Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.74

Awesome32.87%
Worth A Look: 31.47%
Just Average: 17.48%
Pretty Crappy: 13.29%
Sucks: 4.9%

8 reviews, 95 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Rush Hour
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Jackie Chan plays the straight man?"
4 stars

A buddy-cop formula movie that - surprise! - actually works.

Jackie Chan's a Hong Kong cop. The young daughter of an old friend who has come to the States has been kidnapped, and he wants Chan to work with the FBI on the investigation. The FBI want none of that, so they stick Chan with Chris Tucker, the latest loudmouth from the LAPD (because all LA cops, in the movies, are either wacky fast talkers or corrupt). The two end up working together to solve the case and save the girl.

Just so you know going in, this is not really a Jackie Chan movie. Oh sure, it's got the trademark stuntwork and finesse of a Chan film, but he's a co-star here with Tucker. But the two get along well. It's nothing new under the sun though; a fish out of water, buddy cop action pyrotechnic flick. Kind of a Beverly Hills Cop/Lethal Weapon hybrid with Chan thrown in the mix. Still, it works.

Chan's amazing. He's probably the best action star in the world. And Chris Tucker continues to grow on me. A cop who spontaneously bursts into Michael Jackson dance impersonation after blowing up a car loaded with C4 is actually pretty funny.

The villian could've used some work, and you know who the head boss is from the very first moment he shows up on screen (he shows up early, so pay attention), so it's all pretty formula stuff. But it works. The stuntwork's impressive, and the interplay between Tucker and Chan is often quite funny.

It's no Drunken Master II, but it'll do.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=74&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/21/98 10:26:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

12/04/11 Pamela White Great stunts and decent plot 4 stars
10/11/08 PAUL SHORTT A SECOND RATE COMEDY THATS WRAPPED AROUND A THIRD RATE ACTION FILM 1 stars
1/10/08 Charles Tatum Chan's fun, but still overblown and overpraised 2 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday The movie was funny, but Chris Tucker was almost unbearable. 3 stars
12/24/06 jophis funnest movie in long time 5 stars
2/02/06 Anthony Feor Tucker and Chan could not be better. Best pair of partners I have ever seen 4 stars
11/02/05 Shazart FULLY SICK HABIB 5 stars
8/27/05 Quigley chris tucker sounds not-human but jackie's action make up for it. watch the shangai movies 4 stars
8/20/05 tony HILARIOUS. A KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/27/05 Emma An ok fil, not one I would likely see again. 3 stars
9/24/04 John mildly entertainig and charming at times but really nothing special 3 stars
8/29/04 john bale The running jumping Kung Fu and nothing much else Movie. 3 stars
8/07/04 ALDO funny action flick.... 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody funny! Jackie at his best. 5 stars
12/20/03 R.W. Welch Some good shtick here and there but quite a bit of slack in between. 3 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Jackie Chan is and action-man, and Chris Tucker is a funny muther - - - - - - !!! 3 stars
11/04/03 Seniorina Absolutely piss funny! Totally rox my sox 5 stars
10/29/03 Virginia Russell it was the BOMB , and Chris Tucker is my baby 5 stars
9/19/03 JackieChanFan - JACKIE CHAN RULESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS JACKIE CHAN MOVIES ARE SIMPLY THE GREATEST. 100% ALL JACKIE CHAN'S MOVIES. 5 stars
4/18/03 Gecko Fanfoot Chris Tucker is gonna go places. I hope this movie inspires a franchise. 5 stars
2/02/03 Turtle Incredibly funny with awesome stunts as usual from Jackie Chan. Chris Tucker's hilarious! 4 stars
12/09/02 Jamaal I've seen this film and yes, IT'S THE BOMB!!! 5 stars
10/23/02 Interrog8 "You destroyed half a city block!" "That block was already messed up." Funny shit! 5 stars
9/04/02 Chancey Thunderpants Horseshit. 1 stars
8/13/02 Justin Funny! 5 stars
6/06/02 qtpie Flat out funny! :D 5 stars
5/24/02 Film Guy Funny and good 4 stars
5/18/02 Jeremy just as good as rush hour 2 5 stars
2/13/02 Norris Daniel Jediah Darden its the greatest 5 stars
2/11/02 Marianne Blackwelder No true world class detective would fall for the "What's up, my n___?" blunder. 2 stars
2/07/02 Norris Daniel Jediah Darden One of the best movies ever, nothing has topped it since 1998 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent I'm no punk bitch! 5 stars
1/15/02 Andrew Carden Its Supposed To Be Funny, but Tucker Ruins Their Chances. 2 stars
12/19/01 Ashley great movie 5 stars
11/29/01 Rutt13 Not great, but likeable 4 stars
9/27/01 Matthew Bartley Worse than a raging case of syphilis while snorting broken glassf 1 stars
8/28/01 Sarah It has its funny moments. I enjoyed the out takes more 3 stars
8/21/01 Daft Arse 3000AD WOW!!!!!!!! 6,789,567 STARS!!! 5 stars
8/09/01 keith langman saved by good connection between chan and tucker 3 stars
8/06/01 Joe Zappa Jackie Chan supplies his signature stunt brilliance, Chris Tucker delivers some good laughs 4 stars
7/29/01 Geebo good 5 stars
4/23/01 Luke Don't you just love the dance Tucker does at the start 5 stars
2/15/01 Jake Not much good to say about this one... 2 stars
11/30/00 wesley mawer great film but i thought Chris Tucker stole the show nice one! 5 stars
10/06/00 Bender Decent, but nothing special. 3 stars
8/02/00 Terrie Smith Chan and Tucker really hit it off; good action and comedy 4 stars
7/12/00 Tigger Pretty good! Haven't seen it in ages but pretty good 4 stars
4/29/00 Negative Norm shite! 1 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers First and only Chan movie I seen, but I only saw it because it's a comedy. 4 stars
1/20/00 ripley very entertaining 5 stars
10/15/99 Paul Sobolok Chan is shit,Tucker is worse than shit,the movie is rancid unfunny shit 1 stars
8/10/99 Japtalian Chris Tucker is a funny mother (hush my mouth). 4 stars
6/17/99 matchbox20 "Do you understand the words that are comming out of my mouf" Great flick 5 stars
5/23/99 Allie Anyone that doesn't laugh during this movie isn't human 5 stars
4/17/99 Ah Dooey See this if you wanta see Jackie kick ass 4 stars
4/07/99 Fordy C'mon people. Its Jackie Chan! It has to be good. 5 stars
1/27/99 jennifer maynard it was great and i love it 5 stars
1/19/99 Movie Geezer funny film---a real sleeper 4 stars
1/18/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Few bits of action,some laughs blah blah..but overall pretty lame ,think lethal weapon 41/2 2 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP Don't get me wrong, Tucker is AWESOME, and Chan is cool, but to me this movie was stupid. 3 stars
1/12/99 Miss Scarlett Not the most innovative, but hey, it had Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan 4 stars
1/08/99 Ya Momma Fred, talk about Chris Tucker again and I will be forced to thrash you. 5 stars
1/05/99 Schizofrenic It's greatness! Leathal Weapon with kung-fu and more comedy! 5 stars
12/29/98 jvt Needed more Chan stunts, less of Tucker's mouth 3 stars
12/29/98 thEnd Chris Tucker is the man, Chan kicks ass... great combination, movie was to long though. 4 stars
12/07/98 chi-fan Chan does better than his previous movies with the bad edits. Please no more english dubbin 4 stars
11/26/98 ScrmptJr This was a great movie!!!! Funny, and a little action. The review on top is way wrong. 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred Chris Tucker and Chris ROck should kill each other in a head on crash. I want my $$ back!! 1 stars
11/23/98 Julie This is so much anus, I can smell it from here. This movie was full of stereotypes. 2 stars
11/13/98 Diane Started me on the road to Chanaholism. 5 stars
11/06/98 Toledia Ford I think it's a pretty funny movie! Chris is one the funniest men alive, and he's cute. 5 stars
10/25/98 Pariah I liked Tucker better with Ice Cube. This movie is shite. 1 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls The Chanster rules! Don't wear it out! Watch it! 5 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Jackie Chan goes into high gear for his best movie in years. 4 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island Chan has done better, but if this introduces more people to his work, then fine. 3 stars
10/06/98 Jay S. Jackie, you my nigga. Chris, you my nigga too. 4 mothafuckin stars bitch! 4 stars
10/04/98 Daddy Rich One of funniest movies in a long while. Tucker and Chan make a great comedy team. 5 stars
10/04/98 Joe YU GO JACKIE CHAN, CHRIS TUCKER IS YO PAL 5 stars
10/02/98 Dean It was hilarious. 5 stars
10/01/98 Jumbles 4 stars compared to other cliche buddy/cop movies. Stunt work and humor are well mixed. 4 stars
9/30/98 White Knight The stunts were awsome and the actors were hilarious 5 stars
9/30/98 Paul Maki I know that ain't the bomb! 5 stars
9/28/98 katherine I really like this film, as welll as most of my friends. 4 stars
9/28/98 Gamma I laughed more during this than Leathal Weapon 4. Bar Fight "starter" was great :) 4 stars
9/28/98 jasper whassup ma nigga 5 stars
9/25/98 Matt Stone Right on Jackie Cans! 5 stars
9/23/98 Matt Kicked Ass!! 5 stars
9/22/98 clark damn, i didnt know Chan could sing so good. WAR! good god ya'll. 5 stars
9/21/98 ARMA-FUCKN-GEDDON I just can't take either of these two seriously AT ALL!!! 2 stars
9/20/98 Johny Fine entertainment, needed more Chan though. Tucker was the focus of the flick. 3 stars
9/19/98 Agustin Yap pretty good but please don't make a sequel or prequel to this 4 stars
9/18/98 Negative Creep Tucker annoys you for 2 hours but Jackie Chan makes it all worthwhile.... 4 stars
9/16/98 JHump This movie looks like its cooo. 5 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Funny....Woooops I mean annoying Chris Tucker wins. 4 stars
8/29/98 {{{OZ}}} Some funny moments, and some standard Jackie Chan. Tucker is the weak link. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Sep-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-May-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Jan-1999 (M)


Directed by
  Brett Ratner

Written by
  Jim Kouf
  Ross LaManna
  Jeff Nathanson

Cast
  Jackie Chan
  Chris Tucker
  Elizabeth Peña
  Philip Baker Hall
  Julia Hsu
  Tzi Ma



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast