Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.84

Awesome: 17.07%
Worth A Look: 23.17%
Just Average: 13.41%
Pretty Crappy: 19.51%
Sucks26.83%

3 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Bride of Chucky
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"At least It Knows It's Crappy"
2 stars

Bride of Chucky (**) - OK. I know. This is not a good film. It doesn’t need to be made. But I’ve always believed in giving credit where credit is due - and this film, more than any other horror film released this year - is aware that they are not making a masterpiece - and they have a sense of humor about it.

Some of the early jokes don’t work very well (like the evidence room which contains a hockey mask, a knife-filled glove, a chainsaw, etc… Yuk! Yuk! Yuk!) and the film seems to be headed towards the “turn up the theater volume - here comes the big noisy scare” variety - but then the film started using it’s sense of humor. Jennifer Tilly at first, I couldn’t believe would take this project after her recent string of good sense with films like Bound and Bullets Over Broadway, but then she started having fun with the role and does provide a small laugh or two. Then Chucky gets revived and I found myself having some genuine laughter that the film seemed to be aware of, which is rare for a film of this genre. Of course you start rooting for Chucky to kill everyone - because he’s the most interesting character. The film doesn’t make you wait for the “Bride of Chucky” to make it’s interest. It happens early and the film has a lot of fun with the two dolls’ dialogue. I don’t know when John Ritter decided to start playing evil assholes (like he did on an episode of “Buffy” that I happened to see), but he’s at it again and really gets his in the movie - but it’s not nearly as funny as the character who gets crushed by a semi. Upon impact, he immediately explodes like the soldier in Saving Private Ryan with the sticky bomb. It is damn funny. Yet - not nearly as funny as what I will call the “doll consummation” scene which busted me up simply because it was attempted and in some sick way - works. It is gut busting. Then again - I’ve got a sick sense of humor. And - yes, this is a bad movie.

It’s not worthy of the original Child’s Play which was a good horror flick and I’m not recommending it as a film to rush out and see - but, sometime in the future, if you’ve got a choice on the video shelves between this, Halloween: H20, Species II and Urban Legend - grab Chucky.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=82&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 23:55:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/06/14 rdzRewxIRsuFCwzyO bivEqWBVFubTJsJpJY 3 stars
10/27/09 the dork knight At least they've fianlly accepted how goofy Chucky is and decided to run with it. Not bad. 5 stars
10/13/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Damn funny! 4 stars
1/14/09 Anonymous. disturbing and laughable...at the same time. 2 stars
12/25/06 johnnyfog made me laugh, worth it to see scary John Ritter again. Tilly was born to play Tiff 3 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Not scary, but humorous for a cheeseball flick that would appear on IFC, during Halloween. 3 stars
8/08/06 Doreen LOVE CHUCKY, ROCK ON CHUCKY AND TIFF! 4 stars
12/09/05 cody better than part 3, not scary but funny, chucky meets bride of frank natural born killers, 3 stars
1/03/05 Alex Brown I never really knew they would stretch the Child's Play series so far... 3 stars
11/22/04 Daveman The least awful Childs Play sequal, not that that says anything. 1 stars
7/04/04 Shaun Its exactly what it wants to be, and it works 4 stars
3/18/04 Charles Tatum Is Yu only capable of directing the shittiest sequels ever made? Awful! 1 stars
12/08/03 Samuel funny, I liked when the guy got splattered by the semi!! doesn't show it on cable.. :( 3 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Despite the ridiculous doll sex scene, it's passable. 3 stars
8/14/03 Double G FOR THE LAST TIME THEY ARE FUNNY NOT SCARY!!! 1 stars
7/18/03 Tara that is the BEST movie...i LOVE chucky! 5 stars
7/02/03 Lush Shite but it can be funny at times. 2 stars
6/26/03 Amanda Martinotti Hey this movie was da bomb 5 stars
8/15/02 Scott They knew they were stretching it and they messed around with. Wanna see Chucky get high? 4 stars
8/15/02 Shaun Its exactly what it wants to be, and it works 4 stars
6/25/02 Brandon This is what sequels are all about! Great Movie!! 5 stars
6/23/02 Joe I dont know what to say about this. Hopefully 5 will be better. 1 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee Jennifer Tilly looks quite yummy in this movie (which isn't that bad.) 4 stars
1/12/02 hd i cant evcen explain 1 stars
12/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Most slasher movies suck, but the gory stuff just glues you to it. 2 stars
9/17/01 Butterbean A movie so bad that it's become classic cult 4 stars
6/28/01 King Jackass One word: Under rated. 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Jen Tilly and Kathy Heigl should just appear by themselves and skip the rest 1 stars
3/31/01 Andrew Carden Brad Doruif has outgrown chucky, but Jenniefr Tilly has just started. 3 stars
7/31/00 Chuckys friend I think the movie is great! Jennifer Tilly is great. I LOVE HER! I see that movie know. 5 stars
6/05/00 Steve Layne Highly entertaining, and very funny. The best all-around n the series. 5 stars
5/08/00 Pansy absolute BS (bullshit) 1 stars
4/30/00 Gus Van Sant good shite! 1 stars
4/29/00 Negative Norm So wonderfully shitty 4 stars
4/29/00 Negative Norm wonderful shit! 4 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright How can anyone not like this?Its funny,gory,stars a lovely couple..YOU PEOPLE MAKE ME SICK! 4 stars
3/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Hell, after the rockbottom shitheap that was CP3, this series had nowhere to go but up!!! 4 stars
2/06/00 Lame-Oh Abominable. Check out K-Dog's review. This movie is... lemme rephrase that... ABOMINABLE! 1 stars
11/13/99 Gary Durso Okay...I missed Andy . 3 stars
7/23/99 Al Koholic Chucky's such a pathetic loser. I fart in his general direction. 1 stars
5/10/99 Parker Sick Fun. Check out the DVD commentary if you can it's a SCREAM ! 4 stars
3/15/99 Go Swans Admit it. Was that the best sex scene ever committed to celluloid? 3 stars
1/18/99 cds blows ass... don't see this movie 1 stars
1/16/99 amos what can i say...it was so bad it was good 5 stars
1/16/99 Redial Well, I happen 2 like the Chucky movies. I dunno. This 1 was just as good. 4 stars
1/16/99 Seemore Butts damn you all 1 stars
1/06/99 Brendan Byrnes This movie rocked my rushmore 5 stars
1/02/99 val so bad that it was fun to watch 2 stars
12/16/98 Binky This was actually pretty funny. Not great as a horror though. 4 stars
12/09/98 daryl kip weber pretty friggin cool 5 stars
11/10/98 Hugh Jass BORING! How silly can you get when watching that crap? 1 stars
10/30/98 Bad Kosh Sucks more than Scream and Scream 2. A dismal knockoff.... 1 stars
10/28/98 zenball how anyone finds a psycho DOLL scary is beyond me 1 stars
10/19/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Stupid Horror for Stupid People. Funny as hell. 4 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons The film is simply fun to watch. 3 stars
10/18/98 Pat Flanagan As a horror movie? Horrible! As a DAMN funny movie? It kicked ass! I laughed my ass of!! 4 stars
10/18/98 Spidey Pimp This movie is some funny shit! Good as ED 2. 5 stars
10/18/98 Vincent How dare you not post my review and instead post the above hack-job- For shame! 5 stars
10/18/98 Negative Creep I guess I'm an idiot then. OR have bad taste in Movies. But damn this was fun. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo For Chucky freaks only. 1 stars
10/17/98 I'm Orgazmo. It was funny and scary. A Horroedy. 5 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz surprisingly frisky addition to the Child’s Play series. 4 stars
9/16/98 oddBall kicks ass and so did the rest 5 stars
8/29/98 {{{OZ}}} Some plotholes are made up for by Jennifer Tilly as the voice of the female doll. Perfect. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Oct-1998 (R)
  DVD: 19-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Jan-1999 (M)


Directed by
  Ronny Yu

Written by
  Don Mancini

Cast
  Jennifer Tilly
  Katherine Heigl
  Nick Stabile
  John Ritter
  Alexis Arquette
  Brad Dourif



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast