Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.67

Awesome: 9.76%
Worth A Look: 25%
Just Average: 18.29%
Pretty Crappy: 16.46%
Sucks30.49%

10 reviews, 104 user ratings



End of Days
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jack Sommersby

"Arnie vs. Armani"
3 stars

Yes, I know this film was shredded to pieces by most critics, and while I agree with some of their complaints, the end result is still a perfectly fine entertainment.

For those who still doubt Arnold Schwazenegger's acting ability, the horror-action film End of Days is solid evidence that the big man possesses more than a few thespian chops. As Jericho Cane, an ex-NYPD detective working for a high-price protection company after his wife and young child were murdered by corrupt cops he testified against, Schwarzenegger embodies the character admirably and nicely underplays the man's guilt-ridden anguish -- rather than pushing for pathos he blends sorrow into Cane's other emotional tones, and the result is a bona-fide characterization that sticks. And it's a good thing, too, being that Cane's adversary is none other than Satan himself, for this maintains a much-needed human element throughout. It's three days until the new millennium and predictions of doomsday are adamant by more crazies one could throw a stick at; little do they know that their prediction has a chance of coming true thanks to Satan, who's taken over the body of an expensively-dressed investment banker played by an excellent Gabriel Byrne in a quest to impregnate his destined bride at the stroke of midnight, played by the game Robin Tunney, which, yes, will bring on the "end of days" as we know it (simply a "change of management," Satan explains to Jericho in an effort to get him to reveal where his destiny dame is hidden). Suffice to say, hell, quite literally, breaks loose.

The film certainly isn't without its faults. Screenwriter Andrew W. Marlowe's story unfairly doesn't play by a certain set of rules, which is a necessity even in a fantasy tale (as L.Q. Jones once noted about his classic A Boy and His Dog, the more out-there your story is, the more rock-solid the logic behind it needs to be). Sometimes bullets don't deter Satan and sometimes they do; he can walk through a huge explosion at the onset without a scratch yet is seriously impaired when hit by a rocket launcher later on; and when he gives up on Jericho just because he's been dropped from a high-floor window, you're frustratingly let down. And while some of the humor is dead-on like when Tunney offers Jericho a Xanax and he replies no-thanks because he drinks or when Satan remarks to a skateboarder that he likes his "Satan Rules" t-shirt, there're some unrealized bits like in Satan having his pick and taking over the body of a rich banker without making much of a humorous stab at, say, capitalism -- from what we're given, we assume the person was chosen solely because he's dressed head to toe in black (which, mind you, Byrne wears better than just about anybody). Luckily, the director who pulled duty here is Peter Hyams, an ace action filmmaker who helped guide Sean Connery to a career-best performance in the outstanding Outland and who really knows how to make things colorfully move, especially a helicopter chase over a building roof that's a marvel of staging. And he really helps himself out by doing his own cinematography, which is gorgeously expressive with its Gothic tones of the color scale. End of Days is hardly Schwarzenegger's best -- that honor belongs to the original Terminator with Commando a close-second -- but it's playful and creative and so directorially assured that its good points outweigh the bad ones enough to make it nothing more than a recommendation with reservations but a recommendation nevertheless.

The DVD boasts a super-duper transfer and a good array of extras, especially the commenrtary where Hyams finally gives us the skinny on why he always has the name Spota in his films.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=798&reviewer=327
originally posted: 05/29/09 16:57:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell it rips of the exorcist & and rosemarys baby good effects though still it sux 1 stars
7/28/14 The Hammer Schwarzenegger crucified! Satan fuses a mother & daughter during an orgy! Devilishly Good 4 stars
3/13/10 PAUL SHORTT NASTY AND OVER-THE-TOP 1 stars
8/29/09 the dork knight The Devil Pees gasoline? 4 stars
8/12/08 Shaun Wallner Great Action!! 5 stars
8/09/08 Bnorm I wouldnt have elected him after seeing this turd thats for sure 1 stars
10/23/07 Ivana Mann The best of the worst laugh-till-you-pee millenium "thrillers." 1 stars
4/23/07 Indrid Cold Byrne never actually does anything cool. Contrast with Al Pacino in Devil's Advocate. 2 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini saw it but have no memory so it must have sucked 3 stars
2/19/06 Ronin Horrible script from the purely logical point of view. Arnold OK, Robin Tunney v. cute. 2 stars
10/29/05 chris good film i enjoyed it fully 5 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson All I could possibly say is, I liked it a lot better than STIGMATA & LOST SOULS! FUN!!!!!!! 4 stars
4/28/04 X Just terrible 1 stars
3/16/04 Brando FAH! 1 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr This movie caused my eyes to bleed 1 stars
11/29/03 john end of arnold 1 stars
9/09/03 Dreafre As a friday night TV diversion it has its moments 4 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Uneven and silly, but also very entertaining. A guilty pleasure. 4 stars
1/13/03 CAPTAIN FOX GREAT FILM OVERALL ARNOULDS BEST EVER 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 Hey, at least the soundtrack was decent, right? 1 stars
7/11/02 KMG When they say end of days they really mean end of good movies 3 stars
4/05/02 Junshi Um...I'm not sure I remember anything but errm...the plot is utterly worthless. 1 stars
3/29/02 Evan The Critic I'll go to church when I want to learn about the bible. Go rent Total Recall instead 2 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee Nothing but a complete pile of shit. 1 stars
1/14/02 Magnum Craphole The most embarassing thing Arnold ever did. Pure garbage. 1 stars
12/14/01 Cracked head One of the stupidest movies ever made. 1 stars
11/29/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Poor Byrne. What a fallout since "The Usual Suspects." 2 stars
11/24/01 Cookie Cutter An insult. 1 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Not asgoodas I expected,but scary if U see it when 1st released.Past y2k,no scare no flare. 2 stars
8/05/01 badfish First i love Arnie.That said this was a big piece of stinky Yak dung! 1 stars
7/14/01 officer 412/l arnie you've past it. you are to old to be doing action movies and you cant act. 1 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Pure Arnie Junk. I love action films, but this blew big time. 1 stars
6/11/01 Crisis Management This movie sucks, and Chef ADogg proves again he's a total idiot with no clue whatsoever. 1 stars
5/01/01 TNT-6 "This movie is shit" and laughing their ass off. That's how everybody was in the theater. 1 stars
4/23/01 Luke Arnie Arnie Arnie! 4 stars
4/04/01 hum wow this is dumb! Did the writters do ANY research? 1 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung Arnie, what the hell happened to you... this one BLOWS DONKEYS! 1 stars
1/25/01 Diego Romero Its just pure Arnie action 4 stars
1/16/01 The Terminator Probalbly Schwarenegger's most underrated movie 4 stars
1/14/01 Action freak Dark thriller, I liked it 4 stars
1/10/01 Jason Rowlands End of Days rocks! It shows that even the Devil can be outwitted. 5 stars
12/31/00 R.W. Welch Pretty well done villain, otherwise not much. 2 stars
12/24/00 bub you are all going to hell for comments like that!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/26/00 JC23 I really enjoyed this movie 4 stars
9/26/00 Terrie Smith Arnie's done better but the film has its moments; good visual effects. 4 stars
6/21/00 Visc I don't care what other people say, this is a good movie. 4 stars
6/03/00 OS Oh come on, this movie isn't that bad 4 stars
6/01/00 Wafer too many gratuitous Arnold grunts and irrelevant alcoholism references 1 stars
6/01/00 Jimmy Could have ben better, but it was still pretty good. 4 stars
5/22/00 Monday Morning $50 mil for EFX, not a farthing for original thinking. 2 stars
5/20/00 mellemel Bad. Really Bad. 1 stars
5/18/00 Steve A great performance by Byrne, an entertaining flick 4 stars
5/14/00 Chrissy T Why does Gabriel never live to see daylight.He's the Devil.Let the man get some for once. 2 stars
5/02/00 matt entertaining movie, but not awesome, however extremely entertaining 4 stars
4/26/00 Leo Chef ADogg is right this is by no means a great movie but an entertaining one 4 stars
4/22/00 The Bomb 69 surprisingly enjoyable 4 stars
4/18/00 foxgroundcolt "easy with the hardware!!!" 4 stars
4/09/00 Bruce Not one of Arnold's great movies, but it was decent 4 stars
3/14/00 Lame-Oh GO SEE THE NINTH GATE 1 stars
3/09/00 movieman has it's highs and lows, but overall it was entertaining 4 stars
3/05/00 Captain Highcrime Hilarious to hear Arnie butcher the phrase "Glock Nine Millimeter." 3 stars
2/11/00 James Woodman Good solid return for arnie 4 stars
2/08/00 Ed Wood very enjoyable 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Poor script. Arnie proves he cannot act. Byrnes is very good. 3 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler i enjoyed it 5 stars
1/14/00 Marli I can't say anything about this movie 3 stars
1/13/00 henry hill I enjoyed this film 5 stars
1/12/00 heroinchic Come on Arnie! Back to basics. Stop playing the Goodies. Your boring unless bad 2 stars
1/12/00 master this is a good film 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d i liked it 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d i liked it 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d i liked it 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d underated 5 stars
1/09/00 Aiken Drum Its Arnie saving the world, what a guy. 3 stars
1/05/00 Joel Harwood Freaky 5 stars
1/05/00 Ian Rivlin Pathetic claptrap 1 stars
12/24/99 Stu Shoot me, shoot me now, please. 2 stars
12/23/99 Wafer I've never seen a worse movie & every fight scene was filled w/ excessive schwarzen-grunts 1 stars
12/22/99 Matrinka Oh god... I'd rather let Satan win than watch this movie again. 1 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz Simply put... shite. 1 stars
12/16/99 Lame-Oh this was campier and stupider than the ad. Lies, lies, LIES! 1 stars
12/11/99 Obi Wan The Devil is the shit, Gabriel Rocked it!! Bruce Willis should have played Jericho 3 stars
12/09/99 Sher worst movie in the world..priests are so pathetic that they allowed Arnold to fight satan.. 1 stars
12/07/99 JonnyAngel Even after all the bad reviews, I relly thought I'd like it, but... 2 stars
12/07/99 majawat um, not good. Not good at all. But not painful at least. 2 stars
12/07/99 Cheryl Man, people TOLD me not to see this piece of shit and I didn't listen... 1 stars
12/05/99 Ami the wonderbread I just don't buy Jericho's "strength" at the end to defeat Satan. Whatever. 1 stars
12/05/99 Amy Lamest script I've ever heard, but Gabriel Byrne was good. At least it wasn't boring. 3 stars
12/05/99 Wojtek Arciszewski Reminded me of British cooking... some interesting moments... but over all a bland meal 2 stars
12/03/99 joe chip Its amazing what you'll agree to when you're on fire 2 stars
12/03/99 russ johnson THIS MOVIE SUCKED MAJOR ASS.....ARNOLD IT IS TIME TO RETIRE 1 stars
12/02/99 Kevin Way Cheesy. Boring. If you must see it, catch it on cable in about... two weeks. 1 stars
12/02/99 Carlos G. Lamas A Terrible Waste of Film and Time 1 stars
12/02/99 Roman A damn fun time 5 stars
11/30/99 Vaughn Allen Let's not get hung up on being cynical- this movie was fun as hell 5 stars
11/30/99 MickCollins The biggest piece of shit since "Spawn" 1 stars
11/30/99 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules This movie was so brilliant. It truly moved me in ways a movie has never moved me before. 1 stars
11/28/99 George Nedelchev Good one-liners are not enough. Disappointing comeback for Arnie. 2 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel this was one huge P.O.S. Arnie has gotten very desperate for a film. 1 stars
11/26/99 The King of the Bros I just liked it when that old lady kicked Arnold's ass. 3 stars
11/25/99 CATM The ending gave it a higher rating, but could've been better.Too gorey 3 stars
11/25/99 Lame-Oh could have been better 3 stars
11/24/99 Thomas Aquinas...man, that wasn't even original in the movie... Byrne was fun to watch, & Arnold's old reliable, but there's an excess of jokeyness 4 stars
11/23/99 Ramsay With less action and a real actor, it might have been interesting 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Nov-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast