Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.14

Awesome44.32%
Worth A Look: 33.33%
Just Average: 16.67%
Pretty Crappy: 3.41%
Sucks: 2.27%

13 reviews, 186 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


X2: X-Men United
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Paulapalooza

"So close to being there, it hurts."
4 stars

The original X-Men film crept along in the summer of 2000 and surprised Fox when every comic book junkie crept out of the woodwork and blew the roofs off opening weekend auditoriums. And despite handicaps that came with last-moment budget slashing, director Bryan Singer managed to make a very likeable, character-driven film that cemented Ian McKellen as a masterful yet commercial screen actor and made an instant leading man out of Hugh Jackman, formerly known only as an actor who was probably a joke name that Bart Simpson might invoke.

So now, after a massively successful theatrical and home video run, we get the sequel, the clumsily titled X2: X-MEN UNITED, which gets to spend the money Fox was so shy about the first time around. And, there’s more, more ducats, more characters, more menacing bad guys, more plot twists, and it’s all in the name of entertainment. It mostly succeeds, but without the joie de vivre that managed to pop out of the first.

These films are obviously a labor of love for Singer (who even makes a cameo as a prison guard who, appropriately enough, steers Patrick “Professor X” Stewart’s wheelchair), but with so many new characters and a much more, perhaps needlessly convoluted plotline, one sometimes wonders if love can save a film that’s just obviously top-heavy.

Don’t get me wrong, when it’s good it’s very good. It’s sweet to watch Wolverine torque into his patented berserker rage against a gaggle of faceless jarheads, see Rebecca Romijn-Stamos out of her Mystique make-up and homaging FEMME FATALE, witness sparks fly with Wolverine and every female cast member (nicely acknowledged in a scene I won’t spoil), and, in the best moment of the film, view Magneto’s gleefully violent prison break.

The only problem is, in trying to do everything right, in the effort to appease fans of the book and throw in shout-outs to characters like Hank McCoy and Remy LeBeau, somebody forgot to instill the bravado that this sort of big-budget actioner absolutely has to rely on. Not everyone in the cast got the memo Jackman and McKellen received, indicating they should have fun with their roles and not be completely dour all the time. Also, in introducing all the new characters, none of them receive the time and attention they deserve. James Marsden’s Cyclops and Anna Paquin’s Rogue are particularly overlooked holdovers, and while I love Alan Cumming’s Nightcrawler, he only gets to cut loose in the film’s opening salvo. There are a couple of impressive extended set-pieces, the rumble at Xavier’s school and a heart-punping jet chase, but the rest of the film fails to live up to the promise of those moments. This is a very serious affair for all involved, with most of the laughs being closer to polite chuckles than anything, but the movie HAS to know it’s a little absurd for grown men and women to slip into jumpsuits and battle evil as a paramilitary force. In not wanting to stray too far into camp, Singer and company over-correct and slip instead into deadly earnestness, hammering the audience with the “mutants as societal outcast” metaphor. A balance between the extremes, as achieved by the aforementioned Jackman and McKellen, as well as Romijn-Stamos, would have pushed this whole affair into the “unforgettable” territory.

As it is, this movie is a celluloid orgasm for fans of the comic. It caters to them expertly while also being enjoyable enough for comics neophytes and the teenage summer audience. If you’re looking for one of the rare action films that deftly carries a thematic weight while also never forgetting it’s an action film, well, we just finished up Gulf War 2.

For a lot of fun, check out the Grant Morrison’s “better than it’s been in years” gonzo take on the X-Men in comic book shops. And enjoy X2 for what it is.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=7417&reviewer=21
originally posted: 05/02/03 23:55:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

9/02/14 Dude I love this one 5 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT IN TRYING TO BE EVERYTHING TO EVERYBODY, IT MEANT NOTHING MUCH TO ME 1 stars
10/17/07 Beau A great sequel, very well made! 4 stars
8/15/07 johnnyfog Don't carry grenades around Magneto. 5 stars
3/22/07 David So much better than the third. 5 stars
3/20/07 man i liked it 4 stars
3/19/07 dude not nearly as good as Spider-man 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Solid Sci-fi superheroics. 4 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog Not enough Magneto! 4 stars
12/28/06 David Pollastrini very well done 5 stars
10/16/06 David Awesomes movie, best of the series. 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Same as #1, if not slightly better. 4 stars
7/18/06 Michael Best of the Comic Book movies. 5 stars
6/10/06 texas hold em poker online cheat at online party poker for free internet poker game texas hold em poker online 2 stars
5/30/06 Wanker It sucked 1 stars
5/25/06 drydock54321 great cast, super effects, love the x-men 5 stars
4/18/06 Dave Rarely does the sequel surpass the original, but X-Men 2 does just that. 4 stars
1/13/06 JM Synth surprisingly fun, better than the original 4 stars
9/30/05 Jonathon Holmes way better than the original 5 stars
8/28/05 Eden The best superhero movie since Burton's Batmans 5 stars
8/12/05 ES way to sequel= you can't go wrong 5 stars
7/20/05 Brandy Harrington Boooorrrring. ...Nightcrawler is coll though. 3 stars
5/28/05 DM Anticlimactic ending, overstuffed plot, but man, what action scenes! 4 stars
3/29/05 Lyn Better then the 1st! and the 1st was great! 5 stars
3/26/05 Victor Toledo So much better than the First film. Excellent. 5 stars
1/06/05 Yowza! WAZZZZZAAAAPPPP?!?!?!?! 4 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams when I saw the final shot, I yelped in the theater. 5 stars
9/13/04 psycho dwarf Shows the X-Men limited...in their powers, their acceptance, & their security. 4 stars
8/26/04 Aaron Smith much better than X1; greatest comic adaptation ever 5 stars
8/08/04 Lucas average 3 stars
7/11/04 Daveman A film that unquestionably entertained me but left me feeling cold, see Spidey 2 instead. 3 stars
5/08/04 Jeff MacIver Captures the comic book feel better than most adaptations. 4 stars
4/05/04 Dean Some plot gliches 4 stars
3/30/04 Alex One of the best movies of the summer. 5 stars
3/30/04 Faustus Better than its predecessor, which already set a high standard. Excellent! 5 stars
3/10/04 sky really good 5 stars
2/20/04 Denise Duspiva Not as good as the first 4 stars
2/18/04 me the best 5 stars
1/27/04 y2mckay Like it better the second time, but that third act still drags like a motherfucker 4 stars
1/04/04 Ed Parry A fabulous film! 5 stars
12/28/03 y2mckay Starts out strong, laft half hour fizzles, not enough Wolverine or Lady Deathstrike 3 stars
12/21/03 Spikey Great entertainment, needs MORE WOLVERINE 5 stars
12/04/03 purchkiller a great dumb movie. A comic book screwup though 4 stars
11/27/03 rouge its a great movie 5 stars
11/19/03 No Spider-Man had both gloss and substance. This just has gloss. 2 stars
11/13/03 Littlepurch Fantastic! Better than the gr8 first! Shame they killed off a main character tho! No need. 5 stars
11/06/03 ADAM GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
10/19/03 Mitsaso Even better than the first film! 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Very freaking awesome, but I still like the first "X-Men" movie the best! 5 stars
9/21/03 Jacques another comic book screw up! Action is good though 4 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Not as good as part 1, but good! 4 stars
9/11/03 Kooler lose 3 of the 5 endings and then we'll talk. . . 3 stars
8/22/03 Britney Spears I loved it !!!!!!!!!!!! Wolverine is so HOT! 5 stars
8/12/03 Nancy295 Greatly enjoyed this - looking forward to the next one! 5 stars
8/06/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
8/04/03 I Would Behold! The new generation of moviegoers' idea of a "good story". Please! Spare me! 2 stars
7/17/03 Chris I really didn't care for the first one but the second was much better. Flawed but fun. 4 stars
7/16/03 Katie Roberts I love this film, it's just a bit of fun! 5 stars
7/08/03 kz very disappointing...the end left me with a bad taste in my mouth 2 stars
7/07/03 Young critic CRAP...a true X fan would never see such hogwash 2 stars
7/05/03 Morpheus As long as Brian Singer exists, the X-Men will never be free. 2 stars
6/22/03 MJM103171 I enjoyed this...good story, good action 5 stars
6/22/03 Paul Rapisarda More indepth of charcter, better than the first 5 stars
6/17/03 Zesty this movie sucked i wasted my money. 2 stars
6/17/03 Timothy Wudiyono THERE IS NO MANY MUTANTS! 4 stars
6/15/03 Lush Somebody fire Bryan Singer from this franchise. He can't do superhero movies. 3 stars
6/13/03 Darth Haggis Wolvie Killing people brought a tear to my eye 5 stars
6/10/03 Brannie Herez Brannie, This movie looks sooo bad that i wont even bother to pay for movie tickets. 1 stars
6/08/03 Christian Harding Best Maravel Comic Movie Made Yet and Probably Forever!!! 5 stars
6/08/03 Ripper Better than the first one, Brian Cox rocks!!! 5 stars
6/04/03 J.J Average movie. AOTC doesn't even come close to whoever compared this to that. 3 stars
6/03/03 movieboy Great from start to finish 5 stars
6/01/03 Jareth Poorly characterised and unimaginative, but still feels more complete than the first film. 3 stars
5/27/03 Jim Good spin on "God Loves, Man Kills"; sets up the story X-Men fans have been waiting for 5 stars
5/26/03 Obi Wan More Logan, add Danger Room, Beast, Psylocke, Gambit next installment please! 5 stars
5/23/03 Dead Ringers FX Rule! great fucking movie!!! mold of action, STORY, and F/x!!! 4 stars
5/23/03 Ubu the Ripper A very very good film. After AOTC and ST:X, this movie is a godsend. 5 stars
5/22/03 burton miller polished, smooth and cool 5 stars
5/21/03 Todd a good sequel to the best comic franchise...but the music was CHEESY! 4 stars
5/21/03 snowconehead Don't like the adaptation of the plot, but at least its consistent 4 stars
5/21/03 Desert Rat A tiny step up from the first, but still kinda lame. 3 stars
5/20/03 Brian Grindrod FINALLY! Hollywood has figured out how to make a great super-hero film. 5 stars
5/20/03 Flounder A very entertaining popcorn thriller that will keep you glued to your seat! 4 stars
5/20/03 Nancy N. Seriously, people? 2 stars
5/20/03 Troy Entertaining 1 stars
5/20/03 Rod Hmmm...GREAT 5 stars
5/20/03 spacecowboy it had an interesting start but became weak towards the middle 4 stars
5/19/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Will likely lead into the Dark Phoenix saga... But you all know that... 4 stars
5/19/03 elizaveta so much fun and so damned cool! 5 stars
5/19/03 ajay I liked this one as much as the first. 5 stars
5/18/03 alien assassin Just as exciting as the first 5 stars
5/18/03 Fairy Princess Sneaky Awesome movie!!!!! I hope there is an X-Men 3 5 stars
5/17/03 Obi Wan Bring me Pyslocke, Gambit, Beast and will the real Rogue&Iceman please stand up!!! 5 stars
5/16/03 Turtle The best of 2003 thus far! Great sequel! Awesome writing! I LOVED IT!!!! 5 stars
5/15/03 KingNeutron Cyclops sucks, Mystique+Wolverine+Magneto ROCKS - but 1st film was better. 4 stars
5/15/03 MF Not as good as the first, but still a fun time 4 stars
5/15/03 michelle laumb i think this movie was awesome although i think the first xmen was better. 4 stars
5/14/03 Zach Can't wait for 3. Beast was originally planned for 2, but didn't make it. Hopefully in 3! 5 stars
5/12/03 Koitus I liked the movie. BUT - exactly HOW do you "kill" Wolverine?!? Unrealistic lab ft. scene 4 stars
5/12/03 Chrissam Fun movie but somewhat unsatisfying. Give Professor X something to do next time! 3 stars
5/12/03 Remon WONDERFUL! But where's Gambit and really wanna see Psylocke. Not like in their history man. 5 stars
5/11/03 Jareth Definitly surpasses the unsatisfying first film but still doesn't come close to Spidey. 4 stars
5/11/03 GWhooya didn't really followed comics but cool still 4 stars
5/10/03 nick2k its was interesting/good...but my experience was hindered with the A/C being on freeze. 4 stars
5/09/03 JL This movie kicked ass! Wolverine is sexy! 5 stars
5/09/03 Obi Wan Very good, but where's Gambit? Beast? Danger Room? ArchAngel? More Colossus? ROGUE FLYS!!!! 5 stars
5/09/03 Amanda I really like this movie.......its a kool show i watched it like 3 times so far 5 stars
5/08/03 Brian Cool... 5 stars
5/08/03 Ayla ok, not amazing 3 stars
5/08/03 Phuong Lam Very good 5 stars
5/07/03 bob liked it better than the first one 4 stars
5/07/03 Jessel If you don't like this, you're too old... 5 stars
5/07/03 Trammie Very cool! Need more love scenes between Wolvie and & Jean. They look awsome on-screen. 5 stars
5/07/03 Dada Like the 1st, an action flick with good plot and character development 5 stars
5/07/03 Jerry Once again, Magneto en Mystique were absolutely fabulous! 5 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones good review scott and donna...x3 def needs to have more colossus,jubilee,beast...sentinels? 4 stars
5/06/03 Jamie Madrox fuck you matrix!!WOOO 5 stars
5/06/03 Ben The Movies lacked Gambit, Morph and Beast. In 3 Triple H should play Sabertooth. Still Good 4 stars
5/06/03 Gaiia i loved it! 5 stars
5/06/03 ajay very good for a comic book sequal. by law it's *supposed* to be shit. 4 stars
5/06/03 RYAN WATSON THE MOVIE IS AWESOME AND VERY ACTION-PACK 5 stars
5/06/03 pablo this film is a let down, it suck, halle berry was crap, bryan singer can suck my ass 1 stars
5/06/03 Waiting for Matrix This movie passed my criteria: I never checked my watch once. Sheer fun! 5 stars
5/06/03 Matt GREAT reward for the comic fans at the finale... 5 stars
5/05/03 k it's almost too good... 5 stars
5/05/03 neil I'm a X-Men fan for years. Got most of the early comics. This was X-Marvels best time. 5 stars
5/05/03 malcolm the 1st was better. i wanna see the sentinels. yes, one mutant can freeze a whole lake. 4 stars
5/05/03 Jon Lyrik Heaps better than the original. Never boring, unlike the first. 4 stars
5/05/03 Mitsaso Hey! Can one mutant freeze a whole lake?I don't think so... 5 stars
5/05/03 Human Shield It's the kind of movie you want to see again just for the action. 5 stars
5/05/03 y2mckay Wolverine and Nightcrawler - good. Cerebro, Stryker, and dull finale'- bad. 4 stars
5/05/03 Sandy Cormack I find it odd that a superhero TEAM isn't allowed to exhibit any TEAMWORK. 3 stars
5/05/03 Obi Wan Wow....Cannot wait for the Phoenix Saga! 5 stars
5/05/03 Jack Bourbon We didn't need the 3 climaxes and 2 epilogues, but a good movie 4 stars
5/05/03 cal The ending is to setup the coming of Phoenix 5 stars
5/05/03 Shaun beats the original by a long shot 5 stars
5/04/03 James Witherspoon Great Movie, True to the comics. 5 stars
5/04/03 Vicious I hoped for more carnage, but otherwise flawless. 5 stars
5/04/03 Eeon Great action, watchable story. 5 stars
5/04/03 Damian Go like the third week so you can get a seat in the theater 4 stars
5/04/03 yes this is a great movie-go see it sometimes campy or awkward, but ultimately rewarding, and, oh yes...Phoenix!!! 4 stars
5/04/03 JimatForemat AICN is quite chock full of idiots, but the purpose of the site is to spoil. 4 stars
5/04/03 Josh Absolutely terrific sequel, builds its characters and wows us with inventive effects. 5 stars
5/04/03 Zeitgeist Entertaining, yes, but couldn't Professor X or IceMan prevent them from drowning? 4 stars
5/04/03 Zefram Mann I'm righting a letter to Australia thanking them for giving us Wolverine. 5 stars
5/04/03 KingNeutron I'll see it again, but using Storm to fix Xavier problem=goofy- and so was not using IceKid 4 stars
5/04/03 bullit16 Outstanding ... and a setup to one of the greatest tales in X-Men history for X3 5 stars
5/04/03 George Jung Much better than the first film. Worth the money to see on the big screen. 4 stars
5/03/03 x-menADDICT Story was great, but Cyclops has an unusually limited screen time, which was the downfall.. 4 stars
5/03/03 maximus X-Men fans may love it, but I thought it was boring - and that's being kind. 2 stars
5/03/03 ubu the ripper great flick! great freakin' flick!!! nightcrawler is da bomb and sp. fx awesome!! 5 stars
5/03/03 Stefwhit Excellent ride from begining to end! 5 stars
5/03/03 Creepy Crawler one of the few "adaptation" movies that stay true to it's roots 5 stars
5/03/03 andrew padilla new characters with not enough action for thier special abi;ities 3 stars
5/03/03 JesseL Great sequel 5 stars
5/03/03 Mario Way much better than the first one, the film fandom was waiting for!! 5 stars
5/03/03 Will pretty cool 5 stars
5/03/03 Garrett This artical was totally accurate in it's beliefs. 5 stars
5/03/03 GWhooya Spidey was better than daredevil. X-men 2 was a good film though. 4 stars
5/03/03 ashanti rad movie dude 5 stars
5/03/03 Jackson62 Better then Spidey but no Daredevil. 4 stars
5/03/03 Philip Bennett X2: X Men United excludes people who are different and is no more than a Minstrel Shows 1 stars
5/03/03 mr. x yay! cool intro of Phoenix Saga--possibly an X3 5 stars
5/02/03 MaG Kick ass 5 stars
5/02/03 Warren The rare sequel that's better than the first. 5 stars
5/02/03 srburns Great movie. Lots of clevage shots!! 5 stars
5/02/03 Strong Guy Fan Singer, you are my god. Construction of the temple in progress. 5 stars
5/02/03 Daedalus What happened to the well-needed FUCKING AWESOME? Did we go PG-13 here? 5 stars
5/02/03 Andrew Carden Janssen & McKellen Carry This Overblown, Confusing Sequel. Good Effects, Bad Screenplay. 3 stars
5/02/03 NeonBlack69 Ridiculously awesome...Possibly the coolest movie I've ever seen! 5 stars
5/02/03 Jamie Madrox unbelievably MASSIVE improvement from the first movie..this even matches *gasp* spiderman 5 stars
5/02/03 bluebeena grew up on x-men and this movie didn't disappoint. very fun to watch. 5 stars
5/02/03 Mystique wow....GREATTTTTTTTTT...Magneto rocks 5 stars
5/02/03 Chicodude Great fucking movie 5 stars
5/02/03 Smalls Somehow, the best superhero movie ever made AND a courageous stand against the gulf war. 5 stars
5/02/03 The Bint Much Better than X1, much more exciting and in-depth 5 stars
5/02/03 nexu56 Harry Potter for adults, with better performances 5 stars
5/01/03 Nicole Pretty good for the genre 4 stars
5/01/03 chris dewberry slow parts still appeal to fans, and action is extremely awesome 5 stars
5/01/03 dee not bad could be better 4 stars
4/30/03 Rushdan Rashid Glory, glory X-Men UNITED! 5 stars
4/30/03 GT An X-Men comic TRULY brought to life. Jean's Red Eyes gave me goosebumps. 5 stars
4/30/03 Model Awesome 5 stars
4/30/03 Bloody Vixen I don't know yet maybe when I have finally watched the movie... 5 stars
4/30/03 Matt Watson Easily better than the first 5 stars
4/30/03 Cash Bailey The best comic book move ever! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-May-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 25-Nov-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Apr-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast