Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.5

Awesome: 8.33%
Worth A Look: 19.05%
Just Average: 25%
Pretty Crappy: 9.52%
Sucks38.1%

6 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Timeline
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"Believe it or not this movie makes you think and it is GOOD."
4 stars

Rarely do you find a movie that makes an important point, and gets it across in an entertaining fashion.

Some archaeological students researching a site find a note from their professor asking to be rescued. The existence of the note shows the professor is trapped in 14th century France. The students go back to 14th century France via a time machine to save their professor. The students have to live through many pitfalls and remain alive until they can be rescued.

In the opening scenes one of the teachers is explaining a point of history with little toy soldiers. When the battle is explained, it is too abstract to seem like a real battle where people die. However, when the time travelers are dropped into the actual battle it is like being dropped into the middle of hell. Therefore when you see the reality of the battle (and not the toy soldier version) it is obvious how bad war is. Thus, the movie points out the reality of the war through the contrast between the academic explanation of the battle and the experience of the real battle.

Like many time travel movies, this move has several faults.

The error that bothered me the most was when a soldier would say “fire” when commanding archers to shoot an arrow. Saying this does not make sense because would one not know to say “fire” if firearms had not been invented. (In “Gladiator” they say “loose.” This makes more sense and seems real.)

Another error was the language. The time travelers would not be able to talk to the locals in either French or English. In the 14th century the English spoken was Chaucer’s English, which is (now) almost impossible to read, and, if read aloud, hard to understand. (Spoken by a native, I’ll bet we could not understand it, and I am sure the same would be true for early French.) I didn’t worry about this error as we have to accept it in order to have a movie. I just wish there would be a way to incorporate the language issue in a believable way.

The paradoxes of time travel are always evident in time travel movies, but not too obvious in this one. I won’t go into them here and ruin the movie for you. I’ll leave It to you to figure them out.

Now, after pointing out the above glaring faults, I would like to mention the good points about the movie.

It was fast moving and gives a good idea of reality of war. Some of the time travelers died almost immediately after arriving in the middle of the war zone because they got themselves into a situation they were not prepared for. (They were expecting some quaint past and got hell instead.)

Characterization was excellent and believable. Billy Connoly in a dramatic role was a treat.

Don’t listen to those who rubbish this movie. Go find out for yourself if it is any good. I believe if you take the time to look at this movie with an open mind, you will fine that it is a great film with an important point to make.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8364&reviewer=228
originally posted: 01/01/05 00:02:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/31/12 Monday Morning I wanna go back too! But with a rifle! 4 stars
6/06/11 Silkworm Here we go again ANOTHER film about time travel 1 stars
6/26/09 KC It was awful but I still enjoyed it! Great with a few beers late at night. 3 stars
7/27/08 Vickie Johnson a little hard to follow,but very interesting!!! 5 stars
12/15/07 RLK Pretty Good Movie! I really enjoyed it 4 stars
6/24/07 Penny Loved it. It was great. Was a good action packed movie. 5 stars
4/15/07 Christop One of THE WORST MOVIES OF ALL TIME! 1 stars
11/19/06 jazz the movie was confusing yet we enjoyed it...at least i learned some french now...hehe 4 stars
7/28/06 kat it was awesome. i loved it!!!!! 5 stars
5/05/06 Ashley Hinz Enjoyable little time travel piece. 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Goodish film 3 stars
1/15/06 Jeff Anderson A rare misstep for Richard Donner. Amazingly cheap-looking(for a big budget)& atrocious!!!! 1 stars
10/11/05 Dan Good movie! 4 stars
9/02/05 othree "I wish i could go back in time" & not have watched it, sucks, did Disney make this?! 1 stars
8/18/05 ES Rent it and regret it 1 stars
8/15/05 tatum Nice cast in instantly forgettable film 3 stars
5/03/05 Quigley what a crap-fest! lame battles, atrocious acting, boring sci-fi - must i continue? no way! 1 stars
1/03/05 Cyberdiver I wish i could go back in time, I'd be rich when I came back. ;) 5 stars
10/31/04 Charles S. Lewis though a work of FICTION, It's an excellent movie. I enjoyed it well enough to purchase it 5 stars
10/19/04 arwen Olena this movie was not the best movieever but i enjoyed the french aspect of it 4 stars
6/08/04 Preston Gaddis HORRIBLE 1 stars
5/06/04 Olli B. Good Movie 4 stars
4/16/04 American Slasher Goddess Pretty bad, it should have been much better then what it was. 2 stars
2/08/04 Tom Cruise C'mon people i saw this movie and it was a very good movie 5 stars
2/02/04 Eloise Truely awful. The worst film i have ever seen. 1 stars
1/30/04 Outside Food Girl Isaw it for $1.50, which gives it twoextra stars right there 4 stars
1/22/04 Jenny Tullwatrz Intriguing concept; battle scenes from 1357 too chaotic and confusing, though. 3 stars
1/20/04 Betty White Paul Walker should get a Razzie nomination for his amateurish work in this bad film. 1 stars
12/25/03 Uncle Salty Come on. Really. There are no more words. 1 stars
12/12/03 Donald Fox The war scene was great. The book was better. Actors' lines were too contrived. 4 stars
12/09/03 Desperado While this movie isnt great the book is awesome, just another Chrichton novel wasted 3 stars
12/08/03 Eloise lm i have ever seen, we walked out in disgust :( 1 stars
12/08/03 alex so french are the good guys? Or this movie is biased...Plus, didn't feel like past at all! 1 stars
12/07/03 Joe Plot holes that you could drive a truck through. Characters are lemmings. 1 stars
12/06/03 crazy it was a very good movie,good story too. 5 stars
12/02/03 Setesh Godgrik At leat all the main characters were in this one 2 stars
12/01/03 HangMikeMyersforFuckinguptheCat What did you people expect? Paul Walker's in it!!! 1 stars
11/30/03 wesley cox horrible 1 stars
11/30/03 Marcus Yes, one of the worst movies of the decade 1 stars
11/30/03 twhmmh too many characters, not enough development 3 stars
11/29/03 Xalt Interesting story, but it felt like a lot of details were left out. Read the book too. 3 stars
11/29/03 --- I'd rather be flogged to death by Hitler then watch this movie again 1 stars
11/28/03 Tess Houck Read the book! 3 stars
11/28/03 Jack the Dagger terrible paul walker sucks ass storyline sucks everything. waste of my time and money 1 stars
11/27/03 St Olaf Swimmer So sorry I wasted money on this movie 1 stars
11/27/03 ajay pace is so quick, they gloss over loads of details. Paul Walker is so bad it's funny. 3 stars
11/27/03 Herbert Primig a bit short on plot and charachterization to be sure but action that feels exiting and real 4 stars
11/26/03 Frank Lynch I want my $6 back 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Nov-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 13-Apr-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Feb-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast