Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome: 18.8%
Worth A Look: 31.62%
Just Average33.33%
Pretty Crappy: 9.4%
Sucks: 6.84%

10 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Ronin
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"The pieces are here, but they're not put together."
3 stars

Close, but not quite.

Robert DeNiro as action star?

Sorta.

Ronin tries to be a thinking action thriller: a group of post-cold war intelligence agents come together for a top secret job. They've got to take a silver suitcase (?) and deliver it to their benfactor. Making up the misfit group are Sam (DeNiro), the ex-CIA agent who assumes a leadership role; Dierdre (Natascha McElhone), the woman who brought the group together; Larry (Skipp Sudduth), the driver; Gregor (Stellan Skarsgard), the computer whiz; Spence (Sean Bean) the weapons guy; and Vincent (Jean Reno), the go-to guy. The group must take the case. They just don't know what's in the case.

What follows is a series of doublecrosses between members of the group and various outside forces. Ronin (meaning a samurai who has lost his master) tries to be too many things at once. It's got a story almost straight out of Mission: Impossible (complete with Reno), and a bunch of exotic locales (Italy and - ugh - Paris). What it doesn't have is comprehension. The story's a mess. One doublecross after another, without explanation or anything. It just sort of happens. Two characters end up together without any kind of foreshadowing, making me wonder if the writer said, "Hey, let's have Bobby get some!"

As thrillers go, Ronin's light. There's not much suspense, but the action sequences are pretty well done. The movie boasts what is probably the greatest car chase sequence ever filmed. But it's not enough.

Better than most of the summer action movie fare, but still missing something.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=76&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/28/98 09:31:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell decent no more no less 3 stars
5/15/10 the dork knight Stodgy and lethargic. I guess that makes it a "thinking man's" thriller, eh. 3 stars
8/28/09 Jeff Wilder Intelligent action film. A cut above standard issue crapola. 4 stars
4/16/07 action movie fan very good action thriller-genuine car chases insted of cgi 5 stars
9/30/06 ProSneakyD Boring and nothing but car crap chases 2 stars
8/16/06 Eric Rountree Features one of the all time best (REAL) car chases 4 stars
5/25/06 William Goss Not nearly as clever as it wants (or needs) to be, but those car chases! 4 stars
1/06/06 steve newman I still dont understand what happened under the bridge - otherwise good 4 stars
9/18/05 Robs It may have this flaws, but it's still a good action/thriller film. 4 stars
8/10/05 ES I hated car chases until i saw this film, stellar cast 5 stars
4/19/05 Indrid Cold Solid action, but nothing to write home about. 3 stars
10/23/04 UMER good action-good acting-good plot-good direction-good movie 4 stars
9/17/04 Anarchist_101 It's underrated... IT AINT ALL THAT BAD~! 4 stars
6/14/04 Rachit Vats Absolutely smashing movie 5 stars
6/03/04 R.W. Welch Overdoes the car chase stuff. Otherwise, reasonably effective. 3 stars
5/17/04 The More You Know Streamlined warrior tale "without the cuts and knicks of a blade." 5 stars
4/05/04 Agent Sands Mr. Hat's right. Action's good but a halfwit could write the whole script in about 2 hours. 3 stars
2/18/04 Vince Excellent action flick. Highly recommended. 5 stars
2/15/04 homer i thought it was rather entertaining myself 4 stars
1/07/04 Ron Excellent, realistic (from true experience) 5 stars
12/04/03 john a thinling man's action movie - powerful and with a good story and a great cast 5 stars
7/05/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back MoFos!!!) Rug-fiber-thin plotline, characters R flat, car chases & shootouts are pretty cool. 3 stars
4/09/03 ToDD This movie is a action packed monkey suit 4 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Uninvolving, dull thriller. Cast is sleepwalking, and the chase scenes are lame. 1 stars
1/04/03 R.W. Welch Par for the course actioner; would have been better on a smaller budget. 3 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum I needed an interpreter just to plow through all the accents 3 stars
8/15/02 Scott DeNiro played his part well. Loved the chases. Highly Underrated 5 stars
3/01/02 Jake Took way too long to develop and I switched channels. 1 stars
6/04/01 Bront My advice to Guide2Film, go watch a fucking disney movie, one of the greatest thrillers eve 5 stars
3/31/01 Monster W. Kung One of De Niro's worst. If you wanna see him in a good movie, look elsewhere. 2 stars
10/30/00 maksim awsome fucking movie, really worth seeing 5 stars
10/28/00 steven hargreaves best car chases. If it had a shoot out like heat it would be a must see 4 stars
10/10/00 P. Rodriguez Dammit now I want and AUDI. If anyone's selling............ 4 stars
6/28/00 Terrie Smith DeNiro and Reno are good; McElhone is cold as ice. Good car chases. 4 stars
6/24/00 Naushad Khanji Better than Matrix.Chases are lame.Action is watered down 2 stars
4/06/00 Gremlin You guys suck, this movie kicked ass. Best car chases I've seen for a long time! 5 stars
10/10/99 Weird Andy Mamet sucks Satan's pecker again. Not a bad movie, though. Well crafted autopilot fun. 4 stars
9/12/99 Fast Mover This is an excellent action/plot twist video rental. The night guns purchase, ensuing gun b 5 stars
9/05/99 BBReBozo Car chases. Guns go boom. Deniro. Reno. Hot Irish chick. What the hell else you want? 5 stars
7/15/99 bridgette exciting at times 4 stars
5/08/99 Rudiger Fortesque III Good car chases, excellent shootings, okay plot 4 stars
4/04/99 Cool Thing Great cast wasted. What happened to that Irish guy? Disappeared. 3 stars
2/20/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Car-chases take over plot,originality and story,De Niro looks in need of sleep. 3 stars
2/19/99 Piz a Mission Impossible-esque film with plenty more action. What was in that box? 4 stars
1/19/99 donkey_dew ARE YOU GUYS NUTS? THIS MOVIE WAS AWESOME. DE NIRO IS AWESOME. AWESOME. 5 stars
12/05/98 tj great car chases...de niro is the man...but just doesn't quite have it 3 stars
12/02/98 Kirgo Incredibly disappointing. Tons of ideas fromother films don't make a compelling script! 2 stars
12/02/98 superkip its not great, but the car chases alone make it worth seeing 4 stars
11/24/98 Fred If you're gonna pop civilians, give the bad guys a really ingenious death, I always say. 3 stars
11/16/98 Jeff C. Hate to say anything bad about a movie with such a good cast but it really was very poor 2 stars
11/03/98 The Dude one of the best trillers I've seen in a long time 5 stars
10/24/98 BBReBozo Car chases, shmar shmases. The ending was the best part. 5 stars
10/23/98 Christ Monkey Fucking amazing car chases, and little else. 3 stars
10/22/98 Daddy Rich I thought it was pretty good. I loved the car chases. 4 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons "Ronin" just has cliched, cliched, cliched written all over it. 3 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Tries so hard to be a controlled exercise in paranoia that it completely fails to entertain 3 stars
8/29/98 {{{OZ}}} An action film with a lot of plot twists. The thinking man's Lethal Weapon. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Sep-1998 (R)
  DVD: 09-May-2006

UK
  20-Nov-1998 (15)
  DVD: 01-Feb-2000

Australia
  04-Feb-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast