Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.33

Awesome52.15%
Worth A Look: 34.41%
Just Average: 10.22%
Pretty Crappy: 1.08%
Sucks: 2.15%

10 reviews, 126 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


School of Rock
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It's 'stickittotheman...onosis.'"
4 stars

Hail, hail, rock and roll. School Of Rock could've been a one-joke concept about 'the Man' looking down his nose at music, but thanks to Mike White, Richard Linklater and Jack Black, it is instead a love letter to music, and rock and roll music in particular. It helps that everyone involved, from the lead down through the supporting cast and crew, is completely reverent to the subject. What's more, you've got a potential showcase for debauchery in the rock music lifestyle, and it's all shunted to the back to make School of Rock a family film. But it's never preachy or saccharine. It is, however, pretty entertaining.

Jack Black is Dewey Finn, slacker and wannabe budding rock star. He's booted from his own band prior to an upcoming 'battle of the bands,' and is just about to get the heave-ho from his roommate Ned Schneebly (screenwriter Mike White) and Ned's humorless girlfriend Patti (Sarah Silverman, really reined in). Dewey hasn't been covering rent, and Patti's needled Ned into giving him the boot if he can't make his share by the end of the week. But Dewey's not the kind of guy who can hold (or who wants) a regular job. He lives for music. "I serve society by rocking!," he claims. Fair enough. But he's bandless (which, obviously, he needs to win the $20,000 grand prize at the upcoming Battle Of The Bands), and noble cause though it may be, serving society by rocking just ain't paying the bills.

Dewey intercepts a phone call meant for Ned, who serves society by substitute teaching. It seems that Horace Green, a posh private prep academy, has been recommended Ned, and the principal/headmistress Rosalie Mullins (Joan Cusack) needs him in a flash. So, at the prospect of easy money, Dewey pulls a Single White Female and becomes Ned. He'll just sit around and do nothing, collect his paychecks, and search for new bandmates on the side. He finds those bandmates in his class at Horace Green, when after seeing them in their music class, Dewey's inspired to teach the kids the importance of rock, all under the nose of Mullins and the kids' parents.

Of course, it all builds to the battle of the bands showdown between Dewey's students and his former bandmates. The results are unimportant, because in the end, it's ultimately less about Dewey winning than about how he's matured, thanks to the kids. The teacher has learned from the students. Aww.

The plot is kind of by-the-numbers, but Jack Black amps it up. White wrote the part specifically for him, and there's a lot of Black in Dewey, as everyone knows how serious about his music Black is. It shows. When Dewey gets this wide-eyed maniacal look talking about rock and his influences, it's not so much acting as it is Black consuming the role. It's an almost overwhelming performance. Dewey has to deal with kids that have performance and personal issues, and it always turns out for the best.

Aside from Black, the kids play their parts well. Each of the primary band members was cast on their musical or singing ability rather than acting experience (since none of them apparently have any, according to the IMDb). This is a good thing, because it's got to be believable that this group of students can ultimately get onstage and collectively rock your fuckin' socks off. White plays Ned as a doormat, which is what he needs to be, and Silverman's Patti is appropriately bitchy without being the acidic character that you know she could be played as. Joan Cusack has always been a favorite, so it's always fun to watch her. She's got Mullins pegged as a straight-laced, buttoned-down type, afraid to let too much go or give the kids too much slack. Dewey ultimately gets her to cut loose in a moment of weakness involving beer and Edge Of Seventeen that pays off in the film's final reel. Fun stuff.

Oh, sure, PG-rated Jack Black is not nearly as funny as R-rated Jack Black, but he's still far more entertaining than most comedic actors going today. And really, how often do you see truly family-friendly films that don't revert to pure sugar while boring parents, making kids restless, and insulting the intelligence of everyone? School Of Rock is the kind of movie that I'd gladly take kids to, because it's smart and funny and has a healthy appreciation for music. It could've been the second coming of Airheads. It's not. School Of Rock stands on its own.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8224&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/17/03 15:13:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/19/14 Charles Tatum Lots of laugh, likable kids 4 stars
7/08/13 Monday Morning One of Jack's best - lots of fun. Just sit back and enjoy 4 stars
11/14/08 Annie G Fabulous acting from a group of young musicians. Just an overall good time! 4 stars
9/30/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
9/21/08 Samantha Pruitt awesome family film, with really great music! 5 stars
9/07/08 Claire Sun Excellent movie, great for the whole family. 5 stars
8/10/08 PAUL SHORTT FEELS ABOUT AS LIBERATING AS A WHALEBONE CORSET 1 stars
7/17/07 Andrea D Freddy (kevin clark) is soooooo hot!! ( it is 5 stars because of him) 5 stars
6/26/07 Pokejedservo A genuinely appealing film, not a classic but its fairly close. 4 stars
6/05/07 ashley was frankie that fat kid? 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega This school rules!!!! Fun-lovin' movie. 4 stars
12/24/06 11pop lame and predictable 1 stars
12/02/06 R.W.Welch Appeals mostly to Rock fans, but gonzo perf by J.B. C+ 3 stars
11/04/06 Samantha OMG I went to Montosery Preschool with Angelo Massagli! He promised to marry me! 5 stars
10/18/06 David Pollastrini very funny 5 stars
10/16/06 AJ Muller God of Rock, thank you for Jack Black, who has melted our faces with his high voltage rock 5 stars
10/04/06 Stanley Thai One of the best film's...and it stars Jack Black! 4 stars
6/26/06 ClaranceTheCobra See this Movie 5 stars
5/26/06 Ace ROCK ON JACK BLACK! WOO! WOO! OH yeah! 5 stars
3/15/06 Gribley HEHE - I know all the words! TEEHEE!! :D 5 stars
1/08/06 Quigley one of comedy's finest hours. Black steals the show. I was laughing every minute, no joke! 5 stars
12/28/05 Steve Newman Excellent excellent excellent (dec 05) 5 stars
8/17/05 John Aster Habig incredible gifted kids, a hilarious script and Black's comic genius=sweet 5 stars
7/23/05 Lisa Sammi A very inspirational movie-I wet my pants laughing! 5 stars
7/22/05 Dan !!! :D !!! 5 stars
3/16/05 Mask critic its ok but Jack Black is fucken insane 3 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Very entertaining, feel good movie! 4 stars
12/11/04 Kristina Williams hilarious and the kids were awesome 5 stars
11/15/04 GAIL THIS IS A GREAT FEEL GOOD MOVIE.5 STARS 5 stars
11/14/04 random* warning: may cause uncontrollable grinning 5 stars
11/13/04 willie vergara excellent and entertaining 5 stars
11/11/04 Andrea I actually surprised myself by truely enjoying this one. Jack Black is a delight! 4 stars
11/10/04 Misti Jack Black is brillant. The music in this movie is pretty good. 4 stars
11/08/04 kpxpaintballer it rocked the guitar and drum solos and all 5 stars
10/25/04 DM Very funny and surprisingly sweet 5 stars
10/19/04 ralph by far best comedy of 2003.arguebly best of movie of the year 5 stars
9/16/04 joyce its really a graet movie... 5 stars
9/14/04 Marionne Rivero Kevin Clark is soooooo cute!!!! 5 stars
8/25/04 jmsynth Better then most "family" films, but overated and rarely funny 3 stars
8/21/04 ME Kevin Clark is F2F, he is sOoOoOoOoO LUSH, seen film 341 times in counting, it's gr8!!!!!! 5 stars
8/13/04 *Riaan* Kevin Clark is so cute and the movie was great!!! 5 stars
8/07/04 maryann paul dsouza awesome 5 stars
8/01/04 ian it was the best movie I SAW ALL YEAR 5 stars
7/30/04 THIS MOVIE WTFPWNT EVERYONE w00t! THIS MOVIE WTFPWNT EVERYONE w00t! 5 stars
7/24/04 Katie This i smy favorite movie! Kevin Clark is SO HOT!!!!!!!! : ) 5 stars
7/24/04 heather kevin clark is so hott 5 stars
7/16/04 monica hedway it's a brill film and ive seen it 24 times 5 stars
7/13/04 Mia I THINK IT ROCKED TOTALLY!!!! 5 stars
7/11/04 Monster W. Kung Hardly a masterpiece, but still a funny and entertaining light-hearted flick. 4 stars
7/10/04 rachel kevin clark is lush hes my husband (i wish) the film was brilliant 5 stars
7/08/04 christina vitello It was awsome move, 5 stars
7/07/04 Chelsey This is my favorite movie 5 stars
7/07/04 Summer the movie was rocken + Kevin Clark was hoooott!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/30/04 Lisa johnson i think it was and AWSOME move 5 stars
6/29/04 Jim Wasn't bad, but didn't hold my interest. He woulda been busted the first day. 3 stars
6/28/04 Amy i loved the movie it was the best Kevin Clark is hott 5 stars
6/27/04 Marissa Wolff Cool movie 5 stars
6/25/04 Paige This movie was a riot! It was so hardcore and awesome. Plus, Kevin Clark was in it so how c 5 stars
6/25/04 Kelsey this movie is awsome! kecin is so hot! 5 stars
6/24/04 Renee The movie rocked out loud! plus Kevin Clark is ab hottie. Luv u kevin! 5 stars
6/18/04 Denise Duspiva very funny 5 stars
6/17/04 Kelso THIS MOVIE ROCKED! ThE MUSIC WAS GREAT AND KEVIN CLARK IS THE SUPER FINE! 5 stars
6/14/04 Shelby I loved the movie! what made it better was Kevin hes so HOTT!! 5 stars
6/10/04 Alexia I love Kevin annd the Movie! HE is HOT!!!!! 5 stars
6/07/04 Ron Miller Not for the older crowd, I'd have to agree, Black is a future huge star and will regretthis 3 stars
6/07/04 James Kustes Richard Linklater, Jack Black, Sarah Silverman, and Mike White. How could it not be good? 5 stars
6/06/04 Amanda This is the best movie ever and i know angelo massagli (frankie) hes soo cool 5 stars
6/05/04 Tessa I think it's a kick butt movie!!!! 5 stars
5/26/04 Courtney I love Kevin Clark he is so HOT!!! 5 stars
5/21/04 matt Kevin Alexander is sooooooooooo hot 5 stars
5/18/04 Diane Kevin Clark is hot! And the movie rocks! and he's mine! 5 stars
5/15/04 Katie This is the best movie ever! I LOVE KEVIN CLARK! 5 stars
4/28/04 jessica kevin clark you are so HOT 5 stars
4/16/04 John I love this movie the best move I've seen all year 5 stars
4/15/04 Soulis Sorry Jack, I admire your abilities but this movie is for grade school kids 2 stars
4/14/04 sera .c Kevin Clark is soooooo H.O.T. 5 stars
4/07/04 April Marie One of the most fun movies in a long time. Jack Black is the cat's pajamas for sure. 5 stars
3/30/04 Jess I wanna bone Jack Black, he's so fine! 5 stars
3/28/04 Amelia awesome!! i loved it Kevin Clark is so hott!!!! 5 stars
3/25/04 Kevin Radchenko This movie rocks! I love to watch this movie. 5 stars
3/18/04 Toothdoc Awesome movie...my kids air-guitared for the whole movie 5 stars
3/16/04 The Dude Jack Black is a fucking funny bastard. 5 stars
3/14/04 elaina hennig loved it great movie! 5 stars
3/07/04 Lindsay Kevin lives near me and I saw him at the mall! 5 stars
3/04/04 Ingo Nice and dull. 3 stars
2/17/04 The Big See Forced to watch this on a flight -- laughed my ass off! Great stuff. 5 stars
2/17/04 alisha jenkins it's mence 5 stars
2/16/04 Thomas Woolsgrove All the rock you know and some you don't, couppled with a classic Hollywood teatchers plot 4 stars
2/12/04 Littlepurch Blimey it went on FOREVER!!! Fantastic music and some funny moments but not great. 3 stars
2/10/04 garyrjb great film entertainment didnt need sfx or huge budget. just great fun 4 stars
2/05/04 Wendy Carpenter Almost as fun as it is preposterous. 4 stars
12/29/03 amanda it is the best movie ever 5 stars
12/27/03 Alien assasin Offers plenty of laughs. 4 stars
12/12/03 freddy lover HE WAS SO HOT IN THE MOVIE (we mean the drum player,freddy) 5 stars
12/02/03 Agent Sands Great soundtrack, Black's the new Carrey, & the script is AWESOME. 5 stars
11/22/03 lucille roberts Terrific, entertaining and funny! Loved it!! 5 stars
11/15/03 School of Rock Fan One of my all time favorites 5 stars
11/11/03 Mike i tire of jack black 1 stars
11/06/03 Cameron Slick Like Dead Poets Society, except good. 4 stars
11/05/03 Dombomb27 It was a movie aimed at teenagers 5 stars
10/24/03 Mike H Great 5 stars
10/20/03 Stephanie Hardest I've laughed in a long time!! 5 stars
10/19/03 Elizaveta super cute - jack black acts with 200% energy! 4 stars
10/18/03 yahoo reel fun 4 stars
10/14/03 Meegz I think I laughed twice.. 2 stars
10/13/03 charmaine: it was awsome i am speechless! 5 stars
10/13/03 Colleen I saw it twice..first with a friend, then with my family! Everyone loved it! 5 stars
10/12/03 Bailey wicked awesome, as Jack Black always is and uh...Jack Black rocks my world. 5 stars
10/12/03 Justin Weiler Worst movie EVER... The hype is a complete mystery 1 stars
10/11/03 Mezz The kids are fuckin' geniuses, little bastards, and that Jack Black, fuckin' crack-up! 5 stars
10/10/03 Valerie I Love this movie!!! 5 stars
10/09/03 Michael OConor The first laugh-out-loud comedy in a long time that doesn't bombard you with grossout humor 5 stars
10/09/03 Lewis A highly enjoyable, fun movie!!!! 5 stars
10/08/03 srburns Suprisingly funny 4 stars
10/08/03 Josh Groth Jack Black is hilarious!! The music is incredible, and it is all put together very well. 5 stars
10/08/03 nick2k there was some cheese-factor....but it all came together in the end...even without katie. 4 stars
10/07/03 Greyjack If you liked JackBlack in "High Fidelity", you'll like this. If you didn't, you won't. 4 stars
10/06/03 Erik Van Sant A comedy that consistently reminds you of why Jack Black is a God. This movie is awesome. 5 stars
10/06/03 your worst goddamn nightmare this was such a funny flick... Tenacious D kicks soooo much ass!! 5 stars
10/05/03 alexandra this movie was the bees knees! hmmm...i wonder how old that one kid was, he was hot!. 5 stars
10/05/03 J.P. Acco I loved this movie, But no solo for Katie made me sad 5 stars
10/04/03 Kaitlin This movie rocks and kicks ass at the same time 5 stars
10/04/03 Elizaveta simply great fun 4 stars
10/04/03 TheRealNapster This movie was awesome! I laughed for the beginning till after the credits were over! 5 stars
10/03/03 Kitty B. luv jack black 5 stars
10/03/03 Superdave very funny and entertaining 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Oct-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 02-Mar-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Nov-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast