Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.55

Awesome: 9.52%
Worth A Look: 20.63%
Just Average: 18.25%
Pretty Crappy: 18.25%
Sucks33.33%

7 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anger Management
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Matt Mulcahey

"Adam Sandler finally stops letting his buddies make his movies."
3 stars

Donít get me wrong, Sandlerís loyalty is admirable, but for Christís sake, let your pals get coffee or serve as ďpersonal assistants,Ē donít let them write and direct your damn flicks.

Punch Drunk-Love aside (which was really a Paul Thomas Anderson movie, not a Sandler movie), the unlikely comedic star has been on quite the long losing streak, certainly not helped by the fact that his cronies have been directing and writing his films for the past few years.

Basically, Sandler made two hilarious frat house favorites in Billy Madison and Happy Gilmore, one truly good movie in The Wedding Singer and everything since has been repetitive at best and excruciatingly awful at worst.

Which isnít to say Anger Management is a comedic masterpiece. It isnít, mainly due the clichťd finale, but it is certainly better than most of Sandlerís recent efforts thanks to his pairing with the legendary Jack Nicholson.

Yes, Nicholson is one of the better actors of the last thirty years, but he can also be an inveterate ham and after sticking with more thoughtful fare the last few years it is a hell of a lot of fun to see him making an ass of himself again.

No one out over-the-tops Nicholson, and what makes the movie work is that Sandler doesnít try to. Heís the more low-key of the pair, refusing to stoop to either of the two annoying voices that make up his repertoire or the angry shouting lunatic that comprises the rest of his shtick.

Sandler plays Dave Buznik, a meek but likable guy who has been stepped on his entire life. Unable to stand up to his asshole boss (Kurt Fuller) or his girlfriendís well-hung ďplatonic friendĒ (Allen Covert), Sandlerís life is turned around when a misunderstanding on an airplane lands him in court-ordered anger management therapy under the supervision of Nicholsonís unorthodox Doctor Buddy Rydell.

The filmís bests moments come in the well-executed first half as Sandler meets Nicholsonís roster of troubled patients, which include past cohorts John Turturro and Luis Guzman (Hey, where the hell is Steve Buscemi?), and slowly comes apart when the good doctor decides the best therapy would be if he moved in for a few weeks.

Despite the great cast (Sandler adds Woody Harrelson and John C. Reilly, in a great bit as a school yard bully turned monk, to the growing list of respected actors he's conned into appearing in his films) and a maniacally perfect turn from Nicholson, director Peter Segal (the helmer of the road comedy classic Tommy Boy) eventually starts to loose his grip as the story spirals out of control, becoming increasingly far-fetched before regressing to the sort of simplified, buffoonish happy ending that has tainted all of Sandler's films.

But regardless of the weak ending, any movie that features Sandler and Nicholson doing a duet of West Side Storyís I Feel Pretty is worth an hour and a half of your life.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=7418&reviewer=255
originally posted: 04/28/03 19:24:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/20/10 JackAnus You suck, never review a movie again. 1 stars
2/06/10 PAUL SHORTT AGGRESIVELY CRASS COMEDY 1 stars
10/27/09 the dork knight one of those comedies where everyone but the hero is utterly insane 3 stars
9/25/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
3/15/08 ladavies very weird pairing of actors, didn't really work 3 stars
3/01/08 Pamela White very funny in a kinky way 4 stars
2/06/07 Ryan Miller This movie was pretty good but kinda boring!!!!! 3 stars
11/28/06 elise I think the movie was funny 4 stars
7/07/06 NS You are wrong if you think this is crap, Sandler and Nicholson are like the odd couple. 5 stars
6/21/06 TB All Right!!! 3 stars
6/08/06 Frank Rountree What a waste of time for two good actors! 1 stars
5/12/06 Fruit-Loop Blackest comedy ever. Funnnnnnnnyyy!!!!!! 5 stars
5/01/06 Anthony Feor Sandler+Nicholson=Disaster=Anger Managment 1 stars
3/08/06 R.W.Welch Has a few funny bits but much of the humor is forced. 3 stars
7/23/05 Bad Critic Sandler sucked, but Nicholson was great in an average movie. 3 stars
5/14/05 Joe Adam (Happy Gilmore) and Jack (The Shining) work great! Including Jack's psichotic smile! 4 stars
2/20/05 Dan Funny. 4 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson WHAT A TERRIBLE & UNFUNNY WASTE OF A GREAT IDEA! All of Nicholson's fans should be outraged 1 stars
12/06/04 Jason Kaul I feel pretty... Oh so pretty.... Wonderful!!!! 4 stars
10/19/04 brockus this movie rules 5 stars
10/06/04 Daveman A few throwaway laughs aside, this film is peurile, nonsensical and homophobic to boot. 1 stars
9/27/04 whatevr I knew this movie sucked when I first saw the preview 1 stars
9/26/04 Archanist_101 Not bad... 5 stars
9/03/04 T.B. I wish the story change around 3 stars
7/24/04 Katie This movie isn't funny at all and the ending is completely stupid. A watse of film!!! 2 stars
4/19/04 y2mckay sweet Jesus, somebody kill Sandler before it's too late 1 stars
4/05/04 Dean Not too bad 3 stars
3/22/04 Agent Sands Typically underrated Sandler. Star-studded cast add to the fun script. Really funny. 4 stars
3/21/04 Samuel pretty stupid! 1 stars
3/16/04 James Cole This movie is really, really BAD! 1 stars
2/14/04 Jingo P. One of the greatest let-downs cinema has ever experienced. AWFUL. 2 stars
12/05/03 bender Wasted Talent. 2 stars
12/05/03 Jinnvisible Sucks like a Dyson !!! !!! !!! 1 stars
11/08/03 Mona Lott Ultimately unfunny "comedy";spares us not even the cliche of the black female hanging judge 1 stars
10/27/03 John Aster Habig hilarious but I would put Andrew to shame 5 stars
10/27/03 Mona Little Ultimate premise from hell for a "comedy". Could make Adam Sandler fans pull their hair out 1 stars
9/30/03 juicing my butt poor meatball, has to add this to his/her portfolio. like putting the nail in the coffin. 1 stars
9/18/03 Steve P Totally worthless 1 stars
9/15/03 the clarke Pure waste of time, should never have been made. 1 stars
9/14/03 Lindzb3 I loved it. I loved meatball! I really want a pic of him in red hoodie 4 stars
9/08/03 Dan If you liked this movie you are either blind, or an idiot. Or possibly a blind idiot. 1 stars
9/05/03 Schmoozana This is quite possibly one of the worst movies I've seen. 1 stars
7/17/03 May Q. Horney Whatever good effort is in the execution, it can't dig it out of the pit of the premise. 2 stars
7/12/03 Jimmy GranstrŲm I like the movie!! I think it was very fun and very strange, (good kind of strange) 5 stars
7/09/03 Erica The fat cat is the only funny thing in the movie, he's worth 5 stars, the film itself 1. 2 stars
5/22/03 micheal turner from matrix reloaded: i have not yet met jonathan cyr but will kick his ass!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/22/03 masonmommy Hilarious!! 5 stars
5/22/03 Kris One of the most stupid and irritating movies I ever saw. Shame on you, Jack. 1 stars
5/20/03 owen It was a good movie, the best Adam sandler movie I've seen in a while 4 stars
5/19/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Ol' Sausy Jack is great in this! It's for the mature folks rather than the lil' tards... 4 stars
5/18/03 alien assassin A crass attempt at humour despite some funny bits 3 stars
5/16/03 Turtle Great potential, sloppy execution. Barely average. 3 stars
5/14/03 Shadaan Felfeli Nicholson was hillarious, 'i feel pretty' was enjoyable and the last half hour was awful. 2 stars
5/08/03 Jerry Finckler S**k my F**king nuts!!!!!! 1 stars
5/08/03 Claudette Parker Funny at first, old joke by the middle and wished I'd stayed home by the end. 2 stars
5/06/03 leroyjones i payed a friend $8 to knee me in the nuts cuz thats what it felt like.. 1 stars
5/05/03 Jack Bourbon Eh. Not terrible. 3 stars
5/03/03 Jackson62 No "Mr. Deeds" but I guess that says something about me. 3 stars
5/02/03 Goofy Maxwell Like watching "The Game" For Dummies on PBS (Peckerwood Bitchslap Network). 4 stars
4/30/03 Jessica i loved this movie 5 stars
4/29/03 Beverly Anderson A waste of time and money and very disturbing that thirteen year old youth is seeing such 2 stars
4/27/03 Vitality1 The ending was a bit of a stretch. Not the best, but not the worst 4 stars
4/26/03 Robb Morpheus All parties involved should be ashamed to accept money for this crap! 1 stars
4/22/03 KittyKat I thought that the movie was funny, but it had a messed up plot to it. 4 stars
4/22/03 djplayer0213 the best movie 5 stars
4/21/03 Jeff Weinstein Erik, I'm really disappointed that you liked this movie. 2 stars
4/21/03 Dr. Bitterpants Thanks, Adam. You made the whole world angry at your stupid film plots. 1 stars
4/20/03 ajay I like the older Sandler movies, but he hasn't made anything good in a while... 2 stars
4/19/03 David Shaver V E R R R Y Y B O O O R R I N G G G 1 stars
4/17/03 Sandler Hits It Towards... ... His Extra Average Dumbarse Supporters 1 stars
4/17/03 earl duron funny begining but movie grates on to bad ending 3 stars
4/17/03 KingNeutron A bit contrived and with plenty of plot holes, but maybe worth seeing once. 3 stars
4/17/03 Barb - anger management candidate :-) Not as bad as everyone is saying. Has some funny moments from 2 actors who can DO anger. 3 stars
4/17/03 George Jung One of the fucking worst fucking movies that I fucking ever fucking saw. 1 stars
4/17/03 snowconehead It's Sandler, you get what you pay for, what were you expecting? 4 stars
4/15/03 Andrew Carden Celebrity Cameos Are The Only Good Thing About This Unfunny Sandler Flick. 2 stars
4/15/03 srburns There were some good moments, worth matinee price 3 stars
4/14/03 C W This movie doesn't deserve the one star it gets for being "total crap" 1 stars
4/13/03 Adam Sandler's Brain Well, it was a lot better then the water boy... 1 stars
4/13/03 Melanie This movie is funny as hell!!! 5 stars
4/12/03 syrius funny, but little nicky made more sense than this 3 stars
4/12/03 Forsaken Very Funny, sure as heck the best pure comedy Sandler has made in some time 4 stars
4/11/03 Earl Dittman - Wireless Magazine More feces from the Master of Turds! Enjoy, moviegoers! 1 stars
4/11/03 Open Wide! Adam Sandler sucks the big, wet log. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Apr-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast