Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.65

Awesome82.43%
Worth A Look: 8.11%
Just Average: 5.41%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 4.05%

4 reviews, 50 user ratings



Hard Day's Night, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Old Monkey

"A great band, a good movie."
5 stars

In the early 1960's the Beatles were all over the radio, the television, the newspapers, everything. Then someone had the bright idea of getting them on a movie screen. And it was a great idea.

The movie follows the four lads around as they are trying to get to a show. They go through some wacky mishaps, meet some interesting characters, and play some wonderful music.

Keep in mind, the guys were rock n rollers, not actors. But, strangely enough they aren't bad actors at all. Don't expect them to blow you away, but the comedic points in the film will make you laugh. They pulled it off well, especially for having never done it before.

The soundtrack was the best part, really. Classic Beatles tunes. Some are used just as music on the background, and some are performed in the film, as a part of the story. Regardless of their placement, the songs are really good, really fun.

For a movie cast with musicians, the film has surprisingly few low points. I wish I had more bad to say about it, so this could be a better rounded review. It's in black and white, but that's not a bad thing, unless you are Ted Turner.

Honestly, I must say that this is a great film for the little ones, for the fans of the band, and anyone interested in seeing how pop-culture has slowly taken over the media. (Spice World, anyone?). This film was a milestone in rock and roll, and in film, if only because of its pop-culture status. When this film hits the theatre as part of 'the Beatlenium Project' (a project by the remaining Beatles, to re-release and remix some older stuff) I suggest you see it.

It'll be a nice break after working like a dog.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=817&reviewer=2
originally posted: 05/31/99 16:33:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/04/15 stanley welles a rock-and-roll movie classic 4 stars
6/21/13 PAUL SHORTT DELIGHTFUL COMIC FANTASIA WITH MUSIC 4 stars
5/24/12 Randy Love this movie, cannot tell you how many times that I have seen it. A real classic. 5 stars
10/14/11 Matt Ferrell Love this movie. Can watch it over and over, and it gets even more funny every time! 5 stars
9/06/10 Philly Cult Perfect screenplay, great music, a blast from start to finish. 5 stars
6/20/10 Sarah Why does this get great reviews? It's shit. The soundtrack is awesome though! 1 stars
10/10/05 Carolyn Rathburn I thought it was kind of silly really. 4 stars
9/05/05 Hannah This movie is really great for Beatles fans- especially if you can sing along! 5 stars
8/02/05 Eric Rollins Loved it as a pre-teen. It really shows its age at this point. 3 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington The Beatles could just make masterpiece after masterpiece, couldn't they? 5 stars
10/05/04 Windseeker I gotta agree with everybody else. The movie absolutely, positively surprises. 5 stars
6/04/04 Craig Great songs. Great movie. Check out the awesome lighting during "And I Love Her". I<3GH 5 stars
4/19/04 Desperado Great movie the Beatles at their best they r still the greatest of all time hands down A+ 5 stars
1/21/04 Chlo Brody The best Beatles movie ever made... 5 stars
5/18/03 kate loved it, amazing film!!!! 5 stars
3/23/03 Charles Tatum So whimsical as to be imperfect 4 stars
12/29/02 John Aster Habig the music alone makes it awesome the humor is added flavor 5 stars
5/10/02 vanessa The Beatles did a great job but the best kudos go to the writer and director of this film. 5 stars
1/23/02 Andrew Carden Not Their Best Work, but Still Very Good. 5 stars
6/18/01 Paul's Uncle Very clean! 5 stars
6/15/01 Nicola This film shows a perfect example of the swinging sixties along with good music. 5 stars
4/04/01 Hawkeye It's only fitting that the best rock'n'roll band should get the best rock'n'roll movie. 5 stars
3/12/01 viking You're an idiot, Sorry Man. The Beatles are a million times better than that techno crap !! 5 stars
2/05/01 Sorry man poop poop poop 1 stars
2/05/01 Beatles r GAY THey r one of the most overrated bands ever! and plus they CANT act! 1 stars
1/12/01 Skip I'm a huge Beatles fan, but I found this kind of boring. Sorry. 3 stars
1/06/01 gabriel simply fab 5 stars
12/19/00 Jaymie Yes there is a reason the Beatles in beating the backdoorboys! 5 stars
12/16/00 Matt There's a REASON why the new Backstreet Boys CD is getting its ass kicked by the Beatles... 5 stars
12/05/00 Doug Outstanding! 5 stars
11/18/00 viking the fab four are still fab !!! 5 stars
11/17/00 salvo how did you find the film? 5 stars
11/09/00 skye bigger than big 5 stars
7/07/00 John I have it and love it. Help is fine too. 5 stars
12/11/99 Glenn I'd turn left at Greenland to see this one. Too bad it inspired the Monkees. 5 stars
10/10/99 john grove totally magnificent 5 stars
10/09/99 Viral Messiah I miss the Beatles... A hell of a terrific movie! 5 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Better than Spiceworld: The Movie, Beatles forever! 5 stars
9/26/99 Ann Tyer Any Beatles fan should see this movie and people that aren't Beatles fans will be. 5 stars
9/24/99 alyssa Did you really rent it for the ACTING?? 4 stars
9/19/99 Weird Andy I'm no Beatlemaniac, but I dug the movie. Not quite as good as Lester's Musketeer flicks. 4 stars
9/19/99 Ricky Urena The music rocks! 5 stars
7/30/99 Emily This movie is my all time favourite movie, no question about it! 5 stars
2/26/99 Jennifer Bennett This is the greatest movie I have seen it a million times and laugh out loud each time 5 stars
12/26/98 roxy if you don't like this movie you're retarded. 5 stars
11/03/98 Bad Kosh Hey, Beatles kick ass better than Spice Girls and Backstreet Boys. Woohoo! 5 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Shows the four lads from Liverpool in all their innocence and charm. 5 stars
9/02/98 Johny Saw it a long time ago, but I still don't like The Beatles 3 stars
9/02/98 pooky the bald After spawning The Monkees and Spiceworld, this film has more to answer for than Idi Amin. 3 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy I love this movie, great film, with a great soundtrack. you'll see me in the seats for this 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Aug-1964

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast