Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.55

Awesome34.07%
Worth A Look: 24.18%
Just Average: 14.29%
Pretty Crappy: 17.58%
Sucks: 9.89%

1 review, 85 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Feeding Boys, Ayaya
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Interminable."
1 stars

What did I think of Feeding Boys, Ayaya? Allow me to repeat, verbatim, the notes I wrote in the dark while watching this film. "Annoying score. Awful. Slow. Gratuitous (no female) butt shots. Shaky camera. Bad light. First walk-outs, two minutes in. Looks cheap. Justifies prostitution. More walk-outs. Bad sound. Dear God, make it end. Anal Sex. One-minute shot of a man boiling water. No lighting. Half way through, half the audience has left. Terrible score. Looked at my watch eight times. I can hear the man three rows back, chewing. Movie ending soon, only eight people left in audience. I'm dying. Help me. Someone, make it stop."

I wrote all of that without actually looking at the page, and trust me, I NEVER write notes during a screening. As best as I can figure, I was so mind-numbingly bored that any distraction was a welcome one. If i'd have had a bottle handy, I may have rolled up those notes and inserted them into the bottle, then flung the thing out into the foyer, in a perhaps futile plea for help.

See, I'm in the press, so I can't leave a film like this early - at least not if I want to review it. I know other press people left early and I'm certain some will review the film regardless, but I figure if I'm going to pound a flick into the ground, I at least need to be sure I'm not missing something in he last five minutes that gives the film some surprise meaning.

Alas, no, Feeding Boys, Ayaya has no surprise meaning I could figure. In fact, it had nothing I could even applaud. Not a darn thing was worthy of note in this film (and I use that phrase loosely). It seemed to be a poorly written series of scenes involving male prostitutes, dopey Christians, and people who die whenever they get a bad mood on.

The synopsis says, "What makes a boy want to sell his body? In the latest item in his rapidly escalating filmography, Cui Zi'en turns away from relatively high-flown queer theory towards the street-level rent-boys. One of the reasons his main character, a nice boy from a happy middle-class home, wants to start renting himself is that he has this idea that men, like women, have a duty to fulfil their destiny as mammals by 'feeding' others. At least, that's what he says."

Now, even if you could make sense out of that synopsis, I'll bet you an eyeball that you won't make sense of this movie. Perhaps if the camera didn't have the cast out of frame half the time it would be easier to follow. Perhaps if the sound wasn't atrocious and the score wasn't filling your ears with electronic moaning it might be a little more understandable. And maybe if, oh, I dunno, someone switch on a light, we might be able to watch what these people are trying to achieve.

I dunno. All I managed to see clearly was some man on man sex, a lot of 'up-butt' shots (and hairy ones at that), and a whole lot of footage where each scene seemed to be trying to 'out pointless' the last.

Were the performances any good? Buggered if I can say, since I was sticking myself in the leg with my pen just to stay awake. I can say that the translated subtitles read like a very very bad screenplay, so either the script was doody, or the translation service isn't exactly going for 'poetic'.

I could feel the life force draining out of me when I watched this movie. At every festival I've ever been to, one film will always manage to tell you within the first few frames that your next ninety minutes is going to be excruciating. Generally these films have some relation to the phrase "Richard Linklater retrospective," but I have no doubt in my mind that Feeding Boys, Ayaya is this festival's great sucking hole of death.

Cui Zi'en may well be prolific. But so was my weird uncle Bill until we took away his Sony Handycam. Now, if someone would just do the same with Mr Zi'en...

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8157&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/12/03 01:32:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Vancouver Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Vancouver Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

11/23/10 Jsgxkwxu At the time, she was criticized for acting like a teenager when she was over 30 years old. 4 stars
11/23/10 Bcbxsogo As part of the Mantle plan, a pollution-free city is constructed in the desert. , <a href=" 5 stars
11/23/10 Kzebmdjn Road cycling, which may also be referred to as road biking, bicycling or simply biking is a 5 stars
11/23/10 Jxyrfbdb Umar accordingly disapprove for the further invasion and ordered to first consolidate posit 5 stars
11/23/10 Adfqubre Anders Fogh Rasmussen explained that the elections were called early in order to allow the 4 stars
11/23/10 Tliojrzx Although not actually a part of the Act, instructions were issued that the number of member 3 stars
11/23/10 Picarhgv These offices were built in 1979-80 on top of what had been one of the best preserved Vikin 4 stars
11/23/10 Gduyflru Some of those amendments, such as those in Virginia, Ohio, and Wisconsin ban both marriages 5 stars
11/23/10 Ddxirsuu Slovakia was particularly affected by the inability to use all of its NHL players, and the 4 stars
11/23/10 Vqyuujua Chapter 15: Brothers in ArmsChapter 16: BridgeKevin's behavior throughout the book closely 4 stars
11/23/10 Fvqckawh This allows one to use holography to perform some simple operations in an all-optical way. 5 stars
11/23/10 Lczncqfn Unlike earlier displays, TN-cells did not require a current to flow for operation and used 5 stars
11/23/10 Ktulgffp Christians traditionally believe that Christianity began with Jesus' ministry, and the appo 2 stars
11/23/10 Ryyynfei Bend is the home of the professional cross-country ski team XC Oregon, which competes in ra 4 stars
11/23/10 Olukwyyj Many Protestants now feel that the claims made by advocates of apostolic succession have be 5 stars
11/23/10 Nwfvfguu PakistanBeresford, on hearing of Blake's limited redeployment, rode back to personally supe 4 stars
11/23/10 Nadnzvgr Like the rest of the crew, he looks down on humans, seeing them as inferior. , <a href="htt 5 stars
11/23/10 Cliujpso The most peripheral technique is topical anesthesia to the skin or other body surface. , <a 2 stars
11/23/10 Nqufvdyq Shepard and Tali travel to the quarian flotilla and it is revealed that Tali had been worki 4 stars
11/23/10 Ykfsdioj The Jagas were an extremely militant group who formed a human shield against the Portuguese 2 stars
11/23/10 Iwzfyvrk From the beginning the military establishment rightly understood that the breakup of the al 3 stars
11/23/10 Wayrvejl Within the district are the towns of Herne Bay and Whitstable, which with the parishes and 3 stars
11/23/10 Zytwczlc Exposure during the birth year to malaria eradication was associated with increases in IQ. 4 stars
11/23/10 Nszfwule He can attract metal to both arms, and he is able to repel metal using both arms as well. , 2 stars
11/23/10 Khutjnzm Framestore created 120 computer-generated shots of Two-Face's scarred visage. , <a href="ht 4 stars
11/23/10 Aquymwqh Tetley found it impossible to adapt to his old way of life after his adventure. , <a href=" 2 stars
11/23/10 Oufgzwut In the absence of written documents, most aspects of the rise of early civilizations are co 2 stars
11/23/10 Hhunnlnj This was the very first wave of the time tracking software when computers came to many offi 3 stars
11/23/10 Vnaysmuy The Lepidoptera have, over millions of years, evolved a wide range of wing patterns and col 5 stars
11/23/10 Dwngbpwa Dakosaurus andiniensis, a species closely related to Metriorhynchus, had a skull that was a 3 stars
11/23/10 Egrdtvka The payment of fines to citizens instead of to the state was seen as contrary to communist 2 stars
11/23/10 Qqyfbtma Mobile tokens additionally support any number of tokens within one installation of the appl 3 stars
11/23/10 Devkpzro Such third parties provide expertise in the logistics of obtaining, storing, and shipping t 5 stars
11/23/10 Stupvvws In pupillary constriction induced by pilocarpine, not only is the sphincter nerve supply ac 4 stars
11/23/10 Gitsggdj On the administrative side it is responsible for procedures and organising the work of the 5 stars
11/23/10 Uxjtiocq One citizen suggests using chocolate attached to a fish-hook to save Timmy, a reference to 4 stars
11/23/10 Nnepodju Spiritual Deists reject all divine revelation, religious dogma, and supernatural events and 2 stars
11/23/10 Eckcvldo In the geometry of space, this is the degenerate condition where three points do not determ 5 stars
11/23/10 Qtccosia Because Arlong is a fishman, he possesses amazing physical strength, and can breathe on lan 2 stars
11/23/10 Zviucjpd They also mediated between still earlier truths and what in those days were novel observati 4 stars
11/23/10 Zviucjpd They also mediated between still earlier truths and what in those days were novel observati 4 stars
11/23/10 Pwsdgpqb Some people claim that since Jesus did not qualify his pronouncement, that he meant all the 5 stars
11/23/10 Nedmhkwl Weight transferA new wave of artist-in-residence programs emerged in the 1960s, adding two 2 stars
11/23/10 Dttvinhs For the most part, services will be part subsidized by the municipality or fully subsidized 5 stars
11/23/10 Oufhrrfu Humorously, there were 3 other demos on the GDC expo floor showing variations of my head tr 5 stars
11/23/10 Isrzgamd In this example, this transformation is equivalent to setting the currents equal, that isor 3 stars
11/23/10 Aqueilze Ilocano and Visayan volunteers, stationed there to guard the pass, deserted their officers 3 stars
11/23/10 Rbmltrno Some go further, and say that string theory as a theory of everything is a failure. , <a hr 2 stars
11/23/10 Vurbxdeo Boyzone singer Ronan Keating was brought in to co-manage the group with Walsh. , <a href="h 3 stars
11/23/10 Bhrzpiqo Lord Hastings, who objects to Richard's ascension, is arrested and executed on a trumped-up 4 stars
11/23/10 Imqlqzmp Common sense and more traditional, numerical analysis seemed to indicate that this was prep 5 stars
11/23/10 Dwwldurv When these propellants are burned, some of this kinetic energy is transferred to the rocket 5 stars
11/23/10 Axkcavum The vorcha are extremely aggressive, both against rivals of their own species and against a 5 stars
11/23/10 Nkouqkin Following the October Revolution, Finnish socialists planned to ask the Bolsheviks for acce 4 stars
11/23/10 Evyofqcy The deputy director briefly advanced to become acting director during this vacancy. , <a hr 4 stars
11/23/10 Sqwonddr Historically encrypted data is quite rare but even the very simple means available througho 5 stars
11/23/10 Ewseazre It was the decisive action of the war and the largest military engagement in Scandinavian h 5 stars
11/23/10 Nxvjvvmr After locating a trial, volunteers will often have the opportunity to speak or e-mail the c 3 stars
11/23/10 Pyhfpjce New literacies generally refers to new forms of literacy made possible by digital technolog 3 stars
11/23/10 Shmvtjho Disagreements about less basic tenets, like the ones that divided Remonstrants and Counter- 2 stars
11/23/10 Hnatnctb He had already achieved some recognition based on two successful books which he had written 2 stars
11/23/10 Rctqpazm Arthur sells some surplus stock to Nolan, a fairground owner, in exchange for a slot machin 5 stars
11/23/10 Xyarodpi His thinking changed from the view that species formed in isolated populations only, as on 5 stars
11/23/10 Kkzwgatu Non-celebrities include the lifelong Los Angeles-area resident who challenged the panel wit 5 stars
11/23/10 Kkzwgatu Non-celebrities include the lifelong Los Angeles-area resident who challenged the panel wit 5 stars
11/21/10 Dsidvkem JNAn22 Shego realized that Kim was most effective as an adversary when working side by side 3 stars
11/15/10 Wnjkxpyr An extremely important principle here is that a writing is canonized because it is authorit 4 stars
11/15/10 Pbfgwvla Dioscorus began the council by banning all members of the November 447 synod which had depo 5 stars
11/15/10 Oliqdort Most names proposed for large numbers belong to systematic schemes which are extensible. , 2 stars
11/15/10 Eipyybyn Oliver Russell, a man with a desire for power, is fated to rise to the highest office, that 4 stars
11/14/10 Budhnsqx Using the notion of quantized radiation and the dynamics of special relativity, Compton der 4 stars
11/14/10 Hjmuwghg The Wolf Effect requires that the waves from the sources are partially coherent - the wavef 5 stars
11/13/10 Wnirmugw However, it was provided that, once the population of the colony reached 60,000, the Legisl 2 stars
11/12/10 Ftjrfcjf But how is it that someone who did such a decent job on a baseball hat &amp; ball mangled t 5 stars
11/12/10 Ebgxizml As always, he recommends that a physical exam should precede any exercise program. , <a hre 3 stars
11/10/10 Hiqzbajs Economic grievances and political dissent in East Pakistan led to violent political tension 5 stars
8/23/08 Philippos Greetings Very good web site. I loved it. Found invaluable information. Just what I was loo 4 stars
6/06/07 Edxyxx Intended for those who hate splash-back and couldn't care less about blocking the toilet! 1 stars
2/08/07 Alfred Great looking site so far!! I'm just starting to look around it but I love the title page! 4 stars
12/17/06 Allen Great looking site so far!! I'm just starting to look around it but I love the title page! 1 stars
12/02/06 Chuck I liked this site, it's neat. Good job! Would you please also visit my site? <a href= http 5 stars
11/28/06 Janette One of the best locations I've come across lately!!! Definately a permanent bookmark! Would 2 stars
11/26/06 Amanda I am very impressed how you can build webpages! Would you please also visit my site? <a hr 5 stars
9/26/06 prevacid <a href= "#" >I liked this site, it's neat. Good job!</a> <a href= "#" >Would you please a 1 stars
11/17/03 Dongchion Zang have no 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  N/A (NR)
  DVD: 12-Jul-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Cui Zi'en

Written by
  Cui Zi'en

Cast
  Jia Ge
  Hou Jian
  Yu Bin
  Wen Wen
  Zhang Shiqin
  Zhang Jian
  Sun Bin



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast