Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.88

Awesome: 8.33%
Worth A Look35.42%
Just Average: 18.75%
Pretty Crappy: 10.42%
Sucks: 27.08%

3 reviews, 30 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Adds a new dimension of boredom."
3 stars

I get a headache just THINKING about "Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over." Fortunately, there's so little about it I remember that thinking about it doesn't take very long.

In the third installment of this once-clever series, everyone's a cameo except for Juni Cortez (Daryl Sabara), one-half of the pint-sized titular duo. Juni has to rescue his sister, Carmen (Alexa Vega), from a virtual-reality video game in which she has become trapped, courtesy of the malevolent Toymaker (Sylvester Stallone).

Juni -- who is cute, but not cute enough to carry a film by himself -- takes his grandfather (Ricardo Montalban) along to help, but Grandpa mostly runs around doing his own thing, showing up when necessary to save Juni, a sort of deus ex grandpa.

And so most of the film takes place within this video game, which appears to the audience in 3-D, thanks to glasses handed out at the theaters. (The movie tells you when to put them on.) The process, as cool as it looks, is headache-inducing. It's a gimmick, pure and simple, and seems designed to distract from the film's otherwise lackluster script and story. The 3-D sequences are surreal and otherworldly, but lack the wit and imagination that has marked the other films in the series.

In the end, all the regulars show up -- including Antonio Banderas and Carla Gugino as the spy kids' parents -- and some of that infectious, sly humor creeps back in. (Loopy cameos from George Clooney and Elijah Wood help.)

Robert Rodriguez, who wrote, directed, produced and edited the film, has lost a good deal of the vision and manic energy he showed in the original "Spy Kids" (2001). This one is so niggling and forgettable, it may not even be worth seeing to begin with, in any dimension.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8018&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/25/03 18:14:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/26/08 PAUL SHORTT WHILE THIS IS STILL GOOD FUN, IT LACKS THE FREEWHEELING GLEE OF THE FIRST TWO 2 stars
4/13/07 Dave this movie sucks 1 stars
1/29/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
6/06/06 Dave Webber One movie that really does feel like a glorified product-placement ad! 2 stars
4/01/06 Katy wierd,horrible,movie & director are crap! so is cast! 1 stars
3/30/06 Anthony Feor I dont care what box office says, I hate it 1 stars
1/16/06 cody The first two cool movies, but this flick takes into video games and corny acting 2 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes Rodriguez can do better than this slog of a film 2 stars
8/05/05 Zack Better than the original, though not that good overall. 3 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands OK, but the end sucked, & I hate the left part of the 3-D glasses that's dark red!! 4 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams oooohh...things flying at me! 4 stars
11/19/04 tatum Comes across as an afterthought, never approaches the charm of first two 2 stars
3/08/04 Blaine Holloway whatever anyone says, the box office doesnt lie: $111 Million!!!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA 5 stars
1/22/04 Betty White You know something is wrong when Stallone gives the best performance. 1 stars
1/03/04 Farnq Y Good movie. Sit close to the screen for best effect 4 stars
12/11/03 Marcia Lartz Dizzying frenzy, best when things seem to fly right out of the screen. 3 stars
10/23/03 Kae One of the worst movies I have ever seen, the kids are very bad actors, and 3D come on now! 1 stars
8/29/03 devon mussachio daryl is hot 5 stars
8/23/03 Steve Bushakis 3-D....Perhaps, on homage to how many donkey shlongs this movie sucks 1 stars
8/14/03 JJ from da block Kids in movies...where is that truancy officer? 1 stars
8/13/03 Mr. Hat EXCELLENT FX, great cast, extremely diverse effort from the great Rodriguez. 4 stars
8/12/03 It's just me This was the worst movie ever! 1 stars
8/04/03 Double G 3d sucks, knowing from my friend 1 stars
7/30/03 nr great 5 stars
7/29/03 Aimee Jay It seem to hold the children's attention always a plus. 4 stars
7/28/03 nr great 5 stars
7/27/03 me frog The 3-D is crap, the story is crap, the whole movie is crap! 1 stars
7/26/03 Colin They tried to bing 3-D movies back 20 years ago and they failed, so bother now 1 stars
7/26/03 dave scary that rodriguez is inheriting the potter franchise 1 stars
7/26/03 Shaq I loved every fucking second of this stupid piece of shit. It was so bad my penis ran away. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jul-2003 (PG)
  DVD: 24-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast