Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome: 12.04%
Worth A Look31.48%
Just Average: 25%
Pretty Crappy: 8.33%
Sucks: 23.15%

5 reviews, 78 user ratings



Stargate
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"James Spader looks like John Lennon. Eerie."
1 stars

"It's just a matter of getting the vowels right."

Crap.

Don't get me wrong, I'm a fan of Kurt Russell and all, but this movie blew chunks. It's not good sci-fi, which is even held to different standard than most film. What does Russell's character have to do? Look for danger, and if he finds any, blow the damn thing up.

That's it.

He's not supposed to see if the Stargate can lead to a place that is (or can be) inhabited by humans, or try and make contact.

Nope. Blow it up.

Because he's military, and that's what the military does.

Right.

But hey, it's a Roland Emmerich/Dean Devlin movie, so you've been warned.

Jaye Davidson looks like a burlesque drag queen rather than a sun god.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=770&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/14/98 10:45:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/05/14 Charles Tatum Just as cheesy as most of Emmerich's films 2 stars
7/28/10 Soni Much, much better than reviews say it is. 5 stars
5/28/09 xx- A nerd and some military fuck go to blow up some transsexual fag. WTF! 1 stars
5/07/09 true AWESOME! Little wonder it inspired a series. 5 stars
12/16/08 Man Out 6 Bucks Christofascism and gladiatorial sparring ruled by dull bureaucrats: A Caligula sequel 1 stars
4/26/08 Totir Alexandru Thanks to this movie I became a real Stargate fan. And I'm glad for this. 5 stars
1/01/08 Virgil Awful review, Scott, were you even paying attention? "Alien dog guys"? 3 stars
7/07/07 al smith solid sci fi.ryan arthur what a bell end 4 stars
4/17/07 Stevo The good: I laughed a lot. The bad: this isn't a comedy. stay the fuck away. 1 stars
3/21/07 45326 "bald weird guy"? ... this review is worth pennies. 4 stars
7/29/06 Ronin The colors provide nice atmosphere. Anyway not bad. 3 stars
5/30/06 Bryan McAllister love this movie..the series is even better 5 stars
3/09/06 Dk Its pretty good actually 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth So much wasted potential! The dull movie that spawned the neverending TV series 2 stars
8/12/05 ES Kurt Russell saves another almost terrible movie 3 stars
6/06/05 JD great idea but, movie a bit dissapointing, still worth seein once at least. 3 stars
5/14/05 Indrid Cold Feels exactly like a solid Sci-Fi channel movie. 3 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig Good Sci-Fi for its time. 4 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson STAR WARS LIKE QUIBBLES ASIDE, THIS IS ONE ENTERTAINING SCI-FI FILM WITH LOTS OF STYLE!!!!! 4 stars
2/02/05 Nick The show is better but the movie has better Jaffa in it. 4 stars
11/09/04 Westwood Incredible....Incredible... 5 stars
7/23/04 Valerie The movie is ok, but the TV series based on the movie, Stargate SG-1, is SUPERB! 3 stars
6/20/04 Rock Hound Ra! Ra! Ra! for the ancient Egyptians and their magical doughnuts! Exciting is not the word 2 stars
6/16/04 franknutz great movie see the directors cut and tv show 5 stars
6/05/04 alien assassin It may be silly, but it's nowhere near as bad as "Battlefield Earth" or "Waterworld" !!! 4 stars
4/26/04 Travis One of the best Sci-fi movies ever. Great plot, who else could have built the pyramids? 5 stars
1/18/04 jmsynth Don't know why I hate Stargate so much but I do. SG1 is even worse! 1 stars
12/05/03 john very boring sci fi movie - 1 stars
11/27/03 John if I can't sleep at night I put in this film and I'm snoring under the covers in 10 seconds 1 stars
8/04/03 I Would You don't feel any empathy for the lead characters, in fact I was rooting for Ra. 3 stars
7/25/03 Spunky001 An overall good sci fi movie for a family with young children 4 stars
6/30/03 francis So the millions years old alien is a petty, vindictive, spoilt brat! Right! 2 stars
4/23/03 R.W. Welch Nice premise but they didn't know what to do with it. 2 stars
3/12/03 The carpen excellent 5 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby Good start, familiar follow-through with guns a'blazin! Spader is only real asset. 2 stars
12/29/02 JCC Starts well - the idea is excellent, but Ra seems unconvincing. SG1 adds 2 extra dimensions 4 stars
12/17/02 snowconehead not quite a good movie, but a great idea 4 stars
7/28/02 O Justo A great idea wrongly put together. 3 stars
7/22/02 snowconehead it was a good idea at the time 4 stars
7/11/02 KMG BORING. Jaye Davidson sucks ass....literally 1 stars
6/15/02 Patrick Riley Stargate is all style and no substance 2 stars
2/20/02 Xaver It's fun. Interesting premise. Good character development. 4 stars
1/22/02 Doug Very good. 4 stars
1/09/02 Andrew Carden Nothing At All, Excpet For A Boring and Tasteless Sci-Fi Flick. 1 stars
12/29/01 Cracked head A big yawn of sci-fi crap. Not the worst crap ever, but close enough. 1 stars
12/01/01 Tim Bennetts I dont think Kurt Russell enjoyed himself! 3 stars
9/17/01 Margo Davidson It very good, but absurd. Jaye-Ra-best! 4 stars
8/10/01 IP_Freely this movie sucks,,,nuff said 1 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk I enjoyed it. Kurt Russell is cool and James Spader finally surfaces in Hollywood again! 4 stars
8/05/01 badfish Awesome. 5 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth I wish Stargate was real and eliminate Spader and Russell for the sake of mankind. 1 stars
7/29/01 Bob jones Fun, different, okay 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve Don't buy it, rent it. Worth watching, had some good ideas, didn't carry them out well. 3 stars
7/08/01 Caligula Danielle Ophelia good fucking direction my ass, this movie blows 1 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse TV series was better 3 stars
5/12/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Good direction, decent acting...STUPEFYINGLY boring... 3 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart Worth seeing once. Gets old quickly though. 3 stars
4/27/01 R.W. Welch Rambling sci-fi fantasy that feels like they're making it up as they go. 2 stars
4/24/01 Scott G. Very good science fiction movie. Definately worth seeing 5 stars
4/18/01 Taja The movie sucks, but Jaye Davidson rules! 1 stars
4/07/01 Jes 2 hour twilight zone... 2 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung 7 years ago everybody was talking about this movie. One year later 2 people... IT SUCKS! 1 stars
1/31/01 jordan not horrible but definitely not good. just plain boring. 3 stars
12/27/00 Viking this was never intended to be a great film 4 stars
12/03/00 Cristopher Revilla i loved the scientific part, in overall the movie was good, if you're in the right mood 4 stars
3/12/00 Paradox Great movie, as long as you just watch and don't think about it too much. 4 stars
3/11/00 JonnyAngel egyptian aliens are neato 4 stars
3/11/00 bullit17 So maybe it WAS the Egypt buff in me. I still liked this movie. 4 stars
1/09/00 Will oh come on that was fun! 5 stars
1/08/00 Doug Paulsen awesome 5 stars
10/24/99 Lame-Oh Kurt Russell! What have you done! 1 stars
6/11/99 JDC Pretty typical of Devlin/Emmerich: copy other movies but make everything crappier 1 stars
5/26/99 GothamDK Good plot. Could have been so much better. Makes a decent cable series, though. 3 stars
1/28/99 Angus It's a good looking movie with alot of potential but it just falls short 4 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider TV series is better. That shocks you? Screw this crappy movie! 1 stars
11/13/98 Rageboy Loved this movie! But it ain't for all. Much better in context of the books. 5 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy watched it in highschool and got kicked out of class for sleeping. fuck this movie. 1 stars
8/30/98 Johny Emmerich and Devlin's first movie sucks. That surprises you? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Oct-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  06-Jan-1995 (PG)

Australia
  16-Feb-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast