Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome40%
Worth A Look: 24%
Just Average: 16%
Pretty Crappy: 16%
Sucks: 4%

8 reviews, 52 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Down with Love
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"Down With Love Isn't That Adorable"
3 stars

Down With Love is a valiant attempt at recreating the Doris Day, Rock Hudson era, but this is one movie that didn't pop the cork on my champagne bottle. This movie had everything and they still blew it. The sets, costumes, music; it was all perfect -- the mood was sublime. But then towards the end of the movie Renee Zellweger's character Barbara Novak opens her mouth just a little too wide --- breaking one of the cardinal rules of Rock Hudson and Doris Day movies.

Barbara Novak (Zellweger) is an author of a book entitled Down With Love encouraging women to have sex like men -- IE without feelings and attachment and to stand up for themselves becoming equals to men at home and in the workplace.


Catcher Block (Ewan McGregor) is the man about town and has a girl on every corner...he's perfected his method of bedding women and boasts to his friend Peter MacMannus (David Hyde Pierce) that it only takes him ten minutes to seal the deal in his bachelor pad rigged with all the right amenities to get a woman in the mood.


Pierce's performance really is the best one in the movie with McGregor a close second and Zellweger in third. Pierce is dead on with his conglomerate impressions Tony Randall's characters (Randall also has a cameo in the movie). Pierce's slightly neurotic but lovable character almost steals the whole movie.


Vikki Hiller (Sarah Paulson) uses the term nerdy cute to describe MacMannus. Hiller is Novak's editor and confidante in the movie. Hiller and MacMannus tango their way through the movie echoing Novak and Block's cat and mouse game of who can pull one over on who better. It's an I know you know I know type deal in which they try not to let the other person know that they know in order to one up them further.


Confused Yet -- By the time you get to the climax you will be. Although I like to refer to it as the anti-climax because after that it all just went down hill. I just really wasn't satisfied at all. It's kinda like when you're watching a really great movie/show/book whatever and you find out the whole thing was done in a dream sequence..the whole thing just kind of deflates and runs out of steam. Well that's what this movie is like. They go so far off track there is no way to get the train back on the rails again.


Other than that it was great the set designers, costumers and all technical aspects are to be commended -- Fabulous. I just have a problem with the story. Doris never outsmarts Rock, it's just not supposed to be that way.

The sad part is I LOVE ROMANTIC COMEDIES but this ship is going DOWN. My advice go rent PILLOW TALK and set sail for happier seas.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=7652&reviewer=88
originally posted: 05/25/03 03:49:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Tribeca Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Tribeca Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

2/19/11 Ark Fun! Brilliant colors, plus that monologue of hers at the end ROCKS! 4 stars
7/11/09 the dork knight Hope you like sex-related puns. Only DHP saves it. 3 stars
9/30/07 Mable Cowpie A nice parody of the era - entertaining 4 stars
12/15/06 Ika Brilliant! The Actors, the plot, the movie! Awesome! 5 stars
10/26/06 Rio Was great up until they decided that love was good. 3 stars
6/10/05 Lucy Catcher Block Rocks my Socks! 5 stars
5/27/05 Lacey Very well done, flawless casting, great twist at the end. 5 stars
4/29/05 Alyson I say the best romantic comedy since Grease! 5 stars
9/23/04 Temenouzhka Zaharieva - ID and journalist According to the quality os set design my rating is 5 5 stars
9/14/04 random* fantastic send-up- um, fellow commenters, you missed the joke 5 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva Pathetic all that to get a guy 2 stars
6/03/04 Elizabeth Jewell Everything this woman accomplished was for love of this jerk? Say it ain't so. 2 stars
5/29/04 The More You Know The pepto bismol film formula always makes me nauseous. 1 stars
5/06/04 Amy Wardle It was funny in a way that it was so lame you had to laugh. 2 stars
4/16/04 Michael Greenwaldt A smart, fun, stylish, and underrated film! 4 stars
2/15/04 Jim Michaels Satirizes the 60's uptight, yet zany style without succumbing to derision or delusion. 5 stars
1/24/04 Ryan Think that is was just awesome! Perfect casting... 5 stars
10/07/03 Sarah Attention dumb people, this movie is a remake of Pillow Talk (1959) 4 stars
10/05/03 Ali Ali Oxygen Free Renee Zellweger&Ewan McGregor ain't no Doris Day&Rock Hudson! No way! Nohow! 2 stars
10/04/03 Stephanie Throckmorton Wanders into all territory, none that it doesn't see fit to overkill. 2 stars
10/02/03 Troy Butler 4.5 stars, ... a great fun movie!!! If only more romantic comedies were made this well!!! 5 stars
9/21/03 Ray Loved it! Up with Down With Love! Doris and Rock would have got a chuckle out of it too! 5 stars
9/02/03 chloe I LOVED it and didn't expect to at all, now I'm hunting out the old Doris Day films 5 stars
8/19/03 murphy daniels snif snif sooo bewdiful 5 stars
8/16/03 Nicole Absolutely fantastic 5 stars
8/14/03 Paul Dempsey When a Hollywpod star promotes film in Oz you know it's a dud. 2 stars
8/12/03 Nancy295 Fun but not the real thing. Ewan and Renee should work together again. 4 stars
7/24/03 Kelly Attention dumb people:Ewan & Renee are NOT SUPPOSED to be playing Rock & Doris! 5 stars
7/20/03 Verbal Me Excellent movie, refreshing and hilarious! 5 stars
7/11/03 ali ali oxygen free Renee Zellweger&Ewan McGregor ain't no Doris Day&Rock Hudson! No way! Nohow! 2 stars
7/10/03 Stephanie Throckmorton Wanders into all territory, none that it doesn't see fit to overkill. 2 stars
7/08/03 natasha_theobald witty, well-acted, briskly paced, good when it's naughty fun 5 stars
6/28/03 Titus As a romatic comedy, this is absolutely tops. Great script 5 stars
6/10/03 Brannie Herez Brannie, This movie looks sooo bad that i wont even bother to pay for movie tickets. 1 stars
6/02/03 E. Allen This was a fantastic movie! It kept me smiling long after I left the theater! 5 stars
5/30/03 San Alexandra Great mavie! I loved the whole back in the 60's thing even though i'm only 14. 5 stars
5/28/03 Emily I love Ewan, this was a great movie! 5 stars
5/28/03 Dalian et rae Read the book -- this works more in literary format 3 stars
5/26/03 wintermute A pretty package with nothing inside 2 stars
5/24/03 Full Throtle Ahead Really funny movie! Everything about it was great! 5 stars
5/23/03 Nancy Niedzielski call me a hopelessly Down-with-Love girl, but this was a waste of 94 minutes of my life 2 stars
5/22/03 peter nnnnnnnnnn 1 stars
5/21/03 Todd something you could sit through 3 stars
5/21/03 Jai I never thought this movie would be as good as it was! 5 stars
5/20/03 Emmy Really great and funny! 5 stars
5/20/03 Kim (not Novak) Excellent--a silly movie for smart people. Perfect from start to finish. 5 stars
5/20/03 Dick BAD 1 stars
5/19/03 Rover Brilliant!! Funny! DHP is awesome! 5 stars
5/19/03 Michelle B Loved it. Ewan and Renee are hilarious. 5 stars
5/19/03 v.e.r. rz &emc were both terrific in playing their roles also the film was very amusung. 4 stars
5/18/03 holli I'll never again be satisfied with predictable, lifeless, modern day romantic comedies! 5 stars
5/18/03 George Jung Holy Fuck...best fucking movie of the fucking year so fucking far. Fucking amazing. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-May-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Aug-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast