Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.94

Awesome: 27.78%
Worth A Look44.44%
Just Average: 24.07%
Pretty Crappy: 1.85%
Sucks: 1.85%

1 review, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Demolition Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Tell me again about the shells."
4 stars

It doesn't suck.

It's actually not a bad sci-fi/action hybrid, if you can get past the fact that Sandra Bullock's in it, and she's perky again.

Sylvester Stallone's a futuristic badass cop, complete with beret (and berets are funny). He so badass that he bungeejumps from a helicopter to a rooftop, shooting people the whole time, then cuts the cord when he reaches the rooftop. Still shooting. He's on a mission. He's got to stop Wesley Snipes before Snipes does something bad like dye his hair yellow.

Too late.

Actually, he's got to stop Wesley from blowing up this building, where a bunch of hostages are. The two guys fight, Sly wins, and Wesley gets arrested. But the building blows up, and since Sly didn't do enough to save them, he's in deep shit.

In place of prisons, criminals are now held in a sort of suspended animation, like a clear carbonite. That's where Wesley goes. Since Sly's responsible for the deaths of civilians, he goes there too. While in suspended animation, each guy learns a new skill. Sly learns how to knit. Wesley learns an assload of karate.

Flashforward to even further in the future. Violence is practically nonexistent. The cops are more into courtesy than anything: they don't even carry guns. You get tickets for swearing. For some reason, Wesley gets defrosted and goes on a rampage. Guess who's the only man who can stop him?

You got it.

It's not good sci-fi, and it's not even really good action. But it's produced by Joel Silver, so it's got a slick look and a lot of explosions in it. So it's like a hybrid of mediocrity. Stallone's fine, for a change, and Snipes is adequate as the villain. But Sandra Bullock...she gets on my nerves.

It's got that Demolition Man song by Sting, too. That always gets stuck in my head.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=794&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/25/98 11:45:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/19/13 PAUL SHORTT VIOLENT, BUT EXCITING, FAST, ENJOYABLE ADVENTURE, WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
6/25/11 the dork knight One-note, but entertaining. 4 stars
7/23/10 bagwell5 I own the DVD. Nice mixture of typical Sly action with clever sci-fi story. 3 stars
12/23/09 Jeff Wilder Underated guilty pleasure sci-fi action comedy 5 stars
5/01/09 Dr.Lao A little too cutesy at times, but not bad 3 stars
1/13/09 the dork knight "Somebody put me back in the fridge" 4 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White When freedom is gone this is what you get Great acting and plot 5 stars
7/22/07 Jonesy You couldnt even make a movie like this anymore: R-rated, politcally incorrect action movie 5 stars
12/05/06 David Pollastrini liked the old commercial jingles 4 stars
8/22/06 Sepi53 suprisingly good 4 stars
4/12/06 ES One of my favourites 4 stars
9/24/05 D Buckley Ratburger 3 stars
7/28/05 tony EXELLENT PICTURE! 4 stars
5/14/05 Indrid Cold Surprisingly funny action flick. Too dumb to be memorable though. 3 stars
1/22/05 Jeff Anderson A GREAT SCI-FI ACTION FILM! Stallone's a blast, Snipes' okay, and Bullock's very sexy & fun 5 stars
3/20/04 john hardly an action masterpiece but Stallone should be so lucky to make something like it agai 3 stars
1/03/04 David the blackheart a classic. One of the only movies that is perfect for all occasions 5 stars
4/14/03 xy-plane Just your average Stallone flick. 3 stars
2/17/03 stuntman how can people like this more then cliffhanger! 3 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby A sci-fi/action classic. Inventively written and superbly directed. Stallone is aces. 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Pretty cool, but Bullock is annoying as hell 4 stars
9/20/02 Zefram Mann Funny as hell. Snipes was a great villain, scenery chewing and all. 4 stars
7/21/02 Jim One of Stallone's better movies ... um, is that a compliment? 4 stars
3/07/02 Mo Anand Action wise...it's one of my favorite movies. A little unrealistic though...(no swearing? 4 stars
2/23/02 jacob Why does this movie get so many bad reviews while crouching tiger was liked so much? 5 stars
1/22/02 RB don't forget Denis Leary & Jesse Ventura 4 stars
1/11/02 ? They couldn't afford to film a fight scene with Sly Stallone and Jesse "The Body" Ventura 5 stars
9/14/01 Butterbean It was way too silly for me to like. Snipes looked like a Batman villian 2 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Very funny and very creative.My mom would never eat out if every restaurant were Taco Bell. 4 stars
6/22/01 Justin Cheung Lot's of action, with some unexpected humor. I just plain loved it! 5 stars
5/27/01 R.W. Welch Fairly imaginative and not altogether witless. 3 stars
5/17/01 Monster W. Kung It doesn't suck. IT BLOWS. 1 stars
2/18/01 DJ what a movie! 5 stars
1/20/01 fifu neat at times some parts done well 3 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla it was good, but not memorable 4 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Snipes is superior; the action is good; the rest of it stinks 3 stars
3/10/00 Yankee good sci/fi. Snipes is great. The Taco Bell thing is hokey though 4 stars
3/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Who cares if it's dated as hell? I LOVE THIS FLICK! 5 stars
6/25/99 Andrew P. If Sandra B had been naked, in 3d, it would have been a lot cooler! 5 stars
6/09/99 Homer J. Simpson I liked this film, it had violence and a few funny parts,over all it is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson I like the first 1/3 to 1/2 a lot, the rest is average. 4 stars
1/28/99 Scott Stipe Dennis Leary and Sandra Bullock made this movie! 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink It was somewhat disappointing. 3 stars
10/29/98 Negative Creep It's good. But there's nothing memorable. Its no Total Recall 3 stars
10/27/98 cyanide rush i find this a modern action classic 5 stars
10/13/98 Alex F. Sci-fi, Action, comedy. A perfect blend. And its well produced and looks slick wooohoo 5 stars
9/18/98 Johny Pretty decent actually 4 stars
9/01/98 J-Guy decent action/sci fi flick. if that's what you're into, this is a winner. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Oct-1993 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast