Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.98

Awesome: 5.26%
Worth A Look: 15.79%
Just Average: 8.77%
Pretty Crappy: 12.28%
Sucks57.89%

2 reviews, 45 user ratings



Super Mario Bros
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Do the Mario! Better yet, don't!"
1 stars

Uh-oh.

Even as movies based on video games go, this movie sucks ass.

Terrible. Rather than lift the plot directly from a classic video game, the decided to make it, I don't know, more epic, I guess. It looks less like a movie and more like an amusement park gone horribly amok.

Hopper overacts. Badly. Again.
Hoskins is alright, though you question signing on a Brit to play an Italian. Only Leguizamo seems to know he's in a stinkburger.

The effects are wasted, and even some of the elements that made the game cool (those boots, for example) are reduced to one-note jokes here (a wind-up bomb?).

Not even a child with the shortest attention span will get anything from this movie. Not a bit.

Compared to this, Mortal Kombat was a masterpiece.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=783&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/02/98 11:20:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/14/14 Mario is the Best This movie is total crap!! But the video games are the best games ever! 1 stars
5/25/11 Glenn Laurence Hardy Junior This is a total embarrassment to Nintendo. :( 3 stars
11/17/10 Luigi Holy-ah shit-ah, Mario, even the Goombas are literally retarded! 2 stars
6/16/09 dupadoit drunk again 2 stars
7/25/08 The Dork Knight There weren't any damn rocket boots in the video game! 2 stars
6/25/08 Mario This movie should have been more like the games. 2 stars
6/30/07 Sugarfoot About as terrible as you would expect. 1 stars
2/15/07 johnnyfog Pretty complicated fo a movie about fucking mario bros. Daisy was hot though 2 stars
4/17/06 Aldo only for really young viewers 3 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer It's entertaining, though chessy and a sacrilige to the games. I love Hoskins. 4 stars
12/18/05 Monster W. Kung Utter bullshit. 1 stars
9/10/05 skullwolf35 this ain't no game its total crap 1 stars
9/03/05 Tom Burns I loved it! A fun ride. 4 stars
7/24/05 Jake Not as terrible as they say it is, but sort of entertaining 3 stars
7/20/05 Brandy Harrington Tetris: The Movie, would be more entertaining than this bullshit. 1 stars
2/14/04 Zargo not THAT bad, but not good... spelt the end for poor old roxette 2 stars
2/07/04 jmsynth It's a fun movie, aimed mostly at kids, it doesn't deserve such harsh criticism 4 stars
6/26/03 cochese What were they thinking? Hopper? 1 stars
11/22/02 Charles Tatum This is terrible all around 1 stars
9/25/02 snowconehead How the hell could anyone make this game-to-movie seem realistic?? 4 stars
7/06/02 SuperMarioX3 Very funny, althought it wasn't meant to be a comedy.... 4 stars
3/24/02 Mazz-zzaM u suk duck fethers that are fat, this movie is very good u wanker go kis the queens mother 5 stars
3/31/01 Andrew Carden Just proves that video games belong on the small screen. 2 stars
3/27/01 Michael Bearden The worst movie based on a vidoe game ever mortal combat was better than this 1 stars
1/16/01 RT Williamson This movie was good in a different way. Appreciate it for what it is. 4 stars
9/21/00 Turtle Awesome! As much fun as the video game! 5 stars
9/11/00 Jed Underrated & super although it could've been better. 4 stars
7/21/00 AA I thought it was totally awful, but that's just my opinion it's not fact! 4 stars
3/08/00 David Rogers It was good but confusing. 3 stars
2/17/00 Trevor Gumbel I liked it ALOT!! 5 stars
1/08/00 John Markham WHAT THE HELL IS THIS CRAP? ALL COPIES MUST BE BURNED AT ONCE! 1 stars
10/28/99 Karahde Khan It has the same title than one famous videogame. Otherwise it has nothing to do with it. 1 stars
10/28/99 Lame-Oh AWFUL! 1 stars
8/02/99 Duck A great family film, how could you hate it? 4 stars
7/18/99 blue b. Why did I waste my money on this? 1 stars
7/09/99 Justin Horrid. Right down there with "Mac and Me" 1 stars
6/24/99 Ah Dooey sincerely bullshit 1 stars
6/21/99 Angie retarded movie...don't even waste your time watching it 1 stars
5/21/99 WankerKing I'd rather have my ass impaled on a glass studded spike than watch this shit again. Ugh. 1 stars
3/17/99 Max Bernstein Bill Paxton must have been in on this one.... 1 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan I thought I saw the wrong movie. That wasn't the Mario Brothers! 1 stars
9/19/98 Johny This had Oscar potential, but failed. Too bad. 1 stars
9/09/98 MikeF this movie was ok. 3 stars
9/03/98 Badass I was this when I was 14. I was ashamed I sat through it then too. 1 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy holy monkeys! this movie blew!! give me cap'n lou albano any day over this crap! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-May-1993 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast