Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.89

Awesome: 20.37%
Worth A Look: 14.81%
Just Average: 14.81%
Pretty Crappy33.33%
Sucks: 16.67%

3 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Airheads
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Sandler plays dumb. Shocking."
1 stars

Who'd win in a fight, Lemmy or God?

Coming in 1994, long after heavy metal's salad days were over, Airheads was oddly out of place, even as a showcase for a bunch of folks from Saturday Night Live.

A band takes over a radio station in hopes that hearing their song on the radio will make record executives take notice and sign them to a recording contract.

OK, sure. Because that's much easier than getting an agent.

Brendan Fraser, Steve Buscemi and Adam Sandler are the band in question (The Lone Rangers...get it? There's three of them, yet they're The Lone Rangers? See? And they're stupid, and they're at a radio station, thus the title Airheads? Get it?) and while there's an occasional joke or two (although two does seem rather high) that's actually funny, for the most part it's an exercise in lameness. Michael Richards continues to coast on his Seinfeld work, although Chris Farley doesn't seem to embarrass himself too much. Granted, he hadn't made Beverly Hills Ninja, yet.

You can actually see the embarrassment on Joe Mantegna's face whenever he's on screen.

There's cameos from Rob Zombie and Lemmy (from Motorhead, for all you non-headbangers out there) but the novelty wears off instantly.

Trick question. Lemmy is God. Too bad Lemmy didn't have the common sense to not be associated with this movie in any way.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=760&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/28/98 10:30:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/01/14 josie cotton is a goddess Hit and miss 3 stars
1/29/10 PAUL SHORTT DULL-WITTED COMEDY WITH DIM-WITTED CHARACTERS 1 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr i thouhgt this movie was really funny! sure it was dumb, but it was dumb-funny! 4 stars
7/07/06 NS It is bad... 2 stars
5/01/06 Anthony Feor The adjective to use for this film is Terrible 1 stars
8/16/05 ES entertaining, on the same level as empire records 4 stars
1/29/05 Jeff Anderson Really funny. Fraser, Buscemi, & Sandler are delights. Amy Locane is a HOT STUNNER!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/21/04 James This movie was so freaking funny and I watch it everytime its on tv and I bought it. 5 stars
10/25/03 Samuel The Lone Rangers ? How can the be Lone if their is 3 of them ? ha ha 3 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink for a Sandler movie, it was okay. Buscemi en Fraser made it watchable 3 stars
4/06/03 Jack Sommersby Lacks an edge, but it's painlessly passable. Locane really shines as Fraser's girlfriend. 3 stars
9/05/02 Chancey Thunderpants Okay movie. I found Sandler to be at his least annoying here. 2 stars
3/19/02 Aborted Gently Not much I can say. It was just a sad attempt... 2 stars
3/02/02 Butterbean A surprisingly funny movie! Buscemi seems to fit in anything he does 4 stars
2/10/02 Cat This Movie Was Fucking Great! 5 stars
12/06/01 john smith its a cool movie 5 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat Kinda funny, but listening to the soundtrack is like clogging your ears w/ elephant shit. 3 stars
7/28/01 Riff Randall Fucking excellent movie, very funny !!!! 5 stars
7/27/01 Chazz Rock and Roll at it's best 5 stars
6/06/01 King Jackass I dont care what you think of me, but I liked this movie! 4 stars
5/09/01 Mike Well, it didn't offend me at all, and I laughed more than once. Why hate it? 4 stars
3/25/01 seth it is funny 5 stars
1/22/01 Dov Haselkorn Fucking Awesome, Man!! 5 stars
9/28/00 Peter Joseph Johnson I thought it was pretty O.K. 4 stars
9/10/99 Jason Kinsey i laughed a few times. not great, tho'. 2 stars
7/25/99 kj adam sandler is such a cutie! 5 stars
4/17/99 jimmy jam A little slow but I thought it was still pretty funny. Good for a rainy day 4 stars
3/17/99 Madcap Lemmy was editor of his school newspaper?? scary 3 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Blech. How humiliating. Why do this? 2 stars
10/24/98 Negative Creep The Lone Rangers Kick ASSĄ Too bad this Movie didnt ;) Even had a boring soundtrack. 3 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Adam finally has a personality, not a board anymore. 5 stars
9/11/98 kanatcha hey i like it! 5 stars
9/08/98 Johny Pretty lame for the most part, tried to be too hip I guess. 2 stars
8/31/98 cheryl_ann buscemi doing a movie like this....that just scared me. 3 stars
8/31/98 MikeF I liked it. it was funny. 4 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee How embarrassing. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Aug-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1995 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast