Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome: 35.71%
Worth A Look52.14%
Just Average: 8.57%
Pretty Crappy: 2.14%
Sucks: 1.43%

11 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Man on the Moon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dust For Eyes

"Thank you very much for this film"
4 stars

Andy Kaufman - star of Saturday Night Live, Taxi, and his own stage shows in the late 70s and early 80s - just what was the guy thinking? If you are looking for an insight into Kaufman, then Man On the Moon is not the place to be.

The film opens with a young Kaufman performing to his own bedroom wall - much to his father's chagrin. He is obviously a natural performer - just not necessarily a crowd pleaser.

Things then shift a few years where we see the beginning of Kaufman's career and what made he so special and frustrating in pretty much equal proportions. The film then goes to detail some of his most brilliant and scandalous acts (including the misogyny- themed inter-gender wrestling) and his eventual demise.

Not much of an insight is given into the person behind this chronic prankster who had a serious case of the Boy-Who-Cried-Wolf. The film is a sympathetic portrayal of Kaufman where his pranks are shown as just that - pranks. That was by no means clear when he actually did them.

His stunts got to the stage when some people including his own family suspiciously regarded even his death as fake. He was an extremely frustrating man and it was no surprise that he was voted out of SNL by its audience.

Apart from saying, it's funny, the film tell us little on why Kaufman did what did. He was such a fascinating person, to gain an insight into what was going on in his head would have made an even more interesting film.

If the confusion of Kaufman's antics is not enough, the film has its own reality blurs. There are scenes on the set of Taxi and some of the actors that were really in Taxi are in the film appearing as themselves. De Vito was in Taxi, but in the film he is playing Kaufman's manager, George Shapiro, so he can't be 'Himself' in the film as well - sharp eyes can watch out for what was done about that. Just to puzzle you further the real George Shapiro is in the film as well - as a club owner. Also, in the credits Tony Clifton - a character of Kaufman's is credited in the film as Himself.

Carrey (who shares the same birth date as Kaufman) is excellent as Kaufman. He was the ideal choice and it seems odd that director Milos Forman couldn't decide between Carrey and Edward Norton. Carrey delved deep into the character of Kaufman and has produced a superbly balanced performance. He was quite unlucky to not get an Oscar nomination at least.

The film is essentially a drama that happens to be about a person who was funny. There are funny moments in this film, but that was down to Kaufman and Carrey rather than the script writers, Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski.


De Vito and Love go over familiar territory in their performances. De Vito again plays the side kick to a great man as he did in the biopic Hoffa, and Love again plays the girlfriend of a doomed artist - something that she's got way too much experience in if you ask me.

As he did in The People vs. Larry Flint, Forman has sympathetically portrayed a real life controversial figure. Man On the Moon is an admirable film with excellent performances, but we learn little on what made up Kaufman.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=804&reviewer=166
originally posted: 02/21/00 17:14:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/05/09 Dane Youssef A stunning re-creation and posession of an underrated genius madman & the havoc he wreaked. 5 stars
10/30/05 Wisamane Im sad now :( 5 stars
9/26/04 alicia carey is amazing in this. 5 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj Jim Carrey's Andy Kaufman imitation. See a Kaufman documentary instead 3 stars
3/21/04 Elena This is highly underrated for its style, acting and plot. It's a great, funny and sad movie 5 stars
12/25/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A fine movie on Andy Kaufman's life. It also remembrs "FRIDAYS". Put that show back on TV! 4 stars
11/23/03 Samuel One of the Greatest films of all time!! 5 stars
6/04/03 Mike A funny and entertaining movie. One of my faves. 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Another overstated, poorly made Forman leftist cinematic leaflet. 1 stars
2/01/03 Hi there Jim Carrey is excellent. 5 stars
1/12/03 WestcoastPunk Carrey is the best underated actor in Hollywood 5 stars
10/09/02 LIAM JACKSON THIS MOVIE IS SO FUCKING COOL I LUV IT, ITS FUCKING BRILL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/29/02 Ryan Justice fucking hilarious a must see 5 stars
8/13/02 palaboy101 Jim Carrey's acting is great, but the movie wasn't. 3 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Lee Would like to give a full review as this is a must see film for those who have no seen Andy 5 stars
11/02/01 Andrew Carden I Liked How They Had Carrey Put Into Kaufman's Place For The "Taxi" Scenes. 3 stars
9/30/01 daniboy I loved it. Jim Carrey was impressive. 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Good film. Carrey was perfect and of course, was fucked by the academy. (bastards 4 stars
7/14/01 Marijan Srdic Very entertaining!!!!! 5 stars
5/29/01 perverted pixie Kaufmans legend and Carreys gifts. Thats a double dose of crazy genius. 5 stars
2/14/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Jim Carrey proves once again that he IS, after all, talented. 4 stars
2/04/01 Diego Romero If you believe this movie sucks,go suck some cock 5 stars
2/03/01 Del R Jim Carrey is Andy Kaufman. Brilliant. 5 stars
1/20/01 thom carrey: usually a typcast gobshite. This is no exception, but it's ace cos Carrey fits. 4 stars
12/26/00 Turtle Another movie with Jim Carrey doing his best work! 5 stars
12/19/00 Speedy With no oscar recognition, it's official: Carrey is now most underated actor in world 5 stars
12/18/00 natasha Jim Carrey was the heart of this film - see it for his performance 4 stars
11/17/00 salvo greetings by tony clifton 5 stars
10/11/00 Add Its a good film but Carrey makes it great. Congrats to Jim and bollocks to the academy! 4 stars
6/12/00 Michael Grimm should have focused on personal relationships more than being a documentary 3 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez I am History and I say he`s a fucking asshole!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/02/00 JonnyA Carrey is great, movie is very average but worth seeing 4 stars
4/06/00 SID Best fucking movie of the year, I don't care what anyone says. 5 stars
3/06/00 Captain Highcrime Really an expanded A&E Biography, not enough "Taxi," good 4 those who never really knew him 4 stars
2/25/00 Bernard Self Carrey is brilliant, the film leaves me confused! 4 stars
2/24/00 Matthew Smith worth seeing for carrey's performance. 4 stars
2/24/00 Mic Could've been better (pacing for one thing). 3.5 Stars. 3 stars
2/18/00 Joel Harwood Hello i'm ANDY and i enjoyed the movie 4 stars
2/14/00 the Grinch Go see this, if only for the fantabulous "Tony Clifton"! 4 stars
2/11/00 Skye Chapman didn't think i'd like it. i did. glad they didn't try to explain andy. 4 stars
2/03/00 arnold fucking funny 5 stars
1/27/00 Donna Fritz Carrey was awesome! A wonderful tribute to the daring Mr. Kaufman. Funnier than expected! 5 stars
1/21/00 tom too big of a deal made out of something ultimately unimpressive 2 stars
1/15/00 Lindsay Worth a Look 4 stars
1/12/00 Timmy Fucking Rocked. Go Jim! you're more than Fire Marshal Bill! 5 stars
1/11/00 Louis A Great Movie. A whole bunch of well-earned laughs 5 stars
1/05/00 ALIaS Very well done, my only complaint is that it was too short......there was so much more! 5 stars
1/05/00 Gregory damn good movie. carrey is amazing. 4 stars
1/05/00 Laura Baker It made me laugh as well as wonder! 4 stars
1/05/00 Aldo P Good Movie. Who would want to see it, tho? 5 stars
1/03/00 PhilmPhreak Really well done - not a lot of insight into why he was so wierd, though. 4 stars
1/02/00 SJKelley Carrey and odd subject-matter barely keep it from being a T.V.-caliber bio-movie. 4 stars
1/02/00 Fork Outstanding. Truely a thinking man's film. Not just a life but an enigma. 5 stars
1/01/00 Starry Knight The character of Tony Clifton was brilliant 5 stars
1/01/00 ZuG Definately bad-ass 5 stars
12/31/99 unstrung it was pretty damn good 5 stars
12/31/99 Mike Clifton The story was too fragmented & choppy to make this a masterpiece, but Jim is unbelievable 5 stars
12/31/99 sexychick After Any Given Sunday this movie rocked!! 5 stars
12/31/99 Tyson Stewart funny, funny, funny. a good story. Carey's best film! 4 stars
12/31/99 majawat okay 4 stars
12/31/99 ANNIE best film ever 5 stars
12/30/99 maryjane Jim Carrey is awsome as an actor. Andy Kaufman was/is a bastard genius. 5 stars
12/30/99 KK Carrey deserves an Oscar Nomination for this. 5 stars
12/29/99 Fenris I look forward to seeing where Jim Carrey goes from here. 4 stars
12/25/99 Sadie I loved it. I laughed and was moved to tears. The best film in years. 5 stars
12/25/99 The King of the Bros Read Zmuda's book you fucking hacks. 3 stars
12/24/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" this is a great movie, once again an amazing job jim!! 4 stars
12/24/99 JonnyAngel Really good, but I'm stingy with those 5 star ratings 4 stars
12/23/99 Losifer A great film. Wonderful. Fantastic. 5 stars
12/23/99 chouck Carey was great but the movie was all over the map 2 stars
12/23/99 Malbert Jim Carey is *awesome* in this one! 4 stars
12/23/99 Marc It is absolutely, no contest the best film of 1999. 5 stars
12/22/99 Z rather confusing movie, i didn't like it 2 stars
12/19/99 Marla K It is touching, well-acted and well-directed. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast