Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.34

Awesome37.31%
Worth A Look: 19.4%
Just Average: 7.46%
Pretty Crappy: 11.19%
Sucks: 24.63%

10 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Very Bad Things
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"The movie you never thought you'd see."
4 stars

"Very Bad Things," as a comedy, isn't all that funny. There are a couple of ha-ha moments, but the humor works in a different way. It's the same juice that runs through "Reservoir Dogs" and "Glengarry Glen Ross"--so, instead of passing this one off as simple shock porn, scratch it down under the "Profane Tough Guys Get in a Rough Situation and People End up Dead" category.

A very fine entry it is. Christian Slater heads a group of yuppies who stage a drugged out bachelor party in Sin City and end up with a couple of dead bodies on their hands. When said corpses are buried deep in the desert, they return to their peaceful suburban homes and try to forget the whole ordeal ever happened.

But it don't work like that. Guilt is a strong motherfucker, especially when you have a few loose threads that could unravel the entire bundle. One things leads to another, the bodies pile up--you know how the story goes.

You know the story, but you've never seen it like this. "Very Bad Things" is a violent, hyperactive little film that, unlike its cousins, tucks in a solid twist every fifteen or so minutes. It's a rather nervewracking experience, and the action alone would make this an interesting movie.

But the tough guy sun rises and sets on language, and the consistently clever verbal spitballs are what keep "Very Bad Things" interesting. Writer/director Peter Berg has written a rather amazing script--proper amounts irony, sarcasm, and insults all blended together for maximum bloodletting (figuratively AND literally).

Also to the film's advantage is Berg's directorial style. Very cool. It kind of dips halfway through the film, but it's an artistic-reasons thing. The Vegas segments are all slightly skewed and strange looking, to enhance the confusion. When we return to suburbia, the tone goes a bit flat, but it fits. So we won't complain too much, eh?

"Very Bad Things," in all honesty, ain't a masterpiece. But it's a good time. It goes farther, and has more balls, than most films of its kind. Just kinda ignore the occasional faults and revel in the fact that a big studio actually paid for this.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=745&reviewer=123
originally posted: 12/31/99 02:30:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/04/19 CARTER BEST DARK COMEDY OF ALL TIME 5 stars
7/27/18 Rick Savages the Facebook mentality. Couldn't stop laughing. 5 stars
9/16/17 morris campbell unpleasant & boring & point less pure trash 1 stars
5/19/13 Tim Sardonic, very dark, and misunderstood, the macabre humor grabbed me in a second viewing. 4 stars
7/05/10 PAUL SHORTT GRUESOME, GRIM BLACK COMEDY 1 stars
7/04/09 mr.mike These things always lose steam towards the end, still well done. 4 stars
8/18/08 Shaun Wallner This Film was well made!! 5 stars
10/25/07 Mr SK Has to be seen at least twice... if not 3 or 4 times - great movie. 5 stars
12/28/06 ben_a I thought I was the only one who got this movie. Great movie! 5 stars
5/05/06 dionwr Haven't seen it 3 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A I should probably watch this again... 3 stars
5/01/06 David Cornelius ----- 3 stars
5/01/06 HBS-SH paper st. mayhem 4 stars
4/12/06 joe arbuckle Even the 'normal' stuff is hilarious. Even better when you dont know the premise! Whizzers 5 stars
6/06/05 R.C.F. The longer I'm watching this one, the less I care what the whole absurd bloodbath is about. 1 stars
2/19/05 Jeff Anderson Sick insanity DONE RIGHT! Great performances, directing & script TRULY TRIUMPH!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/08/04 Mitch De Costa Very Bad Things - Not to be forgotten 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff was this supposded to be a comedy or horror flick?? 1 stars
6/23/04 the bride GO HOME YOU FUCKING MURDERER! 5 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley FUCKING WHIZZERS!!!! 5 stars
10/19/03 Josh Standlee Christian Slater played the best damn psycho he could! Bravo! 5 stars
9/04/03 eddie it was good because i say so - BOOYAH 5 stars
8/26/03 AD fucking awful 1 stars
6/29/03 B Boring as hell. Not the least bit entertaining. 1 stars
3/31/03 Rebecca Hated it the 1st viewing; Loved it by the 3rd viewing 5 stars
3/15/03 123 a dark disturbing brutal fucked up movie with some characters 4 stars
3/09/03 Stevo very bad film. ok, predictable line, but this is SHIT 1 stars
7/19/02 Film Dude No Caligula, I will not cut my throat and die. 5 stars
6/08/02 Kyle Dark as fuck. 5 stars
4/19/02 R.W. Welch Black comedy that's too black to be a comedy; Aptly named. 2 stars
3/29/02 fjkdljskfds the most FRUSTRATING movie ever, and i LIKE dark comedy. wanted to walk out. 1 stars
2/28/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Why waste Cameron Diaz on a role that Ashley Judd would envy? 2 stars
2/21/02 CCPunk PIece of shit movie with no understanding about what makes dark comedy still comedy 2 stars
11/15/01 Geto Smurf Now THIS is comedy. 5 stars
7/31/01 KA Fucking Wizzers! Wizzers! 4 stars
7/07/01 Caligula IF YOU THINK THIS IS GOOD CUT YOUR THROAT AND DIE! 1 stars
7/06/01 SBM Shocking and very messed up! Great if you can HANDLE & UNDERSTAND dark comedy! 5 stars
5/06/01 Louis Really fucked up 5 stars
3/27/01 Monster W. Kung Mediocre attempt at satire with tiresome cliches all over it. Plus, the end sucks. Badly. 2 stars
2/18/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Very Poor Taste. But it had a few (albeit sick) laughs, and an above average soundtrack. 4 stars
2/12/01 Jake Way too dark macabre for my taste. Though Stern was hilarious in scene about the Whizzers. 2 stars
9/02/00 Boyo You have to approach this knowing it's not totally serious. It's blackest of black comedy 5 stars
5/29/00 natasha funny parts overwhelmed by pointless murder, maiming, and dismemberment 2 stars
5/18/00 Richard Wright Gory, disgusting and morally dubious film without a witty or decent bone in its body. 1 stars
4/13/00 Pyro I was drunk, but it had nudity and sensless violence!! 5 stars
3/06/00 J. Alán Blankenship Deliciously deviant and grotesque...I loved every minute of it! 4 stars
2/11/00 Steve Layne I liked it better in the theatre, but I still think its a very entertaining black comedy. 4 stars
10/18/99 JonnyAngel Very Bad Movie (ha ha, that was too easy) 1 stars
9/16/99 mr. pink lesson learned: violence and shouting are not enough for a good dark comedy. 2 stars
8/09/99 Kat savage fun 5 stars
6/28/99 Steve Bashakus There's a big fucking difference between "very dark" and just plain shitty. Bite me. 1 stars
6/25/99 David Offensive is fine as long as it's funny...SHOUTING IS NOT FUNNY 1 stars
6/10/99 The Bomb 69 over the top in some places but funny in most 4 stars
3/16/99 Ah Dooey Not bad, but a really good warped movie. 5 stars
3/12/99 Cool Thing No guffaws, but many guilty chuckles. Enjoyed this immensely. 5 stars
2/27/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Very,Very Dark,more so than Pulp Fiction,some funny bits but very depressing. 4 stars
2/08/99 chuck-d damn. funny. laughed out loud for two hours 4 stars
1/11/99 cynthia truly disturbing. but very good.i would see again 5 stars
1/08/99 crc loved it. if you're a prude, you'll hate it. what's so dark about it? funnyfunny and unique 5 stars
1/03/99 Lauren Baker Okay, so, I got the "dark" part, but where did the "comedy" part come in?Run from this. 1 stars
12/23/98 Chip Sprague Funniest Movie Ever (If you can laugh at death) 5 stars
12/12/98 kozmic great movie for those who like to see how a situation can get shockingly worse,it was fun 5 stars
12/11/98 frank the most twisted movie i've ever seen. 5 stars
12/11/98 Daddy Rich I enjoyed it up until the very end. Other than that, pretty entertaining and funny. 4 stars
12/10/98 Bryan Incredibly hateful and unfunny movie! 1 stars
12/06/98 cyanide rush i almost fell over laughing on the way out of the theater(the little kid called him a gimp! 5 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Cameron Diaz is the film's only bright spot. 3 stars
12/03/98 Jeff C. It was poor. It got boring fast. It was fun to see CD as a total bitch. 2 stars
11/30/98 The Dude This movie was so fucking funny i almost pissed my pants thinking about it on the way home 5 stars
11/29/98 Johny Scores points with me for it's "screw-em if they can't take a joke" attitude 5 stars
11/24/98 Freyja Oh yeah, killing chicks while fucking them is fucking hilarious. har har! OK, it WAS funny! 2 stars
11/16/98 StenoHead Not at all for pussies. 4 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool I just saw a preview of Very Bad Things... oh my god... it rocked! 5 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee Loved this film. Lots of great performances, great writing-directing from a debutant. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Nov-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Feb-1999 (R)


Directed by
  Peter Berg

Written by
  Peter Berg

Cast
  Christian Slater
  Cameron Diaz
  Jon Favreau
  Jeremy Piven
  Daniel Stern
  Jeanne Tripplehorn



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast