Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.96

Awesome: 37.78%
Worth A Look42.22%
Just Average: 8.89%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 11.11%

2 reviews, 33 user ratings



Firm, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Mmm...Jeanne Tripplehorn..."
4 stars

Hmm.

One of the better Grisham adaptations, and that's because the ending was changed.

Tom Cruise is a lawyer who gets an offer he just can't refuse. It's a too-good-to-be-true offer to work for a firm in Memphis that turns out to have ties to the mob. Tom faces a moral dilemma: does he stay loyal to the firm and be rich, or does he turn to the FBI and help bring the firm down, because since he's a young lawyer, he's not corrupt yet?

Tough call. Not really, though.

Decent performances here, from Cruise, Gene Hackman (as always), Holly Hunter and Jeanne Tripplehorn. Solid direction, too. Pretty suspenseful, and fans of the book probably will prefer the film's ending to the novel's.

All in all, not a bad film.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=785&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/09/98 11:45:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/02/08 PAUL SHORTT OVERLONG AND UNSATISFACTORY 1 stars
4/22/07 Chris Redmond Wonderful cast, compelling story, the best grisham adaptation by far. 5 stars
7/12/06 Rosalie Soriano It's great 4 stars
6/04/06 Johnathon Very good (deep) story line I loved the film 5 stars
10/26/05 noops nice 2 watch tom cruise in such a role 4 stars
8/25/05 ES godfather on the money, this film is a rare gem for those who like conspiracies & intrigue 5 stars
7/12/04 You suck hugecock godfather Your review sucks like shitt 1 stars
6/10/04 Kevin Farkas Entertaining and suspenseful... effective use of music. 4 stars
5/05/04 John nothing much to praise or pan here - it entertains well enough I suppose 3 stars
3/29/03 Nanc S. Very intense film. Cruise top notch, as usual! 5 stars
12/04/02 Agatha The book is better! But its thrilling and has a super cast!!! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Bloated film based on a bloated book 3 stars
8/02/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa aFucking masterpiece 5 stars
7/24/02 Justin Very Good 5 stars
6/10/02 Pati Very good! I like it very much! 5 stars
5/17/02 Dark Barøn Plot's too complicated. But that's the idea of the film. 4 stars
4/14/02 R.W. Welch Pretty good suspense factor and Hackman always helps of course. 4 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Hackman & Cruise at their best 4 stars
1/03/02 KMG I bet Wilford Brimley can pinch a mean loaf 4 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith Gene Hackman is great! Do lawyers bill that way? 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Boring as hell! I had no idea what was going on and didn't care 1 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Nice lawyer yarn. Boring at times but ultimately intense. 4 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Loved the Holly/Hal subplot 4 stars
7/04/01 Beverly Cordle Great film.Hackman and Cruise are sooo real! 5 stars
8/10/00 Elvisfan Not that bad, even tho Tom is a non-actor; Holly Hunter & Hackman were good 4 stars
3/29/00 Dijan den Hartog I thought it was thrilling!! 5 stars
7/06/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/30/99 Kelly Decent entertainment but they should have stuck to the book 3 stars
6/14/99 Dylan One of the better Tom Cruise films. 4 stars
4/10/99 Catherine CRAP! It was totally predictable, I walked out in the middle of it. 1 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Now, this was a lesson in Hollywood reality. Grisham makes one book and they fucked up! 1 stars
11/16/98 Jules Completely ruined by candy hollywood ending. Book ending was so important to story... 3 stars
9/14/98 Badass Solid entertainment. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-1993 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1993 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast