Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome66.67%
Worth A Look: 14.67%
Just Average: 9.33%
Pretty Crappy: 6.67%
Sucks: 2.67%

3 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Wayne's World
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Um, schwing?"
5 stars

Oh, come on. Everybody loved this movie the first time they saw it...

It's not the best film inspired by Saturday Night Live, but it's pretty damn good.

So many quotes...So many funny bits and scenes and Mike Myers tucking his hair behind his ears more often than Christian Slater and Dennis Miller run their hands through their hair together.

The plot is extremely predictable, but there are lots of good, funny dialogue (including some speaking-to-the-camera monlogues from bit player Ed O'Neill) and sight gags (Dana Carvey lip-synching "Foxy Lady," complete with pelvic thrusts). It's goofy at times, but there's a certain amount of intelligence there that's missing from most of the parody films these days.

There's also the matter of headbanging in the car along with Bohemian Rhapsody, something EVERYONE in my high school did at least once the year this movie came out.

In the end, it's fluff, but it's funny fluff.

I know I don't have his looks. I know I don't have his money. I know I don't have his connections, his knowledge of fine wines. I know sometimes when I eat I get this clicking sound in my jaw...

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=831&reviewer=7
originally posted: 11/18/98 10:46:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.

User Comments

3/22/15 Jerry Spray For a film adaption of a Saturday Night Live skit, this film is fairly enjoyable. 3 stars
11/22/09 Jeff Wilder Still enjoyable even if I'm not as enamored of it as I was at 14. 4 stars
10/23/09 John85 Depending on the circumstances leading questions can be objectionable or proper. , <a href= 3 stars
10/22/09 Wolf72 You folks contributing here are very sharp. , 4 stars
9/21/09 rentamuailocal.com It will be hard to overcome decades of mistrust, but we will proceed with courage, rectitud 3 stars
2/08/09 Samantha Pruitt total classic, they make an awesome duo! 5 stars
2/17/08 Pamela White Wayne rock on funny 4 stars
8/07/07 David Cohen Hey dude, this is the greatest movie ever made: NOT! 2 stars
5/07/07 Hello Excellent 5 stars
1/30/07 Albert Stone Excellent! Love this movie - so unique and hillarious. Love the Bohemian Rhapsody bit. 5 stars
10/24/06 David Pollastrini very funny 3 stars
9/30/06 dude pickle want wayne freakin' awesome 5 stars
1/11/06 Allison One of my childhood faves! Too many fave scenes to name!! Dana Carvey rocks! 5 stars
1/03/06 cody a funny and hilarious good time mike myers is better here than austin powers,tia is hot 4 stars
12/05/05 Daveman An artifact of its time that can't be salvaged by any faux-ironic product plugging. 2 stars
11/02/05 Kay its just so cool and so funny! ive watched it 10000000000000000000s of times 5 stars
8/25/05 ES this movie does not hold up well passed a certain age 2 stars
8/02/05 Brandy Harrington Some funny ass shit. 5 stars
3/22/05 indrid cold Completely hilarious and original. I love Spheeris' trademark gentle surrealism. 5 stars
11/27/04 bored mom Foxy Lady . . . I'm coming to get you 5 stars
8/16/04 Nicole Lange anyone who hasnt seen this movie is seriously denied 5 stars
8/16/04 Nicole Lange PARTY ON WAYNE AND GARTH this is the ultimate movie 5 stars
7/17/04 Nobody THis movie is bad. But it knows that and plays on it. 4 stars
10/13/03 I Would Garth is amusing in this otherwise mundane, braindead film. 2 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Funny origional comedy 5 stars
7/15/03 Mr. T I pity the fool that don't like Wayne's World. 5 stars
12/29/02 John Aster Habig a true rarity a great SNL film a top ten Myers and Carvey work like Aykroyd and Belushi 5 stars
7/10/02 CVJ NWO Brilliant sounds corny but is truly a great film 5 stars
6/05/02 Kyle We're looking down at Wayne's basement... only... that's not Wayne's basement. 5 stars
4/30/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Generally a misfire, wasting a fine cast. 2 stars
9/26/01 Butterbean I love Wayne! I would pay to see him one more time. *hint* *hint* 5 stars
9/05/01 spaceworm Makes you wish Myers had kept Austin Powers a mystery. 5 stars
8/22/01 Bevin It's 2001, I'm 14, I've been watching this movie wince I was 6- LOVE IT! Watch it everyday 5 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg EXELENT!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/19/01 George Your a gimp if you don't like it 5 stars
3/07/01 Sanja great american show 4 stars
2/16/01 Jake its alright. would not see again. 3 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Way awesome flick!!! Party on, Wanye!! 4 stars
11/29/00 brianisdashit kixass 5 stars
11/02/00 Elvisfan Myers' comedy is accessible, non-threatening and usually hysterically funny 5 stars
7/06/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
4/29/99 Sentaia E Great movie for when you're just hanging around... loved it! 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) hilarious, plust it had lara flynn boyle 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel Wayne and his pals at Stan Mikitas closely mirror many of my friends @ Tims. FISHED IN!!! 5 stars
1/24/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) Hey, this was rather good! 4 stars
11/30/98 Mr.Pink Freddie Mercury couldn't have wished himself a better tribute. 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules I'm getting too old for this shit... 3 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Definitely a crowd movie. Relies on the synergy generated by rolling humor. 4 stars
10/17/98 katherine sucks dick as much as maggie drube. (literally) 1 stars
10/12/98 jym obnoxious and lame 1 stars
9/27/98 Heather A fun movie! Watch this one with a bunch of friends! 5 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan Second only to Blues Brothers on the SNL Movie list.... 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Its Wayne's World. It's Party Time. Excellent. 5 stars
9/09/98 MikeF fucking funny shit man. 5 stars
9/09/98 Miss Stress i might be the only person on earth, but i didn't like it 3 stars
9/04/98 pooky the bald Mike Myers' finest hour. A very funny, if plot-thin movie. Party on, Wayne. 5 stars
9/03/98 Badass A funny movie. completly harmless. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Feb-1992 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jun-1992




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast