Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.12

Awesome: 12.2%
Worth A Look: 21.95%
Just Average39.02%
Pretty Crappy: 19.51%
Sucks: 7.32%

2 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Clear and Present Danger
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Willem Dafoe has weird teeth."
2 stars

Nope.

I still can't see Harrison Ford as Jack Ryan. This movie didn't help.

This time, Jack's acting director of the CIA. The president decides to use a secret commando force (led by Willem Dafoe) to eliminate a drug cartel. Ryan's kept in the dark. When it all goes to hell, the team gets left in Columbia, Dafoe goes apeshit, and Ryan gets left holding the bag.

It's based on the Tom Clancy novel of the same name (sorta - Clancy was displeased with this filmed version, as he was with Patriot Games), so it's loaded with a whole lot of neat techno toys, high tech weapons like smart bombs and voice identification systems. There's political intrigue and doublecrosses and government officials who are really bad guys (shocking, I know).

But it doesn't work.

Too long by a half an hour, and little in the way of characterization or plot. It's the weakest of the three Clancy adaptations.

Just rent Hunt For Red October instead.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=759&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/23/98 10:42:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/13/16 carl J A classy thriller with Ford on great form. 5 stars
8/27/12 roscoe RATHER A BORE 3 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT FAST-MOVING, INTELLIGENT, EFFECTIVE ENTERTAINMENT 3 stars
11/02/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting Movie! 3 stars
9/20/08 hector awesome film 5 stars
2/22/06 Naka A tight, well-constructed thriller. Entertaining stuff. 4 stars
8/25/05 ES so'k it bores in places and has few good moments 3 stars
6/07/05 Indrid Cold A solid but completely unremarkable Clancy thriller. 3 stars
4/14/05 Raymond Montoya a wonderful movie. 5 stars
3/25/05 me I bloody well loved the book, that's probably why I merely liked the film 3 stars
3/14/05 Ronin not the best movie ever, but still worth a look especially if you like Clancy's books. 4 stars
2/20/05 Captain Craig If you not too tired of drug trafficing plots, this was exciting and well done. 4 stars
5/31/04 C_D almost as good as hunt for red october...better than sum of all fears. 4 stars
1/17/04 John just very dull 2 stars
1/18/03 Artist Freak LAME LAME LAME. Contrived, formulaic snoozer. Crapola with 1-dimensional characters. 2 stars
12/30/02 Jack Sommersby Arid, lifeless actioner. Ford is granitic; Dafoe superb. 1 stars
7/11/02 KMG You've got to be in the right mood to watch this movie: senator or congressman 3 stars
2/04/02 Andrew Carden Pretty Clever Movie. Has Twist and Turns and A Few Shocks. 4 stars
2/03/02 R.W. Welch Sets up well, then falls into formula schtick. 3 stars
10/23/01 jawsboy good stuff!!! 4 stars
7/31/01 TLsmooth Ben Leofuck, that is why they give you a rating system nimrod. 4 stars
4/23/01 Robb Mancini One of a Kind, What other movie has that much good stuff. 5 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla another classic example of an excellent book being ripped apart, by dumbass screenwriters!! 1 stars
6/30/00 Bruce Suspenseful and full of action, one of Ford's best 5 stars
12/06/99 Martin Thomas suspenseful, but too long 4 stars
11/05/99 Anthony Ellis This is a very disappointing and lacklustre movie. I expected a lot more. 1 stars
7/04/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ** (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 3 stars
10/26/98 Silent Rob My fave of the Jack Ryan flicks, but that ain't saying much 3 stars
9/04/98 Badass Slick and very entertaining. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Aug-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast