Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome62.02%
Worth A Look: 12.92%
Just Average: 8.01%
Pretty Crappy: 9.04%
Sucks: 8.01%

16 reviews, 291 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Lost in Translation
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Vote For Bill Murray RIGHT NOW!"
5 stars

I wonder if Sofia Coppola can sit back on a chair at home and relax reading all the glorious reviews that are destined for her latest film. Can she finally sit back and laugh at all those scathing reviews she received for trying to act in her father’s Godfather Part III? I imagine her scanning the internet, reading the papers and just laughing and thinking “so you didn’t think I could act, but I sure as hell can write and direct.” It couldn’t be that simplistic. Having not been a fan of her directorial debut, The Virgin Suicides, my mind wondered if the same broken, dreamlike narrative would haunt her latest project. To an extent, it does, but nothing this beautiful can be haunting. For she has created a culture clash film without the word “wackiness”, a May-December romance without the creepiness and a romance PERIOD that’s as great as they come. Anyone who could concoct something so special doesn’t need to gloat.

Bill Murray stars as Bob Harris, a moviestar who was big thanks to some popular action films in the 70s. Not exactly washed up, Bob has agreed to do a series of Suntory Whiskey ads in Tokyo. Cultural jokes are quickly gotten out of the way with Murray being nearly a foot taller than anyone and language barriers where the translator only seems to be doing half of their job.

Scarlett Johansson is Charlotte, who has been brought to Tokyo by her photographer husband (Giovanni Ribisi – perhaps representing Sofia’s own spouse, Spike Jonze?) He doesn’t have much time for her and she spends most of her waking hours walking around in her underwear and trying to find her spiritual center through self-help tapes, Buddhist temples and plant organization.

Bob is also married. His wife is also rather self-involved going so far as to fax him guilt trips and FedEx carpet samples for his approval. Seems that $2 million he’s getting for the ads is being well spent. His philosophy on being married for 25 years is shared with Charlotte one night at the hotel bar. Neither of them are looking for an affair, just someone they can share time with amidst the whirlwind of those whom they can’t communicate with.

Neither look at the other as an opportunity for sex. There’s something deeper, more important happening. You witness a connection happening through shared smiles and get the feeling this is the most Bob has smiled in years. Their chosen songs on a night out of Karaoke (The Pretenders“Brass in Pocket” & Roxy Music’s “More Than This”) become quite telling even if they don’t know it yet.

Charlotte sings, “’cause I gonna make you see – there’s nobody else here – no one like me – I’m special, so special – I gotta have some of your attention, give it to me.”

Bob sings, “I could feel at the time – there was no way of knowing – fallen leaves in the night – who can say where they’re blowing – as free as the wind – and hopefully learning – why the sea on the tide – has no way of turning – More than this – there is nothing.” Little would Bob know that the song’s final verse is more telling than he would wish.

Those are just words though, and it doesn’t matter whether they’re great singers or not (or HOW great it is to see Murray channelling his SNL lounge singer.) It’s the feeling with which they belt them out and the way each of them look at each other throughout the movie even when they’re not looking directly. Charlotte correctly pegs Bob as going through the stages of a mid-life crisis and Bob never once questions if she has hitched her wagon to him because of his celebrity status. These are superficial complications that have no place in this story. These are two characters, as the title suggests, lost in their respective transitions; from college graduate to adulthood and from beloved star to middle-age. Their confusion and uncertainty draw them to each other and find hope through the souls of human beings rather than invisible mantras and vicarious objects.

Lest you be put off by Murray trying to go all dramatic on everyone again, be aware of just how incredibly funny he is in the film. Watching him confusingly play with a photographer as he is asked to give him several different poses belongs right up there in Murray’s canon of classic comedy bits. Of course, none will be as fake or as painful as the final picture he takes. So if that’s all you need to see what may just be Murray’s finest performance to date, then I’m happy to inform. The sensitivity he displayed so prominently in key scenes in Groundhog Day and Rushmore reaches new levels that may finally get him the placement he so deserves amongst comic actors putting on the other theatrical mask. Oscar voters who don’t take notice should never be allowed to see another movie again.

Scarlett Johansson should also be preparing herself for the stratosphere. Known mainly for roles as the troubled daughter in The Horse Whisperer and the disapproving friend in Ghost World, Johansson at only the age of 18 (17 when she shot the film) puts on a cloak of sexiness that eludes most A-list actresses. With her deep voice and girl-next-door looks, she is going to be a powerful presence for many years to come. I’d be in the wrong if I also didn’t mention the terrific Anna Faris (Scary Movie, May) who shows up for a couple brief scenes to clearly do her best Cameron Diaz impression.

Lost in Translation is the kind of film that leaves you in awe while you’re watching it and then scrambling to produce the right emotion during its final scenes. You think about it for hours afterwards, not even realizing that you’re on the verge of shedding tears for both how beautiful it is and the eventuality of its characters. I suppose in that respect, it does haunt its viewers. Sofia Coppola has created something really special here; for herself, an appreciation for two great actors and for audiences everywhere who need to be reminded what a great romance truly is.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8132&reviewer=198
originally posted: 09/12/03 01:47:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/15/15 David Hollingsworth A quirky romantic comedy that is sublime on every level. 5 stars
10/14/15 Luisa Great actors, not a bad movie, but overrated! 3 stars
9/11/15 misterfilms my top 3 films of 03: LOTR, LOST IN TRANSLATION, FINDING NEMO 5 stars
2/19/15 hhshjjsjj idiot film. i'm glad return of the king beat this trash 1 stars
9/09/14 dave1877 beautifully acted touching film 5 stars
10/27/13 reptilesni Two strangers at radically different stages of life who find they are kindred spirits 5 stars
8/17/12 Gerasimos This movie has crept into my psyche...permanently 5 stars
7/02/11 RLan A love story between a man and woman without sex being involved. What a wonderful concept! 4 stars
6/16/11 johnny 123 the greatest mood movie ever made. period. 5 stars
1/29/11 Josie Cotton is a goddess It didn't strike me as much as I hoped in would. Maybe I should see it again? 3 stars
11/26/10 Rinifi Along with Imamura's Vengeance is Mine, I can't get this film out of my head. 5 stars
8/15/10 bored mom So-so for slow drama. Gotta love Murray's character versus the rape-themed hooker. 3 stars
6/10/10 Erin Beautiful movie. One that I could watch over and over again. 5 stars
4/26/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL MADE AND WELL ACTED MOOD PIECE 4 stars
4/22/10 Flounder I laughed and I cried. There's not a wasted moment. This is filmmaking at its finest 5 stars
6/30/08 phillipp you want to feel depressed by the end, but you can't..it's happyending.. 4 stars
5/19/08 Sam ok .. not great .. 3 stars
5/10/08 Yoda I have never seen another film that is so hilarious and so heartbreaking. 5 stars
3/19/08 mike is in love beautiful beautiful film! excellent movie which is not for idiots. 5 stars
3/02/08 ladavies I was so touched by this movie that I guess you could say I'm obsessed by it. A classic. 5 stars
2/17/08 Pamela White torture in watching, hoping it will get better and it doesn't 1 stars
2/09/08 gui just watched it again. awesome. 5 stars
12/25/07 Freddy Tribal instinct brought them together, not love. Touching movie, but kind of shallow. 4 stars
12/15/07 LuLu One of the best films that I've ever seen. Bill Murray is fabulous! 5 stars
4/14/07 fools♫gold Comedy up there w/ "Arthur" + "Bamboozled"; a composer of film that hits you high and low. 5 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Much better than I had heard. An enjoyable viewing experience. 4 stars
10/27/06 Adam Perfect. Encapsulates the beauty of the human spirit. 5 stars
10/24/06 vehden Atypical love story. Subtle yet profound. Great character protrayal by both actors. CLASSIC 5 stars
10/16/06 Finny Khan One of the BEST movies. Very touching, poignanat. Lots of deep moments. 5 stars
9/16/06 Chris Scarlett is a smart goddess, Bill a genius, great together. One of my 5 favorite movies. 5 stars
8/14/06 reptilesni Poignant, funny, sweet, bittersweet buddy film with a bonus voyeuristic trip to Japan. 5 stars
6/24/06 MP Bartley A foggy, touching illumination on loneliness and brief interaction. Quietly lovely. 5 stars
4/12/06 matt like watcing paint dry, coppola doesn't know how to tell a story 2 stars
4/03/06 Joe lifechanging. 5 stars
3/17/06 No.9 Perfectly mixes comedy/drama and, of course, MUSIC!! Seriously, the soundtrack rules 5 stars
2/19/06 Tomislav Bobic I'm feeling sorry for the people who doesn't "get it". Absolutely wonderful dream! 5 stars
2/16/06 Indrid Cold Two very boring people doing pretty much nothing ... it's as exciting as it sounds. 2 stars
1/18/06 JM Synth I guess I just didn't "get it". I do like films with plots, etc. 2 stars
12/12/05 o_O A hell of alot beter than "The Return of the King". Easily the best of the decade so far. 5 stars
11/11/05 zeitgeist Sofia Coppola is a talentless shill. Cheap cop-out cinematography. 2 stars
10/28/05 Ansue Noslen Like Seinfeld, a movie "about nothing;" w/o most of the humor at the human condition 2 stars
10/23/05 Natalie The film proves that thee are people who can truly "feel" and "care" for others. 5 stars
10/04/05 Jesse Taylor The best movie of 2003. Bill Murray and Scarlet Johansson make an excellent pair. 5 stars
9/25/05 a. kurlovs decent movie about semi-interesting people, their watchable lives and petty problems. 3 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes hillarious, heartfelt, and heartbreaking 5 stars
9/04/05 thomas giudici beautiful and very touching 5 stars
8/31/05 ES Scarlett is a fox and Murray a riot, but in this movie they act like zombies on prozac 1 stars
8/31/05 matt coppola doesn't know how to tell a story, the movie goes nowhere 1 stars
8/26/05 Rahul Jawale Film is good. One of the first movie that i liked and didnt have a story. 5 stars
8/18/05 Michelle Go Sophia!! Loved this film. Loved the EFC review which says it all. 5 stars
8/09/05 Indrid Cold Detailed and subtle, but really just bored people doing boring stuff. 3 stars
8/08/05 jada loved Bill Murray! great acting, not for everyone though, kinda slow 4 stars
7/28/05 Bad Critic Quite boring at some points, but kept my interest. 3 stars
7/06/05 sandy amazing! my favorite movie of all time 5 stars
6/20/05 darick Don't kill me but...I didn't find it that engaging; merely tolerable 3 stars
6/11/05 Sarah Extremely emotionally touching film. Amazing! 5 stars
5/30/05 Steve Newman Very enjoyable with both lead actor and actress very believable 4 stars
5/10/05 Simon I'm with Sommersby on this one. Solid acting saves this trite flick from Suck status. 2 stars
3/25/05 MaryBeth Isaac I was moved to tears. What a beautiful movie. the ending was brilliant 5 stars
2/11/05 tina quietly brilliant. In my top 5 fave movies of all time 5 stars
1/24/05 Shawn a masterpiece of filmmaking. as good as a book, which is hard to say when reviewing movies. 5 stars
12/21/04 goatfarmer deadpan,depressing,lumbering, with occasional "ain't those nips weird!" moments 2 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams best opening shot ever for the fellas 4 stars
12/03/04 ChristopherM Jack Sommersby - bitter he didn't make the film himself. 5 stars
11/23/04 Geoff Great movie with fantastic performances from the two leads 4 stars
11/18/04 Brazilian John No translation could save it! It just don't have any story. A screen play with 2 lines! 1 stars
11/17/04 Chris Belldo finally 5 stars
11/14/04 DM Boring at times, but overall Jack Sommersby is wrong again. 4 stars
10/28/04 Mike Incredible soundtrack with Jesus And Mary Chain and My Bloody Valentine mood. Fantastic 5 stars
10/17/04 will rogers (ivan campo) good atmosphere 5 stars
10/10/04 Agent Sands Very subtle and well-acted. The culture contrast if funny, and it's very entertaining. 4 stars
10/02/04 Daveman Looks like the Coppola family are here to stay and better yet, I love them for it. 5 stars
9/26/04 Harry J Absolutely lousy movie - don't recommend it - I will never own it. 1 stars
9/16/04 brown great movie- recommend it and I own it 5 stars
9/14/04 kitfo1 Im all lonesome in my $400 hotel room, boo hoo hoo. 3 stars
9/14/04 sdfr Absolutely brilliant! 5 stars
9/04/04 jeff the chick is so hot, love her booty :) good movie 4 stars
8/31/04 Pinkline Jones Flawed but has some good ideas 4 stars
8/28/04 George FANTASTIC!!!! 5 stars
8/17/04 Myrna Miller At End he say to her:"I will remember us forever". 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James One of the few touching and beautiful films...it strives for an intelligent audiance 5 stars
8/15/04 Monster W. Kung Absolutely wonderfully directed, story ok but not great. 4 stars
8/14/04 McGraw Self-important, and waaaaaay too slow. 3 stars
8/08/04 psychotic black dwarf Tongue in cheek & smart, but less impactful than a study of Bob Sapp (black karate icon). 4 stars
7/26/04 John Larson If you have no life, this may interest you. Forced, feelgood but empty. Hollywood sucks. 2 stars
7/25/04 Jayne Merritt Very disappointed, not much storyline, rubbish ending 2 stars
7/24/04 Richard Kinley 2 lost soles searching for a meaning and finding each other. Beautifully acted. 5 stars
7/21/04 dropdead scarlett johansson in the short blue wig in karaoke scene was worth seeing this movie.wow. 5 stars
7/18/04 ithaka peyru and the japanese stereotype gets pushed further 1 stars
7/15/04 jack the ripper pretty bad 2 stars
7/13/04 blip great film! 5 stars
7/12/04 piers totally hooked by it - beautiful in every sense 5 stars
7/12/04 Ralph I was lucky enough to be able to get my money back 1 stars
7/08/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen First Kirsten Dunst, now Anna Faris. What's with Sofia C & trashing young innocent blondes? 2 stars
7/04/04 Bruce Still waiting for the good parts. 2 stars
6/27/04 MyGreenBed Meant to be slow paced (not all can be "Die Hard"), daughter Copola has become impressive. 4 stars
6/20/04 Ry Slow and no plot 2 stars
6/19/04 Monster W. Kung Really quite good, but humor contains a few stereotypes too much. 4 stars
6/17/04 Semaj The mood of this film was perfect. 5 stars
6/09/04 zeitgeist THE film for pseudo-intellectuals. You can almost smell the banality. 2 stars
6/06/04 Ryan Clark One of the best films to come out in years, and it boasts Bill Murray's best performance. 5 stars
6/06/04 Daveman The film was about culture and finding fulfillment in the things you don't understand. 4 stars
5/31/04 maggie just fantastic-awesome 5 stars
5/23/04 DM Very surprised just how much this movie affects you 5 stars
5/23/04 Yoko Nagata (Japanese) I felt Sophia's affection to Japanese attitude. Bob and Scarlette are like Japanese. 5 stars
5/19/04 FrankB This film makes me want to be a film maker, this is truly art. 5 stars
5/14/04 skye puh-leeze. which was supposed to be the good karioke? 1 stars
5/11/04 HorrorScribbler Touching 5 stars
5/10/04 Patrick one of the best movies i've seen in a while 5 stars
5/10/04 Pinkline Jones An interesting ultimately Long Bus Ride to Nowhere 4 stars
5/08/04 Charlene Javier Simply brilliant! 5 stars
5/06/04 Ross This movie won what award? For what? 1 stars
5/05/04 Bobby Fisher melissa & she u should b ashamed of urselves, u 2 should stay clear of punch drunk love 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot great film.don't slag it off.just go and watch con air! 5 stars
5/03/04 terry reagan this really sucked! Id rather see "Gigli" again 50 x over than sit through this again!!!!! 1 stars
5/02/04 she Bill Murry is hot for a older guy but he didn't save this film 2 stars
4/25/04 Al This movie is awsome and is the shit. 5 stars
4/13/04 slayathon I actually really enjoyed this because I work with the Japanese everyday!!! 4 stars
4/05/04 Ryan for older, introspective audiences only =) 5 stars
4/03/04 Amanda This movie stinks. A lot. I like movies with plots. And girls that wear pants. 1 stars
3/26/04 Melissa Gaugert What was all the hype about?!?! I don't get it. I wanted a better ending, too. 3 stars
3/26/04 George Hart Unforgettable, the older you are the more it will ring true 5 stars
3/25/04 rojo Interesting movie, not Oscar worthy. 4 stars
3/24/04 Zana This is good camering, Anna Faris rulz (that y i watched it) 5 stars
3/23/04 Chloe Brody What a pair...Murray and Johansson are perfect in the lead roles... 5 stars
3/22/04 Jubbly It's not racist... someone said that below. it's a good film. 5 stars
3/17/04 john surprisingly good - Wong Kar Wai couldn't have done it better 5 stars
3/16/04 Holly Beeman I love the subtlety. Bill & Scarlett are very charming! 5 stars
3/16/04 alex well... I was waiting for a sex scene, but it didn't come...Great Movie 5 stars
3/14/04 Bored to Tears Cinematic constipation. Slow, boring and overrated with a hint of racism thrown in. 1 stars
3/14/04 tina beautiful message but once the novelty wears off, it's weak without a story 3 stars
3/13/04 Fred A slow, flat, boring roller coaster ride and a total waste of 1.5 hrs. 2 stars
3/12/04 Elena Beautiful. PS, If you think the film is pointless, you missed the point. 5 stars
3/08/04 Wendranh good to see Bill Murray with something more worthy than he usually gets 4 stars
3/08/04 Paul Both funny and sensitive, every moment in this movie is great 5 stars
3/07/04 tina the best movie of the year 5 stars
3/06/04 tony total garbage 1 stars
3/06/04 Ted Don't expect to be spoonfed pap - it makes you think, and fill in the blanks yourself. 5 stars
3/06/04 Dave A Excellent film. 5 stars
3/04/04 Dick Boring. "Brief Encounter" it is not. Proves that Ms. Coppola and act or direct. 1 stars
3/03/04 Star-Crosser Murray's preformance, and the film as a whole, is overrated...but very VERY good. 4 stars
3/03/04 Niels Shit, boring and pointless 1 stars
3/02/04 Michael Mungin Certainly not overrated. Excellent movie. Seems pretty moody, though, at times. 5 stars
3/01/04 Margie There's no plot, but that's the point. It's two people trying to find comfort in each other 4 stars
2/28/04 Lonesome_whistle A great, sweet movie about friendship 4 stars
2/28/04 John Vella Bardon can't understand how on earth this film was so critically acclaimed 2 stars
2/27/04 obsession It was the most amazing movie that I have seen this year, possibly in my life. Very Human. 5 stars
2/27/04 Emmelie I'm in awe, it's just the most beautiful movie ever! 5 stars
2/26/04 Paula I must have missed the plot.... 2 stars
2/25/04 Ryan W A beautiful film with dynamic characters who envoke deep sadness and empathy and humor. 5 stars
2/25/04 Rudy Smith Bill Murray was sublime - Scarlett Johannson was, well simply charming and vunerable. 5 stars
2/24/04 Soulis directing is incredible, the acting is good but Murray doesn't deserve an Oscar 5 stars
2/23/04 Ellen Can't understand what is so good about this movie. I was bored after five minutes 1 stars
2/23/04 Monday Morning I fell asleep, my girlfriend fell asleep, my dog fell asleep. What a ho-fucking-hum movie! 2 stars
2/21/04 Colleen Mar On my list of all time bad movies; I think filmakers owe me a refund on my ticket. 1 stars
2/21/04 Leon Trotsky Gentle, powerful and funny as hell. Yow. 5 stars
2/19/04 AJ Touching... 4 stars
2/17/04 Joe Masterfully subtle 4 stars
2/16/04 dianna thomas It was filmed beautifully 2 stars
2/15/04 Dana Incredibly average. Anothe deadpan Bill Murray role.The awards nomination make no sense. 3 stars
2/15/04 Fiona Sives sure, japanese culture is funny, but you can't sustain a film on it. dull dull dull ! 3 stars
2/15/04 laura its INCREDIBLE!!!!!!! a diferent film to hollywood, 5 stars
2/15/04 DrDanny Johansson is a Major Babe! 4 stars
2/15/04 R.W. Welch Low key Brief Encounter pic with some nice writing. Quite funny in spots. 4 stars
2/14/04 Arturo tierna y racional, tal vez demasiado 5 stars
2/14/04 Emily WORST movie I have ever seen. No plot. BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD. Don't waste your time. 1 stars
2/13/04 manc boi It's a great Monday night film! 4 stars
2/13/04 alice elliott Great pink knickers in opening scene - you can leave after that. 2 stars
2/13/04 steve kaldestad overrated! get over it! 3 stars
2/12/04 Luis J. Cruz A boring film about two bored people 3 stars
2/12/04 Larry I like slow movies but this story sucks. For wanna be hipsters 1 stars
2/12/04 Chiend Sucks out loud, the feel-shitty film of the year--could only appeal to shut ins!!! 1 stars
2/11/04 jj It's a boring fling affair that's overrated. 2 stars
2/11/04 Patrick Matthews Very drab and thin, with easy laughs at the Japanese and easy artiness from Tokyo cityscape 1 stars
2/10/04 Kirsten Dunst fan still in mourning At this rate, Sofia Coppola can never do adequate pennance for THE VIRGIN SUICIDES. 3 stars
2/10/04 Carly such a pretty movie. it just...makes everything ok. hooray, Sofia. 5 stars
2/10/04 Phil M. Aficionado Like poignancy, subtlety, honesty, genuine acting? Relationship studies? I do. Great. 5 stars
2/09/04 JamesVG Not worth all the hype, but fun to watch. I (unlike many here) liked the pace of the film. 4 stars
2/09/04 Tom Really great movie 5 stars
2/08/04 world wide wagon Billy Murray saved this movie from being an absolute horror. Was there a screenplay ? 2 stars
2/08/04 Natasha Loved it. took a few days to sink in. had to think about it. loved it. 5 stars
2/08/04 TJ Evocative yet irreverant slice of life 5 stars
2/08/04 john bale Starts promisingly, but doesn't go far with aging Murray's deadpan performance 4 stars
2/07/04 chris. best scene: swatches falling from fedex box 5 stars
2/07/04 your worst goddamn nightmare the best movie i've seen this year... let's face it, subtlety is becoming a lost artform... 5 stars
2/06/04 Michael Mozdy Not Losing Translation After the Hype 5 stars
2/05/04 megan moving movie 4 stars
2/05/04 Serge Delicate, subtle, beautiful. 5 stars
2/05/04 Sharon predictable, flat characters, yawn 3 stars
2/05/04 HARRY GEMBS BILL IS BETTER IN THE RAZOR'S EDGE 2 stars
2/04/04 sarah like any consummate teenager, it works a mood and fails to deliver 3 stars
2/04/04 jbob unique 4 stars
2/03/04 nick2k wow...i saw it today at the theatre. so good i got it at the midnite on-sale tonite. 5 stars
2/01/04 Ray Raspberry This did what "Cast Away" could not -- make the movie and the audience connect thru realism 5 stars
1/29/04 Elena This is nominated for best picture. I don't see how it could be "total crap" 5 stars
1/29/04 Lew Marx Worst movie since Hollow Man 1 stars
1/28/04 Desperado People who say they dont get it or that it sucks r incompetent idiots, Awesome Acting/Movie 5 stars
1/27/04 chris rucker horrible 1 stars
1/27/04 Tom John and Julia, poor souls, it's a forrest, not a bunch of trees 5 stars
1/27/04 Julia I must be missing something because I thought it was one of the most boring movies ever. 1 stars
1/26/04 John I don't want my money back, I want an hour and a half of my life back. 1 stars
1/26/04 smartmusician a very profound movie done by Sophia Coppola. Breathtaking visuals. Extraordinary!!!!! 5 stars
1/25/04 rich awesome 5 stars
1/24/04 R J K Stunningly thought provoking 5 stars
1/24/04 jmikie an OK movie I don't know WHY it is on so many top 10 list 3 stars
1/24/04 breadman It had to end the way it did & I'm glad. 4 stars
1/24/04 Vitality1 Murray deserves an Oscar nod, at the very least...great film 5 stars
1/22/04 Betty White Abstract, engaging character study; Murray & Johansson are outstanding. 5 stars
1/20/04 MARC KHACHFE perfect. Scarlett and Bill..... 5 stars
1/20/04 Angolmois For a movie which puports to be so idealistic, it's quite condescending to the Japanese. 3 stars
1/19/04 Kay Cambourn subtle but seductive 4 stars
1/19/04 TOBY JARDIN the emperors new clothes 1 stars
1/16/04 Zaven Keleshian Best film w/out special effects of 2003 5 stars
1/15/04 LiquiDcUbe A Fine film which goes agaist all cliches and lets us see the world that we may never know. 4 stars
1/15/04 Colleen I can't believe I can't find a bad review on this movie 2 stars
1/15/04 Liz totally self-indulgent time waster 1 stars
1/15/04 Ralph R. Clemente Loved it - Scarlett & Bill rock 5 stars
1/12/04 Ingo A light in the dark... 5 stars
1/11/04 John Wesley Downey the perfect film for critics to slobber all over themselves about 4 stars
1/02/04 A F I love this film. Bill, you rule. Scarlett, marry me. Sofia, keep em coming. 5 stars
12/30/03 Bock So moody, its good! 5 stars
12/12/03 Helen Bradley Good acting, too slow a pace too long 2 stars
12/09/03 Jeannine Dreamy, moving, fun movie 5 stars
12/02/03 G. Finlay A terrific movie. Johansson, Murray & Coppola are beyond sublime. 5 stars
11/26/03 he A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/25/03 Chris Klejdys Entertaining movie. Very enjoyable. 4 stars
11/22/03 smartmusician a profound movie. EXCELLENT 5 stars
11/21/03 Tom Dow superb 5 stars
11/21/03 Joshua S Simple and pure, but deep. Its the subtle things you miss the first viewing. See LIT 2x+!! 5 stars
11/15/03 Kathy Absolutely heartrending and moving. Bill Murray's best. 5 stars
11/10/03 Jod Decent, but tries too hard to be nothing 3 stars
11/09/03 ILLINIBRI Boring, pointless, slow. Don't tell me I'm not smart enough or artsy enough to "get it". 1 stars
11/05/03 john excellent 5 stars
11/05/03 Sherrill Durbin I am so much in love with this movie, I surprise myself. 5 stars
11/05/03 JM beautiful 5 stars
11/04/03 Marybeth R so, so bad. trite, shallow, immature. rave reviews make me wonder what's wrong w/ people. 1 stars
11/03/03 Whitey White I got it, and it was pure garbage. 1 stars
11/02/03 tim a beautiful film 5 stars
11/01/03 CJ One of the best and most honest films I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/28/03 clarance the cobra murray in his finest 5 stars
10/26/03 Kevin S Great movie with great performances 5 stars
10/26/03 J dude wasnt that great, still trying to figure it out...guess i got lost 3 stars
10/26/03 doris kyburz just one word: outstanding 5 stars
10/24/03 CB Brilliant! 5 stars
10/23/03 Mark Seagrave Remarkable film.Very close to my own experience in Japan ten years a go 5 stars
10/20/03 your worst goddamn nightmare If you loved Armageddon, you'll hate Lost in Translation, because you're an idiot... 5 stars
10/19/03 Revginny Really fine film with much discussion material for later 5 stars
10/19/03 Kate L. Do not miss this one! 5 stars
10/18/03 Michael Gillespie I've NEVER wanted to see a film again the next day as much as Lost in Translation... 5 stars
10/17/03 Bridget Bayley Excellent 5 stars
10/16/03 Henryk great filmmaking - images tell feelings 5 stars
10/15/03 Carmelita Florine Bill Murray is clearly one of the best actors ever. Off with Scarlett j's head 4 stars
10/15/03 Leonardo Menderes watched it twice, and still found something more; great movie! 5 stars
10/14/03 MoneyPenny If you don't love it there's something seriously wrong wit u 5 stars
10/14/03 des this is my favorite movie 5 stars
10/09/03 jada murray is awesome! moive not for everyone though 4 stars
10/09/03 zeitgeist The cinematography was breathtaking yet cheap. Should've called it, "Trite: the Movie" 3 stars
10/09/03 Michael Rittenberry Watching this movie makes me feel as if I'm in Tokyo with the characters. a brilliant film! 5 stars
10/08/03 trace mckellips bill is brilliant, but scarlett is not be be denied 5 stars
10/08/03 Hel Best film I've seen this year. Very original and special. 5 stars
10/07/03 Bee-eater Funny start, but how much moody gazing can we take? 3 stars
10/07/03 Robin boring!! 2 stars
10/07/03 Allan Okada Best film of the year. Succeeds on every level. 5 stars
10/06/03 Erik Van Sant Hilarious and moving...Bill Murray is absolutely perfect as is this film. 5 stars
10/06/03 ownerofdajoint have to read between the lines/not for everybody 4 stars
10/04/03 john wonderful...Sophia has it 5 stars
10/03/03 Stewart Sinclair Boring. This Emperor has no clothes. 2 stars
10/03/03 kiki wonderful,sweet, 5 stars
10/01/03 Mopsa Totally brilliant film....Murray should win an Oscar! 5 stars
9/30/03 Redpajammas a great film 5 stars
9/29/03 Doris Scheff Outstanding performances, subtle, rare 4 stars
9/29/03 Jeanie Best movie this year! 5 stars
9/29/03 charlie kafoure if this isn't the best film of the year, then i'll... 5 stars
9/29/03 Jin Tremendously moving and funny. 5 stars
9/28/03 Vince cool shit. 5 stars
9/28/03 guisada beautiful. 5 stars
9/27/03 KCobain Yeah, its all that and then some 5 stars
9/26/03 Ronzo Garbonzo not bad, but not a prize winner either 4 stars
9/25/03 FlixNH A film that works well on all levels. 5 stars
9/25/03 Sushigirl Fantastic. It still haunts me. 5 stars
9/22/03 The F-Bomb thank god bill did this instead of shitty's angels 5 stars
9/22/03 Jon Lyrik A truly wonderful film. Bill Murray is a God. 5 stars
9/22/03 Howard Rare, sad, sweet, existential and wry 5 stars
9/22/03 Dave really brilliant review by Collin Souter 5 stars
9/19/03 Steen Stays with you, see it in the afternoon! 5 stars
9/19/03 Heather Loved it, the scenes of Tokyo, the story, full of humor 5 stars
9/18/03 J. Zahas A rich quiet comical heartbreaking reverie of a film. 5 stars
9/17/03 Mopsa great great film, I laughed and cried at the same time 5 stars
9/16/03 nr A GREAT FILM 5 stars
9/16/03 Emma Amazingly subtle, reserved, warm, tender -- and I'm talking about the movie and Bill Murray 5 stars
9/15/03 Beth Hinton Didn't live up to the hype... 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Sep-2003 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2003


Directed by
  Sofia Coppola

Written by
  Sofia Coppola

Cast
  Bill Murray
  Scarlett Johansson
  Anna Faris
  Giovanni Ribisi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast