Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome51.39%
Worth A Look: 25.93%
Just Average: 8.8%
Pretty Crappy: 3.24%
Sucks: 10.65%

13 reviews, 138 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Hero (2004)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Abhishek Bandekar

"!!!!!"
4 stars

Every once in a while, being a film critic really pays off! As when you witness those spell-bindingly beautiful moments transpire on the screen which make you want to jump with the joy and enthusiasm of a ten year old!! Those moments when you wish you could tear through the screen and hope that the director is on the other side just so that you can give him a tight hug and probably cry on his shoulders for letting you realize what beauty truly is!!! Zhang Yimou’s ‘Hero’ builds such emotions and more!!!! ‘Hero’ is what poetry would look like if it could be seen than read, and perhaps an idea of what heaven might be like!!!!!

Why heaven? Well, for starters, Yimou uses colours that we have all seen before(and even on the screen) yet they seem so vibrant, luminescent and unadulterated that we almost feel like we’ve been living in a black-and-white world all along and have only now been upgraded to colour! And he doesn’t use the colours as a gimmick, they become his tools in telling a Rashomon-like story about a nameless warrior(Jet Li) and his heroic clashes to eliminate three assassins meaning to kill the king of Qin(Daoming Chen), a ruthless ruler in pre-unified China. The three assassins are Sky(Donnie Yen), Flying Snow(Maggie Cheung) and Broken Sword(Tony Leung)- each gifted with exceptional skills. Every confrontation is comprehensively shown in an intervallic layout, beginning with the defeat of Sky while a blind musician plays a harp! Drops of water are pierced through as the Nameless suspends himself in air and leaps across the room. The whole screen seems to be soaked in water during this interlude. The Nameless takes Sky’s sword as a testament of his triumph, and does the same with his conquests over Flying Snow and Broken Sword. Received in a hero’s welcome, the Nameless is given an opportunity to recount his tales of valour to the king in person. This gives Yimou a chance to show his skills once again as he overwhelms us with an image of the Nameless walking past an assembly of what seems like a million armed men! With every tale the Nameless is allowed a step closer to the king who hasn’t had anybody this close owing to the threat on his life. However, the king starts to suspect that the Nameless might be an assassin himself and his stories merely a ploy to get closer. The king provides what he believes might have actually transpired. And we get to see the same events being replayed with a different script. This is where Yimou’s use of colour tones assumes importance. Different versions are shot with different colours dominating the foreground and the background. Blue, red, yellow and green are all used effectively to evoke and represent the general mood of the particular episode. Finally the labyrinth unravels itself in a third version and as it does, the essence of the story rises up a like a glowing phoenix.

Although the story provides food for thought, ‘Hero’ is and will always be remembered for its visuals. Like an exhibition of different paintings belonging to the same collection, all the different scenes and images of ‘Hero’ create one exquisite motion picture. Form and technique marry to create a harmony of fluid story-telling. CGI meets live-action to create an array of arrows as Flying Snow and the Nameless fend it with their swordsmanship while Broken Sword continues with his calligraphy in the face of a thousand arrows raining around him. Infact, oriental metaphors abound in the ‘Hero’ such as the comparison of swordsmanship to calligraphy and the implementation of the yin-yang principle in telling the different accounts of the same incident. In another scene, Yimou helps us realize why Flying Snow is called so- as she fights with Broken Sword’s protégé Moon(Zhang Ziyi). Leaves fly, fall and change their hues instantly in this superbly crafted scene. ‘Hero’ is replete with such breathtaking moments when the screen fills up like an artist’s dream.

That ‘Hero’ also manages to tell a story, and an important one at that, gives the film a soul and not just a body. Martial arts transcends to tell a philosophical tale! I realize I haven’t written about the performances, but the performances(which are good incidentally) hardly matter in a movie like this. ‘Hero’ is a visual treat and Yimou indulges us with images after images of extravagant beauty. Words still fail me to describe what I have seen! Reviewed on the 12th, June 2005

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=7701&reviewer=398
originally posted: 06/15/05 11:43:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 San Francisco Asian-American Film Festival. For more in the 2004 San Francisco Asian-American Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Sydney Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Sydney Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Palm Springs Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Palm Springs Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Edinburgh Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Edinburgh Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell a good movie 4 stars
2/19/12 posttoastee One great film! If you did not like it-watch it again. 5 stars
3/22/10 Angelene It's a very interesting movie. I didn't understand it at the start. But later did 4 stars
8/04/09 Steve Hock Great use of color and action! Storm! Storm! Storm! 5 stars
6/19/09 Brad Barrett Awful! I really don't understand what people like about this movie. 1 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT A SILLY AND BLOATED FABLE THAT TAKES ITSELF TOO SERIOUSLY 1 stars
3/14/08 Alex Zhu I thought it was just fighting. i cried a bit when i understood it 5 stars
4/20/07 fools♫gold See it, you prick. And then see it again if you don't like it. And then again! 5 stars
1/10/07 Jake Cool Cinematography and fight scenes 5 stars
5/08/06 Carolyn Rathburn It was ok, some nice fighting sequences, but not one I would run out and buy 3 stars
4/01/06 Peter De La Rosa Jet finally in a good movie after the Crappy Pne and Cradle to the grave. 4 stars
3/03/06 Ronin yup visually impressive, the story isn't too great though. 4 stars
10/15/05 Quigley music is awesome, fights are awesome, yimou is awesome! this is one heckuva visual blast. 5 stars
10/10/05 Wisamane Booooooooring!!! WAY TO OVERRATED! THIS IS A PIECE OF SHIT MOVIE, THE PLOT IS IDIOTIC!!!!! 1 stars
9/01/05 Tom Burns Awesome fight scenes! 5 stars
8/31/05 ES Unwatchable, set your brains to stun or turn it off 1 stars
8/08/05 jada awesome use of music & visuals to tell story, beautiful film 5 stars
7/22/05 Bad Critic After watching a few minutes, I knew it would suck! 1 stars
7/20/05 Sir Dude Hollywood almost screwed this movie up, bad. Hollywood sucks.Thank you, Quentin Tarantino! 5 stars
7/11/05 Brian Feiler One of the most beautiful movies ever made. Great music and good story. 5 stars
7/08/05 Moctezuma Damn, these Jap films are seriously overrated 1 stars
7/03/05 ALDO visually impressive film....but the story is weak as hell 3 stars
6/23/05 sally angwin All I can say is maggie cheung you are hot hot hot baby 5 stars
6/21/05 Carolyn Rathburn I am always amazed at how they fly like gravity didn't exist 4 stars
6/12/05 Charlene Javier Simply brilliant. 5 stars
6/11/05 Krisan Graves best part is all the pretty colors..... 3 stars
5/23/05 Hllop An okay martial-arts flick with some cool scenes and narrative structure 3 stars
4/28/05 Naka A wonderful, beautifully shot, hyperintelligent piece of cinema genius. 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley an awesome movie that doesn't copy LOTR's battles and is a gorgeous, colorful movie. see it 4 stars
4/12/05 Indrid Cold If this was the only movie like this, it would be a stunning masterpiece. But it ain't. 4 stars
3/12/05 Fabri Not my type. BORING STUFF 1 stars
2/09/05 Dan Wtf was this? 1 stars
1/21/05 Tjalda L. Schiel Very fine, story, acting, cinematography and everything else. 5 stars
1/12/05 jada spectacular, pure art, story wise & visually 5 stars
1/08/05 keithers.. Interesting story telling...and plot... 4 stars
1/03/05 t-1000 bullshit; bruce lee would be rolling with laughter in his grave! 1 stars
12/28/04 Mrwill to zel, because you are stupid!!! you don't anything about martial art, so just shut up 5 stars
12/25/04 Zel WTF? That was awful... Why can they fly? Boring movie!!! 2 stars
12/23/04 Natalie Stonecipher Actually, Nikolai, all lands have their version of rednecks. Some're probably in this film! 3 stars
12/23/04 Nikolai Excellent and soulful. Not for rednecks and cultureless cretins 5 stars
12/22/04 Hilary Adamson Rich cinematography; pretty boring story or lack thereof. 3 stars
12/10/04 Al Guy Visually intriguing, but not what I expected. 4 stars
12/03/04 tatum Often lovely, but I had Crouching Tiger on the brain the entire time 4 stars
12/03/04 Graham Disappointing on the human-drama front. No CTHD. 3 stars
11/24/04 Maalstrom great visual style 5 stars
11/21/04 Alan Liddle Fantastic cinemaphotography! Stirring. 4 stars
11/09/04 Alaric L Visually stunning, but the movie overall was imbalance 4 stars
10/27/04 The Gaffer ONe of the most interesting styles of story telling 4 stars
10/23/04 Nikolai Excellent and soulful. Not for rednecks and cultureless cretins 5 stars
10/20/04 Vinod Absolutely breathtaking visuals and a good storyline. beautiful music touching ur emotions. 5 stars
10/18/04 Leong Sorry, hate the movie 1 stars
10/15/04 Pete One of the worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
10/06/04 J Burrows Very disappointing, empty, pompous eye-candy 1 stars
10/04/04 Asian girl Artful, puzzling and enchanting. 5 stars
10/01/04 someone beautiful...but agree with the fascist fairy tale comment..total bs 4 stars
9/21/04 none terriblly stupid martial arts scenes (way too much flying), but otherwise awesome 4 stars
9/21/04 Al Guy Beautiful, but not satisfying. See it for the artwork. 4 stars
9/20/04 Some Person It was ok, but I hate the crouching tiger hidden dragon effects...somewhat disappointed... 3 stars
9/16/04 Kyle Wellcome Great Cinematography.. 4 stars
9/15/04 Kristina beautiful but boring story 4 stars
9/14/04 jeff awsome movie. beautiful cinematography. more like a martial arts show. 5 stars
9/12/04 James ewwwww~ 1 stars
9/11/04 gromm Wonderful movie, and peek at eastern sensibilities. The colours have meaning, go look it up 5 stars
9/10/04 Munchie8 I expected Jet Li and some action... not a love story... disappointed 3 stars
9/09/04 Sarcastro Satan seduces. If this movie were about Stalin, would we be as impressed? Fascist fairytale 1 stars
9/09/04 Sophos This movie Rocks! 5 stars
9/09/04 Nessus Visually marvelous, but it seems like the "hero" falls for bad-guy logic 4 stars
9/07/04 Naka Thrilling, undercurrent of genius beneath the action. Glorious filmmaking. 5 stars
9/07/04 Aaron Smith Exquisite film, breathtaking scenery, astounding choreography. 4 stars
9/07/04 Millard It was engrossing, taking martial arts elements a step further, visually stunning 5 stars
9/06/04 ajay I liked 'crouching tiger...' better. 3 stars
9/06/04 kelly set design, directing, acting, script..... brilliant 5 stars
9/05/04 DM Nice visuals. Not much else. 4 stars
9/03/04 psycho dwarf A classic in a Barry Lyndon sort of way. 5 stars
9/01/04 Alberich Whoa!..i've GOT to get the import DVD!! 5 stars
9/01/04 Naka Thrilling, captivating, ande one of the most beautifully-shot films I've ever seen. 5 stars
9/01/04 michaelb14 a little slow at times, but still awesome 5 stars
8/31/04 jcjs wonderful, clever, beautiful, great action, entertaining to the max 5 stars
8/31/04 Tuan The reviewer is right in that the movie is awesome, but "13th century?" "to kill Qin?" WTF? 5 stars
8/31/04 Quentin Tarantino I, like, wanted everyone to enjoy this. I'm, you know, glad they did. 5 stars
8/31/04 Daniel Beautiful but slightly boring and overhyped 3 stars
8/31/04 dredphul a gorgeous, beautiful picture 5 stars
8/30/04 Dara Crass Totally Cool 5 stars
8/30/04 A F Amazing film with great point. People like the previous one need to READ THE SUBTITLES. 5 stars
8/30/04 Frank Lynch Pretty pictures, but Quin was a murderous tyrant on par with Hitler 1 stars
8/30/04 othree great genre, +story character color elemental action scenic 4 stars
8/30/04 C Excellent! I can't believe they waited two years to release it. 5 stars
8/29/04 King Richard Two words, Party propaganda. 1 stars
8/29/04 jordone Awesome A+ 5 stars
8/28/04 Alex It has excellent action scenes and it is a beautiful looking movie. Definitely great. 5 stars
8/28/04 Heather More proof that some of the best movies aren't made in Hollywood 5 stars
8/28/04 Titus A little more editing, a little less lingering in Act III and this'd be 5 stars 4 stars
8/28/04 JL exquisite cinematography. KungFu battle btw JetLi and DonnieYen is superb! Thumbs up. 5 stars
8/27/04 movie lover Complete CRAP. Shut up you pompas asses who think this film is worth a fart . 1 stars
8/27/04 KingNeutron Beautiful, operatic, flowing, thought-provoking. 4 stars
8/27/04 shannon rich in chinese history outstanding visuals 5 stars
8/27/04 malcolm maybe the best martial arts film ever. the kung fu "Godfather." 5 stars
8/25/04 Anthony G great fight scenes+ good plot=good movie 5 stars
8/16/04 Herolder One of the best HK movies in recent years 5 stars
8/16/04 E Kallio Definitely excellent and ambiguous, mysterious 5 stars
8/11/04 Mike Mcgilvray Beautiful cinematography, great story, easily Jet Li's best ever. A+ 5 stars
8/09/04 kyotomatt Rashomon, but crappy. Try harder next time. 1 stars
7/31/04 sean One of the most gorgeous looking films I have ever seen with a couple of terrific messages 5 stars
7/24/04 Julie Wenders This is a visual feast! 5 stars
7/19/04 allan morph is grea i love the story and the actors hey realyy catch my attention, the swordplay 5 stars
7/17/04 legend A visually stunning film with great action. 5 stars
6/11/04 Raymond Lee a great movie 5 stars
5/31/04 Charlene Javier Excellent! 5 stars
5/30/04 Sun Yat Sen Triumph of the Rashomon. Springtime for Qin Shihuang. Purty propagada. 1 stars
4/28/04 Rudy THE BEST ACTION MOVIE 5 stars
3/15/04 Madeline Gorgeous cinematography & colour schemes tho the morals might be hard to grasp for some! 5 stars
2/20/04 Jeremias Finally a m.arts film with a story. I even reconized some Sun Tzu and Confusius i/t plot 5 stars
12/11/03 Jonathan I loved Crouching Tiger and I would have to say that this movie is ten times better, 5 stars
11/26/03 Bojan Absolutly best movie of the year 5 stars
11/20/03 rony zhang ziyi and maggie cheung ohh yeah!!! kind of weird plot though.^_^ 5 stars
11/03/03 anna crappy sentimental and cheap!! 1 stars
10/08/03 Ola Boring beyond belief - pompous fool of a movie 1 stars
10/05/03 ida it is great!!!!!!! & cool! 5 stars
10/05/03 Anders Hansson Beautiful fascism propaganda with no emotional depth at all. Truly ridiculous. 1 stars
10/01/03 J.C. Absolutely beautiful, probably my favourite movie ever 5 stars
9/30/03 Meryl Einstien yeeeeeaaaahhhhhhh, just one thing, why the hell didnt Jet Li just play Li Mu Bai? 4 stars
9/15/03 shane brilliant editing ! one of the year's best 4 stars
9/03/03 ray sooo nice!!! 5 stars
8/24/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng Good plot but weird. Sword fighting scenes are breath-taking. 3 stars
8/13/03 bob mckenzie surprising its not nominated for foreign film, has a leg up on Infernal Affairs 5 stars
8/07/03 Ingo Breathtaking. 5 stars
8/05/03 Simon Beautiful film. 5 stars
7/27/03 Greg Much better than Crouching Tiger! How Swift Thy Sword! 5 stars
7/13/03 C Tseng Beautiful cinematography propping up historically inaccurate fascist credo 3 stars
7/06/03 Gudrun Hamdy Very, very nice movie. 5 stars
7/04/03 Zargo looking forward to seeing it the way Zhang Yimou intended 5 stars
6/21/03 jim Walls One of the most beautiful looking films Ive ever seen-and wonderful action. 5 stars
6/20/03 Randy If you liked Crouching Tiger, you'll love this. 5 stars
6/15/03 nancix I love"Broken Sword"!! He is a "True Hero" and "Feminist"!! 5 stars
5/30/03 Nameful Beautiful! 5 stars
5/26/03 Jessica great film 5 stars
5/25/03 John Rander plot from Rashomon, message from Triumph of the Will 1 stars
5/22/03 jim Walls What a gorgeous film.This is one of the finest action films-eastern or western,ive ever see 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Aug-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Nov-2004


Directed by
  Zhang Yimou

Written by
  Li Feng
  Bin Wang
  Zhang Yimou

Cast
  Jet Li
  Tony Leung Chiu Wai
  Maggie Cheung
  Zhang Ziyi
  Donnie Yen
  Daoming Chen



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast