically it’s up to the director to create good action sequences (originality not always required as long as it’s done well), deliver the scares and shocks (hopefully surprising the hell out of us), and finally – to shuffle the lineup of deaths. In these films, you could almost accurately predict scoreboard-style, who is going to die first, second, etc… Deep Blue Sea shuffles up the carnage very nicely, keeping us off guard, particularly in one sequence that is so well-timed and executed, that I was shocked, then I laughed hard, then I applauded loudly as I was so proud that Harlin actually pulled it off. Harlin has gotten a bad reputation in film due to the underappreciated bomb The Long Kiss Goodnight and the all-around disaster of Cutthroat Island. But let’s not forget that he did direct Die Hard 2, still one of the best of the genre. Still this isn’t Oscar-worthy material. The screenplay (although thankfully bereft of lame Dean Devlin-esque jokes) will have you asking logistic questions like – “How can a 45-foot shark bust through a steel door but can’t get through an oven?” The special effects aren’t always that spectacular, in fact most of the time the attacks, while spectacular on the quality kill side, look rather fake. The close-ups are rather striking but the rest looks painfully like weak CGI. But I didn’t care, because unlike Jan De Bont’s version of The Haunting, Harlin does fill his film with a sense of underlying dread. The characters may not be as well drawn as Lake Placid, but they seem like nice enough folk. Samuel L. Jackson is always watchable. Thomas Jane is well cast as the shark wrangler and even LL Cool J does a nice job as the religious cook. Still - It’s amazing to me though that in this age of pop-culture self-referenced horror movies that a shark movie would fail to make even one mention of the Citizen Kane of shark movies, let alone one of the greatest films of all time, and that’s Jaws. Were the filmmakers being arrogant thinking they were actually making what well-known critic (wink wink) Jules Peimer of WKDM Radio calls “bigger, better, and more frightening than Jaws?” (Hopefully the ad-meisters left off a numeral after the word Jaws) or did they just want to steer clear of the memory of that masterpiece? My guess is the latter even though it’s impossible to watch a shark movie without cross-referencing the Spielberg film. Ebert is finally back up to snuff by giving this film three stars – the rating rightfully deserved by Lake Placid.

Deep Blue Sea is nothing more than a summer popcorn movie, complete with several great quality kills and even some gratuitous bra-and-panties action (for the guys – of course). It may not be great cinema, but it sure is fun.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=737&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 22:47:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell fun but silly 3 stars
8/13/16 David Hollingsworth It is definitely no 2 stars
2/07/13 Kcaj thrilling fun! 4 stars
7/09/11 Jennifer Barr Excellent movie...i wish they would make a part 2 ! 5 stars
10/14/09 PAUL SHORTT UNORIGINAL, UNINTELLIGENT AND LACKING IN SURPRISE 2 stars
4/28/07 Jackospacko 5.5 out of 10 on IMDB? What the Fuck? It should be 7.1 out of 10 totally 4 stars
4/22/07 David Risser Almost as good as Jaws! 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega The underwater killers are a fast-moving 'Jaws'. 3 stars
2/12/07 Anthony Feor A great movie (4.5/5) 4 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog Funny as shit when Jackson's speech gets cut 1 stars
1/12/07 del A pos review for this and DREAMCATCHER, but a neg for DARK CITY? Rob, get a clue... 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Strictly Jaws wannabe. 2 words&2 words only,POPCORN FLICK!!!! 3 stars
4/21/06 Jack Not as exciting as Jaws but not far of it 4 stars
1/08/06 Gerry Dunne What brainless morons would think we would enjoy this crap? 1 stars
11/24/05 cr fun movie and got few characters l care about ,but it like pump up verison of jaws 3 3 stars
8/12/05 ES Don't think of it as a JAWS rip-off (come on its been 30 years) and its not too bad 4 stars
6/21/05 shinu very good 5 stars
6/13/05 E-FUNK It's hard to find words that describe just how fucking terrible this movie is. Harlin blows 1 stars
5/27/05 tony Great Shark Movie since Jaws! Exellent plot. A KEEPER! great characters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/12/05 Alice Colwell yawn 2 stars
12/12/04 Nick Complete hopeless drivel. Great to watch. Plenty of digital splatter. 1 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams they ate me! a fucking shark ate me! 3 stars
9/03/04 Aaron Smith My favorite shark movie. 5 stars
1/28/04 Vicious When i saw it, it was actually not annoying. I just played dumb while i watched it. 2 stars
12/07/03 aman deep sea 3 stars
11/29/03 john far fetched nonsense 1 stars
8/06/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
7/12/03 3man One of the few movies to actually make me jump. SLJ's scene was unexpected. 3 stars
4/24/03 Magical Dragon top flick love it 5 stars
4/02/03 jojo i love filim 5 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby It's pretty passable -- if not really recommendable. 3 stars
2/10/03 Nevz Shallow, too shallow 3 stars
2/04/03 Dragica It's the BEST movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/04/03 Isaac Garza It's baad. 5 stars
1/12/03 Gracy Lionheart Just sit back, relax, and have a blast. 4 stars
9/16/02 Zefram Mann Could've been good if not for some REALLY shitty CGI shots. 3 stars
7/18/02 patricia i loved the way the characters were offed! groovy fun! 4 stars
6/20/02 Dana Sherkawi it's too nice 5 stars
6/12/02 Heather Purplethorne Stellan Skarsgård is best actor in it, so why is he one killed by sharks early on? 1 stars
5/18/02 davey mac holy crap this is so bad it made Godzilla look good. 1 stars
5/14/02 Blake The sharks look very alive in this film. 5 stars
4/23/02 Danielle Ophelia I like my man vs. science movies grittier than this, but its balls were in the right place. 3 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx -The Raven-Haired Temptress Forgive me for becoming a ditzy schoolgirl, but Thomas Jane is rather lovely. Movies good 2 4 stars
3/04/02 Scottish Kilt Jaws is miles better, this is the poor man's Jaws. 2 stars
1/21/02 Some Guy "WORST MOVIE EVER". THERE WAS NO PLOT. ALL IT WAS WAS A "SHARK EATS EVERYONE". TOTAL CRAP! 1 stars
1/06/02 FGJ180 Unspeakable. One of the worst movies of the '90s. 1 stars
12/05/01 travis lame...stupid...boring...be prepared to experience stupidity like never before.jed is dumb 1 stars
10/22/01 Tam Mindless, soulless and BORING! My goldfish can act more convincingly than Saffron Burrows! 1 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy fantastic animatronics, shitty CGI. Bad to average acting. ok script, direction,good action 3 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Better than I thought It would be. You can't say that it's predictable. 4 stars
8/10/01 Jay Hiatt quite possibly the worst movie i've seen in a LONG time...no character development, no plot 1 stars
8/09/01 keith langman ........better than jaws...jed what the hell is your problem 3 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk A Renny Harlin shark movie...I would rather be deep-throated by a shark than watch this. 1 stars
6/22/01 Dave Better than Jaws??!! You gotta be kiddin' me Jed! (Clampett) 2 stars
6/19/01 Bada Bing Crosby Enjoyed it cuz I watched it w/my three nephews, all under 11-they loved it! 4 stars
4/11/01 Jesse L Good escape movie... 4 stars
2/26/01 Monday Morning Not real heavy, but real fun & good adrenaline rush. 3 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Renny Harlin should be taken out and shot. Another director, we might have had something. 3 stars
1/14/01 Avenger Girl Another special effects hollywood effort, but watchable. 4 stars
11/02/00 Jed Its slightly better than Jaws. Seriously it is. 4 stars
9/13/00 bison it's a piece. 1 stars
8/31/00 Eat Me! Who are these fucking retards who actually admit to liking this insipid crap? 1 stars
8/29/00 sink or swim Pure adrenaline rush 3 stars
8/07/00 Elvisfan how about the 'shallow and somewhat dull' blue sea? 2 stars
8/06/00 Scoggins Fuck Jaws! That movie ruled, but DBS does too. Scary fx, cool characters, great sets. Yeah! 5 stars
7/13/00 Naushad Khanji Better than overhyped and boring Jaws. 4 stars
5/29/00 danilo well it's not a masterpiece, but it sure was fun 4 stars
5/23/00 jimbob predictable, dumb, and gaping plot holes 1 stars
4/26/00 Kelsey I loved this movie!! They should make a Deep Blue Sea 2 with Thomas Jane and LL Cool J. 5 stars
4/26/00 Jed It almost surpassed jaws. (But not quite) 4 stars
4/09/00 andrew shaw loved it 5 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright Solid entertainment that doesn't try to be too clever, and supplies the requisite thrills. 3 stars
3/15/00 fire-n-ice damm good kept me on the edge 5 stars
2/20/00 arnold great action 5 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Dumb summer fare redeemed by a few interesting twists. Can't touch "Jaws", though. Sorry. 3 stars
1/09/00 Jacqueline Anderson if I`m unest, ..........it stinks! 3 stars
12/31/99 Paul Great 4 stars
12/19/99 Eric S. I found this film surprisingly unengaging and sluggish. Jaws is much better 3 stars
12/18/99 SID One of the best thrill-ride movies to come out since Jurassic Park. Admit you liked it. 5 stars
12/09/99 P The scariest movie you will see this year 5 stars
11/24/99 Mattias Dahlgren Ghee! Does Stellan Skarsgard rule or what?! He totally owns this great movie anyway... 5 stars
11/12/99 George Nedelchev Exciting, balanced, well shot. Pure entertainment. 4 stars
11/10/99 david bax OR E-MAIL me at baxie_12@yahoo.com the best movie ever 5 stars
11/09/99 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules OH Man I just saw it and that part with the shark and the guy in the water! I combusted! 5 stars
11/09/99 Ralf Behet A fairly good watch. No more no less. Don't expect too much 3 stars
11/09/99 MAFIABOY!! LOUD,Bad Acting and Rubber sharks...LLcoolJ was the worst! timewasting though 4 stars
11/04/99 Jartsa Great movie, No stupid kissing scenes 3 stars
11/01/99 Dave An absolute pile of stinking poop. Thats 2 hours of my life I would like refunded. 1 stars
10/23/99 Emma Fantastic! Better than Jaws. 5 stars
10/23/99 Jaddax the best shark movie for a long time 5 stars
10/21/99 Matthew Bartley Giant sharks eating people.What do you expect? 4 stars
10/16/99 Mark It was ok, but the last movie I saw was Blair Witch, so I had so little to compare it to. 3 stars
10/10/99 john grove a nice timewaster, some good scares 4 stars
10/10/99 HotStuff It was great and it makes think about whether or not you want to go swimming in the ocean!! 5 stars
10/04/99 Hannah Dove It was totally awesome. it was jumpy. its good to get your adrenolen rushing. it was a rush 5 stars
10/04/99 rob It takes too long to get started, but once it does, it ROCKS!!! 4 stars
10/02/99 Ian WEBB What a load of shit - too many laws of physics are overcome 1 stars
9/22/99 ctrlaltdelete great movie, very entertaining, didn't patronize viewers 5 stars
9/20/99 JP Crough I thought it was an exciting thriller. I had to see it twice 4 stars
9/14/99 LCW A laugh riot. A shark replaces Geena as Renny's "Bitch with an Attitude." 4 stars
9/13/99 Joni Martikainen I liked it very much! it is really good film, but I thought that it would be better! 4 stars
9/10/99 Timbo My mom got eaten by a shark fuck this movie 1 stars
9/09/99 Prudence Hardwick(Age 65) you youngins' jus don know a good movie when ya see one. 5 stars
9/06/99 Springfieldian I love to see people eaten! 4 stars
8/26/99 Augie This film is intense, scary, action packed, and unpredictable. 5 stars
8/23/99 Obi Wan Movie with balls...go see it! 4 stars
8/20/99 Cherry Great film, Fun, Recognize the fun in the film people, ..its not to be taken seriously 5 stars
8/19/99 Sillybugger Back away from the f***king computer and make a real movie... 2 stars
8/18/99 Tree Computer FX becoming boring. DBS proves this. 2 stars
8/18/99 Buckshot Nice FX 5 stars
8/17/99 Rick "Deep Blue Sea" is, by far, the best shark movie I've seen this summer. 3 stars
8/17/99 Rodney Duke Stupid Stupid Stupid. Terrible Dialogue 1 stars
8/12/99 Jazzy It was everything good about a cheesy action movie 5 stars
8/11/99 ALiaS I couldnt stop laughing thru the whole thing...hey, weren't those the Mint-a-Burst sharks?? 1 stars
8/09/99 Malbert Pretty crappy plot&acting, but see it just for the sharks 3 stars
8/04/99 Alexis I went there to be scared and I was suprised a few times. 3 stars
8/04/99 Bill G 2 scoops of Jurassic Park, a dash of Twister and a hell of a lot of water = A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
8/03/99 A-Dawg Pretty awesome for a super-animal movie 5 stars
8/02/99 Will G very entertaining, full of suspense, and attention grabbing but lacked realism in places 4 stars
8/02/99 Trevor Snow Of course a 20 ton shark can bust though 3-inch thick glass, but can't bust open an oven 2 stars
8/02/99 Nigel Herringbone III This movie was brilliant. LL Cool J provided was fucking dope...Sharks are cool!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/02/99 Obi Wan Finally a movie with guts! A Good Summer Flick....defn8ly worth watching. Will surprise u 4 stars
8/02/99 Raeleen Mattes not a jaws knock off at all, exciting and not as bad as I thought it would be 4 stars
8/01/99 Weird Andy I was too busy masturbating to really follow the flick, but it seemed okay. 3 stars
8/01/99 Daddy Rich Great surprises and great effects. One of the best movies of the summer. 5 stars
8/01/99 John M Pretty corny at points but it has good action, GREAT surprises and good humor. 4 stars
7/31/99 XenoWolf The writers and director should have grown some brains before making it 2 stars
7/30/99 Michael Superlative effects, a very likable cast, and, best of all, totally unpredictable at times! 5 stars
7/30/99 Kitty purr It was a very good movie. Just the thing for summer. 4 stars
7/29/99 Vampyre9mm You take sharks and make them smart!!! This movie seemed like it was written on a dare. 2 stars
7/29/99 buddy What "The Haunting" thought it was. 4 stars
7/29/99 Derek Rich I agree, totally. 'Deep Blue Sea' has bite. You can never guess who gets chomped in it 4 stars
7/29/99 jvt common sense was right out the fucking window 2 stars
12/21/98 The Dude It will be cool just check out whos in it and who it's directed by 4 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee Especially bad. Jaws where the sharks turn human-like and kill scientists. Ugh. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Sep-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast