Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.45

Awesome: 17.46%
Worth A Look: 5.56%
Just Average: 24.6%
Pretty Crappy: 9.52%
Sucks42.86%

6 reviews, 90 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"More of the same, but duller."
3 stars

I am pretty sure everything that happens in "Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle" is impossible. The characters exist in a world where the gravity is enforced haphazardly at best, and where the laws of physics in general are treated with outrageous disrespect.

The title heroines, in particular - private detectives, though that doesn't begin to describe their real duties - cannot be killed, no matter how many times they are shot at or hit or dropped from great heights. As befitting a trio with apparently superhuman strength and regenerative powers, the Angels do not fear death.

If you thought "Charlie's Angels" was a respite from the slew of superhero films this summer, think again. These are a new breed of comic book character, the kind that came from a cheesecake '70s TV drama rather than from graphic novels.

I was a fan of the 2000 film to which this is a sequel, which had the same cast of Drew Barrymore, Cameron Diaz and Lucy Liu, and the same director, McG. It succeeded because rather than reverencing its unintentionally stupid source material, it mocked it, embraced it and ran with it. It went over the top, which is where "Charlie's Angels" needed to go.

The sequel, though, is just more of the same, and the novelty has worn off. Once you've gone over the top, the only place to go is down the other side. What happens in "Full Throttle" is SO ridiculous, SO incredible, that the film cannot sustain itself for its running time, and it doesn't help that there is little cleverness in what the Angels do in terms of silly disguises or ingenious fighting tactics. Remember in the first film when Drew Barrymore fought a crowd while tied to a chair? There's nothing even resembling that kind of resourceful wit in the sequel.

In case you care, the Angels this time are looking for two rings that, when put together, reveal the identities of everyone in the FBI's Witness Protection Program. They've fallen into the wrong hands, and witnesses are dying. Et cetera.

Bernie Mac is characteristically funny as the Angels' boss, Bosley (the brother of Bill Murray's character in the first film; don't ask how), and Demi Moore is a campy, luminous presence as Madison, a former Angel now working for herself - but neither is given enough to do. Ditto poor John Cleese, wasted as Liu's father, showing up for nothing more than a bit of "Three's Company"-style farce-via-misunderstanding.

McG, whose feature debut was "Charlie's Angels," demonstrates an exciting visual style in both films, and it goes a long way toward making this one passably entertaining. But a clearer focus of purpose is necessary. What made the first film work? It was not one scene after another of the Angels fighting in the same old repetitive way, that's for sure.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=7673&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/29/03 14:23:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

10/11/10 simon loved the first one, hated this! it's insultingly stupid!!!! 1 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King Few films are worse than this one. 1 stars
5/10/08 drydock54321 just as bad as the first one 2 stars
12/25/06 johnnyfog With Sam Rockwell gone, all thats left is Demi pretending she's gay. SHIT 1 stars
10/30/06 Jimmey-Cheen Taking crap to a new level!!! If there was a 0 star selection I'd take it!!! 1 stars
7/20/06 Anthony Feor I am going to say pass 3 stars
5/25/06 William Goss Crosses the line between dumb fun and just plain dumb that made the first so entertaining. 3 stars
2/04/06 Shawn Gadberry What went wrong after such a great C.A.#1? Blah... 3 stars
10/16/05 Hamster W. Lung Gave me anal warts 1 stars
9/27/05 Jonathon Holmes Moore, Diaz, Barrymore and Liu cant save this mess 2 stars
9/01/05 ES Bernie! Why?!? Not even you could save this cretinous lump of crap 1 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy What in God's name was that? 1 stars
4/25/05 E-FUNK A limp-dick end to a repulsive franchise hopeful. I'm actually glads this was made. 1 stars
3/02/05 Laurie Le Blanc Crispin Glove/Thin Man's cameo is the only reason to see this movie! 3 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams thank GOD I didnt pay to watch this. 1 stars
8/26/04 ranger4e Unless you are into T&A, avoid. 1 stars
7/31/04 DM Good Lord, what have I done? 1 stars
7/19/04 Kill Charlie Holy crap was this move godawful. One of the worst ever. Avoid avoid avoid. 1 stars
7/19/04 axe warped and on speed captain! zzzzzzz@!@!@!ssssssss 3 stars
6/11/04 DJ ERIC 88 the motorcycle scenes rocked! THE BEST OF THE2 MOVIES! 5 stars
5/28/04 person I thought the film was eye catching and fun! 4 stars
5/25/04 Daveman Painful 1 stars
5/14/04 Mortis None of these women can act enough to save their own lives! 1 stars
5/06/04 HorrorScribbler Amiable nonsense. I think it was a comedy ... 3 stars
3/21/04 Natalie's good a second time, but... Helen treats audience like toilet paper -- they hafta take lots of shit off Helen Zass! 1 stars
1/28/04 EIHFHIS I saw Cameron in a BIKINI!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/26/04 lonesome_whistle Unbelieveably stupid - someone owes me $8.50! 1 stars
1/23/04 esther the worst film i saw last year 1 stars
1/20/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne First was good in very silly way, but Drew Barrymore sucks her won turds this time. 1 stars
1/07/04 A F Ok Lucy I love you but, you can do better than this heap. 2 stars
1/05/04 beautie never seen so much shithole heaped together 1 stars
12/20/03 Johnny Fay anyone who likes this movie should be killed!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/28/03 john how bad can a movie actually get? a new world record ladies and gentlemen! 1 stars
11/26/03 he a good film 3 stars
11/24/03 Thiago Cool movie, bu the first one was better. still, The angels are more comfortable now. 3 stars
11/22/03 Mary P-U Reinforced my dislike for Camer, disappointed in Drew's choice to be in this crapper. 1 stars
11/21/03 he a good film but not great 3 stars
10/10/03 !BoRiNg! Its was stupid and lame 1 stars
10/07/03 kizes_rose17@yahoo.com it was so fantastic movie!!great! 4 stars
9/24/03 Jenna Furr What a letdown that this is harpy vomit, after first was so delightfully absurd! 1 stars
9/14/03 Carrie Kohl First is stupid in a fun and funny way. This is just stupid. 1 stars
9/13/03 Monica I'd just as soon see a crocodile swallow Helen Zass whole! 1 stars
9/12/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Wish I could bury more of Drew's shitty flicks. Only Natalie was good this time. 1 stars
9/02/03 here beter then the first one 5 stars
9/01/03 Kitty B. u shoulda kept bill murray 1 stars
8/18/03 JJ from da block Where is freakin Kate, Jacky and Farrah dammit 1 stars
8/15/03 Red great 5 stars
8/12/03 Troy Butler Poor movie, ... but then again, ... that's not why we went to see it, now was it?! (Yummy)! 3 stars
8/09/03 Azza Mind numbing crap at its worst. 1 stars
7/30/03 nr GREAT I LOVED IT BETTER THEN THE FIRST 5 stars
7/28/03 Casey and Krissy The Movie Rules Mother Fuckers 5 stars
7/28/03 Charles Townsend This dissapointed even me!!!! 2 stars
7/23/03 Kooler Incoherant, occasionally fun. 3 stars
7/22/03 Shadaan Felfeli Jam packed with ridiculous impossibilities. Very entertaining ! 3 stars
7/21/03 Graham I didn't want to hit the director, which is as good as it gets this summer. Fun! 4 stars
7/21/03 Zargo not as good as the original.. still fun though 4 stars
7/18/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
7/17/03 Althalus The best movie so far this year. Matrix suck my d...k. 5 stars
7/16/03 Katie Roberts The 1st was gd fun, but this is complete crap, it has no story line, basically no point all 1 stars
7/15/03 sneaker Brainless? Yes. Fun? My word! It's Vin Diesel for girls. Fair's fair. 4 stars
7/10/03 Danielle Ophelia Filmed in loud strobes and hiccups...and a bit TOO Cameron-centric. Vastly underwhelming. 2 stars
7/09/03 Uncle Salty Charlies Fuglies: Demi is decent only since she is now a cyborg. 1 stars
7/08/03 Harpreet lots of T & A, not much plot. But I had a great time watching it and not having to think. 4 stars
7/07/03 nr GREAT I LOVED IT BETTER THEN THE FIRST 5 stars
7/07/03 Young critic junk...bottom line 1 stars
7/07/03 Todd Fuck you McG! Fuck you Camron! Fuck you Luci! and Fuck you Drew! Worst movie ever!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/07/03 Trevor Ashman I loved every minute of it 5 stars
7/07/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
7/06/03 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Maybe our worthy reviewers see something us regular ol' viewers don't? Maybe not. 1 stars
7/06/03 Mike Glorified music video. Visual style my ass, Snider. 1 stars
7/05/03 adhump sucked enough for me to think about leaving30 mins into it .... 1 stars
7/03/03 vkm007 I CANNOT BELIEVE I PAID MONEY 1 stars
7/02/03 rog bad 1 stars
7/02/03 John Linton Roberson Someday, "stupid" will not justify crap's existence. 1 stars
7/02/03 R. Elizabeth Caulfield This movie was excellent, very comedic, very predictable yet comedic and fun. 5 stars
7/01/03 black leather jacket Was a fun film! Crank on the serious side alittle and you'd get a better film! 5 stars
7/01/03 ddd great i loved it 5 stars
7/01/03 snowconehead McG needs a new McJob other than McDirecting 3 stars
6/30/03 KingNeutron This is a perfect example of how NOT to make an action movie. 1 stars
6/30/03 MJM103171 i enjoyed it (first was bettter though) 4 stars
6/30/03 Obi Wan no way!! 1 stars
6/30/03 Cameron Johnson This movie is nothing but mindless T and A with an absolutely motiveless plot. 1 stars
6/30/03 i know movies i loved it sooo much i dont no wut yall are talkin bout 5 stars
6/29/03 KCobain Horrid 1 stars
6/29/03 he I LOVED THIS FILM BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
6/28/03 ken real bad 1 stars
6/28/03 lebron avoid 1 stars
6/27/03 fdgdfgfd First movie was pretty bad, but this movie was even worse! 1 stars
6/27/03 The Kid Hollywood drivel at it worst. Even with four hot chicks mostly naked it was hard to watch. 1 stars
6/27/03 syrius eeehhhhh 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Jun-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Jul-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast