Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.05

Awesome: 18.07%
Worth A Look: 20.48%
Just Average32.53%
Pretty Crappy: 6.02%
Sucks: 22.89%

9 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hurlyburly
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Full of Sound and Fury..."
3 stars

Hurlyburly (** ½) - And speaking of exercises. On one hand, once again, you’ve got top-notch actors giving to-notch performances spitting out dialogue that has a nice kinda dance to it. On the other hand, you’re basically left with yet another Hollywood drug tale that really isn’t about much except certain ideas and no real values.

The only real thing to truly grab onto character-wise here is the paranoia drummed up by the Sean Penn character (in another incredible performance) when he’s all drugged up. We don’t really get a good sense of who these characters are as they are very loosely defined. Penn and Kevin Spacey work within the Hollywood system and have steady jobs. Chazz Palminteri (at his scariest) is a struggling actor with on-again/off-again marital problems and I never really got Garry Shandling’s position. The women are basically presented as objects within their world. Meg Ryan is an extremely easy exotic dancer and young Anna Paquin literally plays a stray whom Shandling brings over to see if Penn and Spacey “want to keep her.” Robin Wright Penn is the only female character not represented as a whore or a slut and she represents a threat to Sean’s character - who is threatened when anything from the outside world seems to intrude his space and he uses drugs to escape from it. There’s a lot to watch here in this film - all of the actors are terrific and its rare that you can get a cast like this together. There are very good scenes as individual scenes, but once again it doesn’t really add up to much, even to take any kind of stance of pro-drug vs. Anti-drug. Even Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, one of the best drug trips ever put on celluloid, had a point behind it, and it was funny and scary at the same time.

This is a well-written dialogue film and most of the time I enjoyed watching it, but walked away from it kind of like a flat soda. The ingredients were all there, but it had none of the bubbles.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=802&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 16:19:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/29/16 Sheller Shit review. Great talky type of movie, good examination of psychosis and neurosis 4 stars
1/09/16 Caroline Winter Unbearable. Insufferable and full of itself. 1 stars
4/30/14 Mr Right Efficiency tip: watch first 15 min & last 15; you'll get full value + save yourself 100 min 2 stars
8/13/13 PAUL SHORTT MORBID, SORDID, MEAN-SPIRITED DRAMA, DESPITE A GOOD CAST 2 stars
7/19/12 Luigi Great film, worthless review 5 stars
3/20/08 Ozan My favorite play & movie ever; a masterpiece completely misunderstood, like all genius is. 5 stars
7/02/07 fools♫gold What sarcasm? 5 stars
3/08/06 JLZ Total crap, indeed. 1 stars
11/17/04 psycho black dwarf A well-written, if not well-crafted "get over yourself" movie. 4 stars
5/10/04 Kooler Ugh--the kind of screenwriting hollywood thinks is intelligent and edgy. An embarrassment. 2 stars
6/10/03 Hottie okay 3 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby Here, here, Charles! 1 stars
11/24/02 Charles Tatum Odious garbage that made me want a shower 1 stars
8/19/02 Mike Brilliant 5 stars
10/13/00 comeasur a reflection of the sickness in modern society. not a surprise that it is set hollywood. 4 stars
10/07/00 matthew nice? no. a tour de force for actors, brilliant, even meg ryan was 5 stars
8/08/00 Aron Tym Anderson An absolutely brilliant film, for those that can recognize one. 5 stars
3/11/00 JonnyAngel I can't explain but it's become a cult favorite of my cult 5 stars
1/07/00 seldom scene I was waiting for something to happen-This would make a better play than movie 3 stars
9/15/99 Ratso I thought this was a documentary on Sean Penn. Ooops. 1 stars
8/23/99 mard if you like coke and "fuck" this movie is for you otherwise who cares about these people? 2 stars
2/17/99 Derek Widely misunderstood movie. Great portrait of failure to connect w/ others in modern world 5 stars
2/14/99 emma mindblowing cast, mindnumbing movie 2 stars
1/31/99 Bridgette more like 3 1/2 stars, but spacey is wonderful 4 stars
1/21/99 Jeff good--love spacy--who know Meg Ryan was such a hottie as a coke head stripper?? 4 stars
1/11/99 Doobie Boy I was looking forward to this film, but it wasn't what I hoped. 3 stars
1/08/99 crc great cast (except ryan), wasteful, boring film. Long, dull-get ready to walk out early 1 stars
1/07/99 Movie Geezer Pathetic waste of time and talent. As bad a film as I have ever seen. 1 stars
12/29/98 The Dude Fucking great movie , Fucking great cast and it has Garry Shandling. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Mar-1999


Directed by
  Anthony Drazan

Written by
  David Rabe

Cast
  Sean Penn
  Robin Wright Penn
  Kevin Spacey
  Chazz Palminteri
  Meg Ryan
  Garry Shandling



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast